We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Duo Housing Washington DC

Hostel | 1223 11th St NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20001

87.0% Overall Rating

199 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2015)

"Excellent location in good neighbourhood. Good powerful showers. Generous amount of pancakes for breakfast. Lovely roof terrace."

Read all Duo Housing Washington DC reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in the rates shown online. All reservations are charged 48 hours in advance of your arrival. If your credit card information changes please contact us immediately. Any reservations with declined / expired credit cards are subject to termination. If you make a reservation that has a check-in date of LESS THAN 48 HOURS away, your credit card must be valid. If your credit card is declined upon processing ( which happens within hours of your reservation being made, your reservation will be cancelled immediately. No one under the age of 18 allowed without prior approval of Property Manager AND 3 days prior notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

HI - Washington DC Hostel
38.00 USD

Hostel 89.4% 1210 reviews
DC Lofty
22.95 USD

Hostel 80.5% 117 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 348 reviews
Capital View Hostel
28.78 USD

Hostel 83.0% 40 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.42 USD

Hostel 58.7% 73 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 85.7% 45 reviews
Canal Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 84.7% 17 reviews
Loftstel
35.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

199 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Duo Housing Washington DC'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 175 of 208 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in good neighbourhood. Good powerful showers. Generous amount of pancakes for breakfast. Lovely roof terrace.

Disliked: The place needs hand towels in toilets, dish clothes, and replacement sponges for the dishes (these had seen better days and we're not clean). There were lots of rules to strictly adhere to, e.g if you leave anything in the fridge without clear label it gets thrown out rapidly (our pack if cider went in the first day). Some of the staff were lovely, others were like the stern librarian at school and a bit abrupt when enforcing the many rules.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Yi

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2015 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities were very clean and offered a lot for the money I paid for it. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Disliked: My matress had a spring sticking into my back, but I don't really care since I'm a heavy sleeper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I received good value for the price. The hostel was clean and well serviced. I felt safe and appreciated that the hostel is located within walking distance to downtown DC's many sites. Staff are friendly, and they went out of their way to be helpful. I like that everyone removes their shoes before they enter the premises. I appreciated being able to borrow an umbrella on rainy days. I especially loved their chilled water fountain--very nice. Sunday night's complimentary barbecue is not to be missed, and the daily pancake breakfast will keep you energized for a productive day of sight-seeing. The kitchen's food prep area was consistently tidied by the guests. I like that there is a market next door with reasonable prices, too.

Disliked: As a backpacker, I have no criticism about Duo Housing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

fernando serrano hernandez

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: The position of the beds and the lockers, I think they can accommodate better these two things.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff were very informative and friendly and the free Sunday night meal was great! Also the hostel was kept very clean and the common room areas were a great place to hang out and meet people.

Disliked: not many hostel lead activities and there was no security within dorms as anyone in the hostel could access any dorm, also from the back smokers deck there appeared to be easy access 24/7 from the alley behind the hostel into the hostel via the back door. Also the aircon in 2c heated the room when it needed to cool it with 10 people and no ventilation in that dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Trojanowski

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 March 2015 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Good location Great staff, really helpful, super friendly! Feel like in home or family stay - like cool atmosphere Great facilities - including free breakfast

Disliked: Nothin

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dylan Brennan

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

17 March 2015 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staf, free pancakes and coffee for breakfast

Disliked: Air conditioning not great, lack of boardgames

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. The kitchen was tidy and clean. The breakfast was nice (they have chocolate chip pancakes). White House is nearby. Sofas in the common areas were comfortably

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tttt

Disliked: Ttt

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Panek

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 February 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very good price.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacy Moore

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2015 Stacy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good amenities, friendly staff.

Disliked: Not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Boedicker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we've been to so far!! Super super nice stuff, free delicious pancakes in the morning, super location - you can even.walk to the white house!

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Lauret

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2015 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel crew is very dynamic, friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms were as described on the description of the hostel and the beds were comfortable ;) There are free spacious lockers for laptops and more for free. I had a very nice stay.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Lehmann

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, perfect location with the store right next door, a lot of nice people to meet there!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Lehmann

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and good location. Store is right next door. Free pancakes in the morning (as much as you can eat!)

Disliked: nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rafael linares

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014 rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing and the facilities are unique.

Disliked: rafael left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to my conference, and restaurants (affordable), and the people were very supportive and polite.

Disliked: Sharing a room with 11 other folks - and having 4 sets of stair to climb to the kitchen was difficult. Not at all accessible for folks with mobility problems.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Shepherd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very helpful and the location is great!

Disliked: We didn't have breakfast one morning and it was unorganised.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014

Liked: distibution

Disliked: the rooms are close, there should be air down there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and barbecue on sunday :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooftop area, except you are not allowed to make any noise up there so only good for sun-bathing during the day.

Disliked: I made an error with my booking which was only discovered at check-in, however rather than letting me change my booking, Duo stuck to their rules and charged me twice (any changes must be made 48-hours before check-in). While they were technically allowed to do this I thought it was pretty unfair, and just seemed money-hungry on their part.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, it had everything you need for a short stay in D.C. The team is very nice and helpful. Thanks for everything, I'll come back soon!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TE EN FANG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 TE EN would recommend this property

Liked: Duo housing is good, and people here are so nice

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Sunday Barbeque. The showers were well maintained each and everyday.

Disliked: The property has a double entry check point procedure in place. A guest must remember two different entry codes. The codes do not change often therefore I had to remember the entries only one time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel and all the staff were very friendly especially Pedro and AZ

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.