We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

Hostel | 685 Ellis St., San Francisco, California, USA 94109

81.1% Overall Rating

83 out of 94 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2015)

Suzy Lamoureux thinks…

"The staff were great, the breakfast was an awesome bonus and the kitchen was roomy."

Read all HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For bookings with 8 people or more, please contact the hostel's groups department. The property reserves the right to cancel online bookings made for 8 or more guests and your deposit will be lost. Check in time to hostel rooms is anytime after 3pm on the day of your arrival. If you will arrive to check in after 23:59 on the night of your arrival we recommend contacting the hostel to alert them so your reservation remains in tact and you do not incur a no show fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Cova Hotel
200.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.8% 60 reviews
Luz Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 76.0% 13 reviews
Mithila Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 71.2% 11 reviews
Layne Hotel
57.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 737 reviews
Music City Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Encore Express Hotel
43.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.7% 188 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
44.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 246 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

83 out of 94 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
57.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Suzy Lamoureux

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 August 2015

Liked: The staff were great, the breakfast was an awesome bonus and the kitchen was roomy.

Disliked: THE LOCATION! I thought we booked the one in Union square so I was pretty disappointed to end up in the tenderloin. Super sketchy area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were really nice, they felt a bit more like a hotel. The breakfast was good and they offered pub crawls. Easy enough to get everywhere

Disliked: The area was a bit dodgy especially at night but it was good going out with the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Barrie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2015 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: The lobby was very nicely decorated, staff were friendly and helpful, the free breakfast was excellent and I appreciated being offered it every morning! Room was nice with comfy bed and bedding and had lots of natural light. Housekeeping did a wonderful job. The bar has a nice atmosphere for hanging out and what was on offer was good value for money.

Disliked: The location was good, just was a bit of a hassle having to avoid the Tenderloin area. There really wasn't a lot I didn't like about this hostel and I had just come from another hostel in Hollywood of which I disliked a lot.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Belinda Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2015

Liked: The way the common areas were decorated and the free breakfast.

Disliked: The location. Seems to be in an unsafe part of SanFrancisco. Also, the staff were helpful enough but they did not seem happy to be helpful and they did not go beyond what was asked. Some places I have stayed, the staff suggest additional things without being prompted which I find really helpful!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jade Flint

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 June 2015 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: Genuinely friendly staff and a really relaxes atmosphere. I met some lovely girls in my shared room and felt safe and secure within the hostel. Excellent complimentary breakfast!

Disliked: Jade left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madhujit Deb

Alone

Business / conference

09 June 2015 Madhujit would recommend this property

Liked: Specially the hospitality...amazing

Disliked: No body fitness/gym centre should have weekly medical checkup team for the hostellers

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big breakfast, nice bed, good to have bathroom in the room.

Disliked: More power outlets needed. It's nearly impossible to charge your phone and keep it close (as I needed to use it as alarm) if you have the top bed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Exner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2015 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff comfortable beds someone on the desk 24/24, staff very helpful to point out any attractions or bars in the area

Disliked: They have a bar in the hostel which is good when it it open at 6pm but due to the bar you are not allowed to bring your own alcohol into the facility

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2015

Liked: Located centrally it is easy to get places, but in a terrible neighbourhood. Many left early as they did not feel safe. Very clean, fresh towel every day is fantastic.

Disliked: Beds are cheap foam so very bad for your back and neck, also cheaply made so if one person moves on their bed, everyone wakes up. Dangerous neighbourhood. Absolutely no vibe. A place to crash, nothing more.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 January 2015

Liked: Great services, good breakfast, clean rooms

Disliked: Ellis Street is a hotspot for drug dealing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was well kept - new looking and clean.

Disliked: Fairly friendly but not the most sociable of hostels. The bar closes early (at 11pm) and they don't allow you to bring your own alcohol. Some of the staff were also fairly rude.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere in the hostel was very good, breakfast was fine and staff was very helpful.

Disliked: The neighbourhood the hostel is in is very bad. You can walk two blocks up and you'll be fine. Would not go out at night alone.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Flavia Figueiredo Silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Flavia would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast & wifi, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Location - unsafe & far out from main tourist sites

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jaeyong yang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2014 jaeyong would recommend this property

Liked: Second floor is very comfortable Staff are also very friendly

Disliked: Around the hostel is not clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy, quiet rooms with private bathrooms and few beds; good welcoming atmosphere. Everything worked great. Pancakes!

Disliked: Sometimes-unpleasant area at night (this is obviously not their fault)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: Good size rooms and comfortable beds. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Cool cafe/bar downstairs.

Disliked: The property was fine in itself but the area in which it's situated is intimidating and, as we were told by numerous locals, not safe. It was fine in the daytime but we had to take a taxi home at night. Would not recommended to young female travellers for this reason as I was very intimidated. Shame because the Union Square area is so close by and that's lovely.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haleigh Pellecer

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Haleigh would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly. It was close to many great food places, Civic Center, Union Square, and public transportation. Breakfast was a great value! It was clean and felt very comfortable to stay in. I would stay here again if I needed to.

Disliked: The area can be a little sketch as first. But, we easily found at the best streets to take. The hostel staff was helpful in providing tips of places to stay away from. Overall, the friendliness, security, and location of the hostel definitely outweighed the dirtiness and poverty in the area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool facilities for chilling. Awesome breakfast.

Disliked: Location... Streets surrounding the hostel full of homelesses and crack-addicts. It is not fault of the hostel, just a problematic are in the city that makes dangerous walking nearby.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to many sights, nice breakfast, everything very clean and safe

Disliked: i didn't feel very safe in the area when i arrived, but actually it's alright, and also the staff told me which streets best to walk.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a bar on site.

Disliked: nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful at accommodating a request. It was very appreciated.

Disliked: Showers had little water pressure and the temperature ranged from freezing to scalding hot. Also, as others mentioned, this is not a safe part of the city and as I did not like to venture out in the evening. That being said the area is well serviced by transit.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YEE FEI OOI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

20 July 2014 YEE FEI would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere for networking and meet new friends. Staffs are friendly and kind. The rooms were clean and tidy.

Disliked: The neighbourhood may be intimidating especially for girls. We traveled in pair and felt unsafe even during the day as there were many homeless people strolling around. However, it is safe inside the property. It's just that it's a bit inconvenient if your plan is to travel until 9-10pm or later at night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Building had character, staff were very helpful. Private room was good

Disliked: While the hostel itself was great, the surrounding neighbourhood was a bit noisy and dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nattavut Suwanyangyuan

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Nattavut would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and good deal for what I obtain

Disliked: Location is near the public transportation but the area of the hostel is not pleasant and lots of homeless nearby.