HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - Washington DC

Hostel | 1009 11th Street, NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20001

91.0% Overall Rating

1086 out of 1175 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Caitlin Gray thinks…

"The included breakfast was substantial and made the price worth it. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and beds were made for you before arrival which is always nice - especially if you have a late…"

Read all HI - Washington DC reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

HOSTEL CUSTOMS • A valid credit card is required for guaranteed reservations. If you need personal attention or have special needs, please call us or email us • Please retain your confirmation number when making a reservation • A $3 per person, per night Temporary Membership Fee for those who aren't members • Please show a government issued photo ID upon check-in • Check-in is at 2:00 PM on your arrival date, and check-out is at 11:00 AM on your departure date. Guests have until 2:00 PM on the date of arrival to cancel their reservation. Any guest who does not call and cancel by 2:00 PM on the date of arrival will be charged one night stay • Children under 12-years-old must stay with their guardian in a private room. Children 12-18 years-old must stay in the same room with their guardian • Extension requests made after 11:00 AM on the scheduled date of departure may require the hosteller to switch beds and/or rooms • FREE in-room lockers are provided (please provide your own lock). A limited number of electronic lockers are available for a small fee • The maximum length of stay is 14 days within a twelve-month period • Accommodations are available only to travelers from outside a 55 mile radius of the hostel • Refunds will be provided using the original method of payment "Accepted credit cards, for making reservations and paying for stays, are limited to VISA or Mastercard."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Duo Housing Washington DC
25.00 USD

Hostel 86.9% 190 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.8% 340 reviews
DC Lofty
27.79 USD

Hostel 84.0% 97 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 61.6% 113 reviews
Capital View Hostel
35.73 USD

Hostel 81.5% 32 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.4% 66 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
24.50 USD

Hostel 83.5% 27 reviews
Canal Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 83.9% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

1086 out of 1175 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Washington DC'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 771 of 826 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Warner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 August 2011 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location making the low price all the better. It was easy to stay here and see the things I wanted to, plus it was laid back and clean.

Disliked: I had no problems at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy and friendly staff.

Disliked: N/A

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, which is the most important thing to me. The beds were sturdy and made from wood. The dorm rooms were rather spacious in comparison with other hostels.

Disliked: The lack of wireless wifi. The locker storage cost.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and nice staff. I especially liked the breakfast guy - made me laugh! :-) And it's only a few blocks from tha mall - all the major sights! Big plus for tours (free or cheap).

Disliked: A lack in "hanging out space", since the sofas quickly fills up. I also miss a lamp above my bed, then i could be able to read - all though this might be a plus for somebody ( so people can't have the lights on ).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claire Doolan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 claire would recommend this property

Liked: Orgainsed stuff for travellers which is always good when you are travelling on your own.

Disliked: Its a bit far from the Mall.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice rooms with plenty of space, the activities offered

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, good wifi in common areas, absolutely no complaints and would stay there again.

Disliked: lift is veery slow - take the stairs!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Ward

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, clean

Disliked: Wifi only worked in the downstairs area, meaning it was full of people on laptops so not very social

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011

Liked: .

Disliked: At 2am in the morning my friend and I were woken up by a member of the hostel's staff and told we needed to change rooms.. immediately! Apparently a member of staff had made a booking for our room, after ours had already been made, and as a result we were expected to move rooms while the newer booking would receive our beds.. in the middle of the night.. which we were already sleeping!? As there were no beds available at the same price range, they also felt it was appropriate to upgrade us to a private double (we were not a couple and not too keen on sharing a bed) from the 4 bed female dorm, and charge us the extra price difference!! ALL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT! Honestly, I've travelled a lot, but this has to be the most ridiculous and unreasonable situation I have ever found myself in. We booked well ahead of our trip, checked in when we arrived in Washington, had a lovely first day in the city, and then found a MALE member of staff in our room in the middle of the night telling us we had to swap rooms and pay him the extra money right then and there. And when we tried to protest the situation, we were verbally abused and made to feel like crap. Unbelievable. We had a lot of trouble getting back to sleep after all of the commotion, there had been another girl already in the dorm who was woken up by all the drama too. Completely unprofessional behaviour by the staff, there are a hundred ways they could have resolved the error they had made without waking up two paying guests, who had done nothing wrong, in the middle of the night. Yuck.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, everything is clean, lots of events and activities to join in with.

Disliked: stored luggage is expensive in lockers and once opened can't be reclosed even if within the time you've paid very frustrating

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jawaud Shafeek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Jawaud would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Breakfast Guy (his choosing) is the BEST man in the whole hostel here. 2. Breakfast Guy asking for greeting in a language. 3. The bed was pretty good. 4. Community room was nice and ample. 5. Property is alcohol free. 6. Free wifi.

Disliked: 1. The bathroom and room where I stayed was stinky. 2. The location sounded great in print but in reality was bad. 3. Suzy needs to be committed and replaced with a REAL elevator! 4. No water fountain on the floor I was on, and there was only one place for cold water in the whole freakin' joint! Not good! 5. Only 1-2 hostel workers were friendly and able to help, and after that you'd have to fend for yourself! 6. The desk was not helpful in getting around the city, and even with a big sign saying go here for help proved to be a place for it to take up space. Period! 7. No place to chill out on the floor you're on like it's done in Chicago! 8. Not being able to at least lock up items before you actually turn in for the night so one can go sightseeing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and the free monuments tour.

Disliked: It could have been cleaner in the bathroom and there was no privacy in the shower area to get changed. Also the bunk beds in our room were very squashed together and there were some odd characters staying there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly.

Disliked: The shower curtains were a bit weird, there was no place to change except in the shower itself if you didn't want to share your changing room with strangers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: brill location, clean and spacious

Disliked: no early check in

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kirsti Halcomb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Kirsti would recommend this property

Liked: It's location was good, within walking distance of Chinatown, white house, national mall (eg museums, galleries and Capitol Hill/Washington monument). Breakfast of all you can eat bagels, bread, cereal, juice and coffee was quite good. Large lockers in room was also good.

Disliked: The life is tiny and extraordinarily slow (literally waiting 5 minutes sometimes) which was imconvenient being on the 7th floor. The wifi only works on 1st and 2nd floor, not in rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

paula maffei

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 paula would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the staff very friendly

Disliked: thy runned out of coffee in the mornings

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to metro station "Metro Center", nice place to hang out with people, free breakfast

Disliked: elevator is too slow, facilites look a little old

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela March

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly staff! Awesome breakfast and great facilities:) Nice sized rooms!!

Disliked: I found the guy that checked me in was a little rude and abrupt! This was honestly only this one guy however and all the other staff were so incredibly kind, helpful and friendly that it more than made up for this guys rudeness!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kieran Randell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No bar

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything about it, especially the friendly guy serving breakfast =)

Disliked: The elevator is a little bit slow, if that counts

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Andrew the receptionist on March 15, 2011!

Disliked: Price!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011

Liked: it was in a good location and the breakfast guy was pretty cool

Disliked: cant drink, eat breath or pretty much do anything in this hostel. no fun at all! no atmosphere and no night life. if ur looking for fun and a few good nights out with new people then go somewhere else!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities and very good breakfast Close enough to the main sites of DC Eassy to get to from Union Station and Greyhound

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and it's calm!

Disliked: Very poor breakfast! And the lockers at the basement are expensive!

The property's response is...