We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Francisco, USA

92.6%
713 reviews Book Now 
1

USA Hostels San Francisco

Hostel
711 Post Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

695 out of 713 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels San Francisco

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 90% Facilities - 93% Safety - 94%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 92%
Marc Perrot
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Marc would recommend this property 23 February 2015

Great hostel. Breakfast is good and they have a bunch of activities for travellers.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 February 2015

Extremely clean. Great set up, power socket and light by bed. Hairdryer!! Very helpful reception staff.

91.4%
465 reviews Book Now 
2

Green Tortoise Hostel

Hostel
494 Broadway, San Francisco, USA CA 94133

435 out of 465 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Tortoise Hostel

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 92% Facilities - 94% Safety - 91%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 91%
Genevieve Engelhardt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Genevieve would recommend this property 23 July 2014

Green Tortoise was a great choice, good people, nice atmosphere, good spot and helpful staff. They have a good breakfast and 3 free dinners a week (you are encouraged to help cook). Was in quite a good spot, close to Little Italy, Chinatown and the water. It's quite a big hostel, but still friendly and easy to meet people if you're traveling on your own. An old building, but still secure and clean.

Wilfie Cross
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Wilfie would recommend this property 16 June 2014

Amazing atmospheric common room in an ex ballroom, with high ceilings and a piano where everyone eats. Well equipped kitchen, helpful staff, pool table, great location. We got a room in a separate building that was like having a whole house to ourselves and a couple of other people. We had an incredible view of the skyline and harbour from our window and balcony. And free dinner twice a week!

86.5%
215 reviews Book Now 
3

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Hostel
240 Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA CA 94123-1303

204 out of 215 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 89% Facilities - 84% Safety - 85%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 84%
Rik Mom
Alone
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Rik would recommend this property 10 February 2015

Very friendly staff, well organized. Great facilities: WIFI (that actually works), good breakfast, cheap restaurant for lunch/dinner, activities etc.

Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
31.4%
Customer would recommend this property 06 January 2015

I loved the rich history of the building and local area, and that it was surrounded by a beautiful park to relax outside.

86.1%
593 reviews Book Now 
4

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Hostel
312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA 94102-1704

536 out of 593 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 89% Facilities - 83% Safety - 81%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 81%
Tina Svärdh
With friends / other travellers
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Tina would recommend this property 18 February 2015

Renovated, have thought of the important things you need with USB Sockets. Very close to shopping and transport

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 08 February 2015

Really good location! Rooms, showers and toilets are clean and comfy. Staff is friendly and helpful. They offer really good bagels for breakfast. There is also a strong WiFi in this place.

83.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Francisco Bay Inn

3.5 star Hotel
1501 Lombard Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94123

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Francisco Bay Inn

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 80% Facilities - 85% Safety - 80%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 September 2013

4 of us fitted into our room there was plenty of space for the beds and to walk around.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

Its in a very good tourist location where you can have easy access to many attractions within walking distance. It was very nice being able to have a refrigerator and a microwave in the room.

83.1%
56 reviews Book Now 
6

Cova Hotel

2.5 star Hotel
655 Ellis St, San Francisco, USA 94109

50 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cova Hotel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 79%
Location - 59% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 86%
Jordanne Nuttall
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
88.6%
Jordanne would recommend this property 14 January 2015

Awesome hotel. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Clean rooms well appointed with amenities, included breakfast has a wide range of foods. Free shuttle was great.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 08 October 2014

Close to Union square and to Civic center, the hotel have very helpful shuttle to different places in the SF

82.7%
177 reviews Book Now 
7

Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel
1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

156 out of 177 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Encore Express Hotel

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 89% Facilities - 72% Safety - 88%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 85%
Martin Mucka
With my spouse / partner
City break, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Martin would recommend this property 08 September 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my gf. Room clean, bathroom shared, but clean as well. Internet fast, bed was excelent. Will definitely stay here again, very friendly personal, they allowed us to leave there our luggage after check-out, so we had enough time to see another sightseeings schedueled in our city trip

Domantas Gintauskas
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Domantas would recommend this property 07 September 2014

Nice to have a sink and a fridge in the room - that compensates the disadvantage of shared bathroom.

79.5%
78 reviews Book Now 
8

HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Hostel
685 Ellis St., San Francisco, USA 94109

69 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 80% Facilities - 87% Safety - 76%
Location - 52% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 76%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
51.4%
11 February 2015

Located centrally it is easy to get places, but in a terrible neighbourhood. Many left early as they did not feel safe. Very clean, fresh towel every day is fantastic.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 01 September 2014

Atmosphere in the hostel was very good, breakfast was fine and staff was very helpful.

79.0%
926 reviews Book Now 
9

San Francisco International Hostel

Hostel
140 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA 94102

735 out of 926 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend San Francisco International Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 84% Facilities - 71% Safety - 79%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 69% Value - 79%
Marc Perrot
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Marc would recommend this property 18 February 2015

The staff are really friendly and there are a number of activities offered by the hostel. Location is great, really close to Market St.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 January 2015

Upon arrival i was welcomed and offered exactly what i wanted to see. a lotta free amenities, awesome place, PS4 and HD TV. Movie nights popcorn. Wish I could stay more. The hostel is safe. I stayed in a newly renovated room. nice choice of color :P

78.6%
218 reviews Book Now 
10

Orange Village Hostel

Hostel
411 O'Farrell St, San Francisco, USA 94102

185 out of 218 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Orange Village Hostel

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 89% Facilities - 66% Safety - 80%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 73% Value - 76%
Yui Maekawa
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Yui would recommend this property 22 October 2014

Location was good, pretty clean, breakfast was included, and pretty friendly staff

Customer review
Alone
Events / festivals, Work / volunteering
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 21 October 2014

The hostel staff ensured that the rooms and bathrooms and showers were always cleaned on a regular consistent basis, I never had to walk into a filthy bathroom. I also enjoyed the breakfast, which included waffles, orange juice, fruit and yogurt, which was very filling and a great value for my money.

San Francisco

31 Hostels from 18.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Francisco hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Francisco. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to San Francisco

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to San Francisco. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter