HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Seattle hostels

Reviews of HI Seattle at the American Hotel

Hostel | 520 South King Street, Seattle, Washington State, USA 98104-2834

85.0% Overall Rating

149 out of 158 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2014)

Gabrielle Doherty thinks…

"This is a great hostel. Lovely and clean, great breakfast and informative staff. There are a couple of private bathrooms with toilet & shower which I thought were great for privacy. I would…"

Read all HI Seattle at the American Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seattle?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seattle

AWA Seattle City Center
30.58 USD

Hotel 82.3% 5 reviews
Green Tortoise Hostel
31.00 USD

Hostel 93.0% 273 reviews
Kings Inn Seattle
39.50 USD

Hostel 39.3% 4 reviews
AAE Hostel Seattle
23.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.8% 91 reviews
City Hostel Seattle
29.22 USD

Hostel 91.3% 515 reviews
Seattle Pacific Hotel
60.00 USD

Hostel 64.8% 9 reviews
AWA Seattle Hostel
30.89 USD

Hotel 85.4% 9 reviews
South Seattle Days Inn
32.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

149 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI Seattle at the American Hotel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 153 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Songklod Rungmee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: The staffs are very kind and helpful. They were pleased to answer my questions.

Disliked: The hotel cost is expensive. Actually, it looks like a hostel (with shared room and shared bathroom).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victoria Robertson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good facilities!

Disliked: wifi unstable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thanapol Vibulchan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Thanapol would recommend this property

Liked: There is a very well kitchen and dining room.

Disliked: Only a wireless internet is very terrible.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy access to other landmark spots.

Disliked: quite a lot of outside people gather around the building at night making noises.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Very clean hostel. walking distance to tourist attractions. Quiet at night. Kitchen is good too.

Disliked: Dodgy area near china town at night time, felt unsafe and the wifi is a piece of s#*t that keeps cutting out every couple of minutes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alicia Dell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very cheerful and helpful. The room was clean, good storage space, breakfast, and they have laundry!

Disliked: The property is good.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Maria Castro

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2013

Liked: The facility was clean and comfortable. There was considerable space in the rooms.

Disliked: The location of the hotel is not safe and very insecure, specially during the night. My friends and I tried to park our car in front of the hostel door when suddenly someone on the street opened the door and tried to get into our car.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was awesome. Very nice character inside, and very comfortable. Lots of space and good atmosphere in the kitchen and common rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MESUT YENICARE

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 MESUT would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and very good breakfast. Washrooms and dorms are very clean .

Disliked: No en suite washrooms.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Niall Scully

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2013 Niall would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Nice "extras" provided- Christmas dinner, pancake nights etc. Very clean and secure.

Disliked: The heating wasn't the best in our room. We had a package delivered that was sitting with the staff for a week before we arrived that we didn't get until the day we checked out despite asking about it a few times.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

shannon daemore

Alone

City break

30 October 2012 shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was clean, but the frides were jammed full. The bathrooms were new and clean. Internet acess was good and I could easily spend more time there if I were to be in Seattle.

Disliked: there was nnothing to really dislike.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Middleton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2012 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: We were looking for something a bit off the beaten path but still close to downtown. This place fits the bill. It is in walking distance of Pioneer Square as well as a block away from the LINK and numerous bus lines. The room was spartan but clean. Great common area with kitchen where a basic but filling breakfast was served every morning. Staff is friendly and knowledgable.

Disliked: No real dislikes but it would have been nice to have screens on the windows. For some the location may seem a bit sketchy but my wife and I never felt unsafe as the streets always seem to be bustling with people.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Eric Meyer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Stuff, clean rooms, breakfast, good to reach from the airport or the busstation. Baseball and Football fields in walking distance.

Disliked: Bad Working WiFi. Went to Starbucks to do my online stuff.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Silvan Sievers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Silvan would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast

Disliked: Silvan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

GARY LOWE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 GARY would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly helpful staff, nice common areas, great kitchen, safe, secure, great cheap food in the neighbourhood (Chinatown), close to sports arenas, organised events such as wine tasting and city tours.... etc etc.

Disliked: Hostel isn't as central as its competition. Slightly poorer, but not dangerous, neighbourhood. However, closer to stadiums, chinatown & nightlife.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Sartin

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly atmosphere, and it's very close to a transit center. Very convenient.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the train.

Disliked: Chinatown is a pretty seedy place. The area smells like urine everywhere.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Looks not safe outside at night

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alexandra fawcett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2012 alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Friendleness of staff and it was always clean

Disliked: it was all good

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Josée Vaillancourt

Alone

Business / conference

08 August 2012 Josée would recommend this property

Liked: how close a walk it is to a good grocery store with organic meat, veggies and fruits among other food available.

Disliked: the homeless, and the park close by where they smoke dope and practice prostitution. I was followed once by a shady character. Thank God there were some people around walking their dogs at the time.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to access from International Station

Disliked: Long queue on check-out

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in in the USA and I've been to quiet a few! Also its amazing for transport links all around the city and to the airport.

Disliked: Nothing it's ace. It does exactly what it's says on the tin:)

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

shireesh bogle

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

31 July 2012 shireesh would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the daily activities the most and guys are just hot at the front desk. I love the guy in french beard a lot cuz he's super hot. The tall lean guy is just so damn cute. The only other guy is so friendly, soft spoken, and adorable. I would love to come back just for these three musketeers !

Disliked: For the fact that elevator is just not for everyone who stays there. I had to struggle a lot with my heavy set luggage bags to carry them over the stairs :-(

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near to transportation links good kitchen

Disliked: there's not much happening around the hostel area and it feels a little bit sketchy at night - that might just be me being over-sensitive though!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and the access to public transportation.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Seattle hostels