We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE S.F. European Hostel

Hostel | 761 Minna St, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94103

52.7% Overall Rating

67 out of 132 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2015)

ERLYN MATEO thinks…

"The readiness of staff to help when you need it... they will respond quickly whether in person or online... got to wherever i want to go with front desk guy Andy's sincere approach. Surely will stay…"

Read all AAE S.F. European Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Dorm Beds require ID out of San Francisco area. Males over the age of 30 cannot occupy a dorm bed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Civic Center Motor Inn
32.25 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Winsor Hotel
27.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.3% 25 reviews
Europa Hostel
29.99 USD

Hostel 61.1% 19 reviews
HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel
39.99 USD

Hostel 80.3% 80 reviews
Cova Hotel
218.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.1% 56 reviews
Travelodge Central
29.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.6% 44 reviews
San Francisco International Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 79.3% 946 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 81.9% 225 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.7%

Overall Rating

67 out of 132 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE S.F. European Hostel'

Atmosphere
48.8%
Location
55.2%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
61.6%
Value
57.6%
Safety
54.4%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 126 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

KANAE AKADA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015 KANAE would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: noisy

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 April 2015

Liked: 1 block to the bart

Disliked: most all of it except 1 block to the bart

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 March 2015

Liked: Mmm

Disliked: The smell

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERLYN MATEO

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015 ERLYN would recommend this property

Liked: The readiness of staff to help when you need it... they will respond quickly whether in person or online... got to wherever i want to go with front desk guy Andy's sincere approach. Surely will stay again when i comeback to Sqn Francisco... great experience! Erlyn Mateo

Disliked: Well... just maybe i gained weight so i needed a bigger space when going up & down of stair... ? Other than the narrow stairway the rest of what the hostel can offer is just fine...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2015

Liked: staff is very friendly and offer nice advice

Disliked: Some of the other patrons seem very sketchy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

30 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy walk to BART, downtown. Just off the beaten path.

Disliked: Bit cramped.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Natalie Schneider

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms ok, kitchen use ok

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms, staff not helpful, area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy and cheap

Disliked: Nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: In bad area. Staff charged me , not counting the 12% that I had paid while reserving. That is fraud. They retained $5 from the 10 dollar key deposit. That is also,fraud. East Indians are dishonest.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is under spoken, but very nice. They let me early checkin too, and didn't mind me doing a bug repack.

Disliked: I've stayed before, and it's very barebones and often dirty.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rasmus Lindell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2014

Liked: We didn't like anything here

Disliked: No lockers or trash can on the rooms. Just one bathroom (combined shower and toilet). No breakfast what so ever. No safe place to put our bags after check out (just put in the common area). Quite bad location.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 September 2014

Liked: Only thing is its location near down town

Disliked: Dirty and unsafe

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Aaron Johnson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 September 2014

Liked: A cheap place to fall asleep. And the inside is pretty interesting

Disliked: The area is bad. Its located in some back alley with many homeless

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014

Liked: in walking distance to the city

Disliked: dirty, not clean, very small rooms, barks and mouses in the room, very small common area where you don't really want to hang out, they don't store your luggage, you can put it into the room your staying in at the arrival or leave it in the kitchen when you leave worst hostel I stayed during my 9 month travel! but the stuff is helpful and friendly and the mattresses are really good!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Claire Gaynor

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014

Liked: The price was probably the best thing about it.

Disliked: The was a smell of urine in all of the hallways and the bedsheets appeared stained and dirty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kiralee Riseborough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Kiralee would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy- friendly guests and staff

Disliked: Dirty pillow

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014

Liked: The company in the dorm

Disliked: Mice in the bedroom

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014

Liked: This hostel is very cheap.

Disliked: It is located in dangerous place.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jennifer pardoe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: jennifer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jack Clarkson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: staff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Soriano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: good for the price

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very basic, but you get what you pay for. I have definitely seen wors and the staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher young

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 July 2014 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Simple and what we needed. It had a clean beds and everyone was friendly.

Disliked: Too far from the main destinations

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Honestly the worst hostel experience Ive had and Ive stayed at hostels all over the world. In the seediest location ever. 30$ a night was a complete rip off. I stayed out until 3:30am bc I didnt want to sleep here. Had a 3 night stay but checked out immediately the next day and got a hotel for 200. I dont care I just wanted to get out of there!