HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hilltop Hostel

Hostel | 300 Carroll St. NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20012

74.1% Overall Rating

442 out of 514 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/06/2014)

Dominika Fiolna thinks…

"LOCATION. It was literally right next to a metro station. The hostel had a pretty back yard with couches, a table, a swing, and a hammoc. The interiors were really inviting too, I was surprised they…"

Read all Hilltop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The hostel has a minimum age of 18 years. PLEASE NOTE: The office closes at 8PM on New Year’s Eve. If you will arrive after 8PM, you MUST notify the hostel in advance. A local tax of 14% is not included in the price We can not accept groups over 8 unless they book directly through HostelBookers group department, keeping in mind that we have a 2 week cancellation policy on large groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Loftstel
49.15 USD

Hostel 83.1% 209 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.4% 66 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 61.6% 113 reviews
DC Lofty
25.80 USD

Hostel 85.3% 96 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station
59.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 65.7% 170 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.8% 340 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
25.00 USD

Hostel 86.9% 190 reviews
HI - Washington DC
36.00 USD

Hostel 91.2% 1173 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.1%

Overall Rating

442 out of 514 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hilltop Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 332 of 355 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dominika Fiolna

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Urlop rodzinny
Zwiedzanie i kultura

07 June 2014 Dominika would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION. It was literally right next to a metro station. The hostel had a pretty back yard with couches, a table, a swing, and a hammoc. The interiors were really inviting too, I was surprised they didn't put more pictures of it online.

Disliked: The Internet was fairly slow, and the towels not so clean, but it's a hostel... I wasn't even expectign towels in the first place. What was unusual to me was that most of the other guests were older people, and there were no youngsters, so if you're looking for a party place, this doesn't seem to be 'it'. Also, they didn't care for the 12% downpayment I submitted through HostelBookers. They gave me a lower rate after I explained it a few times, but they didn't seem to find it straightforward.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best thing about this place! It's so close to the metro station and it's easy to find. There's a kitchen everyone can use and a nice place to have a bbq outdoors. This hostel is good, but don't expect too much. In my opinion you get what you pay for - a place to sleep!

Disliked: There's only one bathroom pr floor but it wasn't a big problem for us. We got to go to the bathroom when we needed it and when the bathroom on our floor was occupied we just went to another floors bathroom. There's no keys to the rooms,the door is open all the time, but we have to have a code to get into the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe location, clean hostel, very close to metro station. Place was OK but do not trust their achievments od top hostel or party place

Disliked: Food stealing from tíme to time, quite a lot of elderly people living there with their habits

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Petr Kulhanek

Z dużą grupą/wycieczką

Zwiedzanie i kultura

08 September 2013 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: nice location metro nearby relatively fast internet, but the wifi from time to time did not work food facilities near

Disliked: rooms had no keys strange plastic over bed covered stinky mattress personal drinking our beer and wine in fridge

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and welcoming and the hostel has character. Despite being off the main drag it's only 15 minutes on the metro into touristy DC and there's a conveniently located 7/11 and CVS right by the hostel.

Disliked: They could do with a couple more toilets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Rangel

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura
Sport, przygoda lub aktywnosc na swiezym powietrzu

13 June 2013 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the subway

Disliked: Felipe left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner and staff. They make you feel warm and welcomed right from the start. A lot of channels on the TV and super fast wifi throughout the hostel.

Disliked: Didn't subtract the deposit that I made through hostelbookers off the price of the hostel stay. Only 3 bathrooms in entire hostel (would have been helpful to have a few toilet sink rooms only). The room got really hot and humid on some nights, and though I don't expect air conditioning a fan in the room would have been nice. Can be a party house some nights and they don't have quiet hours here (a time where you can certainly stay up if you wish but you try to keep it low out of respect for those trying to sleep).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

John Irvin

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

10 May 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Interesting guests 2. nice neighborhood with some interesting restaurants and conveniences like ATM, etc. 3. very close to metro

Disliked: 1. Distance from DC attractions. You need to rely on the metro to get into the city (unless you have a car), and if the metro has a problem (like it did the weekend I was there) you have to take a shuttle which makes everything more complicated. 2. The woman who checked me in was a bit curt with me about the price and the terms. I had to pay a balance that was slightly higher than what the website had told me, and I had to pay it in cash. I believe she said the difference was because of tax - then why didn't that figure appear on the website? Since it was only about $10 diff, I didn't argue, but I wondered about it. I also thought that the policy of not accepting credit cards was a bit out-of-date, and she sent me to an ATM across the street where I had to pay a service fee to get my money out. None of these is a deal-breaker, but I would have appreciated a more tourist-friendly welcome. I don't remember if HostelBookers was promoted at the hostel (question #7)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Sam

Praca/wolontariat

04 April 2013

Liked: The guests there were friendly.

Disliked: It is too far from the downtown and the fee for the subway is expensive, everyday go and back more than 8 Dollars. The bathroom is not very clean.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ashley soldera

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura
Sport, przygoda lub aktywnosc na swiezym powietrzu

03 April 2013 ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Internet usage, comfy sofas in common room, large kitchen, 3 bathrooms with showers shared by floors in building

Disliked: Uncomfortable top bunk bed Lack of room key for safety + security No fitness centre/pool Lack of cleanliness on floors - needs more upkeeping daily

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura
Praca/wolontariat

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's right across from the metro. There's a 24 hour 7/11 right next to it, as well. Very cheap, you get what you pay for. You'll get a chance to meet very interesting travelers from all over the place -- and a couple of shady characters, too.

Disliked: The house is a bit too old (though some people may think it's part of the charm).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tobias Zwior

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

15 January 2013 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Ron, is a great character, very helpful, friendly and funny! He creates a very cozy atmosphere in his hostel and as guest, one feels welcomed right from the start. Everything is easy and laid back, there does not exist a curfew or something similar.

Disliked: Seriously: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JOSE REYES

Sam

Biznes / konferencja
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Praca/wolontariat

09 November 2012 JOSE would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro station

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alcebiades Paulino Silverio Neto

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

28 June 2012 Alcebiades Paulino would recommend this property

Liked: conhecer um pouco da rotina do lugar

Disliked: distancia do centro

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

debora rosas santibanez

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'

24 May 2012 debora would recommend this property

Liked: Even when is not so close to washingtong hall its reallyt easy to get there by subway

Disliked: the beds i feel like it should be a little more clean.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Relaks / spa
Zwiedzanie i kultura

20 May 2012

Liked: The friendliness

Disliked: The cheat in the arrangement of services advertised online

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

fawzaan haroon tooray

Sam

Biznes / konferencja
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Romantyczny wypad
Zakupy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

24 April 2012

Liked: its an average place to hang out

Disliked: the property is less spacious

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

09 April 2012

Liked: Price.

Disliked: The rest of the things. This place is a mix between a burdel and a hippie house. No security, no privacy, no hygiene,... everything is a chaos.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Urlop rodzinny
Romantyczny wypad
Zwiedzanie i kultura

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and verly close to Metro

Disliked: The bed and mattress need to be replaced. When you have a milk crate proping up the bed frame, you worry. Heavy smkoing inside means that there is a strong smell of smoke throughout the house - not good for those with breathing problems

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

13 November 2011

Liked: Low price, friendly people.

Disliked: Smoking. The entire building is filled with it. Only 3 bathrooms. Climate control was horrible, building was either baking (heaters on) or freezing (at night after lights out the heat is turned off).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

15 October 2011

Liked: There is a free use computer with internet. Far from the city center but the metro stop is just next to the hostel. There is a "7-eleven" supermarket next to the hostel too.

Disliked: Some people of the hostel don't care for the people that is sleeping. At night they shout, run, play guitar...horrible, expecially the night of saturday. In the mornings the bathrooms (3 in all the house) are always busy but clean. We had a private room so the security was ok (have to leave a deposit of 5$ for the room key). The owner leave us pay the stay only with cash. The same boy was sleeping in a sofa the days we stayed there. The people smoke inside the house.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy

08 September 2011

Liked: The location was ok, next to a metro station.

Disliked: I normally don't bother writing reviews, but I just felt like I had to say something about this hostel. The staff was really rude and unhelpful, doors were kept open 24/7, there was no lock for the dorm room at all, the hostel was really dirty and there were random people sleeping on the sofas downstairs every night. I've stayed in a lot of hostels around the world and this is by far one of the worst. I'm sure you can find lots of better places for same price in Washington.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Matresses not comfortable My flight was delayed a whole day but they still charged me for the night I didnt sleep there. I understand the 24 hour cancellation policy but i emailed them straight away and they would even give me it for half price.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Praca/wolontariat

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, hostel is cozy

Disliked: aircondition not availiable, only 3 bathrooms - sometimes longer waiting time especially in the morning