HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Francisco, USA

92.1%
463 reviews Book Now 
1

Green Tortoise Backpackers Guesthouse

Hostel
494 Broadway, San Francisco, USA CA 94133

433 out of 463 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Tortoise Backpackers Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 92% Facilities - 95% Safety - 91%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 91%
Genevieve Engelhardt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Genevieve would recommend this property 23 July 2014

Green Tortoise was a great choice, good people, nice atmosphere, good spot and helpful staff. They have a good breakfast and 3 free dinners a week (you are encouraged to help cook). Was in quite a good spot, close to Little Italy, Chinatown and the water. It's quite a big hostel, but still friendly and easy to meet people if you're traveling on your own. An old building, but still secure and clean.

Wilfie Cross
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Wilfie would recommend this property 16 June 2014

Amazing atmospheric common room in an ex ballroom, with high ceilings and a piano where everyone eats. Well equipped kitchen, helpful staff, pool table, great location. We got a room in a separate building that was like having a whole house to ourselves and a couple of other people. We had an incredible view of the skyline and harbour from our window and balcony. And free dinner twice a week!

91.8%
690 reviews Book Now 
2

USA Hostels San Francisco

Hostel
711 Post Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

672 out of 690 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels San Francisco

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 93% Facilities - 95% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 29 July 2014

The atmosphere, the people, the events, the cleanliness, the security, the staff, all of it! This is a really great hostel that sets you up so you can meet people easily. I met some great friends here that I continued to travel with. the hostel has information about all the popular attractions that is easily accessible. All around, it's just a really well run hostel!

Customer review
Alone
Business / conference
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 03 June 2014

The privacy pods and huge lockers!! Also - the breakfast was amazing considering it was included - delicious pancakes!!

91.2%
562 reviews Book Now 
3

HI - San Francisco - Downtown

Hostel
312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA 94102-1704

510 out of 562 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Downtown

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 93% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 86%
Katie Moore
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping
88.6%
Katie would recommend this property 29 July 2014

Staff are mostly helpful and friendly, mostly clean, decent sized private rooms, events are lots of fun

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 25 July 2014

Location was great. Bathrooms were cleaned daily. Front desk were nice and helpful.

87.4%
58 reviews Book Now 
4

HI - San Francisco - City Center

Hostel
685 Ellis St., San Francisco, USA 94109

52 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - City Center

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 90% Facilities - 91% Safety - 87%
Location - 66% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 88%
YEE FEI OOI
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break
77.1%
YEE FEI would recommend this property 20 July 2014

Great atmosphere for networking and meet new friends. Staffs are friendly and kind. The rooms were clean and tidy.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 01 July 2014

Staffs were very friendly and approachable. Am very happy to have stayed here. Location was perfect and the room was very clean.

87.2%
206 reviews Book Now 
5

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf

Hostel
240 Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA CA 94123-1303

195 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 91% Facilities - 82% Safety - 84%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 84%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 13 June 2014

I wasn't expecting luxury, so was very pleased with the state of the property. Very well organised, friendly staff , clean and tidy. The breakfast was good (toast + oatmeal + fruit + coffee) and there was plenty to do with organised activities, a movie room, lounge, books etc.

Susan Amato
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Susan would recommend this property 26 May 2014

The setting is wonderful, peaceful yet close to many attractions. The staff are very helpful but not fully informed of local events, for example they were unaware of the Carnival procession in Mission yesterday even though this is an annual event. Several guests said they would have gone had they been told of it. The facilities are good, a dollar for laundry is excellent value. The cafe serves good basic food or there is a huge kitchen if you want to cook. The bunk beds are comfortable but the ladder to the top bunk requires you to have long legs and to be sober.

83.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
6

Francisco Bay Inn

3.5 star Hotel
1501 Lombard Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94123

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Francisco Bay Inn

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 80% Facilities - 85% Safety - 80%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 September 2013

4 of us fitted into our room there was plenty of space for the beds and to walk around.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

Its in a very good tourist location where you can have easy access to many attractions within walking distance. It was very nice being able to have a refrigerator and a microwave in the room.

83.4%
50 reviews Book Now 
7

Cova Hotel

2.5 star Hotel
655 Ellis St, San Francisco, USA 94109

45 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cova Hotel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 91% Facilities - 86% Safety - 82%
Location - 57% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 87%
Noor Dashti
With friends / other travellers
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping
85.7%
Noor would recommend this property 30 July 2014

Staff was amazing and very helpful very clean rooms and modern design very close to city centre

Evelyn Cox
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
14 June 2014

Have stayed here before and it's very good value. Reception staff are excellent.

83.3%
159 reviews Book Now 
8

Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel
1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

140 out of 159 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Encore Express Hotel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 86% Facilities - 75% Safety - 86%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 87%
Soph Jones
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Soph would recommend this property 02 July 2014

Lovely beds, super luxurious in comparison to other hostels I've been in. Hostel/hotel is defo the right description.

Nena Mobach
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Nena would recommend this property 15 June 2014

Great big and comfy bunkbeds. It was really good to have a full working kitchen in the room and the wifi was very strong. The cleaningladys are polite friendly and very good in their job.

81.1%
199 reviews Book Now 
9

AAE Amsterdam

Hostel
749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94108

167 out of 199 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend AAE Amsterdam

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 76% Facilities - 76% Safety - 86%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 80%
Julia Mc Dermott
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Julia would recommend this property 23 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and would have gladly stayed an extra night or two...unfortunately the hostel was already booked out. What I loved most was the central location (short walk to market street etc.), the friendly staff and the size of our 4-mixed-dorm with spacious private bathroom (room 102 on the bottow floor). I also really appreciated the built in hair-dryers, the huge mirrow in the bathroom and the dorm. The hostel also provided fresh sheets and towels.

Mandy Wuensch
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Mandy would recommend this property 30 June 2014

It's a great property at all! Was a former hotel, so the dorms have their private bathroom, which is not usual at all! Really enjoyable!!! The place has everything you need as a backpacker and more! It's even close to supermarket and in walkable distance to lots of sights, the Fishermans wharf, the piers, cable car... And all in all the staff makes the place! They are all so friendly and helpful and with great knowledge about the environment! Recommend the place for that value of money in the States for 100%! I really enjoyed my stay!

79.4%
191 reviews Book Now 
10

Orange Village Hostel

Hostel
411 O'Farrell St, San Francisco, USA 94102

162 out of 191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Orange Village Hostel

Atmosphere - 67% Staff - 83% Facilities - 76% Safety - 82%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 82%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Customer would recommend this property 29 June 2014

Convenient location, helpful front desk, room clean / ok but nothing special, DIY breakfast adequate, hence OVH is reasonable value in overpriced San Francisco.

Zac Charlton
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Zac would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Great location. Everything was accessible. Good rooms with plenty of space. Wifi that could be used throughout the building. Kitchen and TV area. Breakfast provided

San Francisco

39 Hostels from 28.09 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Francisco hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Francisco. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to San Francisco

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to San Francisco. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter