We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Duo Housing Washington DC

Hostel | 1223 11th St NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20001

84.8% Overall Rating

210 out of 225 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2015)

Emily Radford thinks…

"I loved this hostel. It made my time in Washington feel like a second home from their introductory walk through the property it was amazing. The staff were more like friends and on an evening would…"

Read all Duo Housing Washington DC reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

* PLEASE NOTE * Taxes are not included in the rates shown online. All reservations are charged 48 hours in advance of your arrival. If your credit card information changes please contact us immediately. Any reservations with declined / expired credit cards are subject to termination. Laser cards are NOT accepted. Any group of 4 or more, will be charged 7 days prior to the scheduled check in date. If you make a reservation that has a check-in date of LESS THAN 48 HOURS away, your credit card must be valid. If your credit card is declined upon processing (which happens within hours of your reservation being made, your reservation will be cancelled immediately. You must give us 48 hours notice of a planned cancellation. If no notice is given the first day of your reservation will be charged. No one under the age of 18 allowed. No groups LARGER than 4 people. If you are a resident of Washington DC, Virginia, or Maryland, you are restricted to a total of 3 days in any 30 day period. All other reservations are limited to 14 days. Every member of the reservation must provide a valid US drivers license or passport upon check in. ALL ALCOHOL CONSUMPTIONS ENDS AT 10PM DAILY. All House Rules Must be Agreed upon Prior to Check-In If a dispute is filed and it is proven that it is incorrect by the merchant and Duo Housing, you will be charged additional $25 processing fee mandated by merchant, as Duo Housing will need to pay the chargeback fee in the same amount because of the dispute. Thank you for your understanding.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

HI - Washington DC Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 85.8% 1223 reviews
DC Lofty
20.84 USD

Hostel 83.2% 129 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 348 reviews
Capital View Hostel
32.75 USD

Hostel 87.3% 47 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.42 USD

Hostel 68.0% 80 reviews
Washington DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 90.1% 58 reviews
Canal Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 85.3% 20 reviews
The Intern Inn of Washington, DC
35.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

210 out of 225 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Duo Housing Washington DC'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 222 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly staff. There was free breakfast and BBQ.

Disliked: Not a lot of material about DC (pamphlets etc).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Radford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 August 2015 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel. It made my time in Washington feel like a second home from their introductory walk through the property it was amazing. The staff were more like friends and on an evening would come talk to you. The roof top was always a social place to meet. It was amazing, and I loved every second. I would so recommend this hostel over HI, both the staff and the people are truly amazing.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Angela Heath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2015

Liked: Clean, helpful staff.

Disliked: Crowded crowded crowded. 12 to a dorm -not ok felt packed in like sardines, dorms so hot especially at night, no air con in dorm that i saw, no personal space, even bathroom was communal, minimal lighting & done in hallways. Kitchen on 3rd floor, small, cramped, no room for personal food prep when people at table, you have to walk through kitchen to get to frig & dining table so congestion ++.pancakes looked good but if you can't eat those no other options. Won't recommend it, expensive for facilities provided.So cramped

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Salvador Gutiérrez Martínez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2015 Carlos Salvador would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is really nice place to stay, I would like to come back!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rahel Martetschlaeger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2015 Rahel would recommend this property

Liked: My time in the Hostel was great! Nice staff and nice atmosphere. If you're thinking about going there, make sure you include a sunday evening because they have a free barbecue!

Disliked: That you could't smoke in the rooftop

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krystyna Filip

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Krystyna would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere ; staff; quality

Disliked: Best hostel ever

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephanie Roelling

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015

Liked: The hostel is close to public transport and had a fully equipped kitchen. Bathrooms are cleaned twice daily. The breakfast is always lively if not delicious. The employees are very nice and friendly, but not all are helpful.

Disliked: i thought the four bedroom dorm would be quieter and i paid extra for that reason. It is next to the bathroom and the bedroom wall above the door doesn't go all the way to the ceiling. They have CCTV cameras everywhere and notices posted everywhere about their strict rules. These two things make for a very uncomfortable experience.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2015

Liked: Good communal areas for socialising and good location to access the tourist spots.

Disliked: There are so many rules it feels like school at times. The mattresses are very uncomfortable, you get to sleep with the springs trying to enter your ribs. I stayed 3 nights, I returned in the afternoon and someone was in my bed - they didn't tell me I was going to have to change. They charge your card before you arrive which I don't think is appropriate considering I then have to pay higher fees for a foreign transaction. Dorms would benefit from more ventilation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome people and a really nice atmosphere. Love the rooftop :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philipp Mentis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2015 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere for young travellers who mostly want to meet people and have a good time. Enough space to hang out and alcohol allowed.

Disliked: Staff had to ask manager's permission for everything. Rules were a little strict (unnecessary?).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Olocation is beautiful

Disliked: Staff was demanding and disrespectful at times to guests. Could have been handled in a more kind of respectful manner.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bernhard Lippnigg

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 May 2015 Bernhard would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Space, Services

Disliked: 3pm, very late check in!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in good neighbourhood. Good powerful showers. Generous amount of pancakes for breakfast. Lovely roof terrace.

Disliked: The place needs hand towels in toilets, dish clothes, and replacement sponges for the dishes (these had seen better days and we're not clean). There were lots of rules to strictly adhere to, e.g if you leave anything in the fridge without clear label it gets thrown out rapidly (our pack if cider went in the first day). Some of the staff were lovely, others were like the stern librarian at school and a bit abrupt when enforcing the many rules.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Yi

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2015 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities were very clean and offered a lot for the money I paid for it. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Disliked: My matress had a spring sticking into my back, but I don't really care since I'm a heavy sleeper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I received good value for the price. The hostel was clean and well serviced. I felt safe and appreciated that the hostel is located within walking distance to downtown DC's many sites. Staff are friendly, and they went out of their way to be helpful. I like that everyone removes their shoes before they enter the premises. I appreciated being able to borrow an umbrella on rainy days. I especially loved their chilled water fountain--very nice. Sunday night's complimentary barbecue is not to be missed, and the daily pancake breakfast will keep you energized for a productive day of sight-seeing. The kitchen's food prep area was consistently tidied by the guests. I like that there is a market next door with reasonable prices, too.

Disliked: As a backpacker, I have no criticism about Duo Housing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

fernando serrano hernandez

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: The position of the beds and the lockers, I think they can accommodate better these two things.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff were very informative and friendly and the free Sunday night meal was great! Also the hostel was kept very clean and the common room areas were a great place to hang out and meet people.

Disliked: not many hostel lead activities and there was no security within dorms as anyone in the hostel could access any dorm, also from the back smokers deck there appeared to be easy access 24/7 from the alley behind the hostel into the hostel via the back door. Also the aircon in 2c heated the room when it needed to cool it with 10 people and no ventilation in that dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Trojanowski

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 March 2015 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Good location Great staff, really helpful, super friendly! Feel like in home or family stay - like cool atmosphere Great facilities - including free breakfast

Disliked: Nothin

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dylan Brennan

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

17 March 2015 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staf, free pancakes and coffee for breakfast

Disliked: Air conditioning not great, lack of boardgames

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. The kitchen was tidy and clean. The breakfast was nice (they have chocolate chip pancakes). White House is nearby. Sofas in the common areas were comfortably

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tttt

Disliked: Ttt

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Panek

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 February 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very good price.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacy Moore

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2015 Stacy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good amenities, friendly staff.

Disliked: Not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Boedicker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we've been to so far!! Super super nice stuff, free delicious pancakes in the morning, super location - you can even.walk to the white house!

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Lauret

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2015 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel crew is very dynamic, friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms were as described on the description of the hostel and the beds were comfortable ;) There are free spacious lockers for laptops and more for free. I had a very nice stay.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.