HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of DC Lofty - Convention Center Washington DC Hostel

1335 11th street NW, Washington DC, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 85%

Staff 82%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 85%

Staff 82%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 77 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Was walking distance to national mall

Disliked: Showers had no pressure. Wifi bad if on top floor

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Thecutest place inDC

Disliked: The fact that I did not stay longer

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was nice and very helpfull. One of them lent me his cellphone to book a bus as it didnt work online. Perfect size for a hostel, not too small, not too big, nice and comfortable atmosphere. I liked that they had proper warm blankets and 2 computers with internet for free use. It was good value for money (I paid about 20 USD including tax in the 8 bed dorm per night). The location was in walking distance to the main sights.

Disliked: Bathroom was quite small. Free wifi didnt always work in the dorm room.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is 8 min walk away from mt vernon metro station. Parking was safe and plenty. Cost $15 per night while other places were $20. Chose here only to be closer to my friends' place. I booked a female 4 bed dorm and was lucky that I got the room to myself.

Disliked: The showers!!! U had to use a trick to run the tap and the shower at the same time. It takes a while to get that optimal temperature and it was nothing but a trickle. I was glad I was staying only 2 nights. It appears that many people have already reviewed about this. They should really do something about it!! I found out later I was overcharged by $9. When I had already paid the deposit to hostelbookers.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice size kitchen and the two common areas were nice to hang out in with the other travelers.

Disliked: Out of the 45-50 hostels I've stayed in through the world, this is easily in my bottom 5 hostels:1) Instead of including the DC taxes in the total, they add that on upon your arrival to the hostel. It is mentioned in the fine print when booking, but I have not had to deal with that in any other city or with any other hostel - the total I get emailed is my final total, it needs to already include all taxes. This would be especially annoying for any foreign travelers (i'm american) that are not used to our currency and probably wouldn't even realiize they are being charged taxes on top of the total that was emailed to them.2) When I brought this up to the lady at check in, I was told "well, do you want to stay here"Basically telling me that I can shut up and pay the taxes or get out and not stay at their hostel.When it is 10pm and I just spent 12 hours flying and taking buses from iceland to DC, this is certainly not the customer service experience an extremely tired traveler should have to deal with.3) The lock on my bedroom door was malfunctioning, so it was another 20 minutes for them to fix that before I could even enter my room.4) Since there were no numbers on the beds, I took what appeared to be an empty bed- only to be told at 11:30pm by another travelers that I was in his bed. So because the hostel couldn't be bothered to put numbers on the bed - an extremely cheap way to keep organized. I got to feel quite stupid as I moved all of my things and changed the sheets on his bed with another one of the beds.5) My booking was for a room with a private bathroom, there was no bathroom in the room. But that's okay, I'll use some community bathrooms. Problem was I only found one in the basement and one bathroom on the 2nd floor. I don't know how legally they can have only two community bathrooms with the numbers of beds and occupants in the hostel.6) The shower's water flow/pressure was horrible!! One of the shower's had a note by it mentioning a low flow shower head. I have used low flow shower heads and that was not the case here, the water flow in this case was terrible.7) On the friday night I heard the staff talking amongst themselves about how they were going to have people over to the hostel for a gathering. Fine by me- yall have your fun, the problem came when at 1am, people were still being very loud - talking, laughing, and keeping up the guests of the hostel.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was excellent and the parking for $15/night beat out every garage in the city. The hostel was very clean, and the rooms were nice.

Disliked: Many small things have been neglected, such as finishing painting in bathrooms, installing new lightbulbs, and the WiFi couldn't handle the volume.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Great location.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff is great. Location is great. Great that they do laundry service.

Disliked: The staff is super nice and helpful and the location is great.But they really need to do some cleaning. The shower in the basement wasn't cleaned during the five days I was there. There was a chewing gum in the shower the whole time and hair covering the drain.also, the basement dorm needs looking at. It's so damp down there and all your stuff and the bedsheets goes damp.Everywhere needs a good lick of paint and a good scrub in all of the corners.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Netflix available, walking distance to town, we had a spacious four bed room

Disliked: The hostel smells slightly funky, the staircase is wonky, shower pressure terrible- you have to run basin tap at the same time for hot water, staff helpful when available, generally run down old building

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It WAS VERY CLEAN, NICE ROOMS AND FRIENDLY PEOPLE

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability