HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of DC Lofty - Convention Center Washington DC Hostel

1335 11th street NW, Washington DC, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 76%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 76%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Was a comfortable and quiet place to sleep. Excellent staff, very helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Staff were very friendly. Had good kitchen equipment. Large lounging area indoors and outdoors. Airconditioned lounge areas. Always kept clean. Few co-events with the other hostels like the bar and the pool. Supermarket nearby.

Disliked: No airconditioning or very low airconditioning in the room I was staying in (Room 12).

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating


31 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Excellent hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Friendly staff and a really nice hostel

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Central location between several other popular neighborhoods (15 minute walk to each).

Disliked: A/C was broken for full 5 days of my visit. This is America -- not Europe -- we need A/C in June. No urgency to fix it, no apology, no offer for a rebate. Bathroom sink faucet had extremely low pressure, like a trickle -- it took 10 times as long to brush teeth, etc. Front door slams very loudly (like sledgehammer), good luck trying to sleep if your room is near it, even with earplugs.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Was walking distance to national mall

Disliked: Showers had no pressure. Wifi bad if on top floor

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Thecutest place inDC

Disliked: The fact that I did not stay longer

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was nice and very helpfull. One of them lent me his cellphone to book a bus as it didnt work online. Perfect size for a hostel, not too small, not too big, nice and comfortable atmosphere. I liked that they had proper warm blankets and 2 computers with internet for free use. It was good value for money (I paid about 20 USD including tax in the 8 bed dorm per night). The location was in walking distance to the main sights.

Disliked: Bathroom was quite small. Free wifi didnt always work in the dorm room.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is 8 min walk away from mt vernon metro station. Parking was safe and plenty. Cost $15 per night while other places were $20. Chose here only to be closer to my friends' place. I booked a female 4 bed dorm and was lucky that I got the room to myself.

Disliked: The showers!!! U had to use a trick to run the tap and the shower at the same time. It takes a while to get that optimal temperature and it was nothing but a trickle. I was glad I was staying only 2 nights. It appears that many people have already reviewed about this. They should really do something about it!! I found out later I was overcharged by $9. When I had already paid the deposit to hostelbookers.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice size kitchen and the two common areas were nice to hang out in with the other travelers.

Disliked: Out of the 45-50 hostels I've stayed in through the world, this is easily in my bottom 5 hostels:1) Instead of including the DC taxes in the total, they add that on upon your arrival to the hostel. It is mentioned in the fine print when booking, but I have not had to deal with that in any other city or with any other hostel - the total I get emailed is my final total, it needs to already include all taxes. This would be especially annoying for any foreign travelers (i'm american) that are not used to our currency and probably wouldn't even realiize they are being charged taxes on top of the total that was emailed to them.2) When I brought this up to the lady at check in, I was told "well, do you want to stay here"Basically telling me that I can shut up and pay the taxes or get out and not stay at their hostel.When it is 10pm and I just spent 12 hours flying and taking buses from iceland to DC, this is certainly not the customer service experience an extremely tired traveler should have to deal with.3) The lock on my bedroom door was malfunctioning, so it was another 20 minutes for them to fix that before I could even enter my room.4) Since there were no numbers on the beds, I took what appeared to be an empty bed- only to be told at 11:30pm by another travelers that I was in his bed. So because the hostel couldn't be bothered to put numbers on the bed - an extremely cheap way to keep organized. I got to feel quite stupid as I moved all of my things and changed the sheets on his bed with another one of the beds.5) My booking was for a room with a private bathroom, there was no bathroom in the room. But that's okay, I'll use some community bathrooms. Problem was I only found one in the basement and one bathroom on the 2nd floor. I don't know how legally they can have only two community bathrooms with the numbers of beds and occupants in the hostel.6) The shower's water flow/pressure was horrible!! One of the shower's had a note by it mentioning a low flow shower head. I have used low flow shower heads and that was not the case here, the water flow in this case was terrible.7) On the friday night I heard the staff talking amongst themselves about how they were going to have people over to the hostel for a gathering. Fine by me- yall have your fun, the problem came when at 1am, people were still being very loud - talking, laughing, and keeping up the guests of the hostel.

Check Availability