HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Francisco - City Center

Hostel | 685 Ellis St., San Francisco, California, USA 94109

86.7% Overall Rating

51 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

YEE FEI OOI thinks…

"Great atmosphere for networking and meet new friends. Staffs are friendly and kind. The rooms were clean and tidy."

Read all HI - San Francisco - City Center reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For bookings with 8 people or more, please contact the hostel's groups department. The property reserves the right to cancel online bookings made for 8 or more guests and your deposit will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Cova Hotel
80.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.7% 48 reviews
Luz Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 61.4% 4 reviews
Sweden House Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 48.6% 15 reviews
Mithila Hotel
48.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 71.4% 6 reviews
Layne Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 67.7% 431 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
49.00 USD

Hostel 91.2% 689 reviews
Music City Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Encore Express Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.3% 159 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

51 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Francisco - City Center'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
64.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 55 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YEE FEI OOI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

20 July 2014 YEE FEI would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere for networking and meet new friends. Staffs are friendly and kind. The rooms were clean and tidy.

Disliked: The neighbourhood may be intimidating especially for girls. We traveled in pair and felt unsafe even during the day as there were many homeless people strolling around. However, it is safe inside the property. It's just that it's a bit inconvenient if your plan is to travel until 9-10pm or later at night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Building had character, staff were very helpful. Private room was good

Disliked: While the hostel itself was great, the surrounding neighbourhood was a bit noisy and dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nattavut Suwanyangyuan

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Nattavut would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and good deal for what I obtain

Disliked: Location is near the public transportation but the area of the hostel is not pleasant and lots of homeless nearby.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs were very friendly and approachable. Am very happy to have stayed here. Location was perfect and the room was very clean.

Disliked: Wanted to purchase some extra eggs and pancakes for breakfast, unfortunately, they only start taking orders from 8:30am.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt totally comfortable and safe. Everyone was super nice. I can't think of one negative thing about my stay.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Halliday

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, great facilities (bar!).

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Foster

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay and the staff made sure we got the most out of our 4 days in San Francisco! Lovely spacious room and great value for money. The bagels at breakfast are probably the best I've every had and there was lots of fresh fruit too alongside facilities to store/refrigerate your own food. Room was very tastefully decorated and it was nice that the waste bins were changed every day.

Disliked: I have very few negatives about the hostel, only things that could make it even better would be potentially lining the curtains to help make the rooms darker but I'm really picking at straws here!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Antonio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 May 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Old flair! Comfort and room in the sitting area! They had a landline!

Disliked: Although the area its located in a not so desirable area...it didn't bother me. Used to street people but for others, they might find it scary. So personally, i liked it inside and out!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomosato Inayoshi

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Tomosato would recommend this property

Liked: I think this hostel is valuable. I've stayed at cheeper hostels in San Fran, but I am surprised at the service, hospitality and quality. I got used to taking the low risk and high return in Japan, but I felt the real USA in this hostel.

Disliked: I feel so comfortable that I may dislike other hostels.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Martin Norman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2014

Liked: Great bar and common area

Disliked: No power socket for each bunk. In a area full of homeless people. Breakfast just bread and bagels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOANA BARATA FEIO

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

16 March 2014 JOANA would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere! The herbs in the entrance, the friendly vibe and the international faces. :)

Disliked: Nothing. The breakfast could be more diverse tho.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Located close it market street/union square. Breakfast was bagels and bread/toast wih orange. Always replenished so never waiting for more to come out. Breakfast till 11.30! Bonus for those late risers. Room cleaned everyday.

Disliked: Although centrally located to public transport and union square, to get to these places you need to walk in the rough part of town-full of homeless and drug addicts. Not the best but we never had trouble.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malin Emilie Hoff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Malin Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, good lounge area, lots of activities, central location, comfy beds.

Disliked: Malin Emilie left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014

Liked: Great hostel, BAD location. The hostel has a lot of atmosphere and feels clean and thought-through, and the included breakfast is really good. The value for money rate is also high, but unfortunately its location in the middle of the Tenderloin district in SF destroys the overall impression completely. It feels really unsafe here, a LOT of homeless people, drugs, and misery in general.

Disliked: Really liked the hostel itself, but the area was one of the worst I've ever stayed in. It feels like the ratio between homeless people and residents here is 60/40, and you feel really unsafe walking the streets here: it's in the middle of the Tenderloin area, so you can't really avoid the bad streets either, you're right in it. Really a shame; hopefully this country will be able to deal with the homelessness problem better in the future, but until then I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels i ve been in so far! It was very clean and there was even juice and soymilk for breakfast! The atmosphere was really nice and even if its located in a "bad" part of the city i felt really safe! I'm totally happy that i chose this hostel for my stay!:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Urszula Ulanowicz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Urszula would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice people, close to public transportation, fresh breakfest every day, coffee/tea all the time, I was feeling very well and safe in that hostel.

Disliked: I liked everything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very good, although it is very large. It feels like a hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They were professional, but not in an uptight or distant way. The hostel itself was very clean, very comfortable, and had a great atmosphere.

Disliked: The hostel is fairly close to a bad neighborhood. It's easy to avoid the bad part of town, and it wasn't hard at all to get where we wanted to go via alternate routes, but getting there was a little uncomfortable on the first day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hong ye

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 hong would recommend this property

Liked: 他们有一个很大的厨房,非常的好。工作人员也很友善热心。

Disliked: 没有

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Angela Dickson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013

Liked: Staff were polite and helpful. Free breakfast. Pancakes for $1 - they were delicious! Free fresh towel every day and clean bedding every 2 days. Very clean.

Disliked: I really didn't like the location. Taxi driver told me it's a dangerous area on the way there and staff had to let guests know about nearby streets not to walk down. Even the streets which were considered safe were daunting and as a single female I felt very threatened by the large groups of drunk/drugged people hanging around and shouting comments.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Fotios Apokis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2013

Liked: Not much really, had a really disappointing stay for a number of reasons. Food got taken which can happen, staff we're generally pretty unhelpful apart from the guy on the graveyard shift who was an absolute champion and played fantastic music.

Disliked: Location was pretty average, would definitely be staying at one of their sister hostels in downtown or on the wharf. Just the general atmosphere of the hostel was just a really average vibe.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hannah Membrey

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 June 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and comfy, and the staff willing to help with any questions.

Disliked: The location of this hostel was the only downside. While close to Market Street and Union Square, the location was right in between Little Saigon and Tenderloin, both areas where lots of homeless frequented. I felt generally unsafe, even in the day time and walking in the areas that the front desk said was alright to walk in

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Mc Mahon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

03 June 2013 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff. Especially Liam who really looked after us. Hostel is really nice looking as well. Kitchen is very good. Like one you would see in a restaurant.

Disliked: Would have only two complaints and that was you couldn't bring your own alcohol in because of bar and the hostel is right on the edge of an area full of homeless people. Still would recommend it though as I really enjoyed my stay here.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast (mmm pancakes), a bar on site is awesome, and comfy rooms with ensuite and wifi!

Disliked: Location isn't ideal, and they're very strict on rules (wanted to take my sleeping bag off me, even though it sits at the bottom of my backpack, just in case I used it in the room)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free coffee

Disliked: small rooms, tiny bathrooms