HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Capitan Hotel San Francisco Hostel

2361 Mission Street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 36%

Cleanliness 36%

Facilities 38%

Location 58%

Safety 52%

Staff 50%

Value 56%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Wii

Important Information

14% city tax not included in price shown on HostelBookers.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 36%

Cleanliness 36%

Facilities 38%

Location 58%

Safety 52%

Staff 50%

Value 56%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free WiFi, room/bed was reasonable or even large for the price and included basin

Disliked: stinks, bath"room" nearly made me puke, weird permanent guests, dirty towels

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not much, to be honest.

Disliked: Staff hardly give you the time of day upon check in, doors to the rooms not very secure, dirty bathrooms and shower, the whole place stunk of smoke and weed.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great location in the heart of the mission. rooms are clean. free wifi & cable tv

Disliked: hallways & common areas are a bit grubby. staff seemed generally indifferent to guests

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was a bed

Disliked: Smell, general uncleanliness, decor

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Staff can help 24 hours. Entrance looks bad and have a bad smell but inside the room is not bad.I stayed in a private room. Amenities such as soap, shampoo, towels.. are all prepared.

Disliked: The entrance is bad on the atmosphere and smell. So it's hesitated to invite a girl friend to the hotel.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: room was clean!!!

Disliked: saw a big cock roach !!!!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: -location

Disliked: -room with no view, had to keep the curtains closed at all time to avoid sights from other rooms windows really close..-they charged me $7 more than written on the confirmation, but finally refunded me after I asked.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: When we arrived the staff was helpful and offered the office computer for personal use. The hotel was quiet, it was easy to fall asleep at night. There were two locks on my room door and I fet relatively secure about my possessions. The hotel is located in the heart of the Mission district with plenty of bars and restaraunts within two blocks either direction. Its easy to catch the bus anywhere.

Disliked: I saw a cockroach on my bedside table before it disappeared quickly. A few reviews complained about bed bugs but I did not experience any of them.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Despite what I was expecting from the other reviews, it seemed pretty clean. Secure too.

Disliked: Showers were bad. Expensive for what it was.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Bathrooms were not clean

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability