HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of San Francisco International Hostel

Hostel | 140 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102

63.9% Overall Rating

705 out of 888 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

Jamie Matthews thinks…

"The bad experience brought some of us travellers together. It is close to union station and union square."

Read all San Francisco International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel
39.50 USD

Hostel 87.7% 572 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
38.00 USD

Hostel 73.9% 203 reviews
Winsor Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.3% 20 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
54.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
53.00 USD

Hostel 92.8% 694 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.9%

Overall Rating

705 out of 888 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Francisco International Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
64.0%
Value
64.0%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 707 of 854 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014

Liked: Nothing leaving

Disliked: It's a dump would never stay here again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, just a block from BART (Public Transport).

Disliked: Was surprised to lear there were no towels, not even to rent. When asked for a blanket for the bed was provided a mattress pad.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014

Liked: Location. That's all.

Disliked: Everything else. It was old and dirty and the staff weren't very helpful. We had a leaking sink in the room and after informing them 3 times, nothing was fixed. The elevator safety inspection expired in 2008. The wifi is absolutely terrible if you're lucky enough to get it in your room. I wouldn't want my worst enemy to stay here. I'm pretty sure there's also mould on the windows. Just call the health dept and stay far away!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Elisa Irarrazaval

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: Perfect ubication

Disliked: Awful smell, they clean everything with chlorine. And it dyed my clothes when I leave it in the bathroom

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Jamie Matthews

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 August 2014

Liked: The bad experience brought some of us travellers together. It is close to union station and union square.

Disliked: Where do I start. The worst part is the staff. They are rude and in no way understanding. On one night we (4 female dorm) were interrupted twice during the night after twelve. We were all asleep,both times were male staff entrants with no knock, just open the door (girls dorm - just to reiterate how wrong this is) they turned the light on and just started talking out loud to the room to get the appropriate persons attention. In doing so this woke all of us up. There was about 1 hour between the first and second male entrant. The staff also made mistakes with bookings which meant people who had booked rooms were sent out to the street. The facilities are atrocious! One toilet to a floor! But the hand basin in your room. Of the showers that are available (female) only two are working properly. I stayed 9 nights and used the same shower for 8 nights. There is a herbal essence shampoo sample in the shower which has not moved at all. Does this mean the showers have not been cleaned for this long? There is also no wifi access in the rooms. Beds are uncomfortable and not clean (there was hair and food crumbs on my bed when I arrived). I could go on..!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zakk Flanagan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Zakk would recommend this property

Liked: It's location

Disliked: The showers had a hard time distinguishing which control was hot and cold also the beds were somewhat uncomfortable and the decor.... BUT the location makes up for it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014

Liked: The location is good and it's fairly cheap.

Disliked: The showers were very dirty. You can make pancakes but you have to wait very long because the kitchen is too small. It would be better if they would just offer some bread and jam or something like that. There are lockers on the first floor but they were all full so they haven't got enough for all the guests. The matrasses were bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, and the breakfast. The Internet access.

Disliked: Wifi is not working on the bedrooms. Bedrooms and toilets are not really clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Strang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: This is a Hostel as you imagined it to be. Nice dorms, big kitchen, many international young people and friendly (sometimes stressed) staff. It is loud, it is big, it has character. The best about this hostel is it's central location.

Disliked: They had overbooking issues. Fortunately, it didn't affect me.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Georgius Rudolphus van den Akker

Alone

City break

09 August 2014

Liked: The location, but lot of work to be done regarding rooms, bathroom and restrooms.

Disliked: Not clean(rooms, bathrooms)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Lohan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

06 August 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, relaxed atmosphere and great location I can't fault the place!

Disliked: There really isn't a anything to dislike to be honest...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ashok Thorat

Alone

Business / conference

06 August 2014 Ashok would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good, just near the BART subway. so, even if you come in middle of night, you can save money by taking subway. The hostel has free wifi and a common room where you can enjoy your time together. Regarding facilities- look guys, we are coming here to enjoy city and we hardly stay in hotel. Single travelers, this place is worth for money. Free tea, coffee and i suppose sometimes free breakfast. i do not know if they have private rooms. if yes, then certainly try it. best for money you are paying.

Disliked: Lot of homeless people and drug addicts around. Some areas especially better not to venture in alone in midnight if you are a night time explorer. the cleanliness of room was pathetic although can be maintained even with this price. Lift was not good and was out of service for 2 days. this means from 6th floor you have to go up and down all the way through stairs. these things can definitely be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARIA CROM

Alone

Partying / nightlife

05 August 2014 MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, perfect location, I liked the fact that always they check who enter the building, is like oasis for safety in downtown san francisco! Will come back in winter guys!

Disliked: i wish the weather was nicer, but in october is hot and i go baaack!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the company of its incumbents

Disliked: nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jessica Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014

Liked: Location is pretty handy. So long as you stay up hill, down hill gets hella ghetto.

Disliked: No sinks in toilet. No good temperature in shower (either scorching hot or freezing cold) Fear of bed bugs. Sheets supplied were full of holes. Blanket looked and felt like it hadn't been washed for months.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: All

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

FNU MAHESH

Alone

Business / conference

26 July 2014

Liked: Friednly Automosphere.

Disliked: Room not clean on regular basis and very cold temperature.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, receptionists, the biggest hostel in San francisco.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Showers and bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miwako Yoshida

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 July 2014 Miwako would recommend this property

Liked: I love this location.

Disliked: Water at sink in my room did not run smoothly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, free filtered water, quiet rooms, good wifi connection in the room, clean rooms, nice lounge

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rebecca Rogers

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The staff. The smell. The cleanliness. The junkies outside.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Karoliina Pekkala

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014

Liked: Free coffee

Disliked: Dirtiest hostel I have ever stayed at! There was underwear and junks of hair laying in the showers. The bathrooms did not have sink in any of them. Imagine the cleanliness of that doorknob. The blanket in the room was so moist and dirty that I was even afraid to touch it. Never planning on staying here again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely it's location. I also appreciate the friendliness and professionalism of the staff.

Disliked: On remote instances, the shower knobs were missing on the 4th floor communal bathroom. Also, when using the shower, there would be no cold water; only hot water coming out of the shower.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014

Liked: Lots of showers and the location is good. Kitchen is big and lots of hang out space.

Disliked: My first night here I couldn't check in until 10pm! The hostal staff was very unorganized and a lot of people were double booked and had to find a new place to sleep in SF ON A SATURDAY NIGHT. My outlets didn't work in my room either. Beds are so uncomfortable and there's no lockers in the rooms so you have to trust your roommates! (There's free lockers downstairs though) Don't stay here during a busy time!