HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hilltop Hostel Washington DC Hostel

300 Carroll St, 20012, NW, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 66%

Location 78%

Safety 78%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Washing machine

Important Information

The hostel has a minimum age of 18 years.

PLEASE NOTE: The office closes at 8PM on New Year’s Eve. If you will arrive after 8PM, you MUST notify the hostel in advance.

A local tax of 14% is not included in the price

We can not accept groups over 8 unless they book directly through HostelBookers group department, keeping in mind that we have a 2 week cancellation policy on large groups.

We are closed every year from Thanksgiving Eve and Thanksgiving Day, Dec 24th and 25th and Dec 31st until Feb 23rd.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 66%

Location 78%

Safety 78%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It is hosted in an old victorian building. The furniture is from another time. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We booked 6 bed room and they gave us 5 bed, I liked the decoration of the rooms and common places. There is a metro station and a grocery nearby. The kitchen is well equipped. Conclusively, I highly recommend it for low budget travelers.

Disliked: I think that it would be a good idea to change the blankets and sheets used because they are so old that they give the impression of dirtiness although I consider that they are clean. Definitely pillows must be cleaned. Lastly, we could not lock our room when going out

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not far from the main city, near bus station

Disliked: The place is dirtySome staff were warm and helpful but one staff was rude.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the station..

Disliked: Need more bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Spacious, good common areas, well equipped if slightly greasy kitchen

Disliked: The guy that works here is basically bipolar. Some times he's really helpful and friendly, other times he bites your head off for asking a question when he's "not on duty". Also, they have this speaker that blasts 80s Rock into the kitchen 24 hours a day. There's really no need to hear ACDC blasted at you when you're trying to write emails or read a book

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Right by the metro station and a 7/11 accross the street. Quite safe at night. Cozy place.

Disliked: There are only 2 bathrooms for a lot of guests and you will have to wait your turn.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the overall atmosphere of the hostel.

Disliked: I did not like that the doors to the individual rooms did not lock, except for from the inside.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Nice and very friendly staff!Very reasonable price.

Disliked: Some biters cab quite loud and one can hear their conversation.The TV in my room didn't work very well.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is a kitchen for use, a (very slow) free computer, and many TVs, including one in my own room, which is something extremely rare for hostels.

Disliked: Only 3 bathrooms for the entire hostel, which makes taking a shower a daily battle. Everything in the hostel is very very old, my room TV seemed to come out of the 50s, but a room TV in a hostel is already more I could ask for. The shower is very week on the second floor, very hard to shower.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very good location. Wonderful Staff. Really enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: The hostel could have been a bit cleaner. Especially the game room.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: LOCATION. It was literally right next to a metro station. The hostel had a pretty back yard with couches, a table, a swing, and a hammoc. The interiors were really inviting too, I was surprised they didn't put more pictures of it online.

Disliked: The Internet was fairly slow, and the towels not so clean, but it's a hostel... I wasn't even expectign towels in the first place. What was unusual to me was that most of the other guests were older people, and there were no youngsters, so if you're looking for a party place, this doesn't seem to be 'it'. Also, they didn't care for the 12% downpayment I submitted through HostelBookers. They gave me a lower rate after I explained it a few times, but they didn't seem to find it straightforward.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability