HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Capital Comfort Hostel Washington DC Hostel

1610 7th street NW, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 51%

Location 82%

Safety 58%

Staff 69%

Value 64%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Hostel reserves the right to charge your booking price 48 hours prior to your arrival. If your credit card is declined, your booking may be cancelled. To avoid cancellation, you must contact the Hostel directly, within 24 hrs of your receipt of the cancellation notice, to provide a valid/active credit card.

Once your booking has been made please confirm your booking directly with the hostel with an arrival time. If this is not provided then the booking may be cancelled.
The general consumer sales tax in the District of Columbia is 5.75 percent.
However, Washington, D.C., actually levies a sales tax with five different rates. the current sales tax rates are:

5.75 percent for tangible personal property
9 percent for alcohol sold for off-premises consumption
10 percent for restaurant meals, take-out food, rental cars and telephone calling cards
12 percent for commercial parking
14.5 percent for hotel and motel rooms.

Items exempt from the District of Columbia sales tax include groceries, prescription and nonprescription medicines, and residential utility services.

Failure to cancel within 48 hrs will result in charges for the first night.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 51%

Location 82%

Safety 58%

Staff 69%

Value 64%

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating


21 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Staff were helpful

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: On the last day I was allowed to leave my suitcase and pick it up after checkout, for no charge. A great benefit.

Disliked: No toilet paper in the bathroom once. Nobody at the desk. 6am. Had to go to another restroom to get paper. Slight inconvenience.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: it's secure & clean linens & great location

Disliked: phone nbrs on website all 3 are Fail. wifi doesn't work.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Located in a good area to travel around Washington DC.

Disliked: They not well orginise like other hostels I've been into around the world.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: very nice place I recommend!

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to metro green line

Disliked: I would not recommend this hostel to anyone. I have stayed at more than 50 hostels and this is easily the most poorly run one I have been to.We arrived a couple of hours before proper check in to drop off our bags. The woman on reception gave me a key but didn't tell me which room we were in.We came back in the evening after exploring the city to find the lobby full of confused people and bags everywhere. This was after 10 pm. The new receptionists could not understand that we had already checked in and just needed to know which room number we were in. They tried to find us on their list and kept saying they were fully booked?? We waited for 45 mins, while others sat there even longer not getting helped. We had booked a 6 bed mixed dorm, but then got led to a 4 bed dorm. At 12.30am the receptionist says to me that I am in a 4 bed female dorm and that we would have to clear it with the other girls if they were comfortable with me being there. AT 12.30AM. If not, they could put us in a 6 bed dorm, (which we had booked and paid for).The beds were not made and we had to make them ourselves. One of the bed had 50% broken slats and was dangerous to sleep on. There is absolutely no communal space to sit down and meet people, no outdoor area, the TV in the room did not work.Absolute rip off for the service and standard of living we received.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Capital Comfort Hostel is a really good hostel. It is located perfectly on a metro station and around the corner from a Giant super market, 711 and Starbucks. one block away the bus goes straight to the museums and Chinatown DC. The bathrooms are clean and the people at front desk are courteous. All in all the hostel is a fine place to sleep and rest from the huge DC blocks.

Disliked: The bathrooms need to be constantly monitored because travels seem to never seem to be considerate of other people.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was really helpful. Someone working there helped me carrying my luggage to the hostel and showed me the place. The day of my departure they accepted to keep my luggage in their office so I could pick it up later during the day. Not too far from the touristic places and quite cheap.

Disliked: The metro is five blocks away. The neighbourhood might be a little bit sketchy too. Maybe travel with someone else if you plan to arrive by night.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: How the staff treat u

Disliked: Beds

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is good, walkable to Downtown about 20 mins. Easshawl Howardsportation to downtown. It takes about 5 mins to the shaw-howard uni metro station .

Disliked: The facilities is old.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability