HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Amsterdam

Hostel | 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94108

76.1% Overall Rating

176 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

Damien Webb thinks…

"Excellent location for exploring the city.staff were very helpfull and the rooms were very clean and comfortable."

Read all AAE Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Dorm room occupancy is only for students and youth with an international passport or out of state student ID. Please pay attention to this. A travel itinerary may be required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
54.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
USA Hostels San Francisco
55.00 USD

Hostel 93.1% 696 reviews
Layne Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel
39.50 USD

Hostel 88.6% 573 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
38.00 USD

Hostel 72.3% 204 reviews
Mithila Hotel
33.34 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 69.4% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

176 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 203 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

arnold reyes

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 December 2012 arnold would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to eveything.

Disliked: Sort of old place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is awesome

Disliked: nothing really

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Fabio Mattioli

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 November 2012

Liked: I liked the prime location, the nice staff, and the price

Disliked: I have been travelling in many hostel, and AAE Amsteram in San Francisco is by far the worst I ever been in in terms of hygene and cleanliness. First, as many other reviewers, the smell. Our room (a 6 beds dorm converted for 5 people) was VERY stinky. I am not particularly choosy or picky, but that was really beyond normal. Then the sheets: they were stained and full of previous tenants's hairs. Finally, the bites: I suspect I have been bitten thee by some sort of bugs (thou I doubt it's bedbugs) possibly linked to the nest of pidgeons just outside of the windows.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ingo Ludwig

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Ingo would recommend this property

Liked: Price,Location,Quietness,Dorms,Bathrooms,Guests,Internet Computers.

Disliked: The housekeeping is just to overeager to throw unlabled and unclaimd guest property away who isen't garbage at all. The selfcatering facilities are a littel to sparece equipted and not well maintained!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

James Hood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location with everything we needed, breakfast was included and the wifi helped us as well as info for tours and the like.

Disliked: Very overpriced for the extra nights ad-hoc so book all in one go before you arrive. It wasn't much of a socialising hostel although the communal kitchen helped with that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tristan Tambourine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and very clean rooms. Everyone was friendly and I felt very safe.

Disliked: Top bunks don't have ladders to them. No doonas.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean hostel in the heart of SF, nice common kitchen and facilities!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Agnieszka Domagalska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Agnieszka would recommend this property

Liked: waffels <3

Disliked: i booked female room but i get mixed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price

Disliked: the staff. people from front desk cheat us. he ,,forgot'' to give us the change after we paid. Is shameful !!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location away from the homeless bas goverment mainteined area were many reiminal actions are on the spot for any turist

Disliked: great atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicholas Claxton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great for downtown and pretty close to the BART station. Staff are friendly and the place is kept very clean.

Disliked: The bunks creak and shake so much that the whole room wakes up when someone is climbing up/down. The kitchen is also completely understocked. There are about 5 cups, and no where near enough plates and forks in the morning for breakfast. You need to wait until someone else is finished before eating.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Emma Persson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 October 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Dirty towels and only pancakes for breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mingze He

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Mingze would recommend this property

Liked: The mattress is really comfortable, and good shower, kitchen rocks and staff are friendly and helpful. They do their job on duty!

Disliked: the first time I come into the room, there is a smell. But would be better if you just open the window, and better to be open it during the daytime instead of night!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christian Israel Moreno

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 September 2012 Christian Israel would recommend this property

Liked: WONDERFUL LOCATION, NICE PLACE

Disliked: STUFF

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012

Liked: Cheap and clean Private rooms

Disliked: Staff very unfriendly Neighbourghood not nice at all, freaky

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I needed help for a problem with a rent car and the staff helped me very well.

Disliked: There were air from window and in the bathroom the water was always on and i couldn't stop it.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Weijia Wu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012

Liked: no

Disliked: no

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff

Disliked: A bit dirty and messy

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alessia De Conti

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: No breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philipp Goriupp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: freundliches personal, zimmer sind sauber, bad+wc fuer jedes zimmer auch sauber, lage ist auch gut

Disliked: vlt nicht gerade ein party-hostel

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bedrooms are very cosy and comfortable.

Disliked: One of the managers was not very friendly with us and he was actually really rude when we were having breakfast in the kitchen right after 10 am (breakfast ends).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephen Thornton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near Union Square/Chinatown and close to all transport links (though the hostel gives walking directions from the Greyhound and its a long walk with heavy bags). Rooms felt safe with keycards and individual lockers.Free bag storage during the day. Showers really good.

Disliked: For the final night we were forced to change rooms without an explanation so had to pack all our staff leave it in storage and then check back in again in the evening. Not much of a big deal but the staff throughout were unhelpful and pretty unfriendly (apart from the girl on reception). Still price and location mean its pretty unrivalled in San Fran so I would still recommend it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: With free breakfast

Disliked: Without elevator

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: parking announced like free

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ainara Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Ainara would recommend this property

Liked: Quietness

Disliked: Cleannes