HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of San Francisco International Hostel

Hostel | 140 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102

76.7% Overall Rating

674 out of 829 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"The staff were all very friendly and the organised tours were awesome. Great atmosphere and free breakfast"

Read all San Francisco International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

HI-San Francisco Downtown (Union Square)
39.50 USD

Hostel 89.1% 535 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 82.2% 174 reviews
Winsor Hotel
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 9 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
36.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.7% 429 reviews
Sweden House Hotel
24.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 50.2% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

674 out of 829 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Francisco International Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
80.8%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 668 of 799 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Maya Ismailova

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

08 April 2014 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: location and it's pretty safe

Disliked: smell

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all very friendly and the organised tours were awesome. Great atmosphere and free breakfast

Disliked: The area was full of beggars who appeared dodgy but we met some of them and they generally seem fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Chu

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

04 April 2014 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly & down to earth

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roman Bielik

Alone

City break

24 March 2014 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: location, wifi, clean rooms

Disliked: Roman left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty rooms, very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Grungy common space, not enough lockers for secure storage (first come first serve only)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The chocolate guy was delicious :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruna Carvalho

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Bruna would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever!!! Perfect location, good atmosphere!!! I will definitely would come back

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything!!! just loved it!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff & good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014

Liked: The other tourist.

Disliked: Very rude staff. I asked to extend for a day and they would not accommodates. They wanted me to wait until checkout time to do that,which is risky especially if travelling alone as a women.The guy I gave spoken to was very cocky and than started arguing with me if I have a passport as he could not see my name on their register I am not are why.:)finally found it. I booked another night on hostelbookers which was done instantly,as I didn't want to move with a large luggage.next morning wanted to let them know if I could stay in the same room and another tall Asian guy who is apparently the manager said that he cannot honour my booking as they don't accept extensions booked online.THe guy the day before never said anything about this restriction so I was unaware.when I asked for the manager they said he was out and the tall guy said he is the manager,but refused to tell me his name.INstead he said he is calling security which was despicable as I was not being rude in any way.UNfortunately the other stuff also ganged up against me.THe lady at the reception said to me you can't stand next to the counter as if I was doing something wrong or being aggressive which I was not.i am an educated, sensible person not some rude person.LAter I asked another staff member for the name if the latt guy and she refused. I also asked which professional organisation they belong to and they refused to tell me. After I moved thanks god. To a much cleaner place in similar price range another group ofvtousist said they also had problems with stuff but this guy especially.Keep away as they don't respect guests and you can't extend .

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 March 2014

Liked: Free water

Disliked: Staff and bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was far cleaner and nicer than I expected. The reviews online don't accurately describe it.

Disliked: Front desk woman was super rude the morning of checkout.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014

Liked: I dislike

Disliked: It is no clearness.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel. Free bear, free breakfast all day and free beverages. Clean and calm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014

Liked: It is good value for money. Stay at this hostel if you like meeting people from all over the world, the free beer pong/party definitely makes it easy to engage in conversation with people. It's also nice to have free coffee/tea. Don't stay there if cleanliness and quiet nights are important for you!

Disliked: Toilets/showers kitchen not very clean, poor Wifi (reception only in communal areas, not in rooms!)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miroslav Koudelka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Miroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Free beer

Disliked: dangerous neighbourhood

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Really weird place. They have this 'hookup room' they came around with a loudspeaker trying to convince us to go in there and have cheap drinks it was all very dodgy. Shame because otherwise would have been a good hostel, good building and location but I felt uncomfortable there as a girl alone.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sizable with plenty of rooms.

Disliked: quite shabby in places. tiny lock on door.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 February 2014

Liked: The location.

Disliked: In the first place, I payed MORE MONEY for a private room, but, when I got there, they told me there was NO PRIVATE ROOM IN THE HOSTEL. So, I payed more just for NOTHING. The whole place is just dirty and has a different smell, the staff is dirty. I mean... You can stay there if you like hostels and have no other choice. But I think I'm not coming back.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ESTRELLA SANCHEZ LINARES

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 ESTRELLA would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cheap and great atmosphere

Disliked: I didnt have cold water from the tab in the bathroom of the room. It Was dirty under the bed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free pancakes and beer! compared to ither hostels, very clean and appropriate room size.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAYOUNG KIM

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 JAYOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: The location was the best! From powell station, only 2minutes on foot. One staff who is Mr.E for president of Korea was very kind and nice. I was appreciated for him :)

Disliked: JAYOUNG left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location and great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paul Mooney

Alone

Events / festivals

02 February 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to San francisco

Disliked: Small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I ever visited! Free beers and beer pong at night. All day long pancake breakfast. Very friendly staff. What more does one need..

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: terrible smell and few bathrooms