We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Loftstel

Hostel | 4115 8th Street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20011

81.0% Overall Rating

193 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

Brandi Stepp thinks…

"Cat and the rest of the Loftstel staff were proactively friendly and helpful during the course of my stay. The hostel is pretty spacious and the WiFi worked great! It's within walking distance of…"

Read all Loftstel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that prices do not include the 14.5% Washington DC tax, and that your remaining balance is automatically charged to your credit card. Visit our website for our cancellation policy and directions to LOFTSTEL DC. Please note that our check-in times are from 10am to 10pm. If you have a late/early flight, PLEASE contact us ahead of time so that we can arrange for your arrival. You must be over the age of 18 to stay at Loftstel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.5% 69 reviews
DC Lofty
25.80 USD

Hostel 80.6% 106 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 61.6% 113 reviews
Hilltop Hostel
24.00 USD

Hostel 74.2% 517 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.4% 344 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
24.00 USD

Hostel 85.5% 192 reviews
HI - Washington DC Hostel
33.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1198 reviews
Capital View Hostel
31.76 USD

Hostel 82.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

193 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Loftstel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 176 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very cozy and it feels like a huge common. People are nice to each others and many of the people are renting a room/bed from the hostel for a longer time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugo Tanner

Alone

Family Holiday

04 January 2012 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good, quiet and decent place for the cost. Located near a Metro station. Friendly staff.

Disliked: I don't know why they don't have a sign outside. That would make it a lot easier for new comers to DC to find the place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Siela Gardner

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Siela would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really nice place to stay in. It provided everything we needed for our short stay. It was really neat and the kitchen and lobby area were both really nice. They also have free wireless internet!

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind. :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bowser Yansens

Alone

Business / conference

19 December 2011 Bowser would recommend this property

Liked: It's located in a good neighborhood and quite near a train stop. It has decent facilities and free wireless access.

Disliked: The staff seem to be so busy a lot. I guess they should get more people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerry Langford

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

16 December 2011 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: very cozy and very homey. I stayed there for just one night and I felt very comfortable in this place. Also, they have just refurbished the room I stayed in. :D I'm saving this one as one of my favorites.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lawrence V. Howard

Alone

Business / conference

01 December 2011 Lawrence V. would recommend this property

Liked: It has a "homey" coziness to it like a ski cabin in the rockies. There could almost be a fireplace and snow on the windowsil-that's the grove you get when you walk in the door. Also, even though the townhouse is compact, space utilization gets high marks, along with cleanliness.

Disliked: Front door security is week! You need iron fixtures to properly secure th entrance. I actually didn't notice whetjer the windows had iron fixtures. It was late, and I was very tired!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHANGGONG HE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 ZHANGGONG would recommend this property

Liked: I like how friendly this place is, and you can just live here like the way you live at home. Quiet and clean. So many things are provided for free!

Disliked: None.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Amato

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is amazing, you feel like home, everyone is nice! Definitely the best hostel I've ever been to. Especially liked the spacious backyard and the manager of the hostel was very nice. There's a park with a basketball court nearby.

Disliked: other guests :D

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On the outside it just looks like the other houses on the street. But on the inside, you can see and feel the youthful energy of the place. The colors just pop! It's like some European inspired design of some sort. :) Anyway, I really loved the place and would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: I would have liked more closet space.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Dressler

Alone

Business / conference

05 November 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: This is great place. I cna't say for sure how it's like for long-term guests. I was here for only a few days for a conference but during my stay here, there's really nothing that I can complain about. People are friendly and respectful. The staff are very helpful.

Disliked: n/a

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to find. There were not limited timings to use the kitchen.

Disliked: No free breakfast. No person at the reception most of the time. No visitor or tourism information at the help desk in the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is just great! We got to DC late in the evening and their staff have been waiting for us. They do go out of their way to help their guests. She was very friendly and got us into our room in no time. The house itself is really nice. It's clean and cozy and makes you feel like it's a very familiar place. The location is also great since it's just a few minutes away from the metro.

Disliked: The quiet time is a bit too early for us. We usually stay up late but we understand that we're not the only guests there. :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivian Cameron

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 October 2011 Vivian would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel for those short trips in DC. I found the place quite easily from the bus station. You might easily miss it coz it doesn't have a sign or anything out front. It just like one of the houses along the street. the location is perfect since only a few minutes from the nearest subway station.

Disliked: I was unlucky enough to be there when another less than pleasurable guest was also staying there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Berith Svensson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Berith would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is quite easy to find. We just followed to instructions they have on their website. It was really a cozy place and thankfully not as crowded as the other hostels.

Disliked: We would have liked it if they had some kind of safe or vault where we can leave our imprtant things like passports and stuff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorothy Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: This was simply a great place to stay. It's got a really home-like feel to it which is so nice after a long day of sight-seeing. :) It's a very easy commute to other places in DC coz its just a minutes away from the Petworth metro station.

Disliked: None. Although it would have been better if got to stay longer! :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabre Meyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Fabre would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really nice place. The location is great. There's a park right across the street and a basketball court just beyond that. I really had a nice time here.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time visiting DC with my brother. We wanted to be in the capital before the 9/11 memorial day. We're really glad we chose to stay at this hostel. The staff was great and the other guests were nice too. We'll most likely stay here again when were visiting DC.

Disliked: nothing at all...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was really just what it said. It was a student dorm with foreign guests. Even some of the staff are from different countries. It was a good place to meet people and get exposed to other cultures.

Disliked: There were a couple of noisy guests but I guess it can't be helped.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Willie Patterson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2011 Willie would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere that you get from this place. We went to DC for our backpacking trip. The staff was always very friendly and the are really fun to talk to. The other guests were really nice too.

Disliked: We came quite late so it took some time for them to let us in. Aside from that, everything was great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Morgan James

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: It had everything we needed for our trip to DC. The rooms were cozy and the amenities were very useful for us. We would recommend this place to other travelers.

Disliked: none.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It was just a great place to come back and relax. All the guests were just very cordial and nice, the staff too. Me and my friend enjoy ourselves at this place. Highly recommended!

Disliked: none! :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very nice. There are many nice people also those who work there are also nice.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Bennett

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 June 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful experience at this hostel. We had a late flight coming into DC. We were able to find the hostel with no problem. The staff was very friendly although it was already very late. We totally recommend this place to anyone going to DC. Thanx!!

Disliked: none :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Loftstel was very clean, its staff very friendly and the setting really nice.

Disliked: Though there is not a lot of space around your bed where you could keep your luggage. Plus the lockers are too small to fit in e.g. a backpack. One difficulty concerns the people who arrive with a car since there is no designated parking lot around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: me and my cousins had a good time here.

Disliked: a bit far but it's okay.