HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Loftstel

Hostel | 4115 8th Street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20011

83.1% Overall Rating

192 out of 209 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Lorraine Beck thinks…

"The staff were very friendly and they really try to help as much as they can. It was very close to a metro station."

Read all Loftstel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that prices do not include the 14.5% Washington DC tax, and that your remaining balance is automatically charged to your credit card. Visit our website for our cancellation policy and directions to LOFTSTEL DC. Please note that our check-in times are from 10am to 10pm. If you have a late/early flight, PLEASE contact us ahead of time so that we can arrange for your arrival. You must be over the age of 18 to stay at Loftstel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Washington International Student Center
31.58 USD

Hostel 61.4% 66 reviews
DC Lofty
27.79 USD

Hostel 84.0% 97 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 61.6% 113 reviews
Hilltop Hostel
24.00 USD

Hostel 74.1% 514 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.8% 340 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
29.00 USD

Hostel 86.9% 190 reviews
HI - Washington DC
36.00 USD

Hostel 90.2% 1177 reviews
Capital View Hostel
35.73 USD

Hostel 81.5% 32 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

192 out of 209 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Loftstel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 166 of 174 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, cozy home like environment.

Disliked: Location - it's rather far from downtown. Fortunately the bus stop and subway are close by.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything. we met a lot of amazing people, mostly students. we had so much fun there

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mirjana Tomse

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 March 2011 Mirjana would recommend this property

Liked: I'd say this place is a 9/10. The staff are very professional and the other guests were also friendly. The place itself is more than what you'd expect from a hostel.

Disliked: The lockers are a bit small but they also offer closet space so it's a good compromise.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near Metro stop.

Disliked: People complained a lot here. The staff had one guy who was marginally friendly and the rest were neither friendly nor unfriendly. I would have preferred a friendlier bunch.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a real treat when people are just warm and open even though it's just the first time you meet them. That how the people here are.

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Urska Mikuz

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 February 2011 Urska would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap yet it was clean and offered many added extras

Disliked: none

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's like living in a house. You couldn't tell it was a hostel from the outside, or the inside. good place near a subway station, has risk the board game, awesome.

Disliked: No alcohol allowed since early february! WHAT?!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011

Liked: Good Kitchen and nice living room as well as a basketball court outside the house.

Disliked: No hot water to take a shower in colde DC winter.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: from here to downtown (or main places to see) was not far and from subway station to here also not very far.

Disliked: I saw a rat when I just arrive at the kitchen. I thought the rooms are separated for male and female but it was NOT!!!!! There was 4 beds in a room and there is a guy in a same room. and a bed which already was used was kept 5 days with nobody...it's not clean...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, staff friendliness, hostel layout.

Disliked: The rooms, there was not much space between the beds.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus stewart

Alone

15 November 2010 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Mostly, I liked the atmosphere of the whole place. It's just like a family gathering of sorts. The staff and guests were all nice.

Disliked: Marcus left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Loftstel is comfortable and cheap.

Disliked: It's a little far from the Metro.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 November 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: This place is cheap and a great place for young students/backpackers! The staff is knowledgeable and helpful.

Disliked: It's a little far from downtown DC.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Generally, everything is fine.

Disliked: Vague directions on the website of the hostel caused confusion.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Joseph Grimms

Alone

Business / conference

09 November 2010 John Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: No complaints. It's a budget-friendly place. I heard they have special rates for students so it's more suited for them.

Disliked: John Joseph left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. They didn't direct you to the normal sights, or shove a map in your face. The hostel was very cute and homey, with a great back patio. It was also very affordable.

Disliked: It was a little far from downtown and the neighborhood wasn't great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Angela Fineman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a great atmosphere- it was very warm and friendly. Many of the guests are there for the long-term and are always ready to show you around.

Disliked: The location was a little far and it took some time to get to the major sights.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was very relaxed.

Disliked: The bathrooms definitely need some TLC, and privacy is almost non-existent (though I am sure that it would be fine for most, I think I'm just a little old for this kind of accommodation now!)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly. very convenient. the price is right.

Disliked: not enough bathrooms and 2 (of the 4) were broken. it can be hard to get a good night sleep in the shared bedrooms if your roommates are careless about light and noise (as mine were).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Edwards

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Went to DC for Halloween with my friends. I had to stay at this hostel but it was like a really great move for me. I'm glad I didn't stay with my friend anymore coz they were already really cramped at her place. We also had a lot of fun at the hostel for Halloween. Great!!!

Disliked: Kim left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

LYLE KATZEN

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2010 LYLE would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people.

Disliked: LYLE left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Metro and not far to all main attractions. Was great to have a duvet rather than the standard sheet and blanket. Bed was very comfortable.

Disliked: The big rat I encountered in the back yard was a little scary. At least it was outside and not inside!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Evans

Alone

26 September 2010 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to stay in. there is really nothing I can complain about. I was treated nicely by everybody. I'd say it's worth every penny.

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Campbell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: This was our first visit to NY from Boston. Me and my friend were supposed to stay some place else but ended up having to book here at the last minute. I have no regrets though, coz it was a really good place to stay in. They had a lot of friendly amenities and the staff were all very friendly. The other guests were welcoming as well, and some were from other countries.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ulrich Von Lichtenstein

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 September 2010 Ulrich would recommend this property

Liked: It was very good hostel for people that have small budget. But it has very good facilities and people. the other guests are friendly too. They had a small party when I was there.

Disliked: Ulrich left no negative feedback.