HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City

Hostel | 2411 Benning Road, NE, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20002

81.7% Overall Rating

231 out of 291 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/10/2013)

Farida Mukazhanova thinks…

"the hostel is nice, clean and good value for money. the host was incredibly friendly and helpful. we really enjoyed staying there"

Read all Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostel will only take bookings from travelers or students, and a valid passport or full time University ID will be required upon check-in. Driver's licenses are not valid for our check in purposes You must check in no later than 9 pm on the day of arrival. If you have not included in your booking an approximate arrival time for check in, please email the hostel directly in order for your check in to go smoothly between the hours of 10 a.m. and 9 p.m., by appointment. If you need a slightly later or earlier time during the weekdays please request it.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station
65.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 65.7% 170 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 85.7% 10 reviews
Capital View Hostel
35.73 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 65.8% 98 reviews
Hostelling International – Washington, DC
36.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1158 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
29.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 177 reviews
DC Lofty
27.79 USD

Hostel 84.7% 83 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 333 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

231 out of 291 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 191 of 206 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Farida Mukazhanova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Farida would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is nice, clean and good value for money. the host was incredibly friendly and helpful. we really enjoyed staying there

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bill is the best host I've ever encountered at a hostel in my travels around the world! His popularity is evident in the many messages of gratitude left by previous guests on the hostel walls. He makes every effort to get to know every guest and is helpful at giving advice on what to see and do in DC and how to get around. The other backpackers here are a good mix of people and a great place to make new friends. The hostel is kept clean. There is free tea, bread, butter and jam for you to make breakfast, and the kitchen is well equipped. Easy to access the hostel by bus, easy to find. Nearby are some eateries and a supermarket a short walk away. My bed was spacious, and the room isn't cramped. Wifi is super fast, and there are computers for those without laptops, and even a printer. This hostel really caters to the needs of the modern backpacker, and with a friendly host, look no further!

Disliked: nothing at all

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, friendly helpful staff, value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Karin Garcia

Alone

Business / conference

26 June 2013 Karin would recommend this property

Liked: Bill, the host, is very friendly and helpful. It is a safe area although it is far from the centre but is definitely value for money.

Disliked: There are only two bathrooms in the property to be shared. In my opinion is just not enough. Also the house i a little came down.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff is really friendly. I also liked the location. It's not situated close to the city center so you have to take the bus (But it's not expensive) or you have to walk 30 min. Buit I loved my dayly walk through capitol hill.

Disliked: There were no air conditioner or window in my room , and there was only a blanket between two rooms. There was also only one bathroom for maybe 12 people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Bill, really makes the place. It feels more akin to being in a persons home than your average hostel. However, once you're in your room, its more or less what you expect in a hostel. The beds and rooms were clean, the showers hot and the owner awesome.

Disliked: I'd feel bad if I wasn't entirely honest here, while I had no problems whatsoever, the neighborhood it is in appears to be a little rough around the edges. That said, if you've traveled much at all, you've encountered this same scenario in hostels a billion times, and probably had to go through it with owners who were cranky and outright didn't care, as I said elsewhere, Bill really makes the place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to bus downtown, the owner was very friendly and the beds were big.

Disliked: A little old and shabby, Quite far out from the main centre.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place, very comfortable and with the cleaniest restrooms I ever seen! There are breakfast for free as well. It's the best value for your money. And Bill is very helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013

Liked: hotel owner is friendly and helpfull

Disliked: Cleanliness is very bad, dirt and dust everywhere :-(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kit Ho Yiu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Kit Ho would recommend this property

Liked: People are extremely nice. Good price and it provides everything you need. I did have a very nice stay.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tana Grauzelova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Tana would recommend this property

Liked: We appreciate that owner was friendly and helpful; we could choose our beds- big and comfortable beds, even for couples; there was a kitchen an free food if needed. Living room with sofas and tv; wifi in whole place. Altough is not that close to downtown, you can take bus right in front of hostel (15 min). We can recommend it travellers.

Disliked: Lack of storage space for belongings, however it was safe to leave your stuff in room. While full occupation of the rooms it was little tough.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bill the owner, very helpful. Always around if you need anything makes ou feel very welcome. Most welcome I've felt and I've been travelling for 7 months in hostels

Disliked: Not much to dislike really!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rory Underhill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2012 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Bill the host is a very very helpful and friendly guy, he was there to help eventhough he had much bigger things going on in his life at that time which was admirable. The distance from the Mall (Main Washington - Whitehouse etc) is also very good, just one cheap and easy bus to the centre of everything. Food availiable was also good, there was a free food table provided with bread and other basics where you can have as much as you like. Free internet and computer usage.

Disliked: Location - It is not in a nice area of town, people had descibed it as the ghetto (I wouldn't go that far but it was not a good place) State of the house - Everything was clean to the extent that things didn't smell, but the place really needed some TLC as eventhough it was all clean, it looked very dirty and run down. Very few electrical outlets, only 2 sockets for a room of up to 8 people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nora Sylvander

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

13 August 2012 Nora would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, big, clean dorms. The owner, Bill, is always willing to help. Free Internet and use of computers as well as free calls anywhere to the US. The athmosphere is very friendly and homelike. One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed at.

Disliked: Nora left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Silvan Sievers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Silvan would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people around

Disliked: long-term residents that made the rooms quite crowed with their stuff

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful owner Bill, big beds

Disliked: Perhaps not enough room for 4 large suitcases in our room, no individual locks on bedroom doors

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michaela Cruz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Coming back to the hostel after a day of exploring felt like we were coming home. The people we met all said that the Capitol Hostel is like no other. Bill is one of the most solid and caring people we've ever encountered. He was very helpful with directions and was happy to answer any of our questions.

Disliked: Bed bugs (although a small price to pay for a wonderful stay and such an affordable price)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a communal living room that is good for relaxation and promotes chatting with other residents. Bill is very attentive to guests needs.

Disliked: Bill, the proprietor, is very particular. He chewed out a walk in guest as he is bookings only, gave someone a hard time for not having student ID or passport (only ID he accepts). If you follow all his rules he's great though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dunja plattner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 dunja would recommend this property

Liked: We loved to stay at Simpkins Hostel because Bill is the perfect host. He was very friendly and helpful, provided us with all the information we needed and we felt really comfortable at his hostel. We can only recommend to stay with Bill.

Disliked: dunja left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sinan sumeli

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 June 2012 sinan would recommend this property

Liked: safe and security is very important and you can find them in this property.

Disliked: i have not negative idea about property.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bill, the owner is simply great.

Disliked: Bedbugs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bill is an incredible friendly and helpful hostel manager who tries his best to make everybody's stay as comfortable as possible. In every house there are two bathrooms, a kitchen, and free internet and wifi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Perrault

Alone

Business / conference

22 May 2012 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: I like that the bus stop is across the street. Bill was was nice and helpful.

Disliked: I would like to be able to park my car on the premises without being charged. It would be nice to have access to a locker in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Luke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how friendly and homley it is here. Bill looks after everyone and is always making sure everyone is ok. It is like going home and chilling out with friends and family.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was the area it is in. I didn't really feel safe initially walking here but then after I got here and met Bill i felt very safe and at home

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012

Liked: location, near the road.

Disliked: I love the modern houses, and this House was not. There was too much old furniture, which did not suit me at all.