HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Washington DC Washington DC

Hostel

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 93%

Safety 90%

Staff 87%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

HOSTEL CUSTOMS
• A valid credit card is required for guaranteed reservations. If you need personal attention or have special needs, please call us or email us
• Please retain your confirmation number when making a reservation
• Maximum number of guests is 10
• A $3 per person, per night Temporary Membership Fee for those who aren't members
• Please show a government issued photo ID upon check-in
• Check-in is at 2:00 PM on your arrival date, and check-out is at 11:00 AM on your departure date. Guests have until 2:00 PM on the date of arrival to cancel their reservation. Any guest who does not call and cancel by 2:00 PM on the date of arrival will be charged one night stay
• Children under 12-years-old must stay with their guardian in a private room. Children 12-18 years-old must stay in the same room with their guardian
• Extension requests made after 11:00 AM on the scheduled date of departure may require the hosteller to switch beds and/or rooms
• FREE in-room lockers are provided (please provide your own lock). A limited number of electronic lockers are available for a small fee
• The maximum length of stay is 14 days within a twelve-month period
• Accommodations are available only to travelers from outside a 55 mile radius of the hostel
• Refunds will be provided using the original method of payment
"Accepted credit cards, for making reservations and paying for stays, are limited to VISA or Mastercard."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 93%

Safety 90%

Staff 87%

Value 82%

Showing 61-70 of 95 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: LocationCleanlinessLobby

Disliked: Paying for Internet

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Edgar, thank your so much for your comment we really appreciate it! We are pleased that you liked the location and cleanliness of our hostel, we try our best to provide our guests with the best possible hostel experience. We provide WIFI in all of our common areas to our guests free of charge.

Safe travels
Germaine.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free breakfast, proximity to national mall, assigned beds and lockers, clenliness, staff helpfulness, free tours

Disliked: not much!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Simon, thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it. We are glad you had a pleasant stay at HI DC and hope to see you back here soon.
Safe travels
Germaine

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: its situation is really good,close to all the sights and the White House just a few blocks away.

Disliked: During our 4 night stay,there were 2 large groups of students arrived,school pupils maybe on their first stay away from home and travelling with teachers.They were really noisy,running up and down the corridors and banging on doors,both early in the morning and late in the night.The problem rests not with the hostel staff,they were on the ground floor and couldnt hear it all,but more with the teachers who were maintaining enough control. Hard to get a good nights sleep while they were active,but otherwise a really good hostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Gary, thank your for your comment we really appreciate it. We are sorry to hear that there was a lot of noise near the room where you were staying. We do not allow people to make noise after 11pm and we follow this policy very strictly. Next time please inform a staff member and the issue will be dealt with immediately. Hoping that you stay at HI DC again soon.
Safe travels
Germaine

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: They have differents events and activities to integrate people and the staff is very friendly and funny

Disliked: They have just one slow elevator and carpet on the floor may be a little... dirty?.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Nahuel thank you for your comment we really appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed our free activities and our staff as we are trying our best to give you the best possible hostel experience possible. We are aware that there is some issues with the carpet and the elevator and can assure you that we are planning on renovating the hostel very soon and this issues will be addressed shortly.

Safe travels
Germaine.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location, price is reasonable

Disliked: locker

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Chris, thank you for your comment we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear you liked the location of the hostel and hope that you can stay with us again soon. Additionally to the lockers in the room we also have lockers that can be rented for the day for just $4 in the laundry room.

Safe travels
Germaine

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was near the event for which I was in the city, and I liked the breakfast

Disliked: It felt too crowded at times.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Monica,

Thank you for your great review and feedback! We really do appreciate it, it helps in making everyone's stay better. In which area did it feel crowded? The hostel itself? or your dorm room?

Safe travels,
Christina

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good atmosphere, friendly staff, lots of activities, excellent location for sightseeing

Disliked: Wifi wasn't functioning very well

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Anna,

Thank you for your review and feedback! We really do appreciate it! We have taken steps to improve the WiFi throughout the entire building. Please come and visit us again, I'm sure you will be more pleased with the improvements that have been made.

Safe travels,
Christina

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break

Liked: It´s very Clean and great location

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Miguel, thank you for your comment we really appreciate it! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at HI DC and hope you stay with us again soon.

Safe travels
Germaine

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Reasonably comfortable beds, big lockers, good security.

Disliked: We turned up before 2pm check-in and were told we couldn't check in yet (fine, no problems there) and the only option for storing our bags were the $4 (I think) lockers downstairs -- seems a bit crappy not to let you dump your bags somewhere for free like almost all other hostels do.Internet access was surprisingly bad (slow and unreliable) for a hostel/hotel in a major US city.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sam,

Thank you for your feedback and review! We really appreciate it, they are very helpful to us. Yes, the turn around time between check in and check out does pose an issue for some guests if they arrive before 2pm. We do have the storage lockers, but they have a fee because we are contractually obligated to do so by the company that provides them. Unfortunately, there is no storage space to be able to store guests bags for free. Come back soon!


Safe travels,
Christina

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free pool table!

Disliked: Male bathroom unpleasant. Lack of privacy in showers and very unpleasant smell.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

James,

Thank you for your feedback and review! It is very helpful and we truly appreciate it. I am sorry that you had an unpleasant experience with the bathrooms. Did you alert the front desk of the odor that you smelled? We look forward to having you stay with us again sometime despite the bathroom, I am sure that was an isolated cirucmstance.

Safe travels,
Christina

Check Availability