HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Seattle at the American Hotel Seattle Hostel

520 S. King St., Seattle, USA

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 83%

Location 78%

Safety 83%

Staff 88%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seattle?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 83%

Location 78%

Safety 83%

Staff 88%

Value 78%

Showing 11-20 of 55 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly Staff. Location in Chinatown near light rail station. Overall good hostel, but no elevator is brutal!

Disliked: Lack elevator..

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff were excellent, went above and beyond to accomodate us when i made an incorrect booking

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It was bigger than say the Green Tortoise.

Disliked: Too many people in one room, but it is a hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Convenient location, comfortable and clean rooms, great breakfast!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location, convenient to link and bus tunnel.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great, you can walk everywhere. Very nice free breakfast. The whole property is incredibly clean.

Disliked: The bed is uncomfortable - the mattresses are so thin that you can feel the metal frame under you when you sleep, especially if you sleep on the side.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for your review and I will pass along your kind comments to our wonderful housekeeping team. I'm so sorry you had a difficult experience with the mattress. We are in the process of upgrading our mattresses, so please come back and see us again soon and get a better night's rest! Thanks again and travel safe. -Lydia, AGM

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the city

Disliked: Not allowed to drink alcohol

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much staying with us and I'm glad that we were in a location that met your travel needs! We do have a no alcohol policy in the hostel, as per HIUSA guidelines. These guidelines may be changing in the coming months, so check back with us soon! Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean, very nice breakfast

Disliked: Location is really bad

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: it was clean and the bed was comfortable with plenty of power right next to it.

Disliked: The guy at the front desk was nice, not the most helpful when i asked where a good pub was though all he said was "you'll have to leave this part of town" and then told me about the local bad pubs.Also the toilet for our room was located way down the hall, with only 2 mens toilets serving about 6 rooms.It was located in a pretty boring part of town so if you wanted to go to a decent bar or restaurant it was a bit of a trek.I tried to use the TV in the TV room at one point, there was no remote control and all i could find using the buttons on the TV was static or "no signal".Lots of homeless around the hostels entrance. Every time i went out there i was asked for a dollar or a cigarette or something.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The distance, the price and the environment

Disliked: the size of locker in the dorm wasn't big enough to fit the luggage

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

So glad to hear you had a great stay! The door rooms and the lockers vary a bit in size, but if your luggage doesn't fit upstairs, we may be able to keep it for you in another location, depending on the circumstance. Just ask the front desk. Travel safe and I hope to see you again soon. -Lydia, AGM

Check Availability