We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Intern Inn of Washington, DC

Hostel | 4115 8th Street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA DC 20011

84.9% Overall Rating

202 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2015)

Ethel Horton thinks…

"Really nice dorm. Warm and cozy. The staff are all very nice and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are nice and clean and cleaned regularly. The kitchen is open to all guests. The staff also prepare…"

Read all The Intern Inn of Washington, DC reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that prices do not include the 14.5% Washington DC tax, and that your remaining balance is automatically charged to your credit card. Visit our website for our cancellation policy and directions to LOFTSTEL DC. Please note that our check-in times are from 10am to 10pm. If you have a late/early flight, PLEASE contact us ahead of time so that we can arrange for your arrival. You must be over the age of 18 to stay at Loftstel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Washington International Student Center
33.69 USD

Hostel 60.2% 75 reviews
DC Lofty
22.95 USD

Hostel 83.7% 128 reviews
Hilltop Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 76.6% 524 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 348 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
34.95 USD

Hostel 89.1% 215 reviews
HI - Washington DC Hostel
33.00 USD

Hostel 86.5% 1217 reviews
Capital View Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 84.7% 43 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 89.8% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

202 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Intern Inn of Washington, DC'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 185 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Harrington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great night at this hostel. I got in late in the afternoon and the other guests were just coming in I guess. The atmosphere was very relaxing and friendly. People were eager to welcome a stranger. It was such an enjoyable experience.

Disliked: Andy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Diaz Navalta

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 September 2012 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: good place, nice amenities, the staff and other guests were always pleasant.

Disliked: the rooms are a bit congested but I kind of expected it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Atkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: It was incredibly cheap - you don't need to be a student or intern to get the advertised rates. It wasn't too far from the metro, and it was also close to some shops. A small shopping centre was only a metro stop away (Columbia Heights). I would recommend getting the weekly metro pass if you're going to be there more than a few days, as you will probably use the metro more than you think you will - it's a big city! My room was spacious enough and there were plenty of large lockers, and a wardrobe. It felt like living in a big sharehouse, as it is just basically a house; this is not a bad thing at all.

Disliked: You have to catch the metro to get into the city, but it still ends up being a lot cheaper than the other accommodation options. It got hot in the room at night, and there was no extra sheet, only a doona. They also don't supply maps. As a lone female traveller, I felt the need to hurry from the metro station to the hostel - I often received comments from passing men.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adriana Marquez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 August 2012 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: it was a great place to stay in. all the people are young and friendly. You'll get the feeling that you're back in an very familiar house with all your friends. the place is really clean.

Disliked: the beds were the usual bunk beds. I'm just used to sleeping in my big bed. :D

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Quinn

Alone

Business / conference

17 August 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: It was a relaxing place and it was very close to the metro. I had no problem with my stay there. Looks like I found my regular place when ever I'm in DC.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there are very welcoming. The girl at the reception was very accommodating. She even introduced me to some of their long-term guests.. It was just a few minutes from the nearest metro station which was a big plus.

Disliked: Matt left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ignasi Orta

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012

Liked: I liked the atmosphere of the place. Friendly staff and friendly people.

Disliked: Quite far from the center, and the neighbor can be a little dangerous at night. I was in a room of 8 people and I couldn't sleep well all night. There was a fan inside the room running all night making a lot of noise. And the blinds were broken so at 6:00am there was quite light.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katrina Roy

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 July 2012 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: It's a few minutes away from the nearest metro station and they have clean, comfy beds with fresh sheets.

Disliked: Katrina left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

yangyang Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012

Liked: Location is not good,and I heard others living in downtown with same amount of money. Good to make friends

Disliked: Location is not good,and I heard others living in downtown with same amount of money. No breakfast.Very small room for a lot of people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very cozy and it feels like a huge common. People are nice to each others and many of the people are renting a room/bed from the hostel for a longer time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugo Tanner

Alone

Family Holiday

04 January 2012 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good, quiet and decent place for the cost. Located near a Metro station. Friendly staff.

Disliked: I don't know why they don't have a sign outside. That would make it a lot easier for new comers to DC to find the place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Siela Gardner

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Siela would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really nice place to stay in. It provided everything we needed for our short stay. It was really neat and the kitchen and lobby area were both really nice. They also have free wireless internet!

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind. :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bowser Yansens

Alone

Business / conference

19 December 2011 Bowser would recommend this property

Liked: It's located in a good neighborhood and quite near a train stop. It has decent facilities and free wireless access.

Disliked: The staff seem to be so busy a lot. I guess they should get more people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerry Langford

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

16 December 2011 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: very cozy and very homey. I stayed there for just one night and I felt very comfortable in this place. Also, they have just refurbished the room I stayed in. :D I'm saving this one as one of my favorites.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lawrence V. Howard

Alone

Business / conference

01 December 2011 Lawrence V. would recommend this property

Liked: It has a "homey" coziness to it like a ski cabin in the rockies. There could almost be a fireplace and snow on the windowsil-that's the grove you get when you walk in the door. Also, even though the townhouse is compact, space utilization gets high marks, along with cleanliness.

Disliked: Front door security is week! You need iron fixtures to properly secure th entrance. I actually didn't notice whetjer the windows had iron fixtures. It was late, and I was very tired!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHANGGONG HE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 ZHANGGONG would recommend this property

Liked: I like how friendly this place is, and you can just live here like the way you live at home. Quiet and clean. So many things are provided for free!

Disliked: None.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Amato

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is amazing, you feel like home, everyone is nice! Definitely the best hostel I've ever been to. Especially liked the spacious backyard and the manager of the hostel was very nice. There's a park with a basketball court nearby.

Disliked: other guests :D

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On the outside it just looks like the other houses on the street. But on the inside, you can see and feel the youthful energy of the place. The colors just pop! It's like some European inspired design of some sort. :) Anyway, I really loved the place and would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: I would have liked more closet space.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Dressler

Alone

Business / conference

05 November 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: This is great place. I cna't say for sure how it's like for long-term guests. I was here for only a few days for a conference but during my stay here, there's really nothing that I can complain about. People are friendly and respectful. The staff are very helpful.

Disliked: n/a

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to find. There were not limited timings to use the kitchen.

Disliked: No free breakfast. No person at the reception most of the time. No visitor or tourism information at the help desk in the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is just great! We got to DC late in the evening and their staff have been waiting for us. They do go out of their way to help their guests. She was very friendly and got us into our room in no time. The house itself is really nice. It's clean and cozy and makes you feel like it's a very familiar place. The location is also great since it's just a few minutes away from the metro.

Disliked: The quiet time is a bit too early for us. We usually stay up late but we understand that we're not the only guests there. :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivian Cameron

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 October 2011 Vivian would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel for those short trips in DC. I found the place quite easily from the bus station. You might easily miss it coz it doesn't have a sign or anything out front. It just like one of the houses along the street. the location is perfect since only a few minutes from the nearest subway station.

Disliked: I was unlucky enough to be there when another less than pleasurable guest was also staying there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Berith Svensson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Berith would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is quite easy to find. We just followed to instructions they have on their website. It was really a cozy place and thankfully not as crowded as the other hostels.

Disliked: We would have liked it if they had some kind of safe or vault where we can leave our imprtant things like passports and stuff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorothy Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: This was simply a great place to stay. It's got a really home-like feel to it which is so nice after a long day of sight-seeing. :) It's a very easy commute to other places in DC coz its just a minutes away from the Petworth metro station.

Disliked: None. Although it would have been better if got to stay longer! :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabre Meyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Fabre would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really nice place. The location is great. There's a park right across the street and a basketball court just beyond that. I really had a nice time here.

Disliked: none