We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE S.F. European Hostel

Hostel | 761 Minna St, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94103

50.9% Overall Rating

61 out of 119 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/09/2014)

"The owner is under spoken, but very nice. They let me early checkin too, and didn't mind me doing a bug repack."

Read all AAE S.F. European Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Dorm Beds require ID out of San Francisco area. Males over the age of 30 cannot occupy a dorm bed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Civic Center Motor Inn
27.25 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Winsor Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.7% 23 reviews
Europa Hostel
22.99 USD

Hostel 59.8% 13 reviews
HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 82.6% 74 reviews
Cova Hotel
55.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.2% 55 reviews
Travelodge Central
24.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.7% 43 reviews
San Francisco International Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 67.3% 902 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
26.00 USD

Hostel 77.3% 213 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
50.9%

Overall Rating

61 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE S.F. European Hostel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
56.8%
Facilities
41.6%
Cleanliness
42.4%
Staff
61.6%
Value
52.8%
Safety
53.6%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 113 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is under spoken, but very nice. They let me early checkin too, and didn't mind me doing a bug repack.

Disliked: I've stayed before, and it's very barebones and often dirty.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rasmus Lindell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2014

Liked: We didn't like anything here

Disliked: No lockers or trash can on the rooms. Just one bathroom (combined shower and toilet). No breakfast what so ever. No safe place to put our bags after check out (just put in the common area). Quite bad location.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 September 2014

Liked: Only thing is its location near down town

Disliked: Dirty and unsafe

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Aaron Johnson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 September 2014

Liked: A cheap place to fall asleep. And the inside is pretty interesting

Disliked: The area is bad. Its located in some back alley with many homeless

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014

Liked: in walking distance to the city

Disliked: dirty, not clean, very small rooms, barks and mouses in the room, very small common area where you don't really want to hang out, they don't store your luggage, you can put it into the room your staying in at the arrival or leave it in the kitchen when you leave worst hostel I stayed during my 9 month travel! but the stuff is helpful and friendly and the mattresses are really good!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Claire Gaynor

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014

Liked: The price was probably the best thing about it.

Disliked: The was a smell of urine in all of the hallways and the bedsheets appeared stained and dirty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kiralee Riseborough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Kiralee would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy- friendly guests and staff

Disliked: Dirty pillow

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014

Liked: The company in the dorm

Disliked: Mice in the bedroom

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014

Liked: This hostel is very cheap.

Disliked: It is located in dangerous place.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jennifer pardoe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: jennifer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jack Clarkson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: staff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Soriano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: good for the price

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very basic, but you get what you pay for. I have definitely seen wors and the staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher young

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 July 2014 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Simple and what we needed. It had a clean beds and everyone was friendly.

Disliked: Too far from the main destinations

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Honestly the worst hostel experience Ive had and Ive stayed at hostels all over the world. In the seediest location ever. 30$ a night was a complete rip off. I stayed out until 3:30am bc I didnt want to sleep here. Had a 3 night stay but checked out immediately the next day and got a hotel for 200. I dont care I just wanted to get out of there!

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2014

Liked: Honestly nothing

Disliked: The hostel was just awful (period). I've stayed at many hostels all over the world and this one really takes the cake in terms of shadiness. For 25$ a night it was a complete rip off. It is located in the seediest neighborhood in SF. I read other reviews saying it was in a seedy location but I was like okay whatever Ive been to seedy places before, but no, LISTEN to them! I booked it for three night and got out of there the next day and paid 200 for a hotel. They kept my money for the second night, and I didnt care, I just wanted to get out of there! DO not stay here. Spend another 25$ more and stay at a better hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Vincent Collins

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

28 May 2014 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Very affordable

Disliked: Minimalistic

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2014

Liked: It had lockers (small lockers)

Disliked: Well where to start - the staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming. On asking whether we could do laundry at the hostel we were told best not to, use the one down the road. The area was not great and we were followed home once - would not recommend it for women travelling alone. This is not, and I emphasize this, a backpackers hostel - most of the people in this hostel live there and are working in San Francisco. It does not have a good atmosphere at all. Perhaps the worst thing about this hostel however was the bathroom situation. Per floor there were 2 bathrooms and 1 extra shower. On a floor, at a guess, I would say there were roughly 50 people. Needless to say you never got into the bathroom and you had to queue to brush your teeth in the morning. If you wanted a shower, really you had leave it until the afternoon. Having had this appalling experience, me and my friend insisted on leaving and were told there was a no refund policy! Deciding we couldn't stay in this hostel we paid for a night that we weren't there just to get out. Don't go here!! All in all this was the worst hostel I have ever been to. Ever!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Fabian Lodermeyer

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

21 May 2014

Liked: absoluteley nothing!!!

Disliked: Starting with the neighbourhood it was the most dangerous part of our travel. It was absolutely decadent from the outside and didn't get better from the inside. The property is in really bad state and no real security at all. The most thrilling experience was finding a used needle in the bathroom!!!! Besides, there were homeless people cooking in the kitchen. Regardless the exaggerated these comments may look like, they are not even 1/10th of the reality!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap: I stayed four nights and paid way less than I would anywhere else. The location was nice in that it was close to busses and trains. It is NOT in a nice neighborhood and I didn't feel safe walking around after dark.

Disliked: Very small cramped rooms, and not enough power plugs for people to charge things in, especially if there are a lot of power adapters and converters. There are only two bathrooms on each floor, which is a pain when we are sharing with 20 or more people. Also, the bathrooms aren't very clean and definitely don't look newly renovated. The kitchen and common room was DISGUSTING. Also, they don't have a place to lock your bags, and you're expected to leave your stuff in the common area if you have a later flight. Thankfully no one was super dodgy in the hostel, but it was a little annoying to have to carry everything with me on my last few hours in SF before acting a PM flight. Also, I'm not sure how well the maid comes to "clean" the bed rooms. I stayed four days and it didn't look like she came in there once. And the blankets and linens look like they were bought at the salvation army.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It wasn't bad, I had a double private room and the outside was a little sketch but once you're inside it's not terrible. It was just annoying on our floor there was only two bathroom for everyone on the floor so 20+ ppl expecting to use these restroom. The common room was boring and the couchs were out dated and had stains on them. The kitchen was nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location, very cheap, big kitchen. Good showers, good wifi and overall good value!

Disliked: There were a few people who seemed to live here for a long time and overall it was a pretty starnge crowd. But strange is not always bad, I would say it was pretty intresting. Rooms were quite hot but rather that then the opposite.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014

Liked: .

Disliked: Rude unhelpful staff, no one wants to chat or make friends

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eduardo Silva Lira

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 April 2014 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: The cost/benefit relation in this place is what makes it good! I've already been in several hostels, and this one was in the same patterns. The bathrooms were really clean, even though you have to share them with the other rooms, and so was the kitchen. The beds are really confortable, and it's just a few blocks from transportation to any part of the city! It also offers lockers, so you can be "safer", and all the bedrooms have keys. I felt really good staying there.

Disliked: I just stayed there for one night, but I missed the "gathering" thing, you know? The promotion of interaction between people hosted there. Also, even though the rooms and bathrooms were clean, there is a mold smell in the halls.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: Not enought showers