We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Loftstel

Hostel | 4115 8th Street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20011

81.0% Overall Rating

193 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

Brandi Stepp thinks…

"Cat and the rest of the Loftstel staff were proactively friendly and helpful during the course of my stay. The hostel is pretty spacious and the WiFi worked great! It's within walking distance of…"

Read all Loftstel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that prices do not include the 14.5% Washington DC tax, and that your remaining balance is automatically charged to your credit card. Visit our website for our cancellation policy and directions to LOFTSTEL DC. Please note that our check-in times are from 10am to 10pm. If you have a late/early flight, PLEASE contact us ahead of time so that we can arrange for your arrival. You must be over the age of 18 to stay at Loftstel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.5% 69 reviews
DC Lofty
24.81 USD

Hostel 80.6% 106 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 61.6% 113 reviews
Hilltop Hostel
24.00 USD

Hostel 74.2% 517 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.6% 343 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
26.00 USD

Hostel 85.5% 192 reviews
HI - Washington DC Hostel
36.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 1197 reviews
Capital View Hostel
31.76 USD

Hostel 82.1% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

193 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Loftstel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 176 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Brandi Stepp

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

26 August 2014 Brandi would recommend this property

Liked: Cat and the rest of the Loftstel staff were proactively friendly and helpful during the course of my stay. The hostel is pretty spacious and the WiFi worked great! It's within walking distance of several bus routes and the Metro station and the hostel offers a spacious area for luggage storage during your stay. I also appreciated the fact that the front door required a code to unlock and the hostel was kept at a comfortable temperature. It seems as if it would be pretty easy to meet and make friends here. The best facet of this hostel is that it's much cheaper than other hostels in the DC area.

Disliked: The walls, the carpets, and the bathrooms are a little dirty-- there was black mold concentrated around the faucet and the handles in the Girls' bathroom. The water pressure of the shower isn't great. The neighborhood surrounding this hostel is pretty sketchy and I, a young woman travelling alone, often fielded comments and stares from men nearby, including a set of guys who pulled up alongside me in their car while I was walking to the Metro station. Unfortunately, I left with a few triple clusters of bug bites and a line of bites in a crescent moon shape on my shoulder and my foot. While I am sensitive to mosquito bites in the summer, the pattern of my insect bites is as such that I would advise extreme caution when selecting this hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorraine Beck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and they really try to help as much as they can. It was very close to a metro station.

Disliked: Lorraine left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Mcguire

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The house had a wonderful atmosphere and everyone was just so friendly. Everything was clean and organized.

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Betty Houck

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Betty would recommend this property

Liked: It was very near the metro so that's a big plus. The all-female staff was also great! They were all students or interns I think.

Disliked: Betty left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014

Liked: It had running water...only good thing about it

Disliked: The dirtiness and the careless attitude of the staff. I felt swindlered.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Marina Shima

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013

Liked: It was clean, the bath room was nice, the linen smelled good.

Disliked: I booked as a female only room but they gave me a mix room and said there were no any room and can't change it. But I booked this hostel because they said they had a female only room. It was a big deal for me!! And this hostel had no key to room. The atmosphere from metro is not so good. So I don't really recommend this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really well-run and organized. The staff is very friendly, and the guests are mostly interns or job-seekers, so you know you'll get to sleep at night. The no alcohol policy is great because people don't act drunk and crazy.

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was quite comfortable to stay. there was no bugs so it was clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Park Yuson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Park would recommend this property

Liked: the amenities they offer are really nice, free use of a computer, free wifi, a nice kitchen, laundry facilities. they also provide free towels and linen.!

Disliked: it was a bit out of the way.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Khitz JOAQUINO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Khitz would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels I've been to.

Disliked: Khitz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janus Verpalen

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 February 2013 Janus would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place! I love it. Thanks guys!

Disliked: nothing. :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JESSICA SIMMS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 JESSICA would recommend this property

Liked: We made a couple of new friends while we were here. It was a great place to meet new people. The hostel is very clean and well maintained. They have friendly staff people and the guests are also friendly.

Disliked: JESSICA left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to stay in DC. They have nice amenities, clean rooms, clean sheets, and laundry facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KADEIDRE BENZEBII

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 KADEIDRE would recommend this property

Liked: This is a wonderful place to stay in when you're in DC. They got clean rooms, comfortable guests and nice staff.

Disliked: KADEIDRE left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexi Haskins

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

10 October 2012 Alexi would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very nice and well-maintained hostel. There were no bed bugs or other nasty pests. They provide clean towels and linen. And the staff are also very accommodating. Definitely an A+ in my book!

Disliked: Alexi left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 October 2012

Liked: Not much. I met a nice person there but this is about it. I did not have anything stolen from me also which was very fortunate. No bed bugs and lockers although very small are in the rooms

Disliked: This is a basically a community house and not a hostel in the traditional sense. People are living there while working in DC and I would not recommend this place for a traveler. The neighborhood is in the process of being gentrified but it is still unsafe for the average tourist who has never been to Washington DC before in my opinion. The 7-11 around there had an attempted robbery while I was there. Maybe in a couple of years this area will be ok but not just yet I felt like I was staying in a group house. The doors to be the rooms do not lock so anyone can come in a anytime. Also the people that live there are so comfortable that they leave the doors open when they walk out of their bedroom including the girl I shared with in the basement level. On the weekends the residents stay up late at night hanging out in the living room and on the front porch and it gets loud. They talk loud as if they are the only ones there. I did not like this hostel. The fixtures get worn and broken and are not repaired. There are signs posted about quiet hours but this is not respected. The carpet on the 2nd floor is filthy. Maintenance and cleaning on this level is not kept up with. The sheets and rooms are clean though AND no bedbugs thank god. I was in town for work and waiting out before my apartment was ready but on a Friday, Saturday, or Sunday night forget about relaxing in a quiet environment. You don't get that here. I recommend DC Lofty or HI International on 11th street It should be advertised as a long term group house and not a hostel. Also if you are a woman and want more space stay in the basement. Although loud because of the constant walking on the first floor lobby level at least the rooms are more spacious because on the second floor there are female beds in one bedroom which is very crowded and hot

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Harrington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great night at this hostel. I got in late in the afternoon and the other guests were just coming in I guess. The atmosphere was very relaxing and friendly. People were eager to welcome a stranger. It was such an enjoyable experience.

Disliked: Andy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Diaz Navalta

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 September 2012 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: good place, nice amenities, the staff and other guests were always pleasant.

Disliked: the rooms are a bit congested but I kind of expected it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Atkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: It was incredibly cheap - you don't need to be a student or intern to get the advertised rates. It wasn't too far from the metro, and it was also close to some shops. A small shopping centre was only a metro stop away (Columbia Heights). I would recommend getting the weekly metro pass if you're going to be there more than a few days, as you will probably use the metro more than you think you will - it's a big city! My room was spacious enough and there were plenty of large lockers, and a wardrobe. It felt like living in a big sharehouse, as it is just basically a house; this is not a bad thing at all.

Disliked: You have to catch the metro to get into the city, but it still ends up being a lot cheaper than the other accommodation options. It got hot in the room at night, and there was no extra sheet, only a doona. They also don't supply maps. As a lone female traveller, I felt the need to hurry from the metro station to the hostel - I often received comments from passing men.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adriana Marquez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 August 2012 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: it was a great place to stay in. all the people are young and friendly. You'll get the feeling that you're back in an very familiar house with all your friends. the place is really clean.

Disliked: the beds were the usual bunk beds. I'm just used to sleeping in my big bed. :D

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Quinn

Alone

Business / conference

17 August 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: It was a relaxing place and it was very close to the metro. I had no problem with my stay there. Looks like I found my regular place when ever I'm in DC.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there are very welcoming. The girl at the reception was very accommodating. She even introduced me to some of their long-term guests.. It was just a few minutes from the nearest metro station which was a big plus.

Disliked: Matt left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ignasi Orta

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012

Liked: I liked the atmosphere of the place. Friendly staff and friendly people.

Disliked: Quite far from the center, and the neighbor can be a little dangerous at night. I was in a room of 8 people and I couldn't sleep well all night. There was a fan inside the room running all night making a lot of noise. And the blinds were broken so at 6:00am there was quite light.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katrina Roy

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 July 2012 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: It's a few minutes away from the nearest metro station and they have clean, comfy beds with fresh sheets.

Disliked: Katrina left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

yangyang Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012

Liked: Location is not good,and I heard others living in downtown with same amount of money. Good to make friends

Disliked: Location is not good,and I heard others living in downtown with same amount of money. No breakfast.Very small room for a lot of people.