We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Hostel | 685 Ellis St., San Francisco, California, USA 94109

82.6% Overall Rating

67 out of 74 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

"Atmosphere in the hostel was very good, breakfast was fine and staff was very helpful."

Read all HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For bookings with 8 people or more, please contact the hostel's groups department. The property reserves the right to cancel online bookings made for 8 or more guests and your deposit will be lost.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Cova Hotel
55.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.2% 55 reviews
Luz Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 75.4% 10 reviews
Mithila Hotel
27.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 69.6% 8 reviews
Layne Hotel
22.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 92.7% 700 reviews
Music City Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Encore Express Hotel
28.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.3% 173 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
24.00 USD

Hostel 77.3% 213 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

67 out of 74 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
56.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 72 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere in the hostel was very good, breakfast was fine and staff was very helpful.

Disliked: The neighbourhood the hostel is in is very bad. You can walk two blocks up and you'll be fine. Would not go out at night alone.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Flavia Figueiredo Silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Flavia would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast & wifi, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Location - unsafe & far out from main tourist sites

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jaeyong yang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2014 jaeyong would recommend this property

Liked: Second floor is very comfortable Staff are also very friendly

Disliked: Around the hostel is not clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy, quiet rooms with private bathrooms and few beds; good welcoming atmosphere. Everything worked great. Pancakes!

Disliked: Sometimes-unpleasant area at night (this is obviously not their fault)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: Good size rooms and comfortable beds. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Cool cafe/bar downstairs.

Disliked: The property was fine in itself but the area in which it's situated is intimidating and, as we were told by numerous locals, not safe. It was fine in the daytime but we had to take a taxi home at night. Would not recommended to young female travellers for this reason as I was very intimidated. Shame because the Union Square area is so close by and that's lovely.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haleigh Pellecer

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Haleigh would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly. It was close to many great food places, Civic Center, Union Square, and public transportation. Breakfast was a great value! It was clean and felt very comfortable to stay in. I would stay here again if I needed to.

Disliked: The area can be a little sketch as first. But, we easily found at the best streets to take. The hostel staff was helpful in providing tips of places to stay away from. Overall, the friendliness, security, and location of the hostel definitely outweighed the dirtiness and poverty in the area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool facilities for chilling. Awesome breakfast.

Disliked: Location... Streets surrounding the hostel full of homelesses and crack-addicts. It is not fault of the hostel, just a problematic are in the city that makes dangerous walking nearby.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to many sights, nice breakfast, everything very clean and safe

Disliked: i didn't feel very safe in the area when i arrived, but actually it's alright, and also the staff told me which streets best to walk.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a bar on site.

Disliked: nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful at accommodating a request. It was very appreciated.

Disliked: Showers had little water pressure and the temperature ranged from freezing to scalding hot. Also, as others mentioned, this is not a safe part of the city and as I did not like to venture out in the evening. That being said the area is well serviced by transit.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YEE FEI OOI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

20 July 2014 YEE FEI would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere for networking and meet new friends. Staffs are friendly and kind. The rooms were clean and tidy.

Disliked: The neighbourhood may be intimidating especially for girls. We traveled in pair and felt unsafe even during the day as there were many homeless people strolling around. However, it is safe inside the property. It's just that it's a bit inconvenient if your plan is to travel until 9-10pm or later at night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Building had character, staff were very helpful. Private room was good

Disliked: While the hostel itself was great, the surrounding neighbourhood was a bit noisy and dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nattavut Suwanyangyuan

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Nattavut would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and good deal for what I obtain

Disliked: Location is near the public transportation but the area of the hostel is not pleasant and lots of homeless nearby.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs were very friendly and approachable. Am very happy to have stayed here. Location was perfect and the room was very clean.

Disliked: Wanted to purchase some extra eggs and pancakes for breakfast, unfortunately, they only start taking orders from 8:30am.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt totally comfortable and safe. Everyone was super nice. I can't think of one negative thing about my stay.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Halliday

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, great facilities (bar!).

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Foster

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay and the staff made sure we got the most out of our 4 days in San Francisco! Lovely spacious room and great value for money. The bagels at breakfast are probably the best I've every had and there was lots of fresh fruit too alongside facilities to store/refrigerate your own food. Room was very tastefully decorated and it was nice that the waste bins were changed every day.

Disliked: I have very few negatives about the hostel, only things that could make it even better would be potentially lining the curtains to help make the rooms darker but I'm really picking at straws here!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Antonio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 May 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Old flair! Comfort and room in the sitting area! They had a landline!

Disliked: Although the area its located in a not so desirable area...it didn't bother me. Used to street people but for others, they might find it scary. So personally, i liked it inside and out!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomosato Inayoshi

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Tomosato would recommend this property

Liked: I think this hostel is valuable. I've stayed at cheeper hostels in San Fran, but I am surprised at the service, hospitality and quality. I got used to taking the low risk and high return in Japan, but I felt the real USA in this hostel.

Disliked: I feel so comfortable that I may dislike other hostels.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Martin Norman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2014

Liked: Great bar and common area

Disliked: No power socket for each bunk. In a area full of homeless people. Breakfast just bread and bagels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOANA BARATA FEIO

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

16 March 2014 JOANA would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere! The herbs in the entrance, the friendly vibe and the international faces. :)

Disliked: Nothing. The breakfast could be more diverse tho.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Located close it market street/union square. Breakfast was bagels and bread/toast wih orange. Always replenished so never waiting for more to come out. Breakfast till 11.30! Bonus for those late risers. Room cleaned everyday.

Disliked: Although centrally located to public transport and union square, to get to these places you need to walk in the rough part of town-full of homeless and drug addicts. Not the best but we never had trouble.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malin Emilie Hoff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Malin Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, good lounge area, lots of activities, central location, comfy beds.

Disliked: Malin Emilie left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014

Liked: Great hostel, BAD location. The hostel has a lot of atmosphere and feels clean and thought-through, and the included breakfast is really good. The value for money rate is also high, but unfortunately its location in the middle of the Tenderloin district in SF destroys the overall impression completely. It feels really unsafe here, a LOT of homeless people, drugs, and misery in general.

Disliked: Really liked the hostel itself, but the area was one of the worst I've ever stayed in. It feels like the ratio between homeless people and residents here is 60/40, and you feel really unsafe walking the streets here: it's in the middle of the Tenderloin area, so you can't really avoid the bad streets either, you're right in it. Really a shame; hopefully this country will be able to deal with the homelessness problem better in the future, but until then I wouldn't recommend this hostel.