We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Intern Inn of Washington, DC

Hostel | 4115 8th Street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20011

84.9% Overall Rating

202 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2015)

Ethel Horton thinks…

"Really nice dorm. Warm and cozy. The staff are all very nice and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are nice and clean and cleaned regularly. The kitchen is open to all guests. The staff also prepare…"

Read all The Intern Inn of Washington, DC reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that prices do not include the 14.5% Washington DC tax, and that your remaining balance is automatically charged to your credit card. Visit our website for our cancellation policy and directions to LOFTSTEL DC. Please note that our check-in times are from 10am to 10pm. If you have a late/early flight, PLEASE contact us ahead of time so that we can arrange for your arrival. You must be over the age of 18 to stay at Loftstel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Washington International Student Center
28.42 USD

Hostel 60.2% 75 reviews
DC Lofty
22.95 USD

Hostel 82.3% 127 reviews
Hilltop Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 76.6% 524 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 348 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
24.95 USD

Hostel 89.1% 215 reviews
HI - Washington DC Hostel
36.00 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1216 reviews
Capital View Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 83.8% 42 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 89.9% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

202 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Intern Inn of Washington, DC'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 185 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time visiting DC with my brother. We wanted to be in the capital before the 9/11 memorial day. We're really glad we chose to stay at this hostel. The staff was great and the other guests were nice too. We'll most likely stay here again when were visiting DC.

Disliked: nothing at all...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was really just what it said. It was a student dorm with foreign guests. Even some of the staff are from different countries. It was a good place to meet people and get exposed to other cultures.

Disliked: There were a couple of noisy guests but I guess it can't be helped.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Willie Patterson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2011 Willie would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere that you get from this place. We went to DC for our backpacking trip. The staff was always very friendly and the are really fun to talk to. The other guests were really nice too.

Disliked: We came quite late so it took some time for them to let us in. Aside from that, everything was great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Morgan James

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: It had everything we needed for our trip to DC. The rooms were cozy and the amenities were very useful for us. We would recommend this place to other travelers.

Disliked: none.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It was just a great place to come back and relax. All the guests were just very cordial and nice, the staff too. Me and my friend enjoy ourselves at this place. Highly recommended!

Disliked: none! :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very nice. There are many nice people also those who work there are also nice.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Bennett

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 June 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful experience at this hostel. We had a late flight coming into DC. We were able to find the hostel with no problem. The staff was very friendly although it was already very late. We totally recommend this place to anyone going to DC. Thanx!!

Disliked: none :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Loftstel was very clean, its staff very friendly and the setting really nice.

Disliked: Though there is not a lot of space around your bed where you could keep your luggage. Plus the lockers are too small to fit in e.g. a backpack. One difficulty concerns the people who arrive with a car since there is no designated parking lot around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: me and my cousins had a good time here.

Disliked: a bit far but it's okay.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 April 2011

Liked: It is very hard to find out

Disliked: too noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, cozy home like environment.

Disliked: Location - it's rather far from downtown. Fortunately the bus stop and subway are close by.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything. we met a lot of amazing people, mostly students. we had so much fun there

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mirjana Tomse

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 March 2011 Mirjana would recommend this property

Liked: I'd say this place is a 9/10. The staff are very professional and the other guests were also friendly. The place itself is more than what you'd expect from a hostel.

Disliked: The lockers are a bit small but they also offer closet space so it's a good compromise.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near Metro stop.

Disliked: People complained a lot here. The staff had one guy who was marginally friendly and the rest were neither friendly nor unfriendly. I would have preferred a friendlier bunch.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a real treat when people are just warm and open even though it's just the first time you meet them. That how the people here are.

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Urska Mikuz

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 February 2011 Urska would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap yet it was clean and offered many added extras

Disliked: none

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's like living in a house. You couldn't tell it was a hostel from the outside, or the inside. good place near a subway station, has risk the board game, awesome.

Disliked: No alcohol allowed since early february! WHAT?!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011

Liked: Good Kitchen and nice living room as well as a basketball court outside the house.

Disliked: No hot water to take a shower in colde DC winter.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: from here to downtown (or main places to see) was not far and from subway station to here also not very far.

Disliked: I saw a rat when I just arrive at the kitchen. I thought the rooms are separated for male and female but it was NOT!!!!! There was 4 beds in a room and there is a guy in a same room. and a bed which already was used was kept 5 days with nobody...it's not clean...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, staff friendliness, hostel layout.

Disliked: The rooms, there was not much space between the beds.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus stewart

Alone

15 November 2010 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Mostly, I liked the atmosphere of the whole place. It's just like a family gathering of sorts. The staff and guests were all nice.

Disliked: Marcus left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Loftstel is comfortable and cheap.

Disliked: It's a little far from the Metro.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 November 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: This place is cheap and a great place for young students/backpackers! The staff is knowledgeable and helpful.

Disliked: It's a little far from downtown DC.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Generally, everything is fine.

Disliked: Vague directions on the website of the hostel caused confusion.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Joseph Grimms

Alone

Business / conference

09 November 2010 John Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: No complaints. It's a budget-friendly place. I heard they have special rates for students so it's more suited for them.

Disliked: John Joseph left no negative feedback.