HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel San Francisco Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 70%

Location 86%

Safety 81%

Staff 79%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Dorm room occupancy is only for students and youth with an international passport or out of state student ID. Please pay attention to this. A travel itinerary may be required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 70%

Location 86%

Safety 81%

Staff 79%

Value 75%

Showing 11-20 of 67 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big lockers, ensuite bathroom

Disliked: For the price, I was a bit disappointed - blankets weren't cleaned (only sheets), slow internet and not a lot of space to hang out

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staying at Amsterdam hostel was pretty nice. Just few blocks away from union square. Walking to piers or event to fishermens wharf takes no more than 20 minutes. For breakfast you can have as many pancakes as you want. As long as you can make them on you own.

Disliked: A kettle in kitchen would be useful. Boiling water in a pot is a little bit outdated.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly Receptionist

Disliked: The location makes it difficult for travellers with large luggages

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fridge, microwave, stoves to use, but "only" from 7am-10pmcomputers available, good wifi

Disliked: Breakfast means only pancake mix, jam sirup and coffee/teanot what i personally like to start my day with and make sure you dont collide with breakfast rush hour when everybodys sloping pancake mix over the stove :) but it was alright, better than nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: close 2 my best friends Apt!!!

Disliked: they did not write down my request!!!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is really good. You can go to a lot of the tourist places by walking or renting a bike. The neighborhood is quiet.

Disliked: The kitchen close at 10am (after breakfast) and 10pm. If you arrive after 10pm you can`t cook or use the kitchen stuff anymore.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: The room is very nice than I thought.

Disliked: I found it hard to lock the bathroom's door. Becayse the locker was curved.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Nice TV room, computers room, kitchen.

Disliked: The shower has a lot of pressure but the amount of water that comes out is minimal. There is no way to get it on a normal temperature: it's freezing or boiling. The water comes out so hard that makes the bathroom all windy. Yes windy. There is wind inside the bathroom. It's so obnoxious.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Kitchen is lacking, broken window in bathroom, dirty bathrooms, I had to switch rooms in a two night stay and did not know upon booking.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location and cheap price could not be faulted. one member of staff was particularly helpful.

Disliked: tried to say when I checked in that booking had been cancelled, it had not! Then tried to offer me a bed at a more expensive price. Staff member insisted I had cancelled when I very obviously hadn't. Eventually after phoning his boss I got a room at same price. I don't know if they were trying to pull a fast one. Apart from that very bad impression at the start, other staff were friendly and helpful. Place is dated etc but if you want somewhere cheap go for it, I slept there and the rest of the time explored the great city!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability