We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Francisco, USA

91.4%
465 reviews Book Now 
1

Green Tortoise Hostel

Hostel
494 Broadway, San Francisco, USA CA 94133

435 out of 465 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Tortoise Hostel

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 92% Facilities - 94% Safety - 91%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 91%
Genevieve Engelhardt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Genevieve would recommend this property 23 July 2014

Green Tortoise was a great choice, good people, nice atmosphere, good spot and helpful staff. They have a good breakfast and 3 free dinners a week (you are encouraged to help cook). Was in quite a good spot, close to Little Italy, Chinatown and the water. It's quite a big hostel, but still friendly and easy to meet people if you're traveling on your own. An old building, but still secure and clean.

Wilfie Cross
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Wilfie would recommend this property 16 June 2014

Amazing atmospheric common room in an ex ballroom, with high ceilings and a piano where everyone eats. Well equipped kitchen, helpful staff, pool table, great location. We got a room in a separate building that was like having a whole house to ourselves and a couple of other people. We had an incredible view of the skyline and harbour from our window and balcony. And free dinner twice a week!

90.3%
720 reviews Book Now 
2

USA Hostels San Francisco

Hostel
711 Post Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

702 out of 720 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels San Francisco

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 87% Facilities - 92% Safety - 93%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Gareth Toovey
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Gareth would recommend this property 15 April 2015

The rooms were nice and clean and long beds which is great considering I'm rather tall. Also the walking tour by Brian was awesome! Showed me so much about San Fran I had never known or thought about!

Basil Long
Alone
City break
100.0%
Basil would recommend this property 08 April 2015

In the world of hostels, this is KING. You're staying in a hostel, not a hotel, so you know what to expect. But this is a really good hostel. Ok, the bathrooms are clean and plentiful - I didn't have to wait for a shower once. The toilets, sinks and showers are often separate, so you're not having to wait for someone to finish all their ablutions. There are soap dispensers, so don't worry about that; and you get given a towel on check-in with no extra charge. The rooms are mostly 4 bed dorms; so not too much noise. That said, there are free earplugs at reception. Sheets are also included at no extra charge. The beds all have a socket, 2 charging USB ports and a light. There are lockers in the rooms too (bring a decent lock) and even they have two sockets inside so you can leave stuff on charge whilst you're out. Free WiFi is included. Breakfast downstairs is until 10am and it's included, no extra charge. You get bread (including cinnamon fruit loaf), muffins (sometimes) and bagels with butter, jams and soft cheese. You get fruit, fruit juice, teas and coffees (good selection of teas). They even have pancake mix, griddles and syrup. It's good. The kitchen is VERY good for your own cooking needs as well They have laundry and vending machines as well as shared use computers - I didn't use these so can't comment on them. The hostel is really well organised too - they have some sort of social event every evening to get you introduced to each other which is really good. They have shuttle buses to the airport, and lots free maps and other San Fran info. I stayed in April; so can't comment on either air-con or heating. I also cannot comment on accessibility features, though from my recall there were steps at the front. There may be disabled access or other accessibility features of which I am not aware. It is about a 5 minute walk to/from the F-car stops, to the buses, to the Muni subway and the BART system (direct from the airport) on Market Street. It is about a 10 minute ride on the F-car to either the Ferry building on the Embarcardero, or to the Castro areas.

87.1%
601 reviews Book Now 
3

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Hostel
312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA 94102-1704

544 out of 601 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 89% Facilities - 85% Safety - 84%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 81%
Christobel Innes
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Christobel would recommend this property 06 April 2015

The location was awesome. I really liked this hostel and the staff were always friendly and willing to help me find my way around San Francisco.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 20 March 2015

Great location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were clean and good to use. Comfortable bed and having a hand basin in the bedroom was useful

86.3%
217 reviews Book Now 
4

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Hostel
240 Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA CA 94123-1303

206 out of 217 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 88% Facilities - 84% Safety - 85%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 84%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 09 March 2015

Great safe location. Great views from the hostel as it is settled near the coastline overlooking Alcatraz.

Rik Mom
Alone
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Rik would recommend this property 10 February 2015

Very friendly staff, well organized. Great facilities: WIFI (that actually works), good breakfast, cheap restaurant for lunch/dinner, activities etc.

83.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Francisco Bay Inn

3.5 star Hotel
1501 Lombard Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94123

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Francisco Bay Inn

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 80% Facilities - 85% Safety - 80%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 September 2013

4 of us fitted into our room there was plenty of space for the beds and to walk around.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

Its in a very good tourist location where you can have easy access to many attractions within walking distance. It was very nice being able to have a refrigerator and a microwave in the room.

83.1%
56 reviews Book Now 
6

Cova Hotel

2.5 star Hotel
655 Ellis St, San Francisco, USA 94109

50 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cova Hotel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 79%
Location - 59% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 86%
Jordanne Nuttall
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
88.6%
Jordanne would recommend this property 14 January 2015

Awesome hotel. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Clean rooms well appointed with amenities, included breakfast has a wide range of foods. Free shuttle was great.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 08 October 2014

Close to Union square and to Civic center, the hotel have very helpful shuttle to different places in the SF

82.6%
181 reviews Book Now 
7

Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel
1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

160 out of 181 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Encore Express Hotel

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 89% Facilities - 71% Safety - 87%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 March 2015

Close to all restaurants & bars , clean everyday, great location away from the Tenderloin & it's homeless ventures

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 09 March 2015

The building is adorable! Jake the man on duty when I arrived was friendly and helpful. I felt very safe with the electric card security. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The small fridge inside your room is also good!

81.9%
225 reviews Book Now 
8

Orange Village Hostel

Hostel
411 O'Farrell St, San Francisco, USA 94102

190 out of 225 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Orange Village Hostel

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 88% Facilities - 75% Safety - 82%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%
Customer review
Alone
City break
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 07 April 2015

This Hostel caters to Koreans who are quiet and repectful, There is plastic wrap to store your food, the other hostels have none...there is plenty of fruit not rationed as in all the other hostels, and dry cereal and waffles or pancakes are complimentary there is also plentiful OJ and 2% milk, at breakfast and the coffee is good. the kitchen is nice and clean, these is cooking spray,

Susan Gorman
With my spouse / partner
City break, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Susan would recommend this property 01 April 2015

This hostel is a work in progress! The building was the former Columbia Hotel and now it is being transitioned into a hostel. Our first room was a double en suite with desk, refrig, microwave. It was comfortable, clean, big enough. When we extended our stay, we moved to a similar room on a higher floor facing the street. It was big and bright but a bit noisy some nights. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is chaotic due to a small kitchen not well organized. This will change when the new lounge is finished and more space for seating and moving around is available. The location is perfect - easy walking to many cafes and shops. Plenty of transit, too. We'd stay here again!

80.3%
80 reviews Book Now 
9

HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Hostel
685 Ellis St., San Francisco, USA 94109

71 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 81% Facilities - 88% Safety - 80%
Location - 52% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 78%
Joshua Exner
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
88.6%
Joshua would recommend this property 09 March 2015

Friendly staff comfortable beds someone on the desk 24/24, staff very helpful to point out any attractions or bars in the area

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
51.4%
11 February 2015

Located centrally it is easy to get places, but in a terrible neighbourhood. Many left early as they did not feel safe. Very clean, fresh towel every day is fantastic.

79.2%
945 reviews Book Now 
10

San Francisco International Hostel

Hostel
140 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA 94102

751 out of 945 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend San Francisco International Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 85% Facilities - 72% Safety - 76%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 79%
Lukas Geschke
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Lukas would recommend this property 22 April 2015

very good value. party area and also seperated silent area. very helpfull staff!!!

Alisan BARCA
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Alisan would recommend this property 13 April 2015

really perfect location..you can come from airport by subway..really easy to find to hostel..staff was very helpfull and smiley..its on the main street..near by public.transportation resataurants and supermarkets...you can go where you want..

San Francisco

31 Hostels from 22.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Francisco hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Francisco. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to San Francisco

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to San Francisco. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter