HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelling International – Washington, DC

Hostel | 1009 11th Street, NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20001

88.9% Overall Rating

1069 out of 1158 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/03/2014)

Anthony Kang thinks…

"Good location just a 20-minute walk from most major sites. There was also free food on a few occasions and the complimentary bananas are great."

Read all Hostelling International – Washington, DC reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

HOSTEL CUSTOMS • A valid credit card is required for guaranteed reservations. If you need personal attention or have special needs, please call us or email us • Please retain your confirmation number when making a reservation • A $3 per person, per night Temporary Membership Fee for those who aren't members • Please show a government issued photo ID upon check-in • Check-in is at 2:00 PM on your arrival date, and check-out is at 11:00 AM on your departure date. Guests have until 2:00 PM on the date of arrival to cancel their reservation. Any guest who does not call and cancel by 2:00 PM on the date of arrival will be charged one night stay • Children under 12-years-old must stay with their guardian in a private room. Children 12-18 years-old must stay in the same room with their guardian • Extension requests made after 11:00 AM on the scheduled date of departure may require the hosteller to switch beds and/or rooms • FREE in-room lockers are provided (please provide your own lock). A limited number of electronic lockers are available for a small fee • The maximum length of stay is 14 days within a twelve-month period • Accommodations are available only to travelers from outside a 55 mile radius of the hostel • Refunds will be provided using the original method of payment "Accepted credit cards, for making reservations and paying for stays, are limited to VISA or Mastercard."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Duo Housing Washington DC
29.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 177 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 333 reviews
DC Lofty
27.79 USD

Hostel 84.7% 83 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 67.8% 97 reviews
Capital View Hostel
34.24 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.0% 64 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 85.7% 10 reviews
Canal Inn
42.50 USD

Hotel 84.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

1069 out of 1158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelling International – Washington, DC'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 757 of 809 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Marchand Ouellet

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, welcoming staff, close to the point of interest and secure location. Room well separated for privacy.

Disliked: Air conditioning works great but popping the beds placed nearby.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The large social areas and the good quality internet/wifi on offer. Free breakfast was also good, along with the friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: Nothing in particular, though perhaps it would of been nice if there had been more offered tours. Though we were only there a few days.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 September 2011

Liked: It is clean, has good common area's and they organize a lot of things.

Disliked: It is more a family hostel. If you're looking for a party, this is not the place for you. They ask for $4 to store your stuff for a couple of hours after you check out. This is something that is free in pretty much every hostel. Rooms can be a bit smelly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love this place! Love the idea of kitchen for u to cook!

Disliked: Walking!! Haha

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The buffet breakfast and the free wi-fi facilities were very cool and helpful. That's what most travelers need! The location is also invaluable!!!

Disliked: The sssslow elevator, the narrow stairs, the too expensive lockers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located w/I walking distance of the sightseeing attractions.

Disliked: Elevator's is too slow for normal operations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very clean.

Disliked: Air Condition was very loud.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I specially like the facilities. For who is travalling alone, without much money is perfect!

Disliked: The front desk staff. They could be helpfull, but not very sympathetic...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free walking tour of georgetown was really fun. They also offer other free group activities which is good. It is very close to the museums and white house. The room was spacious. The staff were helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was so friendly, staff and guests. John always had a smile on his face and would encourage the same from everyone. It was nice to have sheets and towels changed during my stay of 6 nights. Thank you all for a lovely hostel

Disliked: Lift was slow and I was on the 8th floor

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast included. kitchen and places to store food quite big. we had the key of our room. nice activities offered to guests. nice staff.

Disliked: nothing to complain about expect for the air conditioning a bit to high in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Warner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 August 2011 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location making the low price all the better. It was easy to stay here and see the things I wanted to, plus it was laid back and clean.

Disliked: I had no problems at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy and friendly staff.

Disliked: N/A

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, which is the most important thing to me. The beds were sturdy and made from wood. The dorm rooms were rather spacious in comparison with other hostels.

Disliked: The lack of wireless wifi. The locker storage cost.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and nice staff. I especially liked the breakfast guy - made me laugh! :-) And it's only a few blocks from tha mall - all the major sights! Big plus for tours (free or cheap).

Disliked: A lack in "hanging out space", since the sofas quickly fills up. I also miss a lamp above my bed, then i could be able to read - all though this might be a plus for somebody ( so people can't have the lights on ).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claire Doolan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 claire would recommend this property

Liked: Orgainsed stuff for travellers which is always good when you are travelling on your own.

Disliked: Its a bit far from the Mall.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice rooms with plenty of space, the activities offered

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, good wifi in common areas, absolutely no complaints and would stay there again.

Disliked: lift is veery slow - take the stairs!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Ward

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, clean

Disliked: Wifi only worked in the downstairs area, meaning it was full of people on laptops so not very social

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011

Liked: .

Disliked: At 2am in the morning my friend and I were woken up by a member of the hostel's staff and told we needed to change rooms.. immediately! Apparently a member of staff had made a booking for our room, after ours had already been made, and as a result we were expected to move rooms while the newer booking would receive our beds.. in the middle of the night.. which we were already sleeping!? As there were no beds available at the same price range, they also felt it was appropriate to upgrade us to a private double (we were not a couple and not too keen on sharing a bed) from the 4 bed female dorm, and charge us the extra price difference!! ALL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT! Honestly, I've travelled a lot, but this has to be the most ridiculous and unreasonable situation I have ever found myself in. We booked well ahead of our trip, checked in when we arrived in Washington, had a lovely first day in the city, and then found a MALE member of staff in our room in the middle of the night telling us we had to swap rooms and pay him the extra money right then and there. And when we tried to protest the situation, we were verbally abused and made to feel like crap. Unbelievable. We had a lot of trouble getting back to sleep after all of the commotion, there had been another girl already in the dorm who was woken up by all the drama too. Completely unprofessional behaviour by the staff, there are a hundred ways they could have resolved the error they had made without waking up two paying guests, who had done nothing wrong, in the middle of the night. Yuck.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, everything is clean, lots of events and activities to join in with.

Disliked: stored luggage is expensive in lockers and once opened can't be reclosed even if within the time you've paid very frustrating

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jawaud Shafeek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Jawaud would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Breakfast Guy (his choosing) is the BEST man in the whole hostel here. 2. Breakfast Guy asking for greeting in a language. 3. The bed was pretty good. 4. Community room was nice and ample. 5. Property is alcohol free. 6. Free wifi.

Disliked: 1. The bathroom and room where I stayed was stinky. 2. The location sounded great in print but in reality was bad. 3. Suzy needs to be committed and replaced with a REAL elevator! 4. No water fountain on the floor I was on, and there was only one place for cold water in the whole freakin' joint! Not good! 5. Only 1-2 hostel workers were friendly and able to help, and after that you'd have to fend for yourself! 6. The desk was not helpful in getting around the city, and even with a big sign saying go here for help proved to be a place for it to take up space. Period! 7. No place to chill out on the floor you're on like it's done in Chicago! 8. Not being able to at least lock up items before you actually turn in for the night so one can go sightseeing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and the free monuments tour.

Disliked: It could have been cleaner in the bathroom and there was no privacy in the shower area to get changed. Also the bunk beds in our room were very squashed together and there were some odd characters staying there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly.

Disliked: The shower curtains were a bit weird, there was no place to change except in the shower itself if you didn't want to share your changing room with strangers.