We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Amsterdam

Hostel | 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94108

73.3% Overall Rating

183 out of 219 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2014)

Katrina Quach thinks…

"The 6 bunk shared dorm room is spacious enough when full and the bathroom was clean. Mattresses were comfortable for a hostel. Well equipped kitchen with pancake batter in the morning ready for you…"

Read all AAE Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Dorm room occupancy is only for students and youth with an international passport or out of state student ID. Please pay attention to this. A travel itinerary may be required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
47.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
USA Hostels San Francisco
55.00 USD

Hostel 93.0% 699 reviews
Layne Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel
39.50 USD

Hostel 85.7% 584 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
37.00 USD

Hostel 73.1% 208 reviews
Mithila Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 69.6% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.3%

Overall Rating

183 out of 219 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
73.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 211 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shower was all right. Close to Union Square

Disliked: We had a room at the streetlevel next to the street. This made me feel somewhat insecure. Also, staff knocked on the door while we were already asleep to get a matras that happened to be extra in our room. The staff was friendly, but nevertheless.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness, Noisy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet

Disliked: Breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our private room for 5 people was a good size, with a nice en suite bathroom. The showers were always hot and powerful. There were various activities organised like a pub crawl which would be good for travellers on their own (or anyone!)

Disliked: Our room wasn't cleaned the whole week we were there. Staff were ok but not that helpful. The kitchen shuts for cleaning at 10am for a while for cleaning so if you miss their breakfast you can't get your own for ages!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Brendan Taggart

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Location was convenient, a short walk to Powell and Market or Union Square. Plenty of good eating and drinking options close by.

Disliked: Very old and dated. Could do with an overhaul throughout, but as a hostel now, that is not likely to happen without prices going up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Boag

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Best for the price in San Fran. Cook your own pancakes awesome.

Disliked: Just be aware if coming by car they dont actually have parking on site but discounted rates around the corner at a garage 15 per day this was a little misleading from the website.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Roman Shapovalov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013

Liked: wifi available everywhere, good location, shower and toilet in the room

Disliked: lockers could be opened even if the lock is attached, which makes them useless.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kaj Fjellving

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 Kaj would recommend this property

Liked: That there was a computer with internet which we could use.

Disliked: There was no ladder up to the above bed. Breakfast was only pancakes.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Natasha Shroff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Its a nice hostel close to union square, I liked it!

Disliked: Natasha left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean room

Disliked: Charged us tax on the remaining amount due so the total was way more than expected. Also asked for $20 in cash for a key deposit, and the ATM charged $3.50 to withdraw. Overall the guy at the front desk made us feel like he was trying to nickel and dime us. If we had known it would be $15 more than the total on HostelBookers, we might have stayed somewhere else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Punanov

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2013 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff, informal atmosphere, lots of additional options (you can leave the laggage before check-in and after the check-out, possibility to order a shuttle to airport, free wi-fi, conputers to use, kitchen etc), style of interior, low prices

Disliked: There was just one chair in my room for 4 persons. Lack of electricity sockets in the room (just 2) for 4 people. I think it would be good if adaptors for American sockets are available in the hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Sam Meegan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, walkable to all main attractions if you're keen. I did walk to golden gate but its a long way. Kitchen was good for cooking although did lack certain stuff. Staff really friendly. Big lockers.

Disliked: Longer term guests made it feel more like their home. Pretty dirty in places ie. certain corners and along the skirting. Had a gap in the window, stuffed with toilet roll. Although it didn't bother me male only became mixed. Kitchen lacked basic equipment to start off although they seemed to restock the cutlery midweek. Not enough space to store everyones food. WiFi was poor, kept cutting out but it was free. Bunk beds lack ladders and safety rail.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tim Sagona

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: No issues here...it's exactly as advertised.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great value

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Schaerer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: staff, other travellers, breakfast, rooms, location

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katharina Penits

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tak Hei YU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Tak Hei would recommend this property

Liked: it s clean

Disliked: Tak Hei left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Florian Roth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the Price and the Location of the hostel

Disliked: The staff wasn't very friendly, there were no forks in the kitchen an just 7 chairs in the dining room. We had to eat while standing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is situated in an ideal location. The cooking area is huge and has everything you could possibly need. Internet services are free and rooms have private bathrooms.

Disliked: Top bunks have no guard rail (terrifying) and when asking staff for help they were very under-knowledgable about the area.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Staff members are hopeless. Very unhelpful and unfriendly. Saw them smoking marijuana so it appeared that they were stoned most of the time. They stuffed up our rooms at check in so we had to wait 2 extra hours and I ended up sleeping on a mattress on the floor.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pancakes for breakfast are delicious! The room was okay. The hotel is very cheap so it's DEFINITELY worth your money!!

Disliked: One of the beds had not been cleaned upon arrival and there was still trash from previous guests in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: self made breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rate was low, the location great, the clients very considerate. Not a wild party place. Good pancakes in morning :)

Disliked: Not much...it is what it is. Rooms could be a little nicer, but at $20/night, it's a good value.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nora Leota Masch

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 February 2013 Nora Leota would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice and helping and the pancakes were tasty. I also liked the outside atrium behind the kitchen, where you can sit and eat. The painted the wals with nice pictures and we had a table in the room to sit on.

Disliked: From an environmental point of view it was hard there. It was cold when I arrived and because there are noch window seals it was drafty although the heating was turned on very much. The Wi Fi wasn't good. It was slow and Skype was almost impossible to bear.