HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of San Francisco International Hostel

Hostel | 140 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102

64.8% Overall Rating

695 out of 866 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"location, free filtered water, quiet rooms, good wifi connection in the room, clean rooms, nice lounge"

Read all San Francisco International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

HI - San Francisco - Downtown
39.50 USD

Hostel 90.7% 561 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
44.00 USD

Hostel 79.4% 191 reviews
Winsor Hotel
42.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.3% 18 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
49.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 67.7% 431 reviews
Sweden House Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 48.6% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.8%

Overall Rating

695 out of 866 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Francisco International Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
47.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
57.6%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 692 of 837 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: All

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

FNU MAHESH

Alone

Business / conference

26 July 2014

Liked: Friednly Automosphere.

Disliked: Room not clean on regular basis and very cold temperature.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, receptionists, the biggest hostel in San francisco.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Showers and bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miwako Yoshida

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 July 2014 Miwako would recommend this property

Liked: I love this location.

Disliked: Water at sink in my room did not run smoothly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, free filtered water, quiet rooms, good wifi connection in the room, clean rooms, nice lounge

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rebecca Rogers

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The staff. The smell. The cleanliness. The junkies outside.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Karoliina Pekkala

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014

Liked: Free coffee

Disliked: Dirtiest hostel I have ever stayed at! There was underwear and junks of hair laying in the showers. The bathrooms did not have sink in any of them. Imagine the cleanliness of that doorknob. The blanket in the room was so moist and dirty that I was even afraid to touch it. Never planning on staying here again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely it's location. I also appreciate the friendliness and professionalism of the staff.

Disliked: On remote instances, the shower knobs were missing on the 4th floor communal bathroom. Also, when using the shower, there would be no cold water; only hot water coming out of the shower.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014

Liked: Lots of showers and the location is good. Kitchen is big and lots of hang out space.

Disliked: My first night here I couldn't check in until 10pm! The hostal staff was very unorganized and a lot of people were double booked and had to find a new place to sleep in SF ON A SATURDAY NIGHT. My outlets didn't work in my room either. Beds are so uncomfortable and there's no lockers in the rooms so you have to trust your roommates! (There's free lockers downstairs though) Don't stay here during a busy time!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

soyeon kim

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 soyeon would recommend this property

Liked: Location and helpfulness of the staffs

Disliked: Dirty...the bed seems appear bed bugs

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Lack of sheets for my pilow, suuuuuper slow for checkin

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014

Liked: not much

Disliked: there were only two power outlets in our 4 bed room, which kinda sucks if everybody wants to charge there smart phones over night. the rooms are very small, only one cabinet for 4 people. there are only two restrooms for the entire floor, so every morning the search for a vacant restroom through the building starts.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ben Malka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014

Liked: Perfect location

Disliked: Dirty rooms Windows didnt stay open without putting anything under it

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how cheap it was compared to other hotels in the area, and the location was perfect. Also, the staff was friendly, even though they were usually really really busy.

Disliked: I booked an all female dorm, and the second night, there were 2 men in my dorm. It was awkward because I specifically said I wanted an all girl dorm.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi in the bedrooms

Disliked: Fairly rough, nosiy neighbourhood. On the boundary of the Tenderloin so you don't really want to be walking around alone at night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel as advertised. Fulfils all basic requirements. Good WIFI.

Disliked: No sink in bathroom on 6th floor. Elevator seems suspect, safety certificate inspection last dated 2008.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Do not stay here... I'm not a frequent a hostel stayer however I have stayed in a few whilst backpacking in various places and have not found any as bad as this. Dirty, uncomfortable and unhelpful staff. We booked a 4 bed, girl only dorm with private bathroom via hostel bookers. Upon arrival the staff did not have any record that we were due to stay, fortunately for us I had a printed copy of our reservation. After about 20 minutes of the staff trying to re-arrange rooms to accommodate us they finally put us in a room with a guy. It was only for the first night (we stayed 5) and was ok however we had purposely booked an all girls room. Given that we had just got off an 11 hour flight this is not how we wanted to be welcomed to San Francisco! There is a dining area and kitchen on the ground floor. This area always smells awful and I certainly didn't or would want to spend any time there. There is NOT a bar, entertainment or anything of these sorts. There is also NOT free breakfast. Apparently the owner has changed his mind, or so we got told. There is a lift, which again stinks and is slow but I guess is a small saviour in this awful place. The bedroom door didn't quite open because it slammed into one of the bunk beds. The beds are uncomfortable, exactly how I imagine sleeping on a bed of metal would feel. The bathroom has a shower which is functional but by no means great. Cleaners are seen every day with a Hoover but I don't think they made it out if the hallways and into the bedrooms. The bathroom certainly never had a once over. While we stayed our toilet got blocked, we informed staff but a girl in our dorm had to unblock it. If someone didn't strip their bed it was just left for the next person staying to strip it. One morning we had a fire alarm which was luckily a false alarm. I was astonished at how poorly the staff reacted to the alarm. Some of the guests went down to reception, no one came to any of the floors saying it was a drill or real alarm. And then the useless staff just stood around in reception with no communication or guidance to guests. San Francisco is an amazing city, and luckily I don't feel this hostel ruined my trip however I would definitely not recommend it.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Lindsay Hall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014

Liked: Close to Powell station

Disliked: Dirty, disgusting. Vomit left in a shower for hours. Smelly bins in the toilet. Not enough utensils. Room so cold we could not sleep. Showers either cold, or one single shower only hot hot water no cold came out. False advertisement e.g a laundry

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jaroslav REINISCH

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 May 2014 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: style

Disliked: shower

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

susan mcdougall

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2014 susan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and helpful, it was close to shops and transportation. Open 24 hours, easy in and out.

Disliked: The neighborhood has a lot of homeless people right outside.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location & it has all the necessary facilities available.

Disliked: Many of the Restrooms were being 'renovated' which made it finding a toilet &/or shower difficult at times especially at peak times. Other Hostels Ive stayed in have also had some kind of secure locker in each room weather it be large or small but there was only lockers available on 1 floor.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Computer, location, tea

Disliked: Bathrooms out of order

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Es war günstig und ich habe nette Leute getroffen.

Disliked: Waschbecken gab es nur ein Stock obendrüber, also Hände waschen, Zähne putzen usw musste Mann nach oben gehen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Maya Ismailova

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

08 April 2014 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: location and it's pretty safe

Disliked: smell