HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hilltop Hostel

Hostel | 300 Carroll St. NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20012

70.7% Overall Rating

438 out of 510 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2013)

Petr Kulhanek thinks…

"nice location metro nearby relatively fast internet, but the wifi from time to time did not work food facilities near"

Read all Hilltop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The hostel has a minimum age of 18 years. PLEASE NOTE: The office closes at 8PM on New Year’s Eve. If you will arrive after 8PM, you MUST notify the hostel in advance. A local tax of 14% is not included in the price We can not accept groups over 8 unless they book directly through HostelBookers group department, keeping in mind that we have a 2 week cancellation policy on large groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Loftstel
39.23 USD

Hostel 82.7% 205 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.0% 64 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
18.99 USD

Hostel 65.4% 99 reviews
DC Lofty
29.77 USD

Hostel 84.7% 83 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station
69.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 65.7% 170 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 333 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
29.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 177 reviews
Hostelling International – Washington, DC
36.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1158 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.7%

Overall Rating

438 out of 510 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hilltop Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
72.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 329 of 351 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Petr Kulhanek

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: nice location metro nearby relatively fast internet, but the wifi from time to time did not work food facilities near

Disliked: rooms had no keys strange plastic over bed covered stinky mattress personal drinking our beer and wine in fridge

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and welcoming and the hostel has character. Despite being off the main drag it's only 15 minutes on the metro into touristy DC and there's a conveniently located 7/11 and CVS right by the hostel.

Disliked: They could do with a couple more toilets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Rangel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 June 2013 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the subway

Disliked: Felipe left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner and staff. They make you feel warm and welcomed right from the start. A lot of channels on the TV and super fast wifi throughout the hostel.

Disliked: Didn't subtract the deposit that I made through hostelbookers off the price of the hostel stay. Only 3 bathrooms in entire hostel (would have been helpful to have a few toilet sink rooms only). The room got really hot and humid on some nights, and though I don't expect air conditioning a fan in the room would have been nice. Can be a party house some nights and they don't have quiet hours here (a time where you can certainly stay up if you wish but you try to keep it low out of respect for those trying to sleep).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

John Irvin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Interesting guests 2. nice neighborhood with some interesting restaurants and conveniences like ATM, etc. 3. very close to metro

Disliked: 1. Distance from DC attractions. You need to rely on the metro to get into the city (unless you have a car), and if the metro has a problem (like it did the weekend I was there) you have to take a shuttle which makes everything more complicated. 2. The woman who checked me in was a bit curt with me about the price and the terms. I had to pay a balance that was slightly higher than what the website had told me, and I had to pay it in cash. I believe she said the difference was because of tax - then why didn't that figure appear on the website? Since it was only about $10 diff, I didn't argue, but I wondered about it. I also thought that the policy of not accepting credit cards was a bit out-of-date, and she sent me to an ATM across the street where I had to pay a service fee to get my money out. None of these is a deal-breaker, but I would have appreciated a more tourist-friendly welcome. I don't remember if HostelBookers was promoted at the hostel (question #7)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 April 2013

Liked: The guests there were friendly.

Disliked: It is too far from the downtown and the fee for the subway is expensive, everyday go and back more than 8 Dollars. The bathroom is not very clean.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ashley soldera

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2013 ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Internet usage, comfy sofas in common room, large kitchen, 3 bathrooms with showers shared by floors in building

Disliked: Uncomfortable top bunk bed Lack of room key for safety + security No fitness centre/pool Lack of cleanliness on floors - needs more upkeeping daily

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's right across from the metro. There's a 24 hour 7/11 right next to it, as well. Very cheap, you get what you pay for. You'll get a chance to meet very interesting travelers from all over the place -- and a couple of shady characters, too.

Disliked: The house is a bit too old (though some people may think it's part of the charm).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tobias Zwior

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Ron, is a great character, very helpful, friendly and funny! He creates a very cozy atmosphere in his hostel and as guest, one feels welcomed right from the start. Everything is easy and laid back, there does not exist a curfew or something similar.

Disliked: Seriously: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JOSE REYES

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

09 November 2012 JOSE would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro station

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alcebiades Paulino Silverio Neto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Alcebiades Paulino would recommend this property

Liked: conhecer um pouco da rotina do lugar

Disliked: distancia do centro

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

debora rosas santibanez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 May 2012 debora would recommend this property

Liked: Even when is not so close to washingtong hall its reallyt easy to get there by subway

Disliked: the beds i feel like it should be a little more clean.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012

Liked: The friendliness

Disliked: The cheat in the arrangement of services advertised online

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

fawzaan haroon tooray

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012

Liked: its an average place to hang out

Disliked: the property is less spacious

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012

Liked: Price.

Disliked: The rest of the things. This place is a mix between a burdel and a hippie house. No security, no privacy, no hygiene,... everything is a chaos.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and verly close to Metro

Disliked: The bed and mattress need to be replaced. When you have a milk crate proping up the bed frame, you worry. Heavy smkoing inside means that there is a strong smell of smoke throughout the house - not good for those with breathing problems

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2011

Liked: Low price, friendly people.

Disliked: Smoking. The entire building is filled with it. Only 3 bathrooms. Climate control was horrible, building was either baking (heaters on) or freezing (at night after lights out the heat is turned off).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011

Liked: There is a free use computer with internet. Far from the city center but the metro stop is just next to the hostel. There is a "7-eleven" supermarket next to the hostel too.

Disliked: Some people of the hostel don't care for the people that is sleeping. At night they shout, run, play guitar...horrible, expecially the night of saturday. In the mornings the bathrooms (3 in all the house) are always busy but clean. We had a private room so the security was ok (have to leave a deposit of 5$ for the room key). The owner leave us pay the stay only with cash. The same boy was sleeping in a sofa the days we stayed there. The people smoke inside the house.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011

Liked: The location was ok, next to a metro station.

Disliked: I normally don't bother writing reviews, but I just felt like I had to say something about this hostel. The staff was really rude and unhelpful, doors were kept open 24/7, there was no lock for the dorm room at all, the hostel was really dirty and there were random people sleeping on the sofas downstairs every night. I've stayed in a lot of hostels around the world and this is by far one of the worst. I'm sure you can find lots of better places for same price in Washington.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Matresses not comfortable My flight was delayed a whole day but they still charged me for the night I didnt sleep there. I understand the 24 hour cancellation policy but i emailed them straight away and they would even give me it for half price.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, hostel is cozy

Disliked: aircondition not availiable, only 3 bathrooms - sometimes longer waiting time especially in the morning

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: Location, WiFi access was good, people staying there were very cool!

Disliked: It was dirty and the beds were ridiculous with ill-fitting linen which meant you stuck to the plastic sheets. There were only three bathrooms for everyone which meant long queues and inevitably dirty showers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was very laid back, was a good cheap place to stay

Disliked: Not the best quality beds

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011

Liked: unique atmosphere

Disliked: Very old insufficent bathrooms run down house