We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Duo Housing Washington DC

Hostel | 1223 11th St NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20001

89.3% Overall Rating

191 out of 203 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2015)

"The staff was very friendly. The kitchen was tidy and clean. The breakfast was nice (they have chocolate chip pancakes). White House is nearby. Sofas in the common areas were comfortably"

Read all Duo Housing Washington DC reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in the rates shown online. All reservations are charged 48 hours in advance of your arrival. If your credit card information changes please contact us immediately. Any reservations with declined / expired credit cards are subject to termination. If you make a reservation that has a check-in date of LESS THAN 48 HOURS away, your credit card must be valid. If your credit card is declined upon processing ( which happens within hours of your reservation being made, your reservation will be cancelled immediately. No one under the age of 18 allowed without prior approval of Property Manager AND 3 days prior notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

HI - Washington DC Hostel
33.00 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1207 reviews
DC Lofty
20.84 USD

Hostel 78.6% 113 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.7% 346 reviews
Capital View Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 82.5% 39 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.42 USD

Hostel 59.9% 71 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
23.01 USD

Hostel 85.7% 43 reviews
Canal Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 84.7% 17 reviews
Loftstel
35.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

191 out of 203 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Duo Housing Washington DC'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 168 of 200 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. The kitchen was tidy and clean. The breakfast was nice (they have chocolate chip pancakes). White House is nearby. Sofas in the common areas were comfortably

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tttt

Disliked: Ttt

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Panek

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 February 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very good price.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacy Moore

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2015 Stacy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good amenities, friendly staff.

Disliked: Not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Boedicker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we've been to so far!! Super super nice stuff, free delicious pancakes in the morning, super location - you can even.walk to the white house!

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Lauret

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2015 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel crew is very dynamic, friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms were as described on the description of the hostel and the beds were comfortable ;) There are free spacious lockers for laptops and more for free. I had a very nice stay.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Lehmann

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, perfect location with the store right next door, a lot of nice people to meet there!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Lehmann

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and good location. Store is right next door. Free pancakes in the morning (as much as you can eat!)

Disliked: nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rafael linares

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014 rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing and the facilities are unique.

Disliked: rafael left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to my conference, and restaurants (affordable), and the people were very supportive and polite.

Disliked: Sharing a room with 11 other folks - and having 4 sets of stair to climb to the kitchen was difficult. Not at all accessible for folks with mobility problems.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Shepherd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very helpful and the location is great!

Disliked: We didn't have breakfast one morning and it was unorganised.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014

Liked: distibution

Disliked: the rooms are close, there should be air down there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and barbecue on sunday :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooftop area, except you are not allowed to make any noise up there so only good for sun-bathing during the day.

Disliked: I made an error with my booking which was only discovered at check-in, however rather than letting me change my booking, Duo stuck to their rules and charged me twice (any changes must be made 48-hours before check-in). While they were technically allowed to do this I thought it was pretty unfair, and just seemed money-hungry on their part.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, it had everything you need for a short stay in D.C. The team is very nice and helpful. Thanks for everything, I'll come back soon!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TE EN FANG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 TE EN would recommend this property

Liked: Duo housing is good, and people here are so nice

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Sunday Barbeque. The showers were well maintained each and everyday.

Disliked: The property has a double entry check point procedure in place. A guest must remember two different entry codes. The codes do not change often therefore I had to remember the entries only one time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel and all the staff were very friendly especially Pedro and AZ

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alghazwani Nahri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 Alghazwani would recommend this property

Liked: I reall enjoyed the location! Reall close to the city center, right next to a supermarket and a bike share station

Disliked: Alghazwani left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with very affordable rates and welcoming staff. Offers a lot of things, such as free pancaes for break fast, free internet, sun deck.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Bica

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are good common areas, a kitchen to prepare food and free pancakes every morning.

Disliked: The rooms could be a bit bigger since there's little space between adjacent bunks.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aline Ramires Neves de Oliveira

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Aline would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Clean. Price.

Disliked: Aline left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ursula Rodriguez

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 Ursula would recommend this property

Liked: The only think I really loved was the staff. STAFF IS AWESOME at the property. They are all helpful and great people to talk to. The people I met were all nice and even this is a random thing I was happy to meed this kind of people. I also liked the lockers to store personal stuff.

Disliked: I honestly don't get it why it is one of the best hostels rated in DC. The owner should have a look into Chicago's Gateway hostel to see what is a real good top hostel. They claim to be new, well nope. The carpets were probably the thing that attracted most my attention due to their "cleanliness". The no shoes policy certainly makes the hostel first entrance smell like feet. And the amenities are towels, pancakes (just and only pancakes) for breakfast and a very tasty dinner in Sundays. That's it. They have two vending machines one for cold beverages and one for snacks. If you love coffee or want a hot tea bring your stuff, you want something else to buy there? bring-your-stuff. They could make a better profit of it actually but it is very little what you can buy in there. Also other thing that if you wanted to pay for an extra night the rates went high and many people that I met there complained a lot about it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Toby Lior Carmel

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 April 2014 Toby Lior would recommend this property

Liked: great beds and nice lounge!

Disliked: Toby Lior left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and really appreciated the free dinner on Sundays and free pancakes every morning. Great that they provided towels as well for showering and have more than enough toilets available for everyone. The setup of two common areas also make it easier for fellow guests to chat with each other.

Disliked: I thought it was rather far from the attractions though I understand by DC's standard 30mins walk was considered short. The bunk beds were really close to each other & creaks. Fitting 12 in a room was quite a stretch but I suppose that's why is cheap. I will probably opt more a dorm with less beds in the same property if I ever return.