HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of San Francisco International Hostel

Hostel | 140 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102

65.3% Overall Rating

714 out of 900 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/09/2014)

Samantha van den Bos thinks…

"It's a cosy place to stay amongst other travelers, for this budget in San Fransisco it's a good place for a short stay and meet up with others."

Read all San Francisco International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel
39.50 USD

Hostel 85.7% 584 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
32.00 USD

Hostel 75.3% 211 reviews
Winsor Hotel
32.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.7% 23 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
47.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
99.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
50.00 USD

Hostel 93.0% 699 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.3%

Overall Rating

714 out of 900 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Francisco International Hostel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
68.0%
Value
63.2%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 716 of 867 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2014

Liked: Breakfast was good.

Disliked: The location is awful and on my floor there was only one bathroom working. Honestly if you stay there only stay for a night or two, and be careful at night, the area is really really dodgy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Samantha van den Bos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cosy place to stay amongst other travelers, for this budget in San Fransisco it's a good place for a short stay and meet up with others.

Disliked: I don't like the neighborhood too much. It's near shops but there's a lot of noise from the street and bums and people yelling in the night. But I've put my earplugs in and had a good night rest anyway. Just at night as a girl alone.. I don't feel all that secure with all these people and bums and drunks hanging on the street. But then again... Nothing happened to me.. It's more the feeling I guess.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Berry

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The property had a really nice common room and the people staying were friendly! All rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful. Property was also less than 5 minutes away from all major transport links!

Disliked: The property was a bit shabby in places and could defo do with a lick of paint on the walls! At night the neighbourhood is a bit scary and there seems to be a lot of homeless wandering around outside. The windows also were paper thin so you could hear all commotion outside the hotel very loudly!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, everything is close. Staff was very friendly and helpful, I would definitely stay there again when visiting San Fransisco.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marco Lavopa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people If you Wanna party and meet new people! Secure, Clean (more or less) with polite staff. It's maybe not se cheap ..but it's also have free pool table and pancakes!

Disliked: Expensiveness

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not many activities

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stylianos Foukakis

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 September 2014 Stylianos would recommend this property

Liked: I feel home each time i stay in San Francisco International Hostel !!!!

Disliked: Nothing !!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Lage ist super und mitten im geschehen, ohne dass es in der Nacht zu Laut ist. Super Hostelatmosphäre, Mitarbeiter sehr nett und hilfsbereit, WLAN funktioniert im Couchbereich und In der Lounge. Zimmer sind angemessen ausgestattet und für diesen Preis ist das Hostel sehr gut!

Disliked: In den Zimmern und Duschen hat es ein bisschen wie in Sportumkleidekabinen gerochen (stickig und nach alten Fußballschuhen) auch mit Lüften leider kein anderer Geruch, aber aushaltbar.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooms and the atmosphere,the staff was nice and the common areas were cozy.

Disliked: The location,tho close to the subway isn't the most friendly but it was fine.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014

Liked: Nothing leaving

Disliked: It's a dump would never stay here again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, just a block from BART (Public Transport).

Disliked: Was surprised to lear there were no towels, not even to rent. When asked for a blanket for the bed was provided a mattress pad.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014

Liked: Location. That's all.

Disliked: Everything else. It was old and dirty and the staff weren't very helpful. We had a leaking sink in the room and after informing them 3 times, nothing was fixed. The elevator safety inspection expired in 2008. The wifi is absolutely terrible if you're lucky enough to get it in your room. I wouldn't want my worst enemy to stay here. I'm pretty sure there's also mould on the windows. Just call the health dept and stay far away!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Elisa Irarrazaval

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: Perfect ubication

Disliked: Awful smell, they clean everything with chlorine. And it dyed my clothes when I leave it in the bathroom

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Jamie Matthews

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 August 2014

Liked: The bad experience brought some of us travellers together. It is close to union station and union square.

Disliked: Where do I start. The worst part is the staff. They are rude and in no way understanding. On one night we (4 female dorm) were interrupted twice during the night after twelve. We were all asleep,both times were male staff entrants with no knock, just open the door (girls dorm - just to reiterate how wrong this is) they turned the light on and just started talking out loud to the room to get the appropriate persons attention. In doing so this woke all of us up. There was about 1 hour between the first and second male entrant. The staff also made mistakes with bookings which meant people who had booked rooms were sent out to the street. The facilities are atrocious! One toilet to a floor! But the hand basin in your room. Of the showers that are available (female) only two are working properly. I stayed 9 nights and used the same shower for 8 nights. There is a herbal essence shampoo sample in the shower which has not moved at all. Does this mean the showers have not been cleaned for this long? There is also no wifi access in the rooms. Beds are uncomfortable and not clean (there was hair and food crumbs on my bed when I arrived). I could go on..!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zakk Flanagan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Zakk would recommend this property

Liked: It's location

Disliked: The showers had a hard time distinguishing which control was hot and cold also the beds were somewhat uncomfortable and the decor.... BUT the location makes up for it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014

Liked: The location is good and it's fairly cheap.

Disliked: The showers were very dirty. You can make pancakes but you have to wait very long because the kitchen is too small. It would be better if they would just offer some bread and jam or something like that. There are lockers on the first floor but they were all full so they haven't got enough for all the guests. The matrasses were bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, and the breakfast. The Internet access.

Disliked: Wifi is not working on the bedrooms. Bedrooms and toilets are not really clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Strang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: This is a Hostel as you imagined it to be. Nice dorms, big kitchen, many international young people and friendly (sometimes stressed) staff. It is loud, it is big, it has character. The best about this hostel is it's central location.

Disliked: They had overbooking issues. Fortunately, it didn't affect me.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Georgius Rudolphus van den Akker

Alone

City break

09 August 2014

Liked: The location, but lot of work to be done regarding rooms, bathroom and restrooms.

Disliked: Not clean(rooms, bathrooms)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Lohan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

06 August 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, relaxed atmosphere and great location I can't fault the place!

Disliked: There really isn't a anything to dislike to be honest...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ashok Thorat

Alone

Business / conference

06 August 2014 Ashok would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good, just near the BART subway. so, even if you come in middle of night, you can save money by taking subway. The hostel has free wifi and a common room where you can enjoy your time together. Regarding facilities- look guys, we are coming here to enjoy city and we hardly stay in hotel. Single travelers, this place is worth for money. Free tea, coffee and i suppose sometimes free breakfast. i do not know if they have private rooms. if yes, then certainly try it. best for money you are paying.

Disliked: Lot of homeless people and drug addicts around. Some areas especially better not to venture in alone in midnight if you are a night time explorer. the cleanliness of room was pathetic although can be maintained even with this price. Lift was not good and was out of service for 2 days. this means from 6th floor you have to go up and down all the way through stairs. these things can definitely be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARIA CROM

Alone

Partying / nightlife

05 August 2014 MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, perfect location, I liked the fact that always they check who enter the building, is like oasis for safety in downtown san francisco! Will come back in winter guys!

Disliked: i wish the weather was nicer, but in october is hot and i go baaack!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the company of its incumbents

Disliked: nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jessica Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014

Liked: Location is pretty handy. So long as you stay up hill, down hill gets hella ghetto.

Disliked: No sinks in toilet. No good temperature in shower (either scorching hot or freezing cold) Fear of bed bugs. Sheets supplied were full of holes. Blanket looked and felt like it hadn't been washed for months.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: All