We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE S.F. European Hostel

Hostel | 761 Minna St, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94103

55.4% Overall Rating

65 out of 127 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2015)

ERLYN MATEO thinks…

"The readiness of staff to help when you need it... they will respond quickly whether in person or online... got to wherever i want to go with front desk guy Andy's sincere approach. Surely will stay…"

Read all AAE S.F. European Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Dorm Beds require ID out of San Francisco area. Males over the age of 30 cannot occupy a dorm bed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Civic Center Motor Inn
34.75 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Winsor Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 24 reviews
Europa Hostel
24.99 USD

Hostel 61.1% 16 reviews
HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel
36.00 USD

Hostel 79.5% 78 reviews
Cova Hotel
165.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.1% 56 reviews
Travelodge Central
29.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.6% 44 reviews
San Francisco International Hostel
26.25 USD

Hostel 79.4% 928 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 218 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
55.4%

Overall Rating

65 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE S.F. European Hostel'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
58.4%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
66.4%
Value
59.2%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 121 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERLYN MATEO

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015 ERLYN would recommend this property

Liked: The readiness of staff to help when you need it... they will respond quickly whether in person or online... got to wherever i want to go with front desk guy Andy's sincere approach. Surely will stay again when i comeback to Sqn Francisco... great experience! Erlyn Mateo

Disliked: Well... just maybe i gained weight so i needed a bigger space when going up & down of stair... ? Other than the narrow stairway the rest of what the hostel can offer is just fine...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2015

Liked: staff is very friendly and offer nice advice

Disliked: Some of the other patrons seem very sketchy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

30 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy walk to BART, downtown. Just off the beaten path.

Disliked: Bit cramped.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Natalie Schneider

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms ok, kitchen use ok

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms, staff not helpful, area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy and cheap

Disliked: Nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: In bad area. Staff charged me , not counting the 12% that I had paid while reserving. That is fraud. They retained $5 from the 10 dollar key deposit. That is also,fraud. East Indians are dishonest.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is under spoken, but very nice. They let me early checkin too, and didn't mind me doing a bug repack.

Disliked: I've stayed before, and it's very barebones and often dirty.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rasmus Lindell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2014

Liked: We didn't like anything here

Disliked: No lockers or trash can on the rooms. Just one bathroom (combined shower and toilet). No breakfast what so ever. No safe place to put our bags after check out (just put in the common area). Quite bad location.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 September 2014

Liked: Only thing is its location near down town

Disliked: Dirty and unsafe

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Aaron Johnson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 September 2014

Liked: A cheap place to fall asleep. And the inside is pretty interesting

Disliked: The area is bad. Its located in some back alley with many homeless

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014

Liked: in walking distance to the city

Disliked: dirty, not clean, very small rooms, barks and mouses in the room, very small common area where you don't really want to hang out, they don't store your luggage, you can put it into the room your staying in at the arrival or leave it in the kitchen when you leave worst hostel I stayed during my 9 month travel! but the stuff is helpful and friendly and the mattresses are really good!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Claire Gaynor

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014

Liked: The price was probably the best thing about it.

Disliked: The was a smell of urine in all of the hallways and the bedsheets appeared stained and dirty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kiralee Riseborough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Kiralee would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy- friendly guests and staff

Disliked: Dirty pillow

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014

Liked: The company in the dorm

Disliked: Mice in the bedroom

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014

Liked: This hostel is very cheap.

Disliked: It is located in dangerous place.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jennifer pardoe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: jennifer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jack Clarkson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: staff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Soriano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: good for the price

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very basic, but you get what you pay for. I have definitely seen wors and the staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher young

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 July 2014 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Simple and what we needed. It had a clean beds and everyone was friendly.

Disliked: Too far from the main destinations

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Honestly the worst hostel experience Ive had and Ive stayed at hostels all over the world. In the seediest location ever. 30$ a night was a complete rip off. I stayed out until 3:30am bc I didnt want to sleep here. Had a 3 night stay but checked out immediately the next day and got a hotel for 200. I dont care I just wanted to get out of there!

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2014

Liked: Honestly nothing

Disliked: The hostel was just awful (period). I've stayed at many hostels all over the world and this one really takes the cake in terms of shadiness. For 25$ a night it was a complete rip off. It is located in the seediest neighborhood in SF. I read other reviews saying it was in a seedy location but I was like okay whatever Ive been to seedy places before, but no, LISTEN to them! I booked it for three night and got out of there the next day and paid 200 for a hotel. They kept my money for the second night, and I didnt care, I just wanted to get out of there! DO not stay here. Spend another 25$ more and stay at a better hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Vincent Collins

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

28 May 2014 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Very affordable

Disliked: Minimalistic

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2014

Liked: It had lockers (small lockers)

Disliked: Well where to start - the staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming. On asking whether we could do laundry at the hostel we were told best not to, use the one down the road. The area was not great and we were followed home once - would not recommend it for women travelling alone. This is not, and I emphasize this, a backpackers hostel - most of the people in this hostel live there and are working in San Francisco. It does not have a good atmosphere at all. Perhaps the worst thing about this hostel however was the bathroom situation. Per floor there were 2 bathrooms and 1 extra shower. On a floor, at a guess, I would say there were roughly 50 people. Needless to say you never got into the bathroom and you had to queue to brush your teeth in the morning. If you wanted a shower, really you had leave it until the afternoon. Having had this appalling experience, me and my friend insisted on leaving and were told there was a no refund policy! Deciding we couldn't stay in this hostel we paid for a night that we weren't there just to get out. Don't go here!! All in all this was the worst hostel I have ever been to. Ever!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Fabian Lodermeyer

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

21 May 2014

Liked: absoluteley nothing!!!

Disliked: Starting with the neighbourhood it was the most dangerous part of our travel. It was absolutely decadent from the outside and didn't get better from the inside. The property is in really bad state and no real security at all. The most thrilling experience was finding a used needle in the bathroom!!!! Besides, there were homeless people cooking in the kitchen. Regardless the exaggerated these comments may look like, they are not even 1/10th of the reality!