HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Amsterdam

Hostel | 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94108

73.3% Overall Rating

183 out of 219 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2014)

Katrina Quach thinks…

"The 6 bunk shared dorm room is spacious enough when full and the bathroom was clean. Mattresses were comfortable for a hostel. Well equipped kitchen with pancake batter in the morning ready for you…"

Read all AAE Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Dorm room occupancy is only for students and youth with an international passport or out of state student ID. Please pay attention to this. A travel itinerary may be required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
47.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
USA Hostels San Francisco
44.00 USD

Hostel 93.0% 699 reviews
Layne Hotel
99.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel
39.50 USD

Hostel 85.4% 586 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
34.00 USD

Hostel 75.5% 212 reviews
Mithila Hotel
28.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 69.6% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.3%

Overall Rating

183 out of 219 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
73.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 211 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paddy Byrne

Alone

Business / conference

05 January 2013 Paddy would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great very near the caltrain and was a good base to look around from.

Disliked: The atmosphere wasn't exciting enough but it was quiet so when i wanted alone time it was good then.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had no issues, like that there were lockers in the room.

Disliked: The only thing I would suggest is not having the "smoking section" be at the front door. This didn't annoy me much but I know some people that would be livid about having to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke just to get into the hostel.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Go there only if you travel with some friends. Close to downtown.

Disliked: Atmosphere, dirty, old bed, ...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AAE is close to public transportation and had very nice bathrooms.

Disliked: The radiator made it so the top bunk was way hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

arnold reyes

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 December 2012 arnold would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to eveything.

Disliked: Sort of old place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is awesome

Disliked: nothing really

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Fabio Mattioli

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 November 2012

Liked: I liked the prime location, the nice staff, and the price

Disliked: I have been travelling in many hostel, and AAE Amsteram in San Francisco is by far the worst I ever been in in terms of hygene and cleanliness. First, as many other reviewers, the smell. Our room (a 6 beds dorm converted for 5 people) was VERY stinky. I am not particularly choosy or picky, but that was really beyond normal. Then the sheets: they were stained and full of previous tenants's hairs. Finally, the bites: I suspect I have been bitten thee by some sort of bugs (thou I doubt it's bedbugs) possibly linked to the nest of pidgeons just outside of the windows.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ingo Ludwig

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Ingo would recommend this property

Liked: Price,Location,Quietness,Dorms,Bathrooms,Guests,Internet Computers.

Disliked: The housekeeping is just to overeager to throw unlabled and unclaimd guest property away who isen't garbage at all. The selfcatering facilities are a littel to sparece equipted and not well maintained!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

James Hood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location with everything we needed, breakfast was included and the wifi helped us as well as info for tours and the like.

Disliked: Very overpriced for the extra nights ad-hoc so book all in one go before you arrive. It wasn't much of a socialising hostel although the communal kitchen helped with that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tristan Tambourine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and very clean rooms. Everyone was friendly and I felt very safe.

Disliked: Top bunks don't have ladders to them. No doonas.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean hostel in the heart of SF, nice common kitchen and facilities!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Agnieszka Domagalska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Agnieszka would recommend this property

Liked: waffels <3

Disliked: i booked female room but i get mixed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price

Disliked: the staff. people from front desk cheat us. he ,,forgot'' to give us the change after we paid. Is shameful !!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location away from the homeless bas goverment mainteined area were many reiminal actions are on the spot for any turist

Disliked: great atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicholas Claxton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great for downtown and pretty close to the BART station. Staff are friendly and the place is kept very clean.

Disliked: The bunks creak and shake so much that the whole room wakes up when someone is climbing up/down. The kitchen is also completely understocked. There are about 5 cups, and no where near enough plates and forks in the morning for breakfast. You need to wait until someone else is finished before eating.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Emma Persson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 October 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Dirty towels and only pancakes for breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mingze He

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Mingze would recommend this property

Liked: The mattress is really comfortable, and good shower, kitchen rocks and staff are friendly and helpful. They do their job on duty!

Disliked: the first time I come into the room, there is a smell. But would be better if you just open the window, and better to be open it during the daytime instead of night!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christian Israel Moreno

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 September 2012 Christian Israel would recommend this property

Liked: WONDERFUL LOCATION, NICE PLACE

Disliked: STUFF

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012

Liked: Cheap and clean Private rooms

Disliked: Staff very unfriendly Neighbourghood not nice at all, freaky

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I needed help for a problem with a rent car and the staff helped me very well.

Disliked: There were air from window and in the bathroom the water was always on and i couldn't stop it.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Weijia Wu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012

Liked: no

Disliked: no

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff

Disliked: A bit dirty and messy

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alessia De Conti

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: No breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philipp Goriupp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: freundliches personal, zimmer sind sauber, bad+wc fuer jedes zimmer auch sauber, lage ist auch gut

Disliked: vlt nicht gerade ein party-hostel

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bedrooms are very cosy and comfortable.

Disliked: One of the managers was not very friendly with us and he was actually really rude when we were having breakfast in the kitchen right after 10 am (breakfast ends).