HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Amsterdam

Hostel | 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94108

76.6% Overall Rating

174 out of 208 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"I was surpised how good this hotel. it was cheap and centrally. I would recommend this to my friends."

Read all AAE Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Dorm room occupancy is only for students and youth with an international passport or out of state student ID. Please pay attention to this. A travel itinerary may be required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
54.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
USA Hostels San Francisco
53.00 USD

Hostel 92.8% 694 reviews
Layne Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel
39.50 USD

Hostel 87.7% 572 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
42.00 USD

Hostel 73.9% 203 reviews
Mithila Hotel
32.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 69.4% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

174 out of 208 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
73.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 156 of 200 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Roman Shapovalov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013

Liked: wifi available everywhere, good location, shower and toilet in the room

Disliked: lockers could be opened even if the lock is attached, which makes them useless.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kaj Fjellving

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 Kaj would recommend this property

Liked: That there was a computer with internet which we could use.

Disliked: There was no ladder up to the above bed. Breakfast was only pancakes.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Natasha Shroff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Its a nice hostel close to union square, I liked it!

Disliked: Natasha left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean room

Disliked: Charged us tax on the remaining amount due so the total was way more than expected. Also asked for $20 in cash for a key deposit, and the ATM charged $3.50 to withdraw. Overall the guy at the front desk made us feel like he was trying to nickel and dime us. If we had known it would be $15 more than the total on HostelBookers, we might have stayed somewhere else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Punanov

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2013 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff, informal atmosphere, lots of additional options (you can leave the laggage before check-in and after the check-out, possibility to order a shuttle to airport, free wi-fi, conputers to use, kitchen etc), style of interior, low prices

Disliked: There was just one chair in my room for 4 persons. Lack of electricity sockets in the room (just 2) for 4 people. I think it would be good if adaptors for American sockets are available in the hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Sam Meegan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, walkable to all main attractions if you're keen. I did walk to golden gate but its a long way. Kitchen was good for cooking although did lack certain stuff. Staff really friendly. Big lockers.

Disliked: Longer term guests made it feel more like their home. Pretty dirty in places ie. certain corners and along the skirting. Had a gap in the window, stuffed with toilet roll. Although it didn't bother me male only became mixed. Kitchen lacked basic equipment to start off although they seemed to restock the cutlery midweek. Not enough space to store everyones food. WiFi was poor, kept cutting out but it was free. Bunk beds lack ladders and safety rail.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tim Sagona

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: No issues here...it's exactly as advertised.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great value

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Schaerer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: staff, other travellers, breakfast, rooms, location

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katharina Penits

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tak Hei YU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Tak Hei would recommend this property

Liked: it s clean

Disliked: Tak Hei left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Florian Roth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the Price and the Location of the hostel

Disliked: The staff wasn't very friendly, there were no forks in the kitchen an just 7 chairs in the dining room. We had to eat while standing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is situated in an ideal location. The cooking area is huge and has everything you could possibly need. Internet services are free and rooms have private bathrooms.

Disliked: Top bunks have no guard rail (terrifying) and when asking staff for help they were very under-knowledgable about the area.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Staff members are hopeless. Very unhelpful and unfriendly. Saw them smoking marijuana so it appeared that they were stoned most of the time. They stuffed up our rooms at check in so we had to wait 2 extra hours and I ended up sleeping on a mattress on the floor.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pancakes for breakfast are delicious! The room was okay. The hotel is very cheap so it's DEFINITELY worth your money!!

Disliked: One of the beds had not been cleaned upon arrival and there was still trash from previous guests in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: self made breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rate was low, the location great, the clients very considerate. Not a wild party place. Good pancakes in morning :)

Disliked: Not much...it is what it is. Rooms could be a little nicer, but at $20/night, it's a good value.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nora Leota Masch

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 February 2013 Nora Leota would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice and helping and the pancakes were tasty. I also liked the outside atrium behind the kitchen, where you can sit and eat. The painted the wals with nice pictures and we had a table in the room to sit on.

Disliked: From an environmental point of view it was hard there. It was cold when I arrived and because there are noch window seals it was drafty although the heating was turned on very much. The Wi Fi wasn't good. It was slow and Skype was almost impossible to bear.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paddy Byrne

Alone

Business / conference

05 January 2013 Paddy would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great very near the caltrain and was a good base to look around from.

Disliked: The atmosphere wasn't exciting enough but it was quiet so when i wanted alone time it was good then.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had no issues, like that there were lockers in the room.

Disliked: The only thing I would suggest is not having the "smoking section" be at the front door. This didn't annoy me much but I know some people that would be livid about having to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke just to get into the hostel.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Go there only if you travel with some friends. Close to downtown.

Disliked: Atmosphere, dirty, old bed, ...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AAE is close to public transportation and had very nice bathrooms.

Disliked: The radiator made it so the top bunk was way hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

arnold reyes

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 December 2012 arnold would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to eveything.

Disliked: Sort of old place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is awesome

Disliked: nothing really

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Fabio Mattioli

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 November 2012

Liked: I liked the prime location, the nice staff, and the price

Disliked: I have been travelling in many hostel, and AAE Amsteram in San Francisco is by far the worst I ever been in in terms of hygene and cleanliness. First, as many other reviewers, the smell. Our room (a 6 beds dorm converted for 5 people) was VERY stinky. I am not particularly choosy or picky, but that was really beyond normal. Then the sheets: they were stained and full of previous tenants's hairs. Finally, the bites: I suspect I have been bitten thee by some sort of bugs (thou I doubt it's bedbugs) possibly linked to the nest of pidgeons just outside of the windows.