HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Amsterdam

Hostel | 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94108

73.6% Overall Rating

151 out of 180 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

"Nice and helpful staff, pancake-dough was provided for breakfast, seperate washrooms for each dorm/room (were cleaned every day), low rates for dorms/rooms"

Read all AAE Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Dorm room occupancy is only for students and youth with an international passport or out of state student ID. Please pay attention to this. A travel itinerary may be required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
43.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
USA Hostels San Francisco
42.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 674 reviews
Layne Hotel
99.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.7% 429 reviews
HI-San Francisco Downtown (Union Square)
39.50 USD

Hostel 88.9% 537 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 81.0% 176 reviews
Mithila Hotel
21.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 74.9% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

151 out of 180 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
64.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 173 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: parking announced like free

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ainara Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Ainara would recommend this property

Liked: Quietness

Disliked: Cleannes

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ellie Columbine

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and basic. I didn't check out the kitchen facilities or have the breakfast but I used the wifi. The check in and out was straight-forward and they seemed organised. They were really helpful whenever I asked them for help. The location is central and there are a couple of decent places to eat close by, which I think is useful for first nights etc. Really good value for money

Disliked: No ladders to top bunks is a bit awkward and beds are a bit squeaky, but it didn't bother me that much

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 April 2012

Liked: Cheap, safe, many facilities,

Disliked: Last time I satyed at SF International hostel, The atmosphere there were better as well as location. So I would recomend that place. As for location: it is quite far and hard to go with all your stuff uphill to Amsterdam. Showers there are the most idiotic I've ever seen.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: I booked a 4-bed room, but they just had a 6-bed dorm for me...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Winkler

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 March 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap, confortable and very good located. There is a good atmosphere generated between all the guests.

Disliked: You cannot invite people that isn't registered into the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KISOO PARK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 KISOO would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean. The hostel was located in downtown.

Disliked: It is a little hard to climb up the second floor in my bed. (The bed is easily shaking) In downtown, there are a lot of homeless people, which makes me scared to enter the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anja Walter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

09 March 2012 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: nettes Personal

Disliked: Nichts.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jorge Tarraga

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

09 March 2012

Liked: Situation

Disliked: Old and dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EDUARDO ORTIZ

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 EDUARDO would recommend this property

Liked: Everything and everybody were great, very friendly and helpfull

Disliked: No no everything was good, no complains

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coffee & Tea for free the whole day. I could put my baggage into the locker room til the check-in and also was allowed to put in my bag after checking-out, because my ride was really late. Pancakes for free at breakfast was a good thing. Nice TV room.

Disliked: Sometimes there was a bad smell in the lobby.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The onlyThis is a nice clean hostel, ensuite bathrooms, the beds-though some dont have proper ladders to get up, they are comfy and dont squeak! there's one computer with free internet which is a bonus, free pancakes in the morning. Very nice stay

Disliked: The only bad point was there being no proper ladders on the bunkbeds making it difficult to climb up.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pancakes for breakfast was nice, and the hostel had good ammount of social space

Disliked: Staff did'nt seem that fun, and my bunk bed was very unstable

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

christopher schwarz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2011

Liked: Great location in the heart of downtown, friendly staff.

Disliked: Parking is a distaster, be ready to drop $30 plus a day in a parking garage a few blocks away. Very old building and furniture. Worst of all is the constant smell of body oder lingering.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011

Liked: The location was good. It has a kitchen so we could make hot drinks.

Disliked: The room was quite dark and dingy. the blanket on the bed had cigarette burns in it despite it being a non smoking hotel. There was always a bad smell around all the place, bit like blocked drains. There is a kitchen, although we would not use it for anything more than making tea/coffee... it was really really dirty all over the kitchen. We were allowed in there one night after the kitchen was officially closed just to get some hot water and it was crawling with cockroaches.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, bathroom, common rooms.

Disliked: Waiting line for breakfast

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Souleymane Thiam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2011 Souleymane would recommend this property

Liked: Everything except the kitchen

Disliked: The Kitchen

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location , cleaning every day

Disliked: staff is not friendlly, Internet works really bad and slow and breakfast is really a bad joke

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Erdinc Zeytinci

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2011 Erdinc would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quite cheap, good location, bathrooms in dorms, pancake breakfast, lockers in rooms

Disliked: very shaky bunk beds with no ladders, made it quite hard to get up

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooms, the bathrooms and the overall appaerance very much.

Disliked: I liked basically everything.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011

Liked: The room was quiet and reasonably clean. I liked the free breakfast, although there were no waffle irons, and only a limited amount of pancake batter (they advertised all-you-can-eat waffles), but they were still tasty.

Disliked: I stayed at this hostel twice previously some years ago and loved it. Since then, it seems to have taken an alarming turn for the worse. The staff are rude and seemingly unconcerned with the comfort of their guests or the functioning of the facilities. Things that were previously free (internet, etc) are now charged. They also didn't mention that there is a security deposit required, and all I had when I arrived were credit cards

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laura Reid

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and good location.

Disliked: Staff weren't very friendly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

TZU YUN LIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 TZU YUN would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is really good. 4 people dorm room space is enough big. Decent bathroom inside the dorm room. Free pancake(do it yourself) in large kitchen and free coffee. I woke up early so I have whole kitchen to prepare my breakfast. Free wifi, stable for me. Easy to grab food around the hostel. Great graet location, it's at safe downtown area. Few blocks to union square and buses and cable cars and bart.

Disliked: They asked me to change room once, told me the room would become mixed dorm and moved me to another female dorm room. And if you unfortunately pick the upper bed, you have to jump on from a chair, no ladder. But overall it's my most satisfying hostel during my stay in U.S.A.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Saines

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Beds & Bathroom were very nice, great common room layout, good kitchen, full facilities, laundry etc

Disliked: No events during the day or night available to take part in to help meet people/see the city.