HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Francisco, USA

92.3%
693 reviews Book Now 
1

USA Hostels San Francisco

Hostel
711 Post Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

675 out of 693 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels San Francisco

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 95% Facilities - 95% Safety - 92%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 91%
Guilherme Lorenzi
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
100.0%
Guilherme would recommend this property 10 August 2014

Friendly staff. Great location, near union square and mission street. Excellent facilities. The hostel offers a series of events, like free walking tour, pub crawls, etc and maps & infos of the city touristic points. Huge Lockers.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 29 July 2014

The atmosphere, the people, the events, the cleanliness, the security, the staff, all of it! This is a really great hostel that sets you up so you can meet people easily. I met some great friends here that I continued to travel with. the hostel has information about all the popular attractions that is easily accessible. All around, it's just a really well run hostel!

92.1%
464 reviews Book Now 
2

Green Tortoise Backpackers Guesthouse

Hostel
494 Broadway, San Francisco, USA CA 94133

434 out of 464 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Tortoise Backpackers Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 92% Facilities - 95% Safety - 92%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 92%
Genevieve Engelhardt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Genevieve would recommend this property 23 July 2014

Green Tortoise was a great choice, good people, nice atmosphere, good spot and helpful staff. They have a good breakfast and 3 free dinners a week (you are encouraged to help cook). Was in quite a good spot, close to Little Italy, Chinatown and the water. It's quite a big hostel, but still friendly and easy to meet people if you're traveling on your own. An old building, but still secure and clean.

Wilfie Cross
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Wilfie would recommend this property 16 June 2014

Amazing atmospheric common room in an ex ballroom, with high ceilings and a piano where everyone eats. Well equipped kitchen, helpful staff, pool table, great location. We got a room in a separate building that was like having a whole house to ourselves and a couple of other people. We had an incredible view of the skyline and harbour from our window and balcony. And free dinner twice a week!

88.3%
570 reviews Book Now 
3

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Hostel
312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA 94102-1704

516 out of 570 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 87% Facilities - 86% Safety - 91%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
68.6%
11 August 2014

Good locations and price! San Fran is expensive, so the hostel was a great option.

Laurence Putnam
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Laurence would recommend this property 11 August 2014

We are 9 days into our road trip stayed in the penthouse in the standard in LA and can honestly say this place gave us more for our money.

87.2%
206 reviews Book Now 
4

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Hostel
240 Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA CA 94123-1303

195 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 91% Facilities - 82% Safety - 84%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 84%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 13 June 2014

I wasn't expecting luxury, so was very pleased with the state of the property. Very well organised, friendly staff , clean and tidy. The breakfast was good (toast + oatmeal + fruit + coffee) and there was plenty to do with organised activities, a movie room, lounge, books etc.

Susan Amato
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Susan would recommend this property 26 May 2014

The setting is wonderful, peaceful yet close to many attractions. The staff are very helpful but not fully informed of local events, for example they were unaware of the Carnival procession in Mission yesterday even though this is an annual event. Several guests said they would have gone had they been told of it. The facilities are good, a dollar for laundry is excellent value. The cafe serves good basic food or there is a huge kitchen if you want to cook. The bunk beds are comfortable but the ladder to the top bunk requires you to have long legs and to be sober.

84.7%
66 reviews Book Now 
5

HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Hostel
685 Ellis St., San Francisco, USA 94109

59 out of 66 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 84% Facilities - 92% Safety - 87%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 85%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
18 August 2014

Good size rooms and comfortable beds. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Cool cafe/bar downstairs.

Haleigh Pellecer
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Haleigh would recommend this property 13 August 2014

Everyone was very friendly. It was close to many great food places, Civic Center, Union Square, and public transportation. Breakfast was a great value! It was clean and felt very comfortable to stay in. I would stay here again if I needed to.

84.3%
163 reviews Book Now 
6

Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel
1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

144 out of 163 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Encore Express Hotel

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 88% Facilities - 76% Safety - 85%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 11 August 2014

Great location and price. The bathrooms and showers are pretty clean and odor-free. The whole place is, for the most part, clean.

Soph Jones
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Soph would recommend this property 02 July 2014

Lovely beds, super luxurious in comparison to other hostels I've been in. Hostel/hotel is defo the right description.

83.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
7

Francisco Bay Inn

3.5 star Hotel
1501 Lombard Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94123

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Francisco Bay Inn

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 80% Facilities - 85% Safety - 80%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 September 2013

4 of us fitted into our room there was plenty of space for the beds and to walk around.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

Its in a very good tourist location where you can have easy access to many attractions within walking distance. It was very nice being able to have a refrigerator and a microwave in the room.

82.5%
51 reviews Book Now 
8

Cova Hotel

2.5 star Hotel
655 Ellis St, San Francisco, USA 94109

46 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cova Hotel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 90% Facilities - 85% Safety - 80%
Location - 56% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 87%
Noor Dashti
With friends / other travellers
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping
85.7%
Noor would recommend this property 30 July 2014

Staff was amazing and very helpful very clean rooms and modern design very close to city centre

Evelyn Cox
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
14 June 2014

Have stayed here before and it's very good value. Reception staff are excellent.

78.6%
8 reviews Book Now 
9

SFO Travelodge Airport North

2 star Hotel
326 South Airport Blvd, San Francisco, USA 94080

7 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend SFO Travelodge Airport North

Atmosphere - 67% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 82%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 25 September 2012

I did not hear other clients in adjacent rooms. The swimming pool was great. Use of airport shuttle was a bonus. Great 3 star accomodation

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2011

Good place to get a nights rest. Plan on staying closer to the city. Staff was nice enough. Very inexpensive. Felt Safe. No problems with cleanliness.

78.4%
204 reviews Book Now 
10

AAE Amsterdam

Hostel
749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94108

170 out of 204 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend AAE Amsterdam

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 74% Facilities - 72% Safety - 84%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 77%
Jennifer Morley
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Jennifer would recommend this property 11 August 2014

Really clean. There was always cleaners either hoovering or going in and doing the bathrooms. Really don't understand peoples awful reviews of this place, I was expecting a full on dive and got a pleasant surprise For the price you're paying it's pretty decent. It's not in the Tenderloin as a lot of people make out it's situated between Bush and Sutter which has a few nice bars/cafés and within walking distance to most bus lines/Union Square. I never had a problem with the safety aspect being a solo female there was never any creeps lurking around outside which couldn't be said for other SF hostels which had higher ratings than the Amsterdam. I stayed in a four bed dorm (all bunks had ladders) and were pretty comfortable. Also our bathroom had a bath - a rarity in hostels which I was more than made up with after hiking the national parks of California for three weeks. It's not a party hostel like so many others in SF so if you're looking for that then you'd be better of going elsewhere. But for a decent sleep and just relaxing around the hostel I didn't have too many complaints.

Julia Mc Dermott
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Julia would recommend this property 23 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and would have gladly stayed an extra night or two...unfortunately the hostel was already booked out. What I loved most was the central location (short walk to market street etc.), the friendly staff and the size of our 4-mixed-dorm with spacious private bathroom (room 102 on the bottow floor). I also really appreciated the built in hair-dryers, the huge mirrow in the bathroom and the dorm. The hostel also provided fresh sheets and towels.

San Francisco

38 Hostels from 28.09 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Francisco hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Francisco. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to San Francisco

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to San Francisco. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter