HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of AAE S.F. European Hostel San Francisco Hostel

761 Minna Street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 55%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 54%

Location 64%

Safety 58%

Staff 60%

Value 63%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay.

Dorm Beds require ID out of San Francisco area. Males over the age of 30 cannot occupy a dorm bed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 55%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 54%

Location 64%

Safety 58%

Staff 60%

Value 63%

Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice people there. Made me feel welcome. Great atmosphere and got to meet people from around the world

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, not too expensive

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice and comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was a cheap place to sleep. You get what you pay for. I wouldn't stay there again unless I am traveling on a super tight budget.

Disliked: I've read previous reviews before booking so I set my expectation lower. It is a very old house, rooms were small but the toilets were clean. The area isn't the safest in San fran so anytime staying there needs to be extra vigilant when walking around there

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was the cheapest I could find.

Disliked: Not enough toilets and showers. Didn't matter if it was morning or night you had to wait for one to be free. Not very clean. Bathroom was cleaned once in the 3 nights we stayed. Carpet in room was pretty gross.We were also charged extra on arrival to the balance owing stated on my hostel bookers print out.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: it was close to public transportation and Civic Center zone. people working there are frienldy and helpful; people staying as visitors come from every corner of the world and are all normal people.

Disliked: we found RATS in our rooms, we heard them coming out at night looking for trash, we also found them inside traps left by staff inside the room. As we told the reception about the situation, they didn't seem surprised and it took some hours before someone came upstairs to take care of it. also, I found toilets dirty as hell at times, other times they were out of order, my advise would be to be careful when you use restrooms and showers.

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -

Disliked: It was filthy. Linen was covered in mystery stains such as blood, sweat and covered in pubic hair. Bathrooms were filthy and staff was unhelpful. Hallways and rooms smelt like stale cigarettes. Location was in a dodgy alleyway which our cab driver warned us about.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The kitchen and the bathrooms were okay I guess and the location is pretty good too.

Disliked: The common area was quite depressing and small and during my entire stay there was a mouse in the dorm room that they tried to catch with mouse traps. It is fairly inexpensive, sure, so you really get what you pay for.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Close to trolley.

Disliked: It's small.

Check Availability