HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Seattle hostels

Reviews of HI - Seattle at the American Hotel Hostel

Hostel | 520 South King Street, Seattle, Washington State, USA 98104-2834

83.4% Overall Rating

166 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

Luke Burton thinks…

"Good location and pretty quite so if you want a good nights sleep, then here is a safe bet. Very close to train station!!"

Read all HI - Seattle at the American Hotel Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seattle?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seattle

AWA Seattle City Center
39.99 USD

Hotel 84.9% 7 reviews
Green Tortoise Hostel
32.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 283 reviews
Kings Inn Seattle
39.00 USD

Hostel 46.3% 5 reviews
AAE Hostel Seattle
32.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.5% 107 reviews
City Hostel Seattle
29.22 USD

Hostel 94.2% 576 reviews
Seattle Pacific Hotel
95.00 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews
AWA Seattle Hostel
30.89 USD

Hotel 86.3% 10 reviews
South Seattle Days Inn
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

166 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Seattle at the American Hotel Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 152 of 171 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to Safeco, and the staff there were very willing to help us.

Disliked: I disliked that our window didn't lock. Being from out of town and not knowing the personality of the city made me feel slightly unsafe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SUBHAJIT SIDHANTA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2013 SUBHAJIT would recommend this property

Liked: Very near the amtrak and bus stations. Good free wifi. Cosy kitchen alive with travelers even very late at night.

Disliked: Drinking water supply need to be setup at every floor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so clean and they had pretty much what you needed. From coined washing machines to tourist information.

Disliked: The staff didn't show nice attitude when I asked to change to the other room where my friend stayed. I was traveling with my friend but we got seperated because it said that it was fully booked so we couldn't stay in the same shared room. However, there was actually one free bed in my friend's room!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel in a decent location (in China Town), within walking distance of most of the main sights. The kitchen was one of the best we have ever come across in a hostel and the seating area was really spacious. The hostel also provided a really good breakfast with a variety of oatmeal, bread, bagels, fruit etc. The double private room we booked was really nice and clean with a sink in the room.

Disliked: Bit noisy at night but no real complaints as we had a great stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronald Hoogveld

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 July 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: Near King Street Station, very clean, good breakfastfacilities and spacious .

Disliked: Allthough there were signs on the doors, it can be a little noisy, when guestst come to their rooms and slam the doors.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen area allow for friendly conversation with other guest.

Disliked: The bathroom next to room 322 was always messy. there was always water on the floors and the smell of urine was prevelant a lot.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cute kitchen is clean. Breakfast service was good!

Disliked: Wash basin was not clean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anna Linda Krause

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

23 June 2013 Anna Linda would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff!!

Disliked: it was not possible, to open the window over night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dakota Smith

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 June 2013 Dakota would recommend this property

Liked: We were walking distance from most things we wanted to do, went to a concert at the Seahawks stadium and walked to the cheesecake factory which you must eat it and walking distance to pike market.

Disliked: I didn't have any problems with the area that the hostel was in

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and close to downtown, clean property.

Disliked: Crappy neighborhood, specially at night (lots of homeless and drunks around the block). Bathroom fans can be heard from room at night, constant buzzing noise that makes it hard to fall asleep. $5 for luggage storage.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matthew Jorgenson

Alone

City break

31 May 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: convienat to buses anywhere in the city.

Disliked: not quite in downtown part of seattle.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met a lot of nice people there!

Disliked: Breakfast to early ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhenzhong shen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Zhenzhong would recommend this property

Liked: safe and young

Disliked: Not find yet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great, especially taking us out on a pub crawl was great to have a more local experience. All of the hostel is very clean which I really appreciate.

Disliked: Not that it was a huge concern to myself but I was under the impression I had booked an entirely female room and upon returning one evening there was a male who had been checked in. I'm not sure if this was a clerical error but felt it was a misrepresentation on the site which the hostel should be aware of.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Songklod Rungmee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: The staffs are very kind and helpful. They were pleased to answer my questions.

Disliked: The hotel cost is expensive. Actually, it looks like a hostel (with shared room and shared bathroom).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victoria Robertson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good facilities!

Disliked: wifi unstable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thanapol Vibulchan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Thanapol would recommend this property

Liked: There is a very well kitchen and dining room.

Disliked: Only a wireless internet is very terrible.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy access to other landmark spots.

Disliked: quite a lot of outside people gather around the building at night making noises.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Very clean hostel. walking distance to tourist attractions. Quiet at night. Kitchen is good too.

Disliked: Dodgy area near china town at night time, felt unsafe and the wifi is a piece of s#*t that keeps cutting out every couple of minutes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alicia Dell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very cheerful and helpful. The room was clean, good storage space, breakfast, and they have laundry!

Disliked: The property is good.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Maria Castro

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2013

Liked: The facility was clean and comfortable. There was considerable space in the rooms.

Disliked: The location of the hotel is not safe and very insecure, specially during the night. My friends and I tried to park our car in front of the hostel door when suddenly someone on the street opened the door and tried to get into our car.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was awesome. Very nice character inside, and very comfortable. Lots of space and good atmosphere in the kitchen and common rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MESUT YENICARE

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 MESUT would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and very good breakfast. Washrooms and dorms are very clean .

Disliked: No en suite washrooms.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Niall Scully

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2013 Niall would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Nice "extras" provided- Christmas dinner, pancake nights etc. Very clean and secure.

Disliked: The heating wasn't the best in our room. We had a package delivered that was sitting with the staff for a week before we arrived that we didn't get until the day we checked out despite asking about it a few times.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

shannon daemore

Alone

City break

30 October 2012 shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was clean, but the frides were jammed full. The bathrooms were new and clean. Internet acess was good and I could easily spend more time there if I were to be in Seattle.

Disliked: there was nnothing to really dislike.

The property's response is...


See all Seattle hostels