HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Encore Express Hotel/Hostel San Francisco

Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 70%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 88%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

We would like to inform you that our Front Desk is only open from 9:30am to 11:00pm (Monday to Sunday). Guest will need to call or email us for special late check in or early check in instructions. You will find all the contact details on your booking confirmation email.

Upon check-in at the photo identification and credit card is required. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. 15.5 % Tax is not included.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 70%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 88%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 70 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: -One of the cheapest in SF-Good wifi

Disliked: -No common area to hang out-No kitchen-Not enough bathrooms-Single pane windows let in cold and street noise-Band rehearsals until 11pm disturb people who are jet lagged and want to sleep early-Reception open from around 9am to 11pm. Not convenient for late check-in.-They changed my room without telling me after 1st night due to overbooking and disactivated my keycard . Luckily I was totally jet lagged came back before 11pm to get keycard activated for new room. Otherwise, could have been locked out in the middle of the night!!-Cheapness and location means it attracts interesting characters. Some folks live in the hostel and will either sneak in their friends in who will then steal your bed or become hostile and territorial about you invading "their" space

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location as plenty of bars and restaurants can be found on Polk St. and busservice is available nearby

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Big room, comfortable bed,restrooms clean and convenientlyrics located.

Disliked: Good value for money for San Francisco

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything was very clean.I really liked the clean shower room.

Disliked: 6 men dormitory was so packed with beds.There was no place to dine.There was only one shower room, and two restroom per each floor. But suprisingly I have no experience of waiting in line.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: The beds are beautifully comfortable.

Disliked: Rooms feature gas stoves and there seemed to be a gas leak due to the odor. It was not taken seriously by staff. Price quoted on your website was not the price they were charging me. This is currently under investigation.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location, Clean.

Disliked: No Aircon

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: free coffee and nice showers

Disliked: thin walls...can hear the people on the floor and the laundry and also the bands upstairs practising their music but just until 11pm

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: unable to wash my clothes due to lacking of detegent

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: .

Disliked: .

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The building is adorable! Jake the man on duty when I arrived was friendly and helpful. I felt very safe with the electric card security. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The small fridge inside your room is also good!

Disliked: There seems to be a band that practices down stairs most nights which can be a bit noisey. I am a good sleeper so it didn't really bother me though.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability