We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Duo Housing Washington DC

Hostel | 1223 11th St NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20001

86.4% Overall Rating

183 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/10/2014)

Lukas Lehmann thinks…

"Very friendly staff, perfect location with the store right next door, a lot of nice people to meet there!"

Read all Duo Housing Washington DC reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in the rates shown online. All reservations are charged 48 hours in advance of your arrival. If your credit card information changes please contact us immediately. Any reservations with declined / expired credit cards are subject to termination. If you make a reservation that has a check-in date of LESS THAN 48 HOURS away, your credit card must be valid. If your credit card is declined upon processing ( which happens within hours of your reservation being made, your reservation will be cancelled immediately. No one under the age of 18 allowed without prior approval of Property Manager AND 3 days prior notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

HI - Washington DC Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1199 reviews
DC Lofty
23.82 USD

Hostel 80.9% 110 reviews
The District Hotel
24.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.8% 345 reviews
Capital View Hostel
28.78 USD

Hostel 82.9% 35 reviews
Washington International Student Center
22.23 USD

Hostel 61.5% 69 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
23.01 USD

Hostel 83.8% 40 reviews
Canal Inn
45.00 USD

Hotel 84.7% 17 reviews
Loftstel
16.25 USD

Hostel 81.4% 212 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

183 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Duo Housing Washington DC'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 162 of 192 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Lehmann

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, perfect location with the store right next door, a lot of nice people to meet there!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Lehmann

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and good location. Store is right next door. Free pancakes in the morning (as much as you can eat!)

Disliked: nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rafael linares

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014 rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing and the facilities are unique.

Disliked: rafael left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to my conference, and restaurants (affordable), and the people were very supportive and polite.

Disliked: Sharing a room with 11 other folks - and having 4 sets of stair to climb to the kitchen was difficult. Not at all accessible for folks with mobility problems.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Shepherd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very helpful and the location is great!

Disliked: We didn't have breakfast one morning and it was unorganised.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014

Liked: distibution

Disliked: the rooms are close, there should be air down there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and barbecue on sunday :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooftop area, except you are not allowed to make any noise up there so only good for sun-bathing during the day.

Disliked: I made an error with my booking which was only discovered at check-in, however rather than letting me change my booking, Duo stuck to their rules and charged me twice (any changes must be made 48-hours before check-in). While they were technically allowed to do this I thought it was pretty unfair, and just seemed money-hungry on their part.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, it had everything you need for a short stay in D.C. The team is very nice and helpful. Thanks for everything, I'll come back soon!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TE EN FANG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 TE EN would recommend this property

Liked: Duo housing is good, and people here are so nice

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Sunday Barbeque. The showers were well maintained each and everyday.

Disliked: The property has a double entry check point procedure in place. A guest must remember two different entry codes. The codes do not change often therefore I had to remember the entries only one time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel and all the staff were very friendly especially Pedro and AZ

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alghazwani Nahri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 Alghazwani would recommend this property

Liked: I reall enjoyed the location! Reall close to the city center, right next to a supermarket and a bike share station

Disliked: Alghazwani left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with very affordable rates and welcoming staff. Offers a lot of things, such as free pancaes for break fast, free internet, sun deck.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Bica

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are good common areas, a kitchen to prepare food and free pancakes every morning.

Disliked: The rooms could be a bit bigger since there's little space between adjacent bunks.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aline Ramires Neves de Oliveira

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Aline would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Clean. Price.

Disliked: Aline left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ursula Rodriguez

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 Ursula would recommend this property

Liked: The only think I really loved was the staff. STAFF IS AWESOME at the property. They are all helpful and great people to talk to. The people I met were all nice and even this is a random thing I was happy to meed this kind of people. I also liked the lockers to store personal stuff.

Disliked: I honestly don't get it why it is one of the best hostels rated in DC. The owner should have a look into Chicago's Gateway hostel to see what is a real good top hostel. They claim to be new, well nope. The carpets were probably the thing that attracted most my attention due to their "cleanliness". The no shoes policy certainly makes the hostel first entrance smell like feet. And the amenities are towels, pancakes (just and only pancakes) for breakfast and a very tasty dinner in Sundays. That's it. They have two vending machines one for cold beverages and one for snacks. If you love coffee or want a hot tea bring your stuff, you want something else to buy there? bring-your-stuff. They could make a better profit of it actually but it is very little what you can buy in there. Also other thing that if you wanted to pay for an extra night the rates went high and many people that I met there complained a lot about it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Toby Lior Carmel

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 April 2014 Toby Lior would recommend this property

Liked: great beds and nice lounge!

Disliked: Toby Lior left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and really appreciated the free dinner on Sundays and free pancakes every morning. Great that they provided towels as well for showering and have more than enough toilets available for everyone. The setup of two common areas also make it easier for fellow guests to chat with each other.

Disliked: I thought it was rather far from the attractions though I understand by DC's standard 30mins walk was considered short. The bunk beds were really close to each other & creaks. Fitting 12 in a room was quite a stretch but I suppose that's why is cheap. I will probably opt more a dorm with less beds in the same property if I ever return.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Duo Housing was a great place to stay. The facilities were very clean and the staff was very friendly. I also liked that the staff encouraged all of the guests to interact with one another and even go out with each other to explore Washington DC. There was always a staff member to help you out with anything that could have come up 24/7. This is the first hostel I have ever stayed in and I am so pleased by my experience that I will have high expectations for the next hostel I stay in. This hostel is definitely worth the cost and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Disliked: The parking situation is a little tricky.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jordan Carter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Has everything you need in a hostel!

Disliked: A few groups of other people were being loud when I was trying to sleep at like 2am. I think the staff was drinking with the guests but not too sure

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Reid

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was amazing. We were welcomed so warmly to the hostel upon our arrival and even though we did arrive relatively early we were provided with somewhere to leave our bags while we went out to get some lunch and explore the city. We arrived on a Sunday so we were lucky enough to receive the BBQ dinner, which was amazing. Through out our entire stay the staff were vibrant and friendly and the guests were equally as welcoming. Any time we needed some directions the staff were more than happy to offer their assistance. I didn't get a chance to try the pancakes for breakfast but my friends assured me they tasted fantastic. By the end of our stay we all wished that we could have a few extra days as duo had literally become a home away from home.

Disliked: The only thing I could have wished for was a laundry within the hostel but this was solved simply as there is a coin laundry literally 4 or 5 doors down the road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Ferenczy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant, friendly staff and the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in! Free pancakes cooked for you every morning as well :)

Disliked: Natasha left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jennifer Praveen

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 February 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Pancakes in the morning

Disliked: Internet accesses didn't seem to work. Things could be more updated.