HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Washington DC Washington DC Hostel

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 92%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

HOSTEL CUSTOMS
• A valid credit card is required for guaranteed reservations. If you need personal attention or have special needs, please call us or email us
• Please retain your confirmation number when making a reservation
• Maximum number of guests is 10
• A $3 per person, per night Temporary Membership Fee for those who aren't members
• Please show a government issued photo ID upon check-in
• Check-in is at 2:00 PM on your arrival date, and check-out is at 11:00 AM on your departure date. Guests have until 2:00 PM on the date of arrival to cancel their reservation. Any guest who does not call and cancel by 2:00 PM on the date of arrival will be charged one night stay
• Children under 12-years-old must stay with their guardian in a private room. Children 12-18 years-old must stay in the same room with their guardian
• Extension requests made after 11:00 AM on the scheduled date of departure may require the hosteller to switch beds and/or rooms
• FREE in-room lockers are provided (please provide your own lock). A limited number of electronic lockers are available for a small fee
• The maximum length of stay is 14 days within a twelve-month period
• Accommodations are available only to travelers from outside a 55 mile radius of the hostel
• Refunds will be provided using the original method of payment
"Accepted credit cards, for making reservations and paying for stays, are limited to VISA or Mastercard."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 92%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

Showing 71-80 of 86 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Reasonably comfortable beds, big lockers, good security.

Disliked: We turned up before 2pm check-in and were told we couldn't check in yet (fine, no problems there) and the only option for storing our bags were the $4 (I think) lockers downstairs -- seems a bit crappy not to let you dump your bags somewhere for free like almost all other hostels do.Internet access was surprisingly bad (slow and unreliable) for a hostel/hotel in a major US city.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sam,

Thank you for your feedback and review! We really appreciate it, they are very helpful to us. Yes, the turn around time between check in and check out does pose an issue for some guests if they arrive before 2pm. We do have the storage lockers, but they have a fee because we are contractually obligated to do so by the company that provides them. Unfortunately, there is no storage space to be able to store guests bags for free. Come back soon!


Safe travels,
Christina

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free pool table!

Disliked: Male bathroom unpleasant. Lack of privacy in showers and very unpleasant smell.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

James,

Thank you for your feedback and review! It is very helpful and we truly appreciate it. I am sorry that you had an unpleasant experience with the bathrooms. Did you alert the front desk of the odor that you smelled? We look forward to having you stay with us again sometime despite the bathroom, I am sure that was an isolated cirucmstance.

Safe travels,
Christina

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It contains everything you need to enjoy a wonderful stay in Washington. I loved the free tours, the atmosphere and the friendly staff. The location is also ideal and I didn't once have to catch a bus or taxi to get around (although I do love walking).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thea,

Wow! What a great review! Thank you so much for your feedback! We really do appreciate it and look forward to having you back on your next visit to Washington DC!

Safe travels,
Christina

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The large kitchen where you could cook for yourselves.

Disliked: The breakfast was less than expected from a HI-hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Bas,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback! We really do appreciate it! We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Washington DC!

Safe travels,
Christina

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This one has really good site due to the location. Actually if you stay in the HI Washington DC, you'll don't need to use your extra money for transportation fee. It has really near location to the museums, art galleries and etc.

Disliked: Well. I stayed 10 people per room. So late at night, you have to keep quiet. But actually they has large room, and the space is almost separate 2 beds, 2beds, 2bedsm and 4beds. So it doesn't matter.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Junyoung,

Thank you for your review! We really do appreciate your feedback! You seemed to enjoy most of your stay and we hope you will come back and stay with us again sometime!

Safe travels,
Christina

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, within easy walking distance to all the sights.

Disliked: The lift is pretty old I would say and very slow which doesn't help when you are staying on the top floor. The metal bunk beds are probably also quite old as they are very squeaky, but for me sleeping on the bottom bunk was comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Darren,

Thank you for your feedback and review! We really do appreciate it. Yes, Suzie our lift is a bit and slow, but she means well and does her best to get people to and fro. Thank you for your feedback on the bunk beds, we actually have started the process of tightening the screws on them all to hopefully stop the creaking sounds. We look forward having you stay with us again!

Safe travels,
Christina

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Raphael,

Thank you for your feedback and review. Could you be more specific on where we failed you during your stay?

Thanks,
Christina

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is as good as described.

Disliked: No individual lights on the beds,unsafe to leave personal stuff outside the lockers (even if it's not valuable).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Vera,

Thank you for your feedback and reviews! We really appreciate it. We do have individual lights for most of our dorms now, but we are making updates to our larger rooms and have yet to place them in them unfortunately. We provide the lockers for everyone to try and keep their things safe. Beyond that, we hope that everyone respects the rules of staying in a hostel. Would you like to have a safer drawer maybe under the bed ,maybe?

Safe travels,
Christina

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: brilliant, lots of attention to detail eg power sockets and lights per bed. very clean and tidy. staff great. good location and character of the building. free maps and heaps of stuff to get involved with. wifi is very good on lower floors but not past third.

Disliked: nothing I would recommend and stay again. maybe a slow lift but it def has character!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Victoria,

Thank you so much for your great review and feedback! We really do appreciate it! Yes, Suzie is a bit slow, but means well :-) Happy you appreciate her! We look forward to having you come back and stay with us again anytime!

Safe travels,
Christina

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Good events organised nightly making it an easy way to meet people. Decent breakfast, clean bathrooms, everything you could want in a hostel.

Disliked: A little expensive for a 10-bed dorm but that generally seems to be the case with hostels in America.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Fara,

Thank you for your feedback and review! We appreciate it! Yes, its true that the hostels in America tend to be higher, we really are comparable to other hostels in the area. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again sometime. Just a note, we do have cheaper rates during our slow season during the winter months of the year.

Safe travels,
Christina

Check Availability