We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Loftstel

Hostel | 4115 8th Street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20011

84.9% Overall Rating

202 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2015)

Ethel Horton thinks…

"Really nice dorm. Warm and cozy. The staff are all very nice and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are nice and clean and cleaned regularly. The kitchen is open to all guests. The staff also prepare…"

Read all Loftstel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that prices do not include the 14.5% Washington DC tax, and that your remaining balance is automatically charged to your credit card. Visit our website for our cancellation policy and directions to LOFTSTEL DC. Please note that our check-in times are from 10am to 10pm. If you have a late/early flight, PLEASE contact us ahead of time so that we can arrange for your arrival. You must be over the age of 18 to stay at Loftstel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Washington International Student Center
28.42 USD

Hostel 59.9% 71 reviews
DC Lofty
22.95 USD

Hostel 80.5% 117 reviews
Hilltop Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 73.9% 519 reviews
The District Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 348 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
24.95 USD

Hostel 88.6% 207 reviews
HI - Washington DC Hostel
44.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1208 reviews
Capital View Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 82.5% 39 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 85.7% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

202 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Loftstel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 185 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SUNGJUN MOON

02 June 2010 SUNGJUN would recommend this property

Liked: nice people nice roomateseverything was perfect but not locationif u have a car it doesnt matter

Disliked: SUNGJUN left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gretchen Ballester

14 May 2010 Gretchen would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place. I was able to go to places I needed to go to. Very accessible. And everyone seems so nice. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Gretchen left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice kitchen and living room, very friendly people, mostly students so very nice crowd to be around.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ernesto José Lopez-Morales

23 April 2010

Liked: Nice interior design. Nice people in general.

Disliked: Ernesto José left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophia Michaels

20 February 2010 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I had a great time at Loftstel. Everyone there was sooo friendly. Somebody even took us around to see the sights. I'm def going back here soon. And I'll bring more of my friends with me. See you soon!

Disliked: Sophia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline de Castro

26 January 2010 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: It was a wonderful place and very near to all the places that I needed to go to. I love the cheerfulness of ther staff. The hodgepodge of guests make everyday fun and exciting.

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marissa Park

07 January 2010 Marissa would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay here at loftstel. They treated me well and gave very good service. I will return here if ever I get back to DC.

Disliked: Marissa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people stay here long tym.. so its great for friendly people.. n not the in n out typical travellers hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly... :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and secure

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Penelope Brosio

18 October 2009 Penelope would recommend this property

Liked: Really fast internet.

Disliked: Penelope left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was extremely well equipped, the rooms were nice and it was more of a home than a hostel. It was slightly out the way but really close to the metro which was good. It was a little clique as most people seemed to stay there for months at a time and know each other but there was still enough people to talk to and everyone was very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very uncomplicated

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mareen Zschichold

13 October 2009 Mareen would recommend this property

Liked: accommodating and easy going staff. Almost homely atmosphere, but in a cool way. The kitchen provides almost everything you might need (alos oils, pasta, tee..) and supermarkets to provide you with the rest are in walking distance, as is the metro station. All in all the best hostel I have seen in the US!

Disliked: Mareen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samy Quigley

08 October 2009 Samy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel that felt like home. Very relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Samy left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

27 September 2009

Liked: The cosiness.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ayan Chatterjee

23 September 2009 Ayan would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location to all the DC sights, and lots of the amenities like internet and storage were free. Felt more like a family home than a hostel.

Disliked: Ayan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Oliver

08 September 2009 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: This unmarked house in a residential neighbourhood feels more like dropping by at a friend's friend's place for a night than a "proper" hostel--in a good way. You have to take your shoes off at the door, a courtesy observed by all guests, but the casual, homey atmosphere doesn't mean less cleanliness or poor service. A staffer is at the desk 24/7 to help with questions or complaints. There's not much to do or see or eat in the area except an organic grocery store, a gas station, and a few fast food Chinese + Carribbean joints, but the location is well connected via the Green/Yellow lines.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, with very nice people! comfortable to sleep and to hang out!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend the LOFTSTEL to anyone who comes to DC and doesn't know anyone else there. I myself am a little shy and not the first person to make friends with strangers but the common areas offer many opportunities to talk to other people and get to know new friends. Nevertheless, it also offers quiet areas if you want to be alone, so you could easily stay there for longer!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel in town

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Villondo

18 July 2009 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: A really clean and nice hostel! Shoes off at the front door, beds are really comfortable and the blanket is great You can really tell that they recently rennovated the place. People who stay here are usually around college age and are staying at LOFSTEL long term doing internships or jobs in DC. So a lot of people know each other but everyone is really nice to travellers too and include you in group activities. :) A really great atmosphere. The only downside is that it's in a pretty shady neighborhood. However, I feel that the hostel is safe though because it requires a door code to get into the building. Also, there are RAs that live in the building 24/7/

Disliked: Kathleen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josh Carrico

04 May 2009 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: It was located in a central neighborhood with quick access to the Metro.

Disliked: Josh left no negative feedback.