HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hilltop Hostel Washington DC Hostel

300 Carroll St, 20012, NW, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 66%

Location 78%

Safety 78%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Washing machine

Important Information

The hostel has a minimum age of 18 years.

PLEASE NOTE: The office closes at 8PM on New Year’s Eve. If you will arrive after 8PM, you MUST notify the hostel in advance.

A local tax of 14% is not included in the price

We can not accept groups over 8 unless they book directly through HostelBookers group department, keeping in mind that we have a 2 week cancellation policy on large groups.

We are closed every year from Thanksgiving Eve and Thanksgiving Day, Dec 24th and 25th and Dec 31st until Feb 23rd.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 66%

Location 78%

Safety 78%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Very good staff.Convienant location. Facility was clean,wifi was strong.

Disliked: No real complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It is hosted in an old victorian building. The furniture is from another time. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We booked 6 bed room and they gave us 5 bed, I liked the decoration of the rooms and common places. There is a metro station and a grocery nearby. The kitchen is well equipped. Conclusively, I highly recommend it for low budget travelers.

Disliked: I think that it would be a good idea to change the blankets and sheets used because they are so old that they give the impression of dirtiness although I consider that they are clean. Definitely pillows must be cleaned. Lastly, we could not lock our room when going out

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not far from the main city, near bus station

Disliked: The place is dirtySome staff were warm and helpful but one staff was rude.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the station..

Disliked: Need more bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Spacious, good common areas, well equipped if slightly greasy kitchen

Disliked: The guy that works here is basically bipolar. Some times he's really helpful and friendly, other times he bites your head off for asking a question when he's "not on duty". Also, they have this speaker that blasts 80s Rock into the kitchen 24 hours a day. There's really no need to hear ACDC blasted at you when you're trying to write emails or read a book

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Right by the metro station and a 7/11 accross the street. Quite safe at night. Cozy place.

Disliked: There are only 2 bathrooms for a lot of guests and you will have to wait your turn.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the overall atmosphere of the hostel.

Disliked: I did not like that the doors to the individual rooms did not lock, except for from the inside.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Nice and very friendly staff!Very reasonable price.

Disliked: Some biters cab quite loud and one can hear their conversation.The TV in my room didn't work very well.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is a kitchen for use, a (very slow) free computer, and many TVs, including one in my own room, which is something extremely rare for hostels.

Disliked: Only 3 bathrooms for the entire hostel, which makes taking a shower a daily battle. Everything in the hostel is very very old, my room TV seemed to come out of the 50s, but a room TV in a hostel is already more I could ask for. The shower is very week on the second floor, very hard to shower.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very good location. Wonderful Staff. Really enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: The hostel could have been a bit cleaner. Especially the game room.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability