HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - Washington DC Hostel

Hostel | 1009 11th Street, NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20001

88.6% Overall Rating

1093 out of 1183 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2014)

"Library nearby, Ethiopian restaurant right next door, subway nearby, good neighborhood, near what I needed to be near."

Read all HI - Washington DC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

HOSTEL CUSTOMS • A valid credit card is required for guaranteed reservations. If you need personal attention or have special needs, please call us or email us • Please retain your confirmation number when making a reservation • A $3 per person, per night Temporary Membership Fee for those who aren't members • Please show a government issued photo ID upon check-in • Check-in is at 2:00 PM on your arrival date, and check-out is at 11:00 AM on your departure date. Guests have until 2:00 PM on the date of arrival to cancel their reservation. Any guest who does not call and cancel by 2:00 PM on the date of arrival will be charged one night stay • Children under 12-years-old must stay with their guardian in a private room. Children 12-18 years-old must stay in the same room with their guardian • Extension requests made after 11:00 AM on the scheduled date of departure may require the hosteller to switch beds and/or rooms • FREE in-room lockers are provided (please provide your own lock). A limited number of electronic lockers are available for a small fee • The maximum length of stay is 14 days within a twelve-month period • Accommodations are available only to travelers from outside a 55 mile radius of the hostel • Refunds will be provided using the original method of payment "Accepted credit cards, for making reservations and paying for stays, are limited to VISA or Mastercard."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Duo Housing Washington DC
26.00 USD

Hostel 85.9% 191 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.1% 342 reviews
DC Lofty
27.79 USD

Hostel 81.8% 102 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 61.6% 113 reviews
Capital View Hostel
31.26 USD

Hostel 81.5% 32 reviews
Washington International Student Center
31.58 USD

Hostel 61.5% 69 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
24.50 USD

Hostel 82.7% 36 reviews
Canal Inn
37.50 USD

Hotel 84.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

1093 out of 1183 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Washington DC Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 778 of 834 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Barbara Alvarez Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great facilities, good breakfast and perfect location.

Disliked: No activities during our stay, so it was difficult to meet others.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014

Liked: Library nearby, Ethiopian restaurant right next door, subway nearby, good neighborhood, near what I needed to be near.

Disliked: They didn't have my reservation when I got there. I showed them the email confirmation and they put me in a larger dorm but charged me the same price, though they did fix that after the first night. The room was chilly, probably down to the 50s or even 40s, and when I asked they said the air conditioning couldn't be fixed. So we're wasting fossil fuels to make people uncomfortably cold in the summer. The lockers were too small for even my laptop, much less my suitcase, and were far away from the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Avit Kumar Bhowmik

Alone

Business / conference

09 August 2014 Avit Kumar would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well-organized. The breakfast was good and the bathroom was tidy.

Disliked: The hostel should offer a baggage storage for free for few hours since it has a check-out deadline at 11:00. People may have their journey back around the evening and thus may like to have a final look at the city. The current baggage storage in the hostel costs $4.00 for the whole day. A crazy guy moved into my bed after I slept there one night and wore my pijamas that were lying on my bed. The staff in the reception gave me fresh bedding right way. However, they should be more careful of whom they are letting in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Wasn't very social

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay as it was my first exprience at a Hostel----John in the kitchen was outstanding!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eunice Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Eunice would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and helpful staff

Disliked: Location fro attractions

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Madigan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location

Disliked: I think the rooms were too small for 10 people

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are all helpful and cheerful. :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was the best.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Caitlin Gray

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: The included breakfast was substantial and made the price worth it. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and beds were made for you before arrival which is always nice - especially if you have a late check in.

Disliked: Some of the staff at the front desk were not very friendly and seemed to want to rush everything even when there was noone else waiting to speak to them.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well administered. Everything seems to be in order and the kitchen is well equipped. It was nice to have a free cup of tea when I arrived.

Disliked: also

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff when I arrived. Was made to feel welcomed & accommodated.

Disliked: So many people to one room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RICARDO VERIDIANO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 RICARDO would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located with great living environments.

Disliked: The breakfast could have more option of fruit.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to all attractions

Disliked: House staff were a little bit grumpy/ lift was dangerous

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liling Tan

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 June 2014 Liling would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staffs, upscale location, clean and organized and finally equipped with an arsenal of vending machines =)

Disliked: There's nothing to dislike about HI-Washington!!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rafael Dulinski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: it was really central

Disliked: bad wifi

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ernesto Moscoso Cam

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Ernesto would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, quite, comfortable, with a good location near the National Mall and places to eat; the staff was helpful and polite. Free and fast WiFi. Free activities and tours offered.

Disliked: The breakfast offer was limited; but it was free nevertheless. The elevator is really slow, but they can't do much about it.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pajtim Palushi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Pajtim would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was always willing to help you, it was near to the White House and other D.C. attractions

Disliked: The 3 dollars extra pay for not being a member of the Hostel, the food wasn't the best.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Estherjoy Mungai

Alone

Business / conference

02 June 2014 Estherjoy would recommend this property

Liked: I picked this place for the great reviews and it didn't disappoint. Great location, right in front a bus stop and only a couple blocks for the Metro Center station. Very helpful and friendly staff, and though I didn't participate in an, great featured events like free tours, dinners, etc. The complimentary breakfast were great. my biggest pet peeves are cleanliness of bathrooms and bedding. Bedding was clean and fresh, and the bathrooms were better than the dorms at my college. there was a locker for every bed bog enough to fit your a suitase and more stuff. I locked mine just once but felt so comfortable I didn't even bother the rest of my stay and none of my stuff was disturbed. All this plus the price, only $36, especially considering its great location make this place a steal. 9.5/10

Disliked: Estherjoy left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefani Ivanova

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

30 May 2014 Stefani would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great spot with amazing people working.

Disliked: Stefani left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean & good breakfast

Disliked: Checkin only available at 2pm, so you have to wait if you arrive early. Mattress was uncomfortable.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anthony Kang

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 March 2014

Liked: Good location just a 20-minute walk from most major sites. There was also free food on a few occasions and the complimentary bananas are great.

Disliked: Wi-fi is absolutely horrible. How there is only one router for seven stories is mind-boggling.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RICARDO FABIAN MALAGUEÑO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 RICARDO FABIAN would recommend this property

Liked: As it is usual in HI hostels, everything was excellent. Comfortable beds with individual ligth and plenty of electric outlets, great breakfast, very good location, lots of free activities every day. And the giant bowl with free bananas is awesome!!!

Disliked: Few showers in shared bathrooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very conveniently located to the Metra and also to DC sites.

Disliked: The wifi was a little slow at times, but accessible all the time.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chan Xie

Alone

Business / conference

13 November 2013 Chan would recommend this property

Liked: People is very kind and helpful

Disliked: no

The property's response is...