HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Seattle hostels

Reviews of HI Seattle at the American Hotel

Hostel | 520 South King Street, Seattle, Washington State, USA 98104-2834

85.0% Overall Rating

149 out of 158 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2014)

Gabrielle Doherty thinks…

"This is a great hostel. Lovely and clean, great breakfast and informative staff. There are a couple of private bathrooms with toilet & shower which I thought were great for privacy. I would…"

Read all HI Seattle at the American Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seattle?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seattle

AWA Seattle City Center
30.58 USD

Hotel 82.3% 5 reviews
Green Tortoise Hostel
31.00 USD

Hostel 93.0% 273 reviews
Kings Inn Seattle
39.50 USD

Hostel 39.3% 4 reviews
AAE Hostel Seattle
23.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.8% 91 reviews
City Hostel Seattle
29.22 USD

Hostel 91.3% 515 reviews
Seattle Pacific Hotel
60.00 USD

Hostel 64.8% 9 reviews
AWA Seattle Hostel
30.89 USD

Hotel 85.4% 9 reviews
South Seattle Days Inn
32.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

149 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI Seattle at the American Hotel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 153 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was my primary reason in choosing this hostel.

Disliked: They should be more detailed about the private rooms because I expected more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabrielle Doherty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel. Lovely and clean, great breakfast and informative staff. There are a couple of private bathrooms with toilet & shower which I thought were great for privacy. I would definitely stay here again when I return to Seattle.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Vickery

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 March 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean, tidy and well organised. There is a large comfortable common area. The hostel is in a central location, with good access to all of Seattle's features, including the, "Light rail," to the airport. The hostel provides free breakfast, it is a great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing, it was good in all departments.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was warm and welcoming. all around friendly people

Disliked: At night the area is very sketchy but once inside its great

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, nice common room, location is very close to public transport and quite close to city center

Disliked: In a bit of a shabby street

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a stay like in a hotel from the atmosphere, but a really good place to sleep and close to the attractions of seattle.

Disliked: The only worse thing was the bad bad wifi which was annoying to use for absolutely everything! Well at least there was wifi;)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Reid

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping

28 October 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Super cheap rates, friendly staff and very close to WaMu Theatre.

Disliked: Key cards kept deactivating and uncomfortable beds.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jason allen

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 September 2013 jason would recommend this property

Liked: they don't let people drink alcohol & get loud in the hostel. the hostel is a quiet place. they also have cookie night once a week. plus it's near the train & bus lines about a half block.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was excellent...near Amtrak and right in Chinatown...and near downtown.

Disliked: Things were a little spartan. No screens on windows..no AC, and it was warm.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, near to train and bus links but the area isn't great. However I never felt unsafe.

Disliked: The rooms were always really hot at night, despite being fitted with individual fans. The noise from the street is significant, double glazing is needed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good location

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to Safeco, and the staff there were very willing to help us.

Disliked: I disliked that our window didn't lock. Being from out of town and not knowing the personality of the city made me feel slightly unsafe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SUBHAJIT SIDHANTA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2013 SUBHAJIT would recommend this property

Liked: Very near the amtrak and bus stations. Good free wifi. Cosy kitchen alive with travelers even very late at night.

Disliked: Drinking water supply need to be setup at every floor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so clean and they had pretty much what you needed. From coined washing machines to tourist information.

Disliked: The staff didn't show nice attitude when I asked to change to the other room where my friend stayed. I was traveling with my friend but we got seperated because it said that it was fully booked so we couldn't stay in the same shared room. However, there was actually one free bed in my friend's room!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel in a decent location (in China Town), within walking distance of most of the main sights. The kitchen was one of the best we have ever come across in a hostel and the seating area was really spacious. The hostel also provided a really good breakfast with a variety of oatmeal, bread, bagels, fruit etc. The double private room we booked was really nice and clean with a sink in the room.

Disliked: Bit noisy at night but no real complaints as we had a great stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronald Hoogveld

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 July 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: Near King Street Station, very clean, good breakfastfacilities and spacious .

Disliked: Allthough there were signs on the doors, it can be a little noisy, when guestst come to their rooms and slam the doors.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen area allow for friendly conversation with other guest.

Disliked: The bathroom next to room 322 was always messy. there was always water on the floors and the smell of urine was prevelant a lot.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cute kitchen is clean. Breakfast service was good!

Disliked: Wash basin was not clean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anna Linda Krause

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

23 June 2013 Anna Linda would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff!!

Disliked: it was not possible, to open the window over night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dakota Smith

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 June 2013 Dakota would recommend this property

Liked: We were walking distance from most things we wanted to do, went to a concert at the Seahawks stadium and walked to the cheesecake factory which you must eat it and walking distance to pike market.

Disliked: I didn't have any problems with the area that the hostel was in

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and close to downtown, clean property.

Disliked: Crappy neighborhood, specially at night (lots of homeless and drunks around the block). Bathroom fans can be heard from room at night, constant buzzing noise that makes it hard to fall asleep. $5 for luggage storage.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matthew Jorgenson

Alone

City break

31 May 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: convienat to buses anywhere in the city.

Disliked: not quite in downtown part of seattle.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met a lot of nice people there!

Disliked: Breakfast to early ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhenzhong shen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Zhenzhong would recommend this property

Liked: safe and young

Disliked: Not find yet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great, especially taking us out on a pub crawl was great to have a more local experience. All of the hostel is very clean which I really appreciate.

Disliked: Not that it was a huge concern to myself but I was under the impression I had booked an entirely female room and upon returning one evening there was a male who had been checked in. I'm not sure if this was a clerical error but felt it was a misrepresentation on the site which the hostel should be aware of.

The property's response is...


See all Seattle hostels