HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Capitol City Hostel Washington DC Hostel

2411 Benning Road NE, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 82%

Location 60%

Safety 78%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note: Hostel will only take bookings from travelers or students, and a valid passport or full time University ID will be required upon check-in. Driver's licenses are not valid for our check in purposes

You must check in no later than 9 pm on the day of arrival. If you have not included in your booking an approximate arrival time for check in, please email the hostel directly in order for your check in to go smoothly between the hours of 10 a.m. and 9 p.m., by appointment. If you need a slightly later or earlier time during the weekdays please request it.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 82%

Location 60%

Safety 78%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Literally nothing

Disliked: Everything. Peter made us feel very uncomfortable, he'd walk in to our room without knocking at night and turn on the light while we were sleeping. It took him about half an hour just to show us round, which was completely unnecessary especially when we've just arrived. He was very disorganised and didn't have a clue how much to charge us, we had to tell him!! Everything was seriously outdated, no hand soap in the bathrooms. The location is dodgy. There was literally nothing good about this hostel, do not stay here!!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly people,

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Bill is really nice, large beds

Disliked: Not really private, hostel seemed a bit shabby, sometimes strange men sitting or even sleeping (with sunglasses) on the sofa in front of the TV all day long...

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Verry friendly and helpfull

Disliked: Not very clean

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The friendliness of the hostel owner and willingness to help out people

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice owner, everything is easy, good service, good connection to the important points (new streetcar is even better now!)

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: the hostess was very friendly and helpful. as soon as we got there, he explained how the metro works, what to do, etc.

Disliked: the toilet was broken.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Bill is very nice and helpfull host and it's cheap but you have to be quite hardened traveler to stay here.

Disliked: The neighourbood is not one of the nicest, I wouldn't feel safe walking around in the night (during the day it was ok). The room was pretty smelly and not the cleanest one. But still, it's very cheap and you get what you pay for.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Whilest here I enjoyed the hospitality from Bill and Peter including the friendship between others.The location was good when came too going into the main business area including the White House And entertainment, also buses nearby and metro rail only roughly 15 minute walk.Had no trouble when came too personal belongings and other means.

Disliked: Nothing too dislike

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place is really close to the bus stop so I find it easier to do my sightseeing around the city. It's quiet at night so I had a good rest after a long day of walking. The room and bathroom are clean, there's a great Turkish food nearby and a 24-hour 7-Eleven so it's really convenient. Bill is such a great host too! Next time I'm visiting Washington D.C. again I'd definitely stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability