HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Amsterdam

Hostel | 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94108

79.4% Overall Rating

166 out of 198 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Julia Mc Dermott thinks…

"We stayed here for 3 nights and would have gladly stayed an extra night or two...unfortunately the hostel was already booked out. What I loved most was the central location (short walk to market…"

Read all AAE Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Dorm room occupancy is only for students and youth with an international passport or out of state student ID. Please pay attention to this. A travel itinerary may be required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
43.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
USA Hostels San Francisco
49.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 688 reviews
Layne Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 67.7% 431 reviews
HI - San Francisco - Downtown
39.50 USD

Hostel 91.2% 559 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
44.00 USD

Hostel 79.7% 190 reviews
Mithila Hotel
31.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 71.4% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

166 out of 198 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
73.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 191 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Emma Persson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 October 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Dirty towels and only pancakes for breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mingze He

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Mingze would recommend this property

Liked: The mattress is really comfortable, and good shower, kitchen rocks and staff are friendly and helpful. They do their job on duty!

Disliked: the first time I come into the room, there is a smell. But would be better if you just open the window, and better to be open it during the daytime instead of night!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christian Israel Moreno

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 September 2012 Christian Israel would recommend this property

Liked: WONDERFUL LOCATION, NICE PLACE

Disliked: STUFF

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012

Liked: Cheap and clean Private rooms

Disliked: Staff very unfriendly Neighbourghood not nice at all, freaky

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I needed help for a problem with a rent car and the staff helped me very well.

Disliked: There were air from window and in the bathroom the water was always on and i couldn't stop it.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Weijia Wu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012

Liked: no

Disliked: no

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff

Disliked: A bit dirty and messy

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alessia De Conti

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: No breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philipp Goriupp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: freundliches personal, zimmer sind sauber, bad+wc fuer jedes zimmer auch sauber, lage ist auch gut

Disliked: vlt nicht gerade ein party-hostel

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bedrooms are very cosy and comfortable.

Disliked: One of the managers was not very friendly with us and he was actually really rude when we were having breakfast in the kitchen right after 10 am (breakfast ends).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephen Thornton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near Union Square/Chinatown and close to all transport links (though the hostel gives walking directions from the Greyhound and its a long walk with heavy bags). Rooms felt safe with keycards and individual lockers.Free bag storage during the day. Showers really good.

Disliked: For the final night we were forced to change rooms without an explanation so had to pack all our staff leave it in storage and then check back in again in the evening. Not much of a big deal but the staff throughout were unhelpful and pretty unfriendly (apart from the girl on reception). Still price and location mean its pretty unrivalled in San Fran so I would still recommend it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: With free breakfast

Disliked: Without elevator

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: parking announced like free

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ainara Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Ainara would recommend this property

Liked: Quietness

Disliked: Cleannes

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ellie Columbine

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and basic. I didn't check out the kitchen facilities or have the breakfast but I used the wifi. The check in and out was straight-forward and they seemed organised. They were really helpful whenever I asked them for help. The location is central and there are a couple of decent places to eat close by, which I think is useful for first nights etc. Really good value for money

Disliked: No ladders to top bunks is a bit awkward and beds are a bit squeaky, but it didn't bother me that much

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 April 2012

Liked: Cheap, safe, many facilities,

Disliked: Last time I satyed at SF International hostel, The atmosphere there were better as well as location. So I would recomend that place. As for location: it is quite far and hard to go with all your stuff uphill to Amsterdam. Showers there are the most idiotic I've ever seen.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: I booked a 4-bed room, but they just had a 6-bed dorm for me...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Winkler

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 March 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap, confortable and very good located. There is a good atmosphere generated between all the guests.

Disliked: You cannot invite people that isn't registered into the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KISOO PARK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 KISOO would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean. The hostel was located in downtown.

Disliked: It is a little hard to climb up the second floor in my bed. (The bed is easily shaking) In downtown, there are a lot of homeless people, which makes me scared to enter the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anja Walter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

09 March 2012 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: nettes Personal

Disliked: Nichts.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jorge Tarraga

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

09 March 2012

Liked: Situation

Disliked: Old and dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EDUARDO ORTIZ

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 EDUARDO would recommend this property

Liked: Everything and everybody were great, very friendly and helpfull

Disliked: No no everything was good, no complains

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coffee & Tea for free the whole day. I could put my baggage into the locker room til the check-in and also was allowed to put in my bag after checking-out, because my ride was really late. Pancakes for free at breakfast was a good thing. Nice TV room.

Disliked: Sometimes there was a bad smell in the lobby.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The onlyThis is a nice clean hostel, ensuite bathrooms, the beds-though some dont have proper ladders to get up, they are comfy and dont squeak! there's one computer with free internet which is a bonus, free pancakes in the morning. Very nice stay

Disliked: The only bad point was there being no proper ladders on the bunkbeds making it difficult to climb up.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pancakes for breakfast was nice, and the hostel had good ammount of social space

Disliked: Staff did'nt seem that fun, and my bunk bed was very unstable