HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Francisco - City Center San Francisco Hostel

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 88%

Location 67%

Safety 80%

Staff 94%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

For bookings with 8 people or more, please contact the hostel's groups department. The property reserves the right to cancel online bookings made for 8 or more guests and your deposit will be lost.

Check in time to hostel rooms is anytime after 3pm on the day of your arrival. If you will arrive to check in after 23:59 on the night of your arrival we recommend contacting the hostel to alert them so your reservation remains in tact and you do not incur a no show fee.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 88%

Location 67%

Safety 80%

Staff 94%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The atmosphere is absolut top notch a real SF style

Disliked: The location in the middle of Tenderloin..at night it gets tricky

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The location is convenient. Great atmosphere and staff. Beautifully decorated.

Disliked: Although the location is convenient the neighborhood doesn't feel safe. I experienced a lot of harassment from men on the block of the hostel and the blocks around it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The bar, the kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nice, big room. Clean.

Disliked: The area is a bit unpleasantly as it is in the worst area of SF in relations to homeless peoples hanging around on the streets.However I did not feel unsafe. And otherwise the location is central in SF.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location only a few blocks from Union Square, although you do have to walk through some pretty scummy areas to get there (definitely not advised at night). Very clean with and elevator to help carry luggage to room. Nice thick mattresses on the beds so had a very comfortable sleep. Staff were generally friendly and loved the breakfast included. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Nothing really!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: chARMING ATMOSPHERE, GOOD DECO

Disliked: LOUD DISNEY MOVIE AT 7AM IN THE LOBBY

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staff were great, the breakfast was an awesome bonus and the kitchen was roomy.

Disliked: THE LOCATION! I thought we booked the one in Union square so I was pretty disappointed to end up in the tenderloin. Super sketchy area.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The lobby was very nicely decorated, staff were friendly and helpful, the free breakfast was excellent and I appreciated being offered it every morning! Room was nice with comfy bed and bedding and had lots of natural light. Housekeeping did a wonderful job. The bar has a nice atmosphere for hanging out and what was on offer was good value for money.

Disliked: The location was good, just was a bit of a hassle having to avoid the Tenderloin area. There really wasn't a lot I didn't like about this hostel and I had just come from another hostel in Hollywood of which I disliked a lot.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were really nice, they felt a bit more like a hotel. The breakfast was good and they offered pub crawls. Easy enough to get everywhere

Disliked: The area was a bit dodgy especially at night but it was good going out with the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The way the common areas were decorated and the free breakfast.

Disliked: The location. Seems to be in an unsafe part of SanFrancisco. Also, the staff were helpful enough but they did not seem happy to be helpful and they did not go beyond what was asked. Some places I have stayed, the staff suggest additional things without being prompted which I find really helpful!


The property's response is

Hi there,

I'm sorry you had a bad experience with our staff - usually they are quite friendly and helpful! As for the neighborhood, it is a pretty low-income neighborhood, but it has authentic food, cool bars and art galleries and is super centrally located. We are working towards making this neighborhood a better place for locals and travelers alike.

Thank you for your comments, we take them very seriously.
Cheers,
Mellice - Assistant General Manager

Check Availability