We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - Washington DC Hostel

Hostel | 1009 11th Street, NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20001

86.4% Overall Rating

1127 out of 1222 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2015)

Kelly Power thinks…

"The breakfast is really substantial and served by a really geenial guy that has a lot of enthusiasm for what he does! The kitchen is really clean and modern, I felt happy cooking there. There are…"

Read all HI - Washington DC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

HOSTEL CUSTOMS • A valid credit card is required for guaranteed reservations. If you need personal attention or have special needs, please call us or email us • Please retain your confirmation number when making a reservation • Maximum number of guests is 10 • A $3 per person, per night Temporary Membership Fee for those who aren't members • Please show a government issued photo ID upon check-in • Check-in is at 2:00 PM on your arrival date, and check-out is at 11:00 AM on your departure date. Guests have until 2:00 PM on the date of arrival to cancel their reservation. Any guest who does not call and cancel by 2:00 PM on the date of arrival will be charged one night stay • Children under 12-years-old must stay with their guardian in a private room. Children 12-18 years-old must stay in the same room with their guardian • Extension requests made after 11:00 AM on the scheduled date of departure may require the hosteller to switch beds and/or rooms • FREE in-room lockers are provided (please provide your own lock). A limited number of electronic lockers are available for a small fee • The maximum length of stay is 14 days within a twelve-month period • Accommodations are available only to travelers from outside a 55 mile radius of the hostel • Refunds will be provided using the original method of payment "Accepted credit cards, for making reservations and paying for stays, are limited to VISA or Mastercard."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Duo Housing Washington DC
26.95 USD

Hostel 85.7% 224 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 348 reviews
DC Lofty
22.95 USD

Hostel 83.2% 129 reviews
Capital View Hostel
34.74 USD

Hostel 86.7% 46 reviews
Washington International Student Center
33.69 USD

Hostel 68.0% 80 reviews
Washington DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 90.1% 58 reviews
Canal Inn
45.00 USD

Hotel 85.3% 20 reviews
The Intern Inn of Washington, DC
35.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

1127 out of 1222 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Washington DC Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 806 of 873 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: The noise in the rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. Very nice staff.

Disliked: The plugs in the room or the cafeteria are rare and sometimes doesn't work. this is something that should be improved

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location downtown washington dc.

Disliked: Mediocre bathrooms. Staff mediocre.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel, definitely better than its NYC counterpart, close to all the monuments

Disliked: Showers are pretty small and dodgy and the bathrooms smelt but that would be my only issue

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ping Li

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Ping would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect and the guider books are very good.

Disliked: Too less choice for breakfast. Maybe fried eggs and more fruites will be even better.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, extra free activities (Manny's concert)

Disliked: No hot water - on several days. First in the evening. Then I was told it was fixed. Next morning no hot water, later that day no hot water. The staff was generally excellent, however one in particular ignored customers and was rude.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast

Disliked: Check in was extremely slow! A bunch of Europeans checked in before me and the staff were slow, inefficient and disorganized checking them in which made me missed the last tour of Engraving & Printing. I had to wait till Monday to join the tour again, but that was the day I was leaving Washington!!! That really pissed me off!!! Also, those European left there luggages scattered around the lobby and they stood and sat everywhere making it hard for guests to walk by them, they didn't even budge. The staff should have told them to step aside and place all their bags against the corner and should've told them to get documents & money ready instead of chit chatting w/ them. Geesh, this is basic knowledge of handling situations, they need more training!!! Didn't like the dark washrooms and I had to keep pumping the tap for water to come out. I know the hostel wants to conserve water. Why not install sensor taps? It's more hygenic too. I didn't enjoy paying for the lockers when the NEW hostels in Chicago and Boston didn't charge me!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aaron Paolo Tomas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Aaron Paolo would recommend this property

Liked: Complimentary wifi in the lobby and somehow, the location.

Disliked: Bathroom. Could have been better. But not that bad either.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast.

Disliked: There were no Wi-fi connections inside the room.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is my first time hostel experience, I would say if you just want an cheap overnight stay at such expensive city like DC, this hostel almost give you everything, and the location is very good.

Disliked: First night I didn't get good sleep, because there had an homeless like stinking old man on my lower bed, the horrible odor was a nightmare in such a small room that ten persons were living. Although this is not hostel fault, the hostel should mandate the basic sanitation and personal hygiene rules to the guest when they check in, such an awful smell is really offensive to other nine persons. If the guest don't want to follow it, they should be warned in advance to be evicted out before they evict out other roommates.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Tuson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, central, secure

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Had free events and tours

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oduwole Odubanjo

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

23 August 2012 Oduwole would recommend this property

Liked: The lovely and delicious breakfast

Disliked: wi fii internet should be available on all floors

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed so far!!! Amazing location in the middle of DC, amazing atmosphere, a lot of events for guests (free tours, concerts, dinner nights etc.), kitchen with a lot of free food, everything was clean, staff is extreamly friendly and ready to help with everything! And the philosophy of HI about travelling, ecology etc. is really inspiring! My first and incredibly great experience with HI!! I am sure its the best hostel for backpackers in Washington!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shun Yi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Shun would recommend this property

Liked: worth it, it gives me a good experience.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The daily free tours and trips were great and the volunteers were super enthusiastic.

Disliked: The lift was very slow, but there were 2 sets of stairs so it was easily avoided. The staff were a little unhelpful when we asked to turn the airconditioner down in our freezing room.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels very secure. Breakfast was good. Not too far from the main sights, close enough to metro too.

Disliked: The guy at breakfast gets a little annoying after a while (we only stayed two days, so I'd say after the first day...)

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dusan Berek

Alone

Relaxation/spa

10 July 2012 Dusan would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: No comments

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Lansdowne

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first stay at a hostel in many years. I am now nearly 60 years old and was a bit apprehansive about being the old guy staying with a bunch of young guys. But my experience was great. I felt welcomed and not at all out of place. Great affordable place to stay. Highly recommended.

Disliked: AC was not what is needed to be. Way too hot in many rooms.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dean Crisp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and nice spacious clean rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast guy really made you feel welcome and brought everyone together in the morning. Pool table and piano were good additions.

Disliked: Not enough communal space. Often no seats remaining. Slightly more expensive than other hotels. Air con was very cold at night particularly on beds near it.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathy Dyer

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 June 2012 Kathy would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN!!! and very well-located, I was especially impressed with the laminated information cards located in the rooms to find essentilas such as the Post Office, Metro Station to the airport, varieities of nearby restaurants, etc. Even though I did not take part in the free tours offered by the hostel, I was amazed that they offer the free service.

Disliked: One negative that needs to be taken care of IMMEDIATELY: As the mother of Marine Lcpl Chris Dyer, KIA 8/3/2005 Iraq.......I was dismayed to see posters in the elevators and hallways advertising a tour of ~IOWA JIMA Memorial, as opposed to IWO JIMA Memorial. This is embarrassing! They need to re-do the posters with the correct spelling|!!!!!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beverly Simpson Headon

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Beverly would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay, great staff, very helpful, great character

Disliked: Not a real dislike but elevator was pretty slow, but it is what it is....was fun anyways

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, and (like all HI hostels) a safe bet to stay

Disliked: They messed up my booking, and it took a while to figure out what to do with me

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free bananas at the reception desk.

Disliked: Some confusion between staff members.

The property's response is...