We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City

Hostel | 2411 Benning Road, NE, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20002

83.3% Overall Rating

241 out of 302 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

"Nice owner, everything is easy, good service, good connection to the important points (new streetcar is even better now!)"

Read all Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostel will only take bookings from travelers or students, and a valid passport or full time University ID will be required upon check-in. Driver's licenses are not valid for our check in purposes You must check in no later than 9 pm on the day of arrival. If you have not included in your booking an approximate arrival time for check in, please email the hostel directly in order for your check in to go smoothly between the hours of 10 a.m. and 9 p.m., by appointment. If you need a slightly later or earlier time during the weekdays please request it.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Quality Inn & Suites
54.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 65.7% 170 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
23.99 USD

Hostel 85.0% 38 reviews
Capital View Hostel
35.73 USD

Hostel 82.1% 33 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 61.6% 113 reviews
HI - Washington DC Hostel
36.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1198 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
24.00 USD

Hostel 85.5% 192 reviews
DC Lofty
24.81 USD

Hostel 80.6% 106 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.6% 343 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

241 out of 302 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 201 of 217 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the hostel owner and willingness to help out people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice owner, everything is easy, good service, good connection to the important points (new streetcar is even better now!)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostess was very friendly and helpful. as soon as we got there, he explained how the metro works, what to do, etc.

Disliked: the toilet was broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Scholes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Whilest here I enjoyed the hospitality from Bill and Peter including the friendship between others. The location was good when came too going into the main business area including the White House And entertainment, also buses nearby and metro rail only roughly 15 minute walk. Had no trouble when came too personal belongings and other means.

Disliked: Nothing too dislike

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jana Savelkova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Bill is very nice and helpfull host and it's cheap but you have to be quite hardened traveler to stay here.

Disliked: The neighourbood is not one of the nicest, I wouldn't feel safe walking around in the night (during the day it was ok). The room was pretty smelly and not the cleanest one. But still, it's very cheap and you get what you pay for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachmat Lianda Lubis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Rachmat Lianda would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really close to the bus stop so I find it easier to do my sightseeing around the city. It's quiet at night so I had a good rest after a long day of walking. The room and bathroom are clean, there's a great Turkish food nearby and a 24-hour 7-Eleven so it's really convenient. Bill is such a great host too! Next time I'm visiting Washington D.C. again I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Rachmat Lianda left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Shaw

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Price is one of the best in the city. Big double beds. Lockers. Kitchen use. Bill the owner is friendly, when you manage to find him.

Disliked: I've only recommended this accom because its doable. But I don't really recommend it. Its a dodgy neighborhood, we never felt safe walking there, even in the day. We stayed in a basement room and didn't realize this meant people could walk in whenever they wanted. Also, I'm certain some random came in the middle of the night. I heard the front door open, someone walking around, the fridge opening, walking around, fridge again, then they left through the front door again. Dodgy!!! I'd really recommend spending the extra $ for a safer located place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Darragh O'Drisceoil

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Darragh would recommend this property

Liked: Not your average hostel - in a good way. Essentially comprised of two semi-detached houses, a friendly, relaxed, "homey" atmosphere is palpable the second you walk in. Bill is very friendly, and will help you out in any way he can. The Wi-Fi is also great. Very near H Street, and the great bars it's home to.

Disliked: Having read most of the reviews before booking, I was expecting the hostel's location to be an issue. It was not. Sure, the area appeared 'rough around the edges', but there were just that - only appearances. Just like any big city suburb. My friends and I walked the streets home many nights and had no trouble whatsoever. Conveniently located on the X2 bus route (some of the funniest public bus rides at night I've taken ever - always interesting characters).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bill was a great Host, very helpful. I didn't stay long but for the time i was there everyone was very friendly.

Disliked: It's a bit far from downtown, but if youy (like me) love to walk this will be not a problem. H street is a great street to walk by, a lot of interesting places there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mingyang Fu

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Mingyang would recommend this property

Liked: The feeling is cozy and warm, bus x2 to downtown very convenience.

Disliked: Girls room may be better, because some boys are really noisy...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Farida Mukazhanova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Farida would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is nice, clean and good value for money. the host was incredibly friendly and helpful. we really enjoyed staying there

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bill is the best host I've ever encountered at a hostel in my travels around the world! His popularity is evident in the many messages of gratitude left by previous guests on the hostel walls. He makes every effort to get to know every guest and is helpful at giving advice on what to see and do in DC and how to get around. The other backpackers here are a good mix of people and a great place to make new friends. The hostel is kept clean. There is free tea, bread, butter and jam for you to make breakfast, and the kitchen is well equipped. Easy to access the hostel by bus, easy to find. Nearby are some eateries and a supermarket a short walk away. My bed was spacious, and the room isn't cramped. Wifi is super fast, and there are computers for those without laptops, and even a printer. This hostel really caters to the needs of the modern backpacker, and with a friendly host, look no further!

Disliked: nothing at all

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, friendly helpful staff, value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Karin Garcia

Alone

Business / conference

26 June 2013 Karin would recommend this property

Liked: Bill, the host, is very friendly and helpful. It is a safe area although it is far from the centre but is definitely value for money.

Disliked: There are only two bathrooms in the property to be shared. In my opinion is just not enough. Also the house i a little came down.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff is really friendly. I also liked the location. It's not situated close to the city center so you have to take the bus (But it's not expensive) or you have to walk 30 min. Buit I loved my dayly walk through capitol hill.

Disliked: There were no air conditioner or window in my room , and there was only a blanket between two rooms. There was also only one bathroom for maybe 12 people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Bill, really makes the place. It feels more akin to being in a persons home than your average hostel. However, once you're in your room, its more or less what you expect in a hostel. The beds and rooms were clean, the showers hot and the owner awesome.

Disliked: I'd feel bad if I wasn't entirely honest here, while I had no problems whatsoever, the neighborhood it is in appears to be a little rough around the edges. That said, if you've traveled much at all, you've encountered this same scenario in hostels a billion times, and probably had to go through it with owners who were cranky and outright didn't care, as I said elsewhere, Bill really makes the place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to bus downtown, the owner was very friendly and the beds were big.

Disliked: A little old and shabby, Quite far out from the main centre.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place, very comfortable and with the cleaniest restrooms I ever seen! There are breakfast for free as well. It's the best value for your money. And Bill is very helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013

Liked: hotel owner is friendly and helpfull

Disliked: Cleanliness is very bad, dirt and dust everywhere :-(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kit Ho Yiu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Kit Ho would recommend this property

Liked: People are extremely nice. Good price and it provides everything you need. I did have a very nice stay.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tana Grauzelova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Tana would recommend this property

Liked: We appreciate that owner was friendly and helpful; we could choose our beds- big and comfortable beds, even for couples; there was a kitchen an free food if needed. Living room with sofas and tv; wifi in whole place. Altough is not that close to downtown, you can take bus right in front of hostel (15 min). We can recommend it travellers.

Disliked: Lack of storage space for belongings, however it was safe to leave your stuff in room. While full occupation of the rooms it was little tough.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bill the owner, very helpful. Always around if you need anything makes ou feel very welcome. Most welcome I've felt and I've been travelling for 7 months in hostels

Disliked: Not much to dislike really!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rory Underhill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2012 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Bill the host is a very very helpful and friendly guy, he was there to help eventhough he had much bigger things going on in his life at that time which was admirable. The distance from the Mall (Main Washington - Whitehouse etc) is also very good, just one cheap and easy bus to the centre of everything. Food availiable was also good, there was a free food table provided with bread and other basics where you can have as much as you like. Free internet and computer usage.

Disliked: Location - It is not in a nice area of town, people had descibed it as the ghetto (I wouldn't go that far but it was not a good place) State of the house - Everything was clean to the extent that things didn't smell, but the place really needed some TLC as eventhough it was all clean, it looked very dirty and run down. Very few electrical outlets, only 2 sockets for a room of up to 8 people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nora Sylvander

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

13 August 2012 Nora would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, big, clean dorms. The owner, Bill, is always willing to help. Free Internet and use of computers as well as free calls anywhere to the US. The athmosphere is very friendly and homelike. One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed at.

Disliked: Nora left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Silvan Sievers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Silvan would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people around

Disliked: long-term residents that made the rooms quite crowed with their stuff