HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Duo Housing Washington DC

Hostel | 1223 11th St NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20001

90.2% Overall Rating

166 out of 177 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Ursula Rodriguez thinks…

"The only think I really loved was the staff. STAFF IS AWESOME at the property. They are all helpful and great people to talk to. The people I met were all nice and even this is a random thing I was…"

Read all Duo Housing Washington DC reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in the rates shown online. All reservations are charged 48 hours in advance of your arrival. If your credit card information changes please contact us immediately. Any reservations with declined / expired credit cards are subject to termination. If you make a reservation that has a check-in date of LESS THAN 48 HOURS away, your credit card must be valid. If your credit card is declined upon processing ( which happens within hours of your reservation being made, your reservation will be cancelled immediately. No one under the age of 18 allowed without prior approval of Property Manager AND 3 days prior notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Hostelling International – Washington, DC
36.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1158 reviews
DC Lofty
27.79 USD

Hostel 84.7% 83 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 65.8% 98 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 333 reviews
Capital View Hostel
35.73 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.0% 64 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 85.7% 10 reviews
Canal Inn
42.50 USD

Hotel 84.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

166 out of 177 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Duo Housing Washington DC'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 175 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ursula Rodriguez

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 Ursula would recommend this property

Liked: The only think I really loved was the staff. STAFF IS AWESOME at the property. They are all helpful and great people to talk to. The people I met were all nice and even this is a random thing I was happy to meed this kind of people. I also liked the lockers to store personal stuff.

Disliked: I honestly don't get it why it is one of the best hostels rated in DC. The owner should have a look into Chicago's Gateway hostel to see what is a real good top hostel. They claim to be new, well nope. The carpets were probably the thing that attracted most my attention due to their "cleanliness". The no shoes policy certainly makes the hostel first entrance smell like feet. And the amenities are towels, pancakes (just and only pancakes) for breakfast and a very tasty dinner in Sundays. That's it. They have two vending machines one for cold beverages and one for snacks. If you love coffee or want a hot tea bring your stuff, you want something else to buy there? bring-your-stuff. They could make a better profit of it actually but it is very little what you can buy in there. Also other thing that if you wanted to pay for an extra night the rates went high and many people that I met there complained a lot about it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Toby Lior Carmel

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 April 2014 Toby Lior would recommend this property

Liked: great beds and nice lounge!

Disliked: Toby Lior left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and really appreciated the free dinner on Sundays and free pancakes every morning. Great that they provided towels as well for showering and have more than enough toilets available for everyone. The setup of two common areas also make it easier for fellow guests to chat with each other.

Disliked: I thought it was rather far from the attractions though I understand by DC's standard 30mins walk was considered short. The bunk beds were really close to each other & creaks. Fitting 12 in a room was quite a stretch but I suppose that's why is cheap. I will probably opt more a dorm with less beds in the same property if I ever return.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Duo Housing was a great place to stay. The facilities were very clean and the staff was very friendly. I also liked that the staff encouraged all of the guests to interact with one another and even go out with each other to explore Washington DC. There was always a staff member to help you out with anything that could have come up 24/7. This is the first hostel I have ever stayed in and I am so pleased by my experience that I will have high expectations for the next hostel I stay in. This hostel is definitely worth the cost and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Disliked: The parking situation is a little tricky.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jordan Carter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Has everything you need in a hostel!

Disliked: A few groups of other people were being loud when I was trying to sleep at like 2am. I think the staff was drinking with the guests but not too sure

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Reid

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was amazing. We were welcomed so warmly to the hostel upon our arrival and even though we did arrive relatively early we were provided with somewhere to leave our bags while we went out to get some lunch and explore the city. We arrived on a Sunday so we were lucky enough to receive the BBQ dinner, which was amazing. Through out our entire stay the staff were vibrant and friendly and the guests were equally as welcoming. Any time we needed some directions the staff were more than happy to offer their assistance. I didn't get a chance to try the pancakes for breakfast but my friends assured me they tasted fantastic. By the end of our stay we all wished that we could have a few extra days as duo had literally become a home away from home.

Disliked: The only thing I could have wished for was a laundry within the hostel but this was solved simply as there is a coin laundry literally 4 or 5 doors down the road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Ferenczy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant, friendly staff and the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in! Free pancakes cooked for you every morning as well :)

Disliked: Natasha left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jennifer Praveen

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 February 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Pancakes in the morning

Disliked: Internet accesses didn't seem to work. Things could be more updated.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dimítria Gil

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Dimítria would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that they had large drawer-style lockers to store your stuff in. I also liked that the baggage storage area was monitored by a camera and was in view - usually baggage storage areas are in a separate room with hostels avoiding responsibility.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Bryant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 February 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere. Easy to make friends and the staff are really welcoming.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Kang

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2014 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Duo was awesome all around. Great location, great staff (special shoutout to AZ, Michael, LaShawn and Lin...but all were great), and the cameras downstairs made me feel safe for my luggage. The staff was extremely diligent in making sure everything was on the up and up every shift (such as cleaning the bathrooms) and all seemed to take the job very seriously.

Disliked: The timers in each room were pretty annoying, and none of the irons worked properly. Also, the smell of bleach in the mornings in the open restroom doors was not very pleasant.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very friendly!! Free pancakes in the morning were delicious. The Sunday BBQ they held for us was amazing!

Disliked: Only thing I disliked was that there was a curfew on drinking alcohol on the premises (10pm)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Klayton Rocha

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

07 January 2014 Klayton would recommend this property

Liked: For sure the staffs were so kind and helpful!! The hostel really tries to create a good environment for the guest. At xtmas we had a dinner with everyone on the hostel together for free. Really good food!!! It was a great night :D I loved the pancakes for breakfast too

Disliked: hard to find outlets near my bed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the friendly, homely atmosphere. The whole house was neat and tidy, with clean spacious bathrooms and towels provided. Free pancakes for breakfast was a great way to start the day!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wei chia kung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 wei chia would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: The neighborhood, the location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Frankenne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and I feel like the staff was taking care of me

Disliked: Dominique left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helge Blatz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Helge would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people! Amazing price and Pedro (the manager) Is a legend!

Disliked: The time flew by to fast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Verizon Centre if you're watching a game & nice hot showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people working there really love their job and their guests and that makes you feel at home away from home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Altringer

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: When I consider all factors of this hostel as a whole, I can say that it is the best hostel I have ever stayed with. I've been to hostels in Europe, Latin America, and the U.S., and I can say that the experience at Duo Housing was superb on all counts. The staff are really fantastic (AZ and Nick were the stand-outs for me)! They really care about their guests and make efforts to engage with them throughout their stay. Also, the location COULD NOT be more perfect! You are literally steps away from every metro line, and if you wanted to avoid the metro entirely, the National Mall is barely a 25-minute walk away (in pretty much a straight line, so you can't get lost). If you are visiting D.C. for the first-time and need (or want) a lot of guidance, this is the hostel for you! If you know D.C. well and don't need any help at all, this is still the hostel for you! Despite the minor issues I outline in the "dislike" section of this review, this place really becomes a home-away-from-home while you're in Washington.

Disliked: Though the staff are wonderful, they are prone to what I call "hand-holding" with their guests. For some people I'm sure it's wonderful, but for me personally, I didn't really like it. For example, whenever (literally EVERY time) I walked out the door someone would ask "Where are you going?" The only reason I didn't reply "None of your dang business" is because I trusted their intent, however I'm a fairly private person, and I'm not interested in sharing my daily plans. Eventually I learned just to say "the metro" or "the grocery store" to avoid the invasion of privacy. I considered saying "going for a back wax and a coffee enema" just to make a point, but I chickened out. :-) When I did tell them the truth about where I was going, they would either tell me why it was bad and why I should go where they recommend, or they would start giving me directions without asking if I needed it (to his credit, Nick would stop himself when he remembered that I told him I lived in D.C. for four years). I know this seems like a petty complaint, but when it's every day, multiple times a day, for a week, it got really old. I found myself trying to sneak out of the building while the staff were distracted just to avoid the interrogation. Recommendation: When people leave the building, simply ask if they need any directions or suggestions for the day. This way guests who don't want to share their plans can just say "no thanks" and continue on without having to either lie, smile and nod while you waste your breath, or tell you to mind your own business. ************ Another improvement (opportunity to excel) I've identified is that the Duo staff can be a bit too insistent when inviting guests to their events if the guest has decided not to participate. When a guest says they aren't attending an event, please take "no" for an answer without forcing the guest to explain why (I had to go through this cycle with 4 different staff members when I didn't want to attend their BBQ). By asking "why" you essentially create a power struggle in which you try to influence your guest, and they are forced to resist. Power struggles should be avoided in guest/host relationships. Recommendation: When you notice that a guest is not attending an event, simply remind them that the event is going and they are free to attend if they want. If the guest says "no," just accept the answer and avoid asking why. This way a guest feels welcomed without feeling pressured. This avoids the guest having to either uncomfortably sputter out an excuse (which you can then challenge), or to attend an event they didn't want to attend (possibly causing resentment).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well-run. Convenient locaton both for the museums etc at the National Mall and Shaw/U-Street to the north. There's a bike stand from the bikeshare scheme on the next corner.

Disliked: The attitude and approach of the hostel is very authoritarian (signs everywhere threatening large fines for breaking any of the many rules), but perhaps they have discovered that this is the only way to keep order.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christian Hamp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and location.

Disliked: No pancakes. Should be taken out of description.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nils Nellessen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Nils would recommend this property

Liked: -Free pancakes & coffee for breakfast -Free BBQ on Sunday nights -Really nice atmosphere - feeling like home -Very nice people

Disliked: nothing worth mentioning