We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Francisco, USA

93.0%
699 reviews Book Now 
1

USA Hostels San Francisco

Hostel
711 Post Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

681 out of 699 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels San Francisco

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 96% Safety - 93%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Tom Doyle
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Tom would recommend this property 17 September 2014

Great wifi, free breakfast, comfy beds, bedside light and plugs, good lounge area, beer fridge

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 September 2014

분위기도 정말 좋고, 아침도 식빵, 베이글, 팬케익, 과일, 차까지~ 다양하게 먹을수 있어서 너무 좋았습니다, 투어도 다양하구요. 침대도 깨끗합니다 , 그런데 두번째날은 맞은편 음식점이 너무시끄러웠어요.

91.4%
465 reviews Book Now 
2

Green Tortoise Backpackers Guesthouse

Hostel
494 Broadway, San Francisco, USA CA 94133

435 out of 465 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Tortoise Backpackers Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 92% Facilities - 94% Safety - 91%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 91%
Genevieve Engelhardt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Genevieve would recommend this property 23 July 2014

Green Tortoise was a great choice, good people, nice atmosphere, good spot and helpful staff. They have a good breakfast and 3 free dinners a week (you are encouraged to help cook). Was in quite a good spot, close to Little Italy, Chinatown and the water. It's quite a big hostel, but still friendly and easy to meet people if you're traveling on your own. An old building, but still secure and clean.

Wilfie Cross
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Wilfie would recommend this property 16 June 2014

Amazing atmospheric common room in an ex ballroom, with high ceilings and a piano where everyone eats. Well equipped kitchen, helpful staff, pool table, great location. We got a room in a separate building that was like having a whole house to ourselves and a couple of other people. We had an incredible view of the skyline and harbour from our window and balcony. And free dinner twice a week!

88.0%
207 reviews Book Now 
3

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Hostel
240 Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA CA 94123-1303

196 out of 207 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 91% Facilities - 82% Safety - 87%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 84%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 13 June 2014

I wasn't expecting luxury, so was very pleased with the state of the property. Very well organised, friendly staff , clean and tidy. The breakfast was good (toast + oatmeal + fruit + coffee) and there was plenty to do with organised activities, a movie room, lounge, books etc.

Susan Amato
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Susan would recommend this property 26 May 2014

The setting is wonderful, peaceful yet close to many attractions. The staff are very helpful but not fully informed of local events, for example they were unaware of the Carnival procession in Mission yesterday even though this is an annual event. Several guests said they would have gone had they been told of it. The facilities are good, a dollar for laundry is excellent value. The cafe serves good basic food or there is a huge kitchen if you want to cook. The bunk beds are comfortable but the ladder to the top bunk requires you to have long legs and to be sober.

85.7%
584 reviews Book Now 
4

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Hostel
312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA 94102-1704

528 out of 584 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 88% Facilities - 80% Safety - 85%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 83%
James Scrivener
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Romantic getaway
100.0%
James would recommend this property 18 September 2014

The style and size of the property made us feel very trendy and also that we had picked the correct hostel as it was in more of a purpose built building. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great, busy at times but plenty of room. WiFi access good and generally all the facilities clean and new.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
68.6%
11 August 2014

Good locations and price! San Fran is expensive, so the hostel was a great option.

83.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Francisco Bay Inn

3.5 star Hotel
1501 Lombard Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94123

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Francisco Bay Inn

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 80% Facilities - 85% Safety - 80%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 September 2013

4 of us fitted into our room there was plenty of space for the beds and to walk around.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

Its in a very good tourist location where you can have easy access to many attractions within walking distance. It was very nice being able to have a refrigerator and a microwave in the room.

83.0%
73 reviews Book Now 
6

HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Hostel
685 Ellis St., San Francisco, USA 94109

66 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 84% Facilities - 89% Safety - 84%
Location - 57% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 01 September 2014

Atmosphere in the hostel was very good, breakfast was fine and staff was very helpful.

Customer review
Alone
Business / conference, City break
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 20 August 2014

Tidy, quiet rooms with private bathrooms and few beds; good welcoming atmosphere. Everything worked great. Pancakes!

82.9%
52 reviews Book Now 
7

Cova Hotel

2.5 star Hotel
655 Ellis St, San Francisco, USA 94109

47 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cova Hotel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 90% Facilities - 87% Safety - 81%
Location - 56% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 87%
Noor Dashti
With friends / other travellers
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping
85.7%
Noor would recommend this property 30 July 2014

Staff was amazing and very helpful very clean rooms and modern design very close to city centre

Evelyn Cox
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
14 June 2014

Have stayed here before and it's very good value. Reception staff are excellent.

81.7%
172 reviews Book Now 
8

Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel
1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

151 out of 172 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Encore Express Hotel

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 88% Facilities - 72% Safety - 85%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 84%
Martin Mucka
With my spouse / partner
City break, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Martin would recommend this property 08 September 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my gf. Room clean, bathroom shared, but clean as well. Internet fast, bed was excelent. Will definitely stay here again, very friendly personal, they allowed us to leave there our luggage after check-out, so we had enough time to see another sightseeings schedueled in our city trip

Domantas Gintauskas
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Domantas would recommend this property 07 September 2014

Nice to have a sink and a fridge in the room - that compensates the disadvantage of shared bathroom.

78.6%
8 reviews Book Now 
9

SFO Travelodge Airport North

2 star Hotel
326 South Airport Blvd, San Francisco, USA 94080

7 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend SFO Travelodge Airport North

Atmosphere - 67% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 82%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 25 September 2012

I did not hear other clients in adjacent rooms. The swimming pool was great. Use of airport shuttle was a bonus. Great 3 star accomodation

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2011

Good place to get a nights rest. Plan on staying closer to the city. Staff was nice enough. Very inexpensive. Felt Safe. No problems with cleanliness.

75.4%
10 reviews Book Now 
10

Luz Hotel

Hotel
725 Geary St., San Francisco, USA 94109-7301

8 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Luz Hotel

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 92% Facilities - 70% Safety - 72%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 74% Value - 70%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Shopping, Visiting friends or family
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 20 August 2014

Pretty much everthing! The hostel itself appeared to be quite small, yet I was totally cheated by my eyes and first sight. The lobby was filled with a welcoming aroma and soft carpet. The host, Rufa, was extremely friendly, considerate and warm. I really love him! And I love the design of in-room washing basin, as well as the clean restrooms. Magic worked on the matress too!

abigail beilfuss
With friends / other travellers
Work / volunteering
82.9%
abigail would recommend this property 07 August 2014

Nice and cosy and comfortable and the staffs were so HELPFUL and so KIND and RESPECT with us even we re DEAF and they tried to communicate with us and provide us some thing we need..

San Francisco

37 Hostels from 27.50 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Francisco hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Francisco. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to San Francisco

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to San Francisco. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter