HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Washington DC Washington DC Hostel

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 92%

Safety 90%

Staff 87%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

HOSTEL CUSTOMS
• A valid credit card is required for guaranteed reservations. If you need personal attention or have special needs, please call us or email us
• Please retain your confirmation number when making a reservation
• Maximum number of guests is 10
• A $3 per person, per night Temporary Membership Fee for those who aren't members
• Please show a government issued photo ID upon check-in
• Check-in is at 2:00 PM on your arrival date, and check-out is at 11:00 AM on your departure date. Guests have until 2:00 PM on the date of arrival to cancel their reservation. Any guest who does not call and cancel by 2:00 PM on the date of arrival will be charged one night stay
• Children under 12-years-old must stay with their guardian in a private room. Children 12-18 years-old must stay in the same room with their guardian
• Extension requests made after 11:00 AM on the scheduled date of departure may require the hosteller to switch beds and/or rooms
• FREE in-room lockers are provided (please provide your own lock). A limited number of electronic lockers are available for a small fee
• The maximum length of stay is 14 days within a twelve-month period
• Accommodations are available only to travelers from outside a 55 mile radius of the hostel
• Refunds will be provided using the original method of payment
"Accepted credit cards, for making reservations and paying for stays, are limited to VISA or Mastercard."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 92%

Safety 90%

Staff 87%

Value 82%

Showing 81-75 of 75 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Good events organised nightly making it an easy way to meet people. Decent breakfast, clean bathrooms, everything you could want in a hostel.

Disliked: A little expensive for a 10-bed dorm but that generally seems to be the case with hostels in America.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Fara,

Thank you for your feedback and review! We appreciate it! Yes, its true that the hostels in America tend to be higher, we really are comparable to other hostels in the area. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again sometime. Just a note, we do have cheaper rates during our slow season during the winter months of the year.

Safe travels,
Christina

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean and modern facilities

Disliked: Wifi not available in rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

John,

Thank you for your feedback and review of our hostel! We really appreciate it. The WiFi has been a regular suggestion for most guests. We are implementing a plan to have it reach further in the building. Stay with us again on your next trip to Washington DC and check out all of our improvements!

Safe travels,
Christina

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very helpful, the location is fantastic for viewing the Capitol and mall, easy access to to the metro and White House

Disliked: Only issue is the web info says to take he metro to McPherson square, but metro center is much closer

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Jason,

Thank you for your feedback and your review! We really do appreciate it and value your opinion or any suggestions you may have during your stay. Thank you, I will let our persons in charge know of the error online, Metro Center is definitely closer. Please come back and stay again on your next visit to Washington DC.

Safe travels,
Christina

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very close to public transport and to the most important locations in DC, nice activities and comfortable lounge.

Disliked: I't not necessarily the newest hostel, also I'm wondering why the wifi is only limited to the first two floors and not extended to the whole building.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Oliver,

Thank you for your review and feedback! They are really important to us. We have wifi currently only in the common spaces. Our intent was to encourage interacting between our guests. We are looking into extending it a bit further now, as it has been widely requested. Please stay with us again on your next trip to Washington DC!

Safe travels,
Christina

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The kind and friendly staff. The free breakfast (like sooo much ) the chef John who can speak . good morning in 65 languages and he is so funny. The free tour and the guide Mike. Love... the dorm layout. Feels like 2 beds room instead of 10 beds. Love!! "" hangout in the lounge or bring your laptop join the free wifi in the cafeteria. What a nice international family!Highly recommended! Love!

Disliked: There were two flies in the dorm of the first night. did not see them the second day and night. There were kind of bugs? flies in the shower room. My roommate put her laptop on the floor and it was lost. What a shame.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Yanjun,

Thank you so much for your great review! We really appreciate it and enjoyed having you stay with us. Sorry about the flies, hopefully they were just a pest and not harmful. We hope you'll stay with us next time you're in DC!

Safe travels,
Christina

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, very clean and organised facility.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Bodie!

Thank you so much for your great review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back again next time you're in DC!

Safe travels!
Christina

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: free wifi and breakfast were good. daily activities are tours were fantastic.

Disliked: bathrooms were appalling. absolutely no privacy in the showers. walls are very thin, could hear the street noise and people in the next room.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the breakfast, the fast internet access, lounge with billiard table, piano & guitar.

Disliked: the location is quite far from the subway around 4-5 blocks walking.there is no internet access @8th Floor in the room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hans,

Thanks for your great review! Sorry about the walk to the Metro, we do have Metro Center that's 3 blocks away. I'm sure no matter what it wasn't close enough with luggage. Hopefully you'll come back again to stay with us. The Circulator is closer and an option for getting around, we're updating the lobby with information to help guests get around. Come back and check it out!

Safe travels,
Christina

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It has an excellent location. The staff was very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Santiago,

Wow! What a great review! Thank you we enjoyed having you stay with us! We hope you'll come back soon!

Safe travels,
Christina

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good location. Breakfast was nice too.

Disliked: Everything was ok.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Rubem

Thanks for your review! We're glad you had a good time and hope you'll come back again to stay with us!

Safe travels,
Christina

Check Availability