We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of San Francisco International Hostel

Hostel | 140 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102

81.9% Overall Rating

728 out of 916 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2015)

"Upon arrival i was welcomed and offered exactly what i wanted to see. a lotta free amenities, awesome place, PS4 and HD TV. Movie nights popcorn. Wish I could stay more. The hostel is safe. I stayed in a newly renovated…"

Read all San Francisco International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 86.3% 590 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 216 reviews
Winsor Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 24 reviews
Post Hotel
145.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
47.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
34.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 93.6% 708 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

728 out of 916 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Francisco International Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 728 of 882 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

27 January 2015

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: The front desk staff were very aggressive- they were nice to me, but lots of people were arguing with them because I think the staff has a habit of pissing them off.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel great location

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mal pitour

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 mal would recommend this property

Liked: AWESOME

Disliked: I LOVED EVERYTHING :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mal pitour

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 mal would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, location, clean place. I'll return.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mal pitour

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 mal would recommend this property

Liked: great stay!

Disliked: mal left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location, really convenient, nice clean rooms, nice kitchen.

Disliked: There's not too much private bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upon arrival i was welcomed and offered exactly what i wanted to see. a lotta free amenities, awesome place, PS4 and HD TV. Movie nights popcorn. Wish I could stay more. The hostel is safe. I stayed in a newly renovated room. nice choice of color :P

Disliked: Maybe new beds in the future with outlets on them?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just Awesome....... The location is perfectly fine for any type of traveler. The help desk staffs are wonderful, They will help you every time you need. Many things I can write: Clean, perfect location, Good people, Value of money, Good wi-fi (In lounge and downstairs its perfect and in room its limited), Well equipped Kitchen, Morning Pan cake free, Coffee and tea unlimited, Those who drink free beer most of evening, free pizza some day of week.. and many more....

Disliked: I have one suggestion: There should be at least one Indian style toilet, so that travelers from Indian continent can stay more comfortably.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location!! Perfect value for price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Old

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price and location is really good for travellers that are new to Their way out in the city without getting lost.

Disliked: Facilities in the hostel should be improved to meet international standards at least. The showers are really bad and they need to be replaced with with handy ones. The breakfast is poorly organised and need to be improved

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis Outlaw

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

06 November 2014 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Staff. Donna, Stephanie, Rochelle, Asal, Mandy, Lee and specially Marquita are there to give excellent customer service. They are friendly and highly professional who know how to cater to customers. I can never imagine this hostel without these staff members.

Disliked: At first, the general facility was unkempt until Donna and Marquita came. Now, the facility is spic and span clean at all hours. Donna and Marquita work very hard so that you would not walk into the kitchen with a mess that looks like it has been sitting there for a while. I cannot commend Donna and Marquita enough for a great job they've done with the facility.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2014

Liked: Breakfast was good.

Disliked: The location is awful and on my floor there was only one bathroom working. Honestly if you stay there only stay for a night or two, and be careful at night, the area is really really dodgy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Samantha van den Bos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cosy place to stay amongst other travelers, for this budget in San Fransisco it's a good place for a short stay and meet up with others.

Disliked: I don't like the neighborhood too much. It's near shops but there's a lot of noise from the street and bums and people yelling in the night. But I've put my earplugs in and had a good night rest anyway. Just at night as a girl alone.. I don't feel all that secure with all these people and bums and drunks hanging on the street. But then again... Nothing happened to me.. It's more the feeling I guess.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Berry

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The property had a really nice common room and the people staying were friendly! All rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful. Property was also less than 5 minutes away from all major transport links!

Disliked: The property was a bit shabby in places and could defo do with a lick of paint on the walls! At night the neighbourhood is a bit scary and there seems to be a lot of homeless wandering around outside. The windows also were paper thin so you could hear all commotion outside the hotel very loudly!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, everything is close. Staff was very friendly and helpful, I would definitely stay there again when visiting San Fransisco.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marco Lavopa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people If you Wanna party and meet new people! Secure, Clean (more or less) with polite staff. It's maybe not se cheap ..but it's also have free pool table and pancakes!

Disliked: Expensiveness

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not many activities

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stylianos Foukakis

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 September 2014 Stylianos would recommend this property

Liked: I feel home each time i stay in San Francisco International Hostel !!!!

Disliked: Nothing !!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Lage ist super und mitten im geschehen, ohne dass es in der Nacht zu Laut ist. Super Hostelatmosphäre, Mitarbeiter sehr nett und hilfsbereit, WLAN funktioniert im Couchbereich und In der Lounge. Zimmer sind angemessen ausgestattet und für diesen Preis ist das Hostel sehr gut!

Disliked: In den Zimmern und Duschen hat es ein bisschen wie in Sportumkleidekabinen gerochen (stickig und nach alten Fußballschuhen) auch mit Lüften leider kein anderer Geruch, aber aushaltbar.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooms and the atmosphere,the staff was nice and the common areas were cozy.

Disliked: The location,tho close to the subway isn't the most friendly but it was fine.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014

Liked: Nothing leaving

Disliked: It's a dump would never stay here again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, just a block from BART (Public Transport).

Disliked: Was surprised to lear there were no towels, not even to rent. When asked for a blanket for the bed was provided a mattress pad.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014

Liked: Location. That's all.

Disliked: Everything else. It was old and dirty and the staff weren't very helpful. We had a leaking sink in the room and after informing them 3 times, nothing was fixed. The elevator safety inspection expired in 2008. The wifi is absolutely terrible if you're lucky enough to get it in your room. I wouldn't want my worst enemy to stay here. I'm pretty sure there's also mould on the windows. Just call the health dept and stay far away!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Elisa Irarrazaval

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: Perfect ubication

Disliked: Awful smell, they clean everything with chlorine. And it dyed my clothes when I leave it in the bathroom