We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Amsterdam

Hostel | 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94108

72.6% Overall Rating

191 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/02/2015)

kareb harvey thinks…

"location and cheap price could not be faulted. one member of staff was particularly helpful."

Read all AAE Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Dorm room occupancy is only for students and youth with an international passport or out of state student ID. Please pay attention to this. A travel itinerary may be required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
47.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Post Hotel
145.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 90.2% 717 reviews
Layne Hotel
34.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel
46.00 USD

Hostel 86.6% 597 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
32.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 218 reviews
Mithila Hotel
28.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 69.6% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.6%

Overall Rating

191 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
72.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 169 of 221 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No curfews!! Also the secure lockers in the room, and cleaning staff! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mandy Wuensch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Mandy would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great property at all! Was a former hotel, so the dorms have their private bathroom, which is not usual at all! Really enjoyable!!! The place has everything you need as a backpacker and more! It's even close to supermarket and in walkable distance to lots of sights, the Fishermans wharf, the piers, cable car... And all in all the staff makes the place! They are all so friendly and helpful and with great knowledge about the environment! Recommend the place for that value of money in the States for 100%! I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kate McCullagh

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfier than most

Disliked: Not enough power outlets

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like this hostel. The staffs are so nice and considerable. They offer pancakes and coffee as breakfast. What impress me most is they have service for picking up to airport. In San Francisco, the hills are not easy to get through especially having a lot of luggage with you. Just 12 dollars they can pick you up or drop you in the airport. It really gives me a great help.

Disliked: The cookers and the bunks are too old. Maybe they should renew them a little bit.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pancake breakfast, bathroom in the room, free computers to use downstairs! I had a great time here, there was a really good vibe at this hostel! Easy location to get around the city too!!

Disliked: Wifi didn't work in the dorm rooms, also the staff weren't very helpful! Didnt seem willing to help when you asked them questions, I was often asked to 'google it' when I had a questions about San Fran... also the bunks in my dorm room had no ladders so people were jumping off them!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room with the TV and comfy couches. The friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: WIFI is absolutely awful......keeps on disconnecting. My key card never worked either so had to bring to reception each time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RAMESH BITRA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 RAMESH would recommend this property

Liked: Close to downtown and easy access to public transport system

Disliked: Nothing specific

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that even though it's a hostel, you can rent a room to yourself and at a great rate.

Disliked: I think they should invest in a few waffle makers. It's a bit tough to make your own pancake breakfast when a few people are trying to do it at the same time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful staff, pancake-dough was provided for breakfast, seperate washrooms for each dorm/room (were cleaned every day), low rates for dorms/rooms

Disliked: Wifi-connection was bad in the rooms (but very good in Lobby and Kitchen/Diningroom), the upper beds in the dorms don´t have a ladder (so hard to get up for smaller people)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tina Reuter

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the Hostel very much. The location was good, we got free pancakes for breakfast, and the bathrooms were inside the room which was very convenient.

Disliked: My friend and I got split up into two different rooms although it was one booking.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the kitchen is not clean... facilities is old

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

wenston checkarelli

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 March 2014 wenston would recommend this property

Liked: its a really nice place to stay i enjoy it

Disliked: the price was a little high but its okay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a great place! Clean, safe, big dorms with good mattresses and spacious lockers, good pressure from the shower, free pancakes for breakfast (you have to make them by yourself, they provide the pancake mix), free tea and coffee, cozy lounge, friendly staff, central located with easy access to all public transport. And on my checkout day I left my luggage there and in the afternoon when I came back after a long city tour I could even havte a shower and hang out in the lounge till my nightbus to LA was leaving. I stayed in over 150 hostels all over the world and this is my number 3. Thanks for staying with you guys, I would always come back.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Provided a good breakfast each morning. It was in a good location easy access to most areas in San Francisco. The bed was comfy

Disliked: The showers were not warm and we had to wait an extra hour to check. And another couple we met whilst waiting had been waiting to hours.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jose Vitor da Silva Macedo

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

03 January 2014 Jose Vitor would recommend this property

Liked: I like the localization, the staff and the atmosphere.

Disliked: The staff said that there is breakfast but you need to cook your own breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, bathroom-inside most of the rooms, so you don't go to hallways for bathroom. Bathroom inside the room include shower, tub, toilet & sink. Very convenient. Very clean bathrooms and rooms too.

Disliked: Kitchen. Small kitchen, and dinning area. Not full breakfast too. You just make your own pancake. Generally kitchen is not fancy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013

Liked: Price and location

Disliked: Internet was really slow, staff was unfriendly. Rooms were not clean. First day I used my own lenin and some disgusting guy was sleeping on my bed when I came back to room. Don't ever go. Worst experience ever

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful stuff

Disliked: Lots of disturbance due to noise and other sounds at the night and morning

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

abelardo Arias

Alone

Events / festivals

11 December 2013

Liked: The managment poor ,d'ont send comfirmation of the resevation. No be interest at this location,at the future.

Disliked: Poor logistics, need manaent to undestand what is send confirmation of the reservation , I lost the cost of one day for that reason,

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Luca Torella

Alone

City break

13 November 2013 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: position

Disliked: no credit cards, cash only

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gabor Csupity

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, place a bit lacks of atmosphere and no common room or place to meet other travellers except kitchen or dorm

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and RELATIVE cost

Disliked: Poorly cleaned room with broken toilet, broken curtains, broken fridge. Hostel long, long overdue renovation.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location wasn't bad, staff is friendly. Bathroom in the room itself is nice to have.

Disliked: The rickety old bunk beds are from the 1940's with no ladder or stool to stand on to get up there. Dangerous at best. I jumped up from standing on a chair while my roommate had to use the locker shelf as a step up.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Quentin Truffert

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Quentin would recommend this property

Liked: Auberge correct, globalement bien située, propose des réductions (location de vélos notamment), salle de bain privée dans chaque chambre, propre

Disliked: Personnel peu acceuillant et pas très aidant, le petit déjeuner consiste en un saladier de pâte à pancakes qu'il faut se faire soit même, plutôt loin de la station greyhound (35 minutes à pied)