HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Seattle at the American Hotel Seattle Hostel

520 S. King St., Seattle, USA

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 78%

Safety 82%

Staff 88%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seattle?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 78%

Safety 82%

Staff 88%

Value 78%

Showing 21-30 of 51 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the city

Disliked: Not allowed to drink alcohol

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much staying with us and I'm glad that we were in a location that met your travel needs! We do have a no alcohol policy in the hostel, as per HIUSA guidelines. These guidelines may be changing in the coming months, so check back with us soon! Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean, very nice breakfast

Disliked: Location is really bad

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: it was clean and the bed was comfortable with plenty of power right next to it.

Disliked: The guy at the front desk was nice, not the most helpful when i asked where a good pub was though all he said was "you'll have to leave this part of town" and then told me about the local bad pubs.Also the toilet for our room was located way down the hall, with only 2 mens toilets serving about 6 rooms.It was located in a pretty boring part of town so if you wanted to go to a decent bar or restaurant it was a bit of a trek.I tried to use the TV in the TV room at one point, there was no remote control and all i could find using the buttons on the TV was static or "no signal".Lots of homeless around the hostels entrance. Every time i went out there i was asked for a dollar or a cigarette or something.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The distance, the price and the environment

Disliked: the size of locker in the dorm wasn't big enough to fit the luggage

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

So glad to hear you had a great stay! The door rooms and the lockers vary a bit in size, but if your luggage doesn't fit upstairs, we may be able to keep it for you in another location, depending on the circumstance. Just ask the front desk. Travel safe and I hope to see you again soon. -Lydia, AGM

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I was not excited about this property

Disliked: The staff was very unfriendly, not willing to help, especially when they wanted me to pay a full price, arguing that what I had paid to HostelBookers at time of reservation was HostelBookers fee, rather that already part of the room rate.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perhaps less engaging than some hostels but I found it unpretentious, clean, and courteously staffed, an affordable and hospitable base for exploring Seattle. Great self-serve kitchen and commons - shop Uwajimaya for groceries a block away and take advantage of it. Perfectly adequate wifi (downloads 50 to 150 KB/s for me). The benefits from being in an older building far outweigh the detriments (noisy doors).

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: 3 blocks from the train station

Disliked: The employees don't have much knowledge to guide you on places to eat or exact location of the train station, etc.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Friendly staff, nice clean rooms, nice area of Seattle but parking is a bit of an issue.

Disliked: Street parking is a hassle if you have a car.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean and friendly

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Building & facilities rather tired.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability