HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Amsterdam

Hostel | 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94108

79.3% Overall Rating

167 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Julia Mc Dermott thinks…

"We stayed here for 3 nights and would have gladly stayed an extra night or two...unfortunately the hostel was already booked out. What I loved most was the central location (short walk to market…"

Read all AAE Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Dorm room occupancy is only for students and youth with an international passport or out of state student ID. Please pay attention to this. A travel itinerary may be required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
49.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
USA Hostels San Francisco
52.00 USD

Hostel 91.8% 690 reviews
Layne Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 67.7% 431 reviews
HI - San Francisco - Downtown
39.50 USD

Hostel 91.2% 562 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
46.00 USD

Hostel 76.8% 195 reviews
Mithila Hotel
42.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 71.4% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

167 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
74.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 192 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great value

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Schaerer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: staff, other travellers, breakfast, rooms, location

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katharina Penits

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tak Hei YU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Tak Hei would recommend this property

Liked: it s clean

Disliked: Tak Hei left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Florian Roth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the Price and the Location of the hostel

Disliked: The staff wasn't very friendly, there were no forks in the kitchen an just 7 chairs in the dining room. We had to eat while standing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is situated in an ideal location. The cooking area is huge and has everything you could possibly need. Internet services are free and rooms have private bathrooms.

Disliked: Top bunks have no guard rail (terrifying) and when asking staff for help they were very under-knowledgable about the area.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Staff members are hopeless. Very unhelpful and unfriendly. Saw them smoking marijuana so it appeared that they were stoned most of the time. They stuffed up our rooms at check in so we had to wait 2 extra hours and I ended up sleeping on a mattress on the floor.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pancakes for breakfast are delicious! The room was okay. The hotel is very cheap so it's DEFINITELY worth your money!!

Disliked: One of the beds had not been cleaned upon arrival and there was still trash from previous guests in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: self made breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rate was low, the location great, the clients very considerate. Not a wild party place. Good pancakes in morning :)

Disliked: Not much...it is what it is. Rooms could be a little nicer, but at $20/night, it's a good value.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nora Leota Masch

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 February 2013 Nora Leota would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice and helping and the pancakes were tasty. I also liked the outside atrium behind the kitchen, where you can sit and eat. The painted the wals with nice pictures and we had a table in the room to sit on.

Disliked: From an environmental point of view it was hard there. It was cold when I arrived and because there are noch window seals it was drafty although the heating was turned on very much. The Wi Fi wasn't good. It was slow and Skype was almost impossible to bear.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paddy Byrne

Alone

Business / conference

05 January 2013 Paddy would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great very near the caltrain and was a good base to look around from.

Disliked: The atmosphere wasn't exciting enough but it was quiet so when i wanted alone time it was good then.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had no issues, like that there were lockers in the room.

Disliked: The only thing I would suggest is not having the "smoking section" be at the front door. This didn't annoy me much but I know some people that would be livid about having to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke just to get into the hostel.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Go there only if you travel with some friends. Close to downtown.

Disliked: Atmosphere, dirty, old bed, ...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AAE is close to public transportation and had very nice bathrooms.

Disliked: The radiator made it so the top bunk was way hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

arnold reyes

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 December 2012 arnold would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to eveything.

Disliked: Sort of old place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is awesome

Disliked: nothing really

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Fabio Mattioli

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 November 2012

Liked: I liked the prime location, the nice staff, and the price

Disliked: I have been travelling in many hostel, and AAE Amsteram in San Francisco is by far the worst I ever been in in terms of hygene and cleanliness. First, as many other reviewers, the smell. Our room (a 6 beds dorm converted for 5 people) was VERY stinky. I am not particularly choosy or picky, but that was really beyond normal. Then the sheets: they were stained and full of previous tenants's hairs. Finally, the bites: I suspect I have been bitten thee by some sort of bugs (thou I doubt it's bedbugs) possibly linked to the nest of pidgeons just outside of the windows.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ingo Ludwig

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Ingo would recommend this property

Liked: Price,Location,Quietness,Dorms,Bathrooms,Guests,Internet Computers.

Disliked: The housekeeping is just to overeager to throw unlabled and unclaimd guest property away who isen't garbage at all. The selfcatering facilities are a littel to sparece equipted and not well maintained!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

James Hood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location with everything we needed, breakfast was included and the wifi helped us as well as info for tours and the like.

Disliked: Very overpriced for the extra nights ad-hoc so book all in one go before you arrive. It wasn't much of a socialising hostel although the communal kitchen helped with that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tristan Tambourine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and very clean rooms. Everyone was friendly and I felt very safe.

Disliked: Top bunks don't have ladders to them. No doonas.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean hostel in the heart of SF, nice common kitchen and facilities!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Agnieszka Domagalska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Agnieszka would recommend this property

Liked: waffels <3

Disliked: i booked female room but i get mixed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price

Disliked: the staff. people from front desk cheat us. he ,,forgot'' to give us the change after we paid. Is shameful !!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location away from the homeless bas goverment mainteined area were many reiminal actions are on the spot for any turist

Disliked: great atmosphere