We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Francisco, USA

90.3%
467 reviews Book Now 
1

Green Tortoise Hostel

Hostel
494 Broadway, San Francisco, USA CA 94133

437 out of 467 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Tortoise Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 89% Facilities - 92% Safety - 91%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 25 May 2015

the hostel was located in a good neighborhood. A lot of things to do around. The free food was great.

Genevieve Engelhardt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Genevieve would recommend this property 23 July 2014

Green Tortoise was a great choice, good people, nice atmosphere, good spot and helpful staff. They have a good breakfast and 3 free dinners a week (you are encouraged to help cook). Was in quite a good spot, close to Little Italy, Chinatown and the water. It's quite a big hostel, but still friendly and easy to meet people if you're traveling on your own. An old building, but still secure and clean.

89.0%
722 reviews Book Now 
2

USA Hostels San Francisco

Hostel
711 Post Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

704 out of 722 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels San Francisco

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 85% Facilities - 92% Safety - 93%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 87%
Gareth Toovey
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Gareth would recommend this property 15 April 2015

The rooms were nice and clean and long beds which is great considering I'm rather tall. Also the walking tour by Brian was awesome! Showed me so much about San Fran I had never known or thought about!

Basil Long
Alone
City break
100.0%
Basil would recommend this property 08 April 2015

In the world of hostels, this is KING. You're staying in a hostel, not a hotel, so you know what to expect. But this is a really good hostel. Ok, the bathrooms are clean and plentiful - I didn't have to wait for a shower once. The toilets, sinks and showers are often separate, so you're not having to wait for someone to finish all their ablutions. There are soap dispensers, so don't worry about that; and you get given a towel on check-in with no extra charge. The rooms are mostly 4 bed dorms; so not too much noise. That said, there are free earplugs at reception. Sheets are also included at no extra charge. The beds all have a socket, 2 charging USB ports and a light. There are lockers in the rooms too (bring a decent lock) and even they have two sockets inside so you can leave stuff on charge whilst you're out. Free WiFi is included. Breakfast downstairs is until 10am and it's included, no extra charge. You get bread (including cinnamon fruit loaf), muffins (sometimes) and bagels with butter, jams and soft cheese. You get fruit, fruit juice, teas and coffees (good selection of teas). They even have pancake mix, griddles and syrup. It's good. The kitchen is VERY good for your own cooking needs as well They have laundry and vending machines as well as shared use computers - I didn't use these so can't comment on them. The hostel is really well organised too - they have some sort of social event every evening to get you introduced to each other which is really good. They have shuttle buses to the airport, and lots free maps and other San Fran info. I stayed in April; so can't comment on either air-con or heating. I also cannot comment on accessibility features, though from my recall there were steps at the front. There may be disabled access or other accessibility features of which I am not aware. It is about a 5 minute walk to/from the F-car stops, to the buses, to the Muni subway and the BART system (direct from the airport) on Market Street. It is about a 10 minute ride on the F-car to either the Ferry building on the Embarcardero, or to the Castro areas.

88.3%
610 reviews Book Now 
3

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Hostel
312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA 94102-1704

552 out of 610 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 87%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 81%
Sylvia Kozlowski
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife
82.9%
Sylvia would recommend this property 29 May 2015

The location and staff are great! Breakfast is average however is a nice touch that it is included in the price.

Christobel Innes
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Christobel would recommend this property 06 April 2015

The location was awesome. I really liked this hostel and the staff were always friendly and willing to help me find my way around San Francisco.

85.7%
218 reviews Book Now 
4

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Hostel
240 Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA CA 94123-1303

207 out of 218 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 88% Facilities - 82% Safety - 85%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 83%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 09 March 2015

Great safe location. Great views from the hostel as it is settled near the coastline overlooking Alcatraz.

Rik Mom
Alone
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Rik would recommend this property 10 February 2015

Very friendly staff, well organized. Great facilities: WIFI (that actually works), good breakfast, cheap restaurant for lunch/dinner, activities etc.

83.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Francisco Bay Inn

3.5 star Hotel
1501 Lombard Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94123

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Francisco Bay Inn

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 80% Facilities - 85% Safety - 80%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 September 2013

4 of us fitted into our room there was plenty of space for the beds and to walk around.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

Its in a very good tourist location where you can have easy access to many attractions within walking distance. It was very nice being able to have a refrigerator and a microwave in the room.

83.4%
231 reviews Book Now 
6

Orange Village Hostel

Hostel
411 O'Farrell St, San Francisco, USA 94102

194 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Orange Village Hostel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 87% Facilities - 78% Safety - 81%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 86%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 May 2015

I like the location of the property, the staff were very very helpful and the free breakfast is always nice when staying at a hostel as it sets you up for a day of travelling around.

Sina Guenthner
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Sina would recommend this property 15 May 2015

You got a lot for your money at that hostel. The beds are comfortable, you have a nice little bathroom in your dorms and it's overall pretty clean. I liked the kitchen a lot - you can prepare your own meals and you can have a good breakfast in the morning.

82.7%
57 reviews Book Now 
7

Cova Hotel

2.5 star Hotel
655 Ellis St, San Francisco, USA 94109

51 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cova Hotel

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 79%
Location - 57% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 86%
Jordanne Nuttall
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
88.6%
Jordanne would recommend this property 14 January 2015

Awesome hotel. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Clean rooms well appointed with amenities, included breakfast has a wide range of foods. Free shuttle was great.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 08 October 2014

Close to Union square and to Civic center, the hotel have very helpful shuttle to different places in the SF

81.6%
184 reviews Book Now 
8

Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel
1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, USA CA 94109

162 out of 184 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Encore Express Hotel

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 88% Facilities - 70% Safety - 85%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 March 2015

Close to all restaurants & bars , clean everyday, great location away from the Tenderloin & it's homeless ventures

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 09 March 2015

The building is adorable! Jake the man on duty when I arrived was friendly and helpful. I felt very safe with the electric card security. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The small fridge inside your room is also good!

80.9%
82 reviews Book Now 
9

HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Hostel
685 Ellis St., San Francisco, USA 94109

73 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 82% Facilities - 88% Safety - 80%
Location - 56% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 79%
Joshua Exner
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
88.6%
Joshua would recommend this property 09 March 2015

Friendly staff comfortable beds someone on the desk 24/24, staff very helpful to point out any attractions or bars in the area

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
51.4%
11 February 2015

Located centrally it is easy to get places, but in a terrible neighbourhood. Many left early as they did not feel safe. Very clean, fresh towel every day is fantastic.

78.6%
8 reviews Book Now 
10

SFO Travelodge Airport North

2 star Hotel
326 South Airport Blvd, San Francisco, USA 94080

7 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend SFO Travelodge Airport North

Atmosphere - 67% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 82%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 25 September 2012

I did not hear other clients in adjacent rooms. The swimming pool was great. Use of airport shuttle was a bonus. Great 3 star accomodation

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2011

Good place to get a nights rest. Plan on staying closer to the city. Staff was nice enough. Very inexpensive. Felt Safe. No problems with cleanliness.

San Francisco

32 Hostels from 25.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Francisco hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Francisco. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to San Francisco

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to San Francisco. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter