HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Washington DC Washington DC Hostel

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 92%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

HOSTEL CUSTOMS
• A valid credit card is required for guaranteed reservations. If you need personal attention or have special needs, please call us or email us
• Please retain your confirmation number when making a reservation
• Maximum number of guests is 10
• A $3 per person, per night Temporary Membership Fee for those who aren't members
• Please show a government issued photo ID upon check-in
• Check-in is at 2:00 PM on your arrival date, and check-out is at 11:00 AM on your departure date. Guests have until 2:00 PM on the date of arrival to cancel their reservation. Any guest who does not call and cancel by 2:00 PM on the date of arrival will be charged one night stay
• Children under 12-years-old must stay with their guardian in a private room. Children 12-18 years-old must stay in the same room with their guardian
• Extension requests made after 11:00 AM on the scheduled date of departure may require the hosteller to switch beds and/or rooms
• FREE in-room lockers are provided (please provide your own lock). A limited number of electronic lockers are available for a small fee
• The maximum length of stay is 14 days within a twelve-month period
• Accommodations are available only to travelers from outside a 55 mile radius of the hostel
• Refunds will be provided using the original method of payment
"Accepted credit cards, for making reservations and paying for stays, are limited to VISA or Mastercard."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 92%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

Showing 51-60 of 81 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to all attractions

Disliked: House staff were a little bit grumpy/ lift was dangerous

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly staffs, upscale location, clean and organized and finally equipped with an arsenal of vending machines =)

Disliked: There's nothing to dislike about HI-Washington!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We truly appreciate your kind review! We are pleased to know that our amenities and staff were able to contribute to an enjoyable stay here in Washington D.C. Have safe travels - Dylan

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean, quite, comfortable, with a good location near the National Mall and places to eat; the staff was helpful and polite. Free and fast WiFi. Free activities and tours offered.

Disliked: The breakfast offer was limited; but it was free nevertheless. The elevator is really slow, but they can't do much about it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Ernesto, Thank you for your review! We are pleased to know that our hostel was able to make your stay in Washington D.C an enjoyable one. We apologize for some of the inconveniences that occurred during your stay with us, your review helps us to continually improve our hostel. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next stay with us. Safe travels- Dylan

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I picked this place for the great reviews and it didn't disappoint. Great location, right in front a bus stop and only a couple blocks for the Metro Center station. Very helpful and friendly staff, and though I didn't participate in an, great featured events like free tours, dinners, etc. The complimentary breakfast were great. my biggest pet peeves are cleanliness of bathrooms and bedding. Bedding was clean and fresh, and the bathrooms were better than the dorms at my college. there was a locker for every bed bog enough to fit your a suitase and more stuff. I locked mine just once but felt so comfortable I didn't even bother the rest of my stay and none of my stuff was disturbed. All this plus the price, only $36, especially considering its great location make this place a steal. 9.5/10

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Wow! Thats a great review! Thank you so much, we really appreciate it! I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We really enjoy guests that take advantage of all of our amenities! Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you return to stay with us again sometime.

Safe travels,
Christina

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: It's a great spot with amazing people working.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great review! We really appreciate it and look forward to having you stay with us your next visit to Washington DC!

Safe travels,
Christina

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was always willing to help you, it was near to the White House and other D.C. attractions

Disliked: The 3 dollars extra pay for not being a member of the Hostel, the food wasn't the best.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Pajtim Palushi,

We appreciate your review and are glad our convenient location was able to make your stay more enjoyable. We apologize for the food not being up to par, we are constantly improving our hostel by providing a variety of food choices for our free breakfast. We encourage our HI hostelers to become a member for the savings that can be taken advantage of. Thank you again for your review and safe travels !
Dylan

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean & good breakfast

Disliked: Checkin only available at 2pm, so you have to wait if you arrive early.Mattress was uncomfortable.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate it in helping to make everyone's stay better. We have changed our check in time to 3pm to ensure that everyone's bed is made when they arrive. We do have alternatives for your bags if you arrive before that time. We are working on the mattresses. I hope you'll stay with us again on your next visit to DC to see what improvements we have made.

Safe travels,
Christian

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location just a 20-minute walk from most major sites. There was also free food on a few occasions and the complimentary bananas are great.

Disliked: Wi-fi is absolutely horrible. How there is only one router for seven stories is mind-boggling.


The property's response is

Thank you for your comment and review. We have upgraded our Wi-Fi completely and it is working on all floors. Hopefully you will stay with us again on your next trip to DC and see some additional upgrades that we've made.

Safe travels,
Christina

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was really central

Disliked: bad wifi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Rafael, Thank you for your review! We are pleased to know that the location of our hostel was able to contribute to an enjoyable stay in Washington D.C. We apologize about the Wifi connection at our hostel, do to it being a service we offer to all of our guests it can slow depending on the amount of people that use it. We appreciate your review because it helps us improve our hostel. Safe Travels-Dylan

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: As it is usual in HI hostels, everything was excellent. Comfortable beds with individual ligth and plenty of electric outlets, great breakfast, very good location, lots of free activities every day. And the giant bowl with free bananas is awesome!!!

Disliked: Few showers in shared bathrooms.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability