We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Francisco, USA

93.6%
708 reviews Book Now 
1

USA Hostels San Francisco

Hostel
711 Post Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

690 out of 708 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels San Francisco

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 92% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 94%
Anne Sophia Wille
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Anne Sophia would recommend this property 26 December 2014

Such an awesome place to stay in SF! I loved all the activities they offer! Also they provide great advise how to reach all the sights. The rooms are nice, big enough and clean.

Tom Doyle
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Tom would recommend this property 17 September 2014

Great wifi, free breakfast, comfy beds, bedside light and plugs, good lounge area, beer fridge

91.4%
465 reviews Book Now 
2

Green Tortoise Backpackers Guesthouse

Hostel
494 Broadway, San Francisco, USA CA 94133

435 out of 465 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Tortoise Backpackers Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 92% Facilities - 94% Safety - 91%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 91%
Genevieve Engelhardt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Genevieve would recommend this property 23 July 2014

Green Tortoise was a great choice, good people, nice atmosphere, good spot and helpful staff. They have a good breakfast and 3 free dinners a week (you are encouraged to help cook). Was in quite a good spot, close to Little Italy, Chinatown and the water. It's quite a big hostel, but still friendly and easy to meet people if you're traveling on your own. An old building, but still secure and clean.

Wilfie Cross
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Wilfie would recommend this property 16 June 2014

Amazing atmospheric common room in an ex ballroom, with high ceilings and a piano where everyone eats. Well equipped kitchen, helpful staff, pool table, great location. We got a room in a separate building that was like having a whole house to ourselves and a couple of other people. We had an incredible view of the skyline and harbour from our window and balcony. And free dinner twice a week!

86.3%
590 reviews Book Now 
3

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Hostel
312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA 94102-1704

533 out of 590 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 90% Facilities - 83% Safety - 84%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 82%
Benjamin Asquith
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Benjamin would recommend this property 24 December 2014

Easy to get to from the station, friendly staff, free coffee, good facilities and a good atmosphere

James Scrivener
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Romantic getaway
100.0%
James would recommend this property 18 September 2014

The style and size of the property made us feel very trendy and also that we had picked the correct hostel as it was in more of a purpose built building. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great, busy at times but plenty of room. WiFi access good and generally all the facilities clean and new.

85.3%
212 reviews Book Now 
4

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Hostel
240 Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA CA 94123-1303

201 out of 212 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 87% Facilities - 81% Safety - 84%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 82%
Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
31.4%
Customer would recommend this property 06 January 2015

I loved the rich history of the building and local area, and that it was surrounded by a beautiful park to relax outside.

leah burger
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
leah would recommend this property 27 December 2014

International clientele was awesome, breakfast coffee was strong and organic, the cooking facilities are off the charts good. They are clean, with a gas stove and cook top. Also, really enjoyed the mix of people who stay at the hostel from older people, to families, to solo international students.

83.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Francisco Bay Inn

3.5 star Hotel
1501 Lombard Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94123

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Francisco Bay Inn

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 80% Facilities - 85% Safety - 80%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 September 2013

4 of us fitted into our room there was plenty of space for the beds and to walk around.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

Its in a very good tourist location where you can have easy access to many attractions within walking distance. It was very nice being able to have a refrigerator and a microwave in the room.

83.1%
56 reviews Book Now 
6

Cova Hotel

2.5 star Hotel
655 Ellis St, San Francisco, USA 94109

50 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cova Hotel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 79%
Location - 59% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 86%
Jordanne Nuttall
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
88.6%
Jordanne would recommend this property 14 January 2015

Awesome hotel. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Clean rooms well appointed with amenities, included breakfast has a wide range of foods. Free shuttle was great.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 08 October 2014

Close to Union square and to Civic center, the hotel have very helpful shuttle to different places in the SF

81.9%
916 reviews Book Now 
7

San Francisco International Hostel

Hostel
140 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA 94102

728 out of 916 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend San Francisco International Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 87% Facilities - 73% Safety - 82%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 81%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 January 2015

Upon arrival i was welcomed and offered exactly what i wanted to see. a lotta free amenities, awesome place, PS4 and HD TV. Movie nights popcorn. Wish I could stay more. The hostel is safe. I stayed in a newly renovated room. nice choice of color :P

Customer review
With a large group / tour
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 January 2015

Just Awesome....... The location is perfectly fine for any type of traveler. The help desk staffs are wonderful, They will help you every time you need. Many things I can write: Clean, perfect location, Good people, Value of money, Good wi-fi (In lounge and downstairs its perfect and in room its limited), Well equipped Kitchen, Morning Pan cake free, Coffee and tea unlimited, Those who drink free beer most of evening, free pizza some day of week.. and many more....

81.1%
174 reviews Book Now 
8

Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel
1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

153 out of 174 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Encore Express Hotel

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 87% Facilities - 71% Safety - 85%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 84%
Martin Mucka
With my spouse / partner
City break, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Martin would recommend this property 08 September 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my gf. Room clean, bathroom shared, but clean as well. Internet fast, bed was excelent. Will definitely stay here again, very friendly personal, they allowed us to leave there our luggage after check-out, so we had enough time to see another sightseeings schedueled in our city trip

Domantas Gintauskas
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Domantas would recommend this property 07 September 2014

Nice to have a sink and a fridge in the room - that compensates the disadvantage of shared bathroom.

80.5%
77 reviews Book Now 
9

HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Hostel
685 Ellis St., San Francisco, USA 94109

69 out of 77 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 82% Facilities - 88% Safety - 78%
Location - 54% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 77%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 01 September 2014

Atmosphere in the hostel was very good, breakfast was fine and staff was very helpful.

Customer review
Alone
Business / conference, City break
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 20 August 2014

Tidy, quiet rooms with private bathrooms and few beds; good welcoming atmosphere. Everything worked great. Pancakes!

78.6%
8 reviews Book Now 
10

SFO Travelodge Airport North

2 star Hotel
326 South Airport Blvd, San Francisco, USA 94080

7 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend SFO Travelodge Airport North

Atmosphere - 67% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 82%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 25 September 2012

I did not hear other clients in adjacent rooms. The swimming pool was great. Use of airport shuttle was a bonus. Great 3 star accomodation

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2011

Good place to get a nights rest. Plan on staying closer to the city. Staff was nice enough. Very inexpensive. Felt Safe. No problems with cleanliness.

San Francisco

33 Hostels from 18.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Francisco hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Francisco. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to San Francisco

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to San Francisco. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter