We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE S.F. European Hostel

Hostel | 761 Minna St, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94103

53.5% Overall Rating

70 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2015)

XiaoXiao Feng thinks…

"It was a cheap place to sleep. You get what you pay for. I wouldn't stay there again unless I am traveling on a super tight budget."

Read all AAE S.F. European Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Dorm Beds require ID out of San Francisco area. Males over the age of 30 cannot occupy a dorm bed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Civic Center Motor Inn
42.25 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 68.6% 3 reviews
Winsor Hotel
47.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.4% 37 reviews
Europa Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 59.8% 25 reviews
HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel
48.00 USD

Hostel 81.1% 94 reviews
Cova Hotel
200.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.8% 60 reviews
Travelodge Central
37.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.9% 46 reviews
San Francisco International Hostel
34.00 USD

Hostel 65.9% 987 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
44.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 246 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
53.5%

Overall Rating

70 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE S.F. European Hostel'

Atmosphere
48.8%
Location
59.2%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
54.4%
Value
57.6%
Safety
55.2%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 138 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alexandra Elliott

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2015

Liked: It was the cheapest I could find.

Disliked: Not enough toilets and showers. Didn't matter if it was morning or night you had to wait for one to be free. Not very clean. Bathroom was cleaned once in the 3 nights we stayed. Carpet in room was pretty gross. We were also charged extra on arrival to the balance owing stated on my hostel bookers print out.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

XiaoXiao Feng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2015

Liked: It was a cheap place to sleep. You get what you pay for. I wouldn't stay there again unless I am traveling on a super tight budget.

Disliked: I've read previous reviews before booking so I set my expectation lower. It is a very old house, rooms were small but the toilets were clean. The area isn't the safest in San fran so anytime staying there needs to be extra vigilant when walking around there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 July 2015

Liked: it was close to public transportation and Civic Center zone. people working there are frienldy and helpful; people staying as visitors come from every corner of the world and are all normal people.

Disliked: we found RATS in our rooms, we heard them coming out at night looking for trash, we also found them inside traps left by staff inside the room. As we told the reception about the situation, they didn't seem surprised and it took some hours before someone came upstairs to take care of it. also, I found toilets dirty as hell at times, other times they were out of order, my advise would be to be careful when you use restrooms and showers.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2015

Liked: -

Disliked: It was filthy. Linen was covered in mystery stains such as blood, sweat and covered in pubic hair. Bathrooms were filthy and staff was unhelpful. Hallways and rooms smelt like stale cigarettes. Location was in a dodgy alleyway which our cab driver warned us about.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015

Liked: The kitchen and the bathrooms were okay I guess and the location is pretty good too.

Disliked: The common area was quite depressing and small and during my entire stay there was a mouse in the dorm room that they tried to catch with mouse traps. It is fairly inexpensive, sure, so you really get what you pay for.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2015

Liked: Close to trolley.

Disliked: It's small.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

KANAE AKADA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015 KANAE would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: noisy

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 April 2015

Liked: 1 block to the bart

Disliked: most all of it except 1 block to the bart

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 March 2015

Liked: Mmm

Disliked: The smell

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERLYN MATEO

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015 ERLYN would recommend this property

Liked: The readiness of staff to help when you need it... they will respond quickly whether in person or online... got to wherever i want to go with front desk guy Andy's sincere approach. Surely will stay again when i comeback to Sqn Francisco... great experience! Erlyn Mateo

Disliked: Well... just maybe i gained weight so i needed a bigger space when going up & down of stair... ? Other than the narrow stairway the rest of what the hostel can offer is just fine...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2015

Liked: staff is very friendly and offer nice advice

Disliked: Some of the other patrons seem very sketchy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

30 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy walk to BART, downtown. Just off the beaten path.

Disliked: Bit cramped.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Natalie Schneider

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms ok, kitchen use ok

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms, staff not helpful, area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy and cheap

Disliked: Nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: In bad area. Staff charged me , not counting the 12% that I had paid while reserving. That is fraud. They retained $5 from the 10 dollar key deposit. That is also,fraud. East Indians are dishonest.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is under spoken, but very nice. They let me early checkin too, and didn't mind me doing a bug repack.

Disliked: I've stayed before, and it's very barebones and often dirty.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rasmus Lindell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2014

Liked: We didn't like anything here

Disliked: No lockers or trash can on the rooms. Just one bathroom (combined shower and toilet). No breakfast what so ever. No safe place to put our bags after check out (just put in the common area). Quite bad location.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 September 2014

Liked: Only thing is its location near down town

Disliked: Dirty and unsafe

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Aaron Johnson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 September 2014

Liked: A cheap place to fall asleep. And the inside is pretty interesting

Disliked: The area is bad. Its located in some back alley with many homeless

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014

Liked: in walking distance to the city

Disliked: dirty, not clean, very small rooms, barks and mouses in the room, very small common area where you don't really want to hang out, they don't store your luggage, you can put it into the room your staying in at the arrival or leave it in the kitchen when you leave worst hostel I stayed during my 9 month travel! but the stuff is helpful and friendly and the mattresses are really good!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Claire Gaynor

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014

Liked: The price was probably the best thing about it.

Disliked: The was a smell of urine in all of the hallways and the bedsheets appeared stained and dirty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kiralee Riseborough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Kiralee would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy- friendly guests and staff

Disliked: Dirty pillow