HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Seattle hostels

Reviews of City Hostel Seattle

Hostel | 2327 2nd Ave, Seattle, Washington State, USA 98121

92.0% Overall Rating

543 out of 558 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Henrik von Storch thinks…

"The movietheater in the Basement is great. Staff is very helpfull! Great Showers!"

Read all City Hostel Seattle reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

After hours checking with reservation available with prior arrangement, email us! Valid Passport / ID required. Washington State residents must contact the hostel before booking. Minors must be accompanied by parent/guardian (under 18). No children in shared dorms - private rooms only!!! Contact us directly about family rooms. We are a smoke free Hostel!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seattle?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seattle

Kings Inn Seattle
39.50 USD

Hostel 39.3% 4 reviews
AAE Hostel Seattle
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.7% 100 reviews
Seattle Pacific Hotel
96.00 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews
Green Tortoise Hostel
31.00 USD

Hostel 91.7% 282 reviews
AWA Seattle City Center
39.99 USD

Hotel 84.9% 7 reviews
HI - Seattle at the American Hotel
20.33 USD

Hostel 83.1% 171 reviews
AWA Seattle Hostel
45.59 USD

Hotel 85.4% 9 reviews
South Seattle Days Inn
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

543 out of 558 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Hostel Seattle'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 474 of 536 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henrik von Storch

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Henrik would recommend this property

Liked: The movietheater in the Basement is great. Staff is very helpfull! Great Showers!

Disliked: There were only 4 Lockers in a 6-Bed dorm room. That was pretty annoying. Reading lamps would be nice in the dorms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Maier

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: perfect hostel! extremely, extremely clean and tidy! rooms as well as bathrooms very comfy bed, probably the most comfortable one in a hostel i ever had the pleasure to sleep on ;) location was just great. lockers, breakfast, atmosphere, wifi, everything there! one more thing i found remarkable, was that there never was a queue for showers or bathrooms, even though the hostel seems to be rather big and was fully booked. i found that very convenient!

Disliked: nothing really, maybe that the street was pretty loud (bars in the area and loud traffic), but simply ask for earplugs at the reception! was really no problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

graham rutherford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 graham would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, staff were very helpful and friendly, kitchen was nice, bathrooms were great and room was clean, beds were comfy!

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 July 2014

Liked: The location is great

Disliked: The Front office is a rolling table with two computers on it and the staff is not pretty helpful, they have no knowledge of the area. When I checked in, they charged me 88,57 $ even my hostelbookers printout that 78,57$ i was told that would be "Deposit" for my key. I was not given a receipt or anything. At checkout nobody knew anything about a deposit which is charged to guests or that it would have been charged to me. The hostel is average, but that was worse than south east asian scams you come across!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom was clean (4 bed dorm w/ bathroom) until others joined our room.

Disliked: There were writings on the walls everywhere and the bedsheets were grey and not very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were do friendly and it was right in belltown (a wonder little area of seattle)

Disliked: Te room I was in didn't have power points near the beds, this was annoying. Other than that it was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The downstairs area with the hangout room, patio, and theater were really good and I absolutely loved the private showers/number of bathrooms. The rooms weren't too crowded and the location was amazing.

Disliked: I would've liked to see more programming/better programming in the hostel but that's something so few hostels have nailed. I also don't think kids should be anywhere near a hostel so that bothers me when kids are running around. They should put surge bars in the rooms to make up for the lack of outlets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zak Riggin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2014 Zak would recommend this property

Liked: At first check in every worker was busy but they all had smiles and were more than willing to drop what they were doing in order to help the 3 lost looking travelers. They always answered any questions we had and if they didn't know they found someone else who would whether it be from recommendations on the best sushi in the city to what events are going on that day. All were extremely friendly and had excellent customer service.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like about this was that the property didn't have parking or validate parking. 8 dollars for 4 hours maybe "the norm" in city life but $24 dollars a day for parking got expensive fast considering thats almost the price I paid per bed for myself. My recommendation would be to find a garage (I think I saw one 3 or 4 blocks up) that offers all day parking or even 24 hour parking for 12-20 dollars or something like that. They are far and few between (Especially avoid Pikes market parking! 10 dollars for 2 hours!) but make sure you save as much for parking as you do for your hostel or else your credit card company is gonna be really really happy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great amenities were plentiful cleanliness was excellent and the location was fabulous

Disliked: Not applicable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The characters of the dorm rooms are great and I loved the chance to mingle with other young travelers all coming to Seattle for different reasons. The communal kitchen, though I didn't take advantage of it, was a great place to hang in the evenings and early mornings before the breakfast rush. I loved to sit at my computer writing and smelling Asian noodle dishes being prepared and served by a family utilizing the kitchen space.

Disliked: I don't have any dislikes about the City Hostel Seattle!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Key-card needed to enter the property and rooms is positive. Fresh fruit for breakfast. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Noise from the street. No reading lamps attached to beds. Lots of flys in room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Guapyassu

Alone

City break

27 June 2014 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Great

Disliked: Great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Grace Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Hands down best hostel of my trip. Staff were particularly helpful and friendly, and the four bed dorm where I stayed was clean and roomy. Great vibes.

Disliked: Grace left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Staff was very friendly. Rooms and bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: My friends and I booked individually and we ended up being in different rooms. The weekend was fully booked so the staff was not able to move me into a room with my friends. Not really much they could do but maybe a suggestion the website advising groups to book together would help avoid situations like this.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Siti Rashidah Abdul Rahman

As a family with children

Family Holiday

16 June 2014 Siti Rashidah would recommend this property

Liked: Suitable for those who keen to meet other people and pay minimal for accommodation

Disliked: Breakfast duration - this can be extended to 11am as no other meals are provided. Tourists who go on whole day trip will tend to wake up later the next day and can easily miss the breakfast as it ends at 10am.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jim Twelves

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 June 2014 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: Though it was big and busy, it was also warm and welcoming!

Disliked: Jim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Stayed 6 days. Highly recommended. Close to everything. Great advice on places to.see and eat/drink.Really relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice

Disliked: Checking in took long

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Brito

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities, such as cinema and library.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feel at home. Good management. Staffs are well trained, enthusiastic,very very very helpful indeed.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was charming with big pots of flowers in hanging baskets a nice touch. There was a range of ages although it felt young and vibrant. The staff were respectful yet charming. The range of facilities perfect. I can't speak more highly of this hostel

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabiola Ferrusquia Zamudio

Alone

Family Holiday

21 May 2014 Fabiola would recommend this property

Liked: Architecture,facilities,crew...everything!!!!

Disliked: Breakfast can be a bit more substantial 😊...just a comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Olson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, lovely staff, very clean, awesome free breakfast, and a great social atmosphere. I've stayed at tons of hostels all over the world and this one is definitely one of the best!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisa Stilson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2014 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Andrew was awesome

Disliked: Nothing


See all Seattle hostels