HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Encore Express Hotel/Hostel San Francisco Hostel

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 70%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 88%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

We would like to inform you that our Front Desk is only open from 9:30am to 11:00pm (Monday to Sunday). Guest will need to call or email us for special late check in or early check in instructions. You will find all the contact details on your booking confirmation email.

Upon check-in at the photo identification and credit card is required. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. 15.5 % Tax is not included.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 70%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 88%

Value 80%

Showing 31-40 of 63 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: People are all friendly.

Disliked: It's connected with disko and the sound is a little bit annoying.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Somebody left a shit in one of the few showers available. When staff were informed the laughed and did nothing about it.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place is clean, cozy and comfortable. Walking distance to China Town and Japanese Town, even Fisherman's Wharf. For this price and location, it serves quite well. Even a fridge in my room, that's a happy surprise. The shared restroom is clean. Free coffee and wifi.

Disliked: The wall doesn't serve well. I can hear other people's sounds. If someone walks through the lobby, you will hear it very clearly. Some minor drawbacks are 1. I got two room cards during my stay. Only one is working at one time. I mean, in the morning, only room card No.1 was working. When I came back at night, only room card No.2 was working. That's strange.2. The restroom needs room card to open, which is good. But it seemed like even if you lock the door, other customers can still go in with their cards. As a result, there is a sign says "knock the door before you go in". It made me feel nervous when I was using the restroom. I can't help thinking what if someone come in directly. And I believe most people won't enjoy the door being knocked, when they are inside doing daily business.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great spot , lovely people, great value for money ! I'd stay longer if it wasn't booked up ! I would definitely stay here again when travelling in San Fran !

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: the room was great!

Disliked: There was not enough room in the office for office staff and guests.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The property appears nice, there's a working fridge and sink in the room, the WIFI actually works!

Disliked: In the summer, it probably will be boiling hot inside the rooms, window could'nt be opened properly, also few restrooms and showers, expect 10 to 20 minutes waiting time during rush hour ;)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Exceptionally clean place. They have a washing machine and dryer you can use, showers that work, big and comfortable beds, filtered water etc. One of the nicest hostels I've visited.

Disliked: Office hours aren't 24 hours, and latest checkin for dorms is 11pm.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Really clean and comfortable beds!

Disliked: There is no common room, so if ur a solo traveller hard to meet others

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room we had was clean, bed was bigger than I pictured, and even though we had shared bath/showers, I never had to wait in line for either and they were both kept clean. We had clean towels everyday and our room was cleaned everyday. It was comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike, especially for the price. The first night was a little rough due to the thin walls and people talking, but by night two, it didn't bother me. Our stay here was more than we expected.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic locale! It's such a cute old building, I think of quaint when I think of it. The staff helped out with any inquiries and always had a warm hello to give. It's more hotel than hostel especially since we were on a private room, but prices more reflect those of a hostel. The bathrooms were very up to date and for the most part in clean condition.

Disliked: The lack of parking was unfortunate because we were on a road trip and needed to leave the car somewhere. There's a parking garage right next door that we left our vehicle in all during our stay. Problem it's $20 per day so calculate that into your overall cost. There's no kitchen, one shared microwave and toaster. We did our breakfast here but are out after that. Also no common area but again more hotel then hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability