HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Seattle hostels

Reviews of Green Tortoise Hostel

Hostel | 105 1/2 Pike ST, Seattle, Washington State, USA 98101

93.0% Overall Rating

266 out of 273 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2014)

Jeffrey Ballard thinks…

"Great location across from Pike's Place Market and easy access to transportation."

Read all Green Tortoise Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: The Green Tortoise Hostel has an age restriction and cannot accommodate minors (under 18 years old) in Dorms. Minors traveling with adults must book a private room. If you have any questions about this policy or would like to explain your circumstances, you must contact the property directly.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seattle?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seattle

Kings Inn Seattle
39.50 USD

Hostel 39.3% 4 reviews
City Hostel Seattle
29.22 USD

Hostel 91.3% 515 reviews
AAE Hostel Seattle
23.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.8% 91 reviews
Seattle Pacific Hotel
60.00 USD

Hostel 64.8% 9 reviews
AWA Seattle City Center
30.58 USD

Hotel 82.3% 5 reviews
HI Seattle at the American Hotel
20.33 USD

Hostel 85.0% 158 reviews
AWA Seattle Hostel
30.89 USD

Hotel 85.4% 9 reviews
South Seattle Days Inn
32.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

266 out of 273 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Tortoise Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 230 of 245 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free dinner, great location

Disliked: Not a youth hostel. Some shady characters in and around the common room in the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Rosenbaum

Alone

Business / conference

31 March 2011 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect hostel. Great location, safe to walk around. Breakfast had fresh fruit and eggs to cook yourself. Sheets are clean. Beds have curtains so you can go to sleep even if roommates don't.

Disliked: Perfect hostel!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge lockers per person in the rooms. Clean individual bathrooms with decent showers and plenty of hot water.

Disliked: Street outside could be a little bit noisy at night. Lots of stairs to drag a case up once you get in the door!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent. the facilities were clean, staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place in Seattle and very clean.

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brett Kortum

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Sasha's food tour was great - $20 for 5 and a half hours and i were full at the end

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really central and in a safe location. Many different people stay here, so it is easy to meet any kind of people here, which makes traveling by yourself even more fun. The is a free, ok breakfast every day and free dinner three times a week (good ones). The staff was also helpful in any respect and would also recommend good places to check out.

Disliked: It's located on the second- be aware if you have heavy luggage (like me!).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Riana Van der Merwe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2010 Riana would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, everything is so close. The staff is way helpful and fun people. Met some great people there and the hostel helped facilitate the perfect setting for a great experience. I enjoyed my stay and will stay there again!

Disliked: The bathrooms floors weren't as clean as I would like and the blankets on the Beds coils be bigger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Jarvis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I love the location of this hostel and it has really good facilities.

Disliked: The Wifi works better if you connect to it from the coffee shop next door!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lei Dai

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2010 Lei would recommend this property

Liked: good in facilities! clean and safe. Great location.

Disliked: the comupter is so slow, some can not be used

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice. Hostel is just nice. Sacsha is the best guide ever....check out his food tour....it is amazing...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that beds have curtains, therefore, give us privacy. It's not bad, it's a nice place, but I stayed in other hostels that charged less and offered the same as they do, or even more.

Disliked: At first, bad gross smell by the reception area, but that was not in the room (thank God). Shower hasn't got much water pressure at all. It is expensive for services offered, I stayed in hostels for much less than what they charge, that offer the same things as they do or even more, with more friendliness and better location that doesnt have weirdos loitering around.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emma Russell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is good it has great rooms and everyone has there own light, plugs and fans with a curtain around there bed and the lockers underneath your bed is massive. The free dinners were great to and the breakfast. Bathrooms are great. The location is great to right next to Pikes Market and the first ever Starbucks. The hostel has some great tours to Sasha is great. Would stay again.

Disliked: Some off the staff were not very helpful and sometimes a bit off shame because there are some great staff. The internet connection is rubbish could not get onto my netbook which meant I had to que for the computers when mentioned nobody was bothered, some off the computers didn't even work.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Helen Elizabeth Corry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2010 Helen Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location looking forward to free dinner - havent spent much time at hostel as been discovering the city but really nice so far and the beds are super clean and comfy and the storage lockers very secure and big so you can fit all your stuff. Would highly recommend

Disliked: Helen Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good breakfasts, free dinner was really good as well. Staff are really friendly. Beds have private curtains and a nice big lockable storage area for your bed.

Disliked: bathrooms could have been cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Henwood

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2010 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this place is awesome! Great events... and free dinner 3 days a week! Free breakfast also yummy! Lots of stuff to do, great info and tours about almost every aspect of the city. Great beds in the dorms too. Excellent.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jerome natali

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2010 jerome would recommend this property

Liked: very clean ,helpfull staff

Disliked: jerome left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Corbett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: great location, nice friendly staff, clean facilities, loved the bathrooms, and bedroom set up was very good and private.

Disliked: not much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best!!! It is just within walking distance to many attractions, especially the Pike Place Market, is just right beside the hostel. Another best thing is the big locker under my bed, I just can put all my 3 luggages under it without security worries. The biggest locker I have ever seen in hostel. And the free breakfast and dinner were nice!! I like them!!!

Disliked: Hmm... I would say the free luggage storage after check out. Since it is an open area without care, so I felt unsafety to put valuable things there. Therefore I needed bring all my valuables including my netbook to travel around on my last day. It was pretty terrible and tiring.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

09 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, Friendly staff, good tours and activities, great breakfast and dinners

Disliked: the room which I stayed in was directly opposite the private lounge...people talking throughout the night and sleep was disturbed. Also, the smell from the cooking in the kitchen filled up my room and stinked my clothes too

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the Green Tortoise cannot be beaten! Right in the heart of Seattle, it is the perfect base for exploring this great city. The cutrains on the bunks are a fantastic idea, giving you a little bit of privacy, even in a dorm room. The bathrooms and kitchen are both clean and spacious and the common area offers a good social atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s placed very central, you can reach the best places of town within a few minutes walk. It´s very near to the sea and just around the corner of Pike-marked with a lot of shopping facilities. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Doing breakfast on your own might be a lot of fun but takes much time. Almost to many people in the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shan Jiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010 Shan would recommend this property

Liked: good all round hostel. great staff, fun activities, great place to meet people, good night sleep.

Disliked: Shan left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2010

Liked: The location was good, and they let me store my bags for the day after I checked out.

Disliked: $20 cash-only key deposit was inconvenient., as I was not notified of it in advance. Two of the workers at the front desk were utterly useless. I asked about activities that were posted in the lobby, and they had no idea what I was talking about. One of them could not even tell me how to get to the airport from the hostel! Are you kidding me?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean. Free lunch on the 3 days per week. Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Seattle hostels