HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Capitan Hotel San Francisco Hostel

2361 Mission Street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 37%

Cleanliness 38%

Facilities 40%

Location 61%

Safety 55%

Staff 53%

Value 58%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Wii

Important Information

14% city tax not included in price shown on HostelBookers.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 37%

Cleanliness 38%

Facilities 40%

Location 61%

Safety 55%

Staff 53%

Value 58%

Showing 11-20 of 33 reviews

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Not bad location

Disliked: Shared bathroom/shower was filthy, everything needed repair, bedbugs, not helpful staff.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very convient to take bus. provide fridge and microwave in my room

Disliked: wifi is not good

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: We didn't die

Disliked: this hell hole / half way house / bail hostel is a place to avoid

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The price.

Disliked: BEDBUGS!!!!!!

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. I felt very unsafe, as soon as I arrived the man was very rude to me and when I checked in he threw the keys at me. The room stank of urine and body odour. The sinks look similar to those in the Alcatraz prison cells!

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Hmmmm!?!? Price was reasonable.

Disliked: Just about everything. It was very dirty and smelly, internet not working, manager yelling in the hallway all the time. Worst place we ever stayed at.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap prices and easy to get to location. Very near to some cool places to eat and drink. Felt safe most of the time.

Disliked: To be honest, the room was advertised with a TV, we didn't have one. Our cold tap didn't work, brushing your teeth in hot water isn't my favourite thing. The bed was awful so we decided to take the mattress and bottom layer off to fin that the metal adjustable frame base was too big so the bed base didn't sit correctly on it. (the bed looked nearly unspeakable when we arrived) after about 5 minutes of us adjusting the base an replacing the bed base and mattress the bed sat near on what it should have. With normal functioning eyes you could tell that the be looked bad, would have taken management 5 minutes to set it straight. Lastly the bathrooms/showers were not very nice although function fine.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Exactly what you can expect for 20 $ / night.If you are just looking for a place to sleep and take a shower, this is the right Hostel for you. Taking the Bus and BART you are downtown within 20 minutes, which is not bad at all.

Disliked: Not very clean rooms / showers, but ok for the price. Should not stay there if you are picky.

Customer would recommend this property

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked absolutely nothing about this place. It was filthy, poorly located and had nothing to offer.

Disliked: I disliked absolutely everything about this place. I would not recommend it to anyone.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I actually really enjoyed my stay here- it is definitely not for anybody looking for luxury! But it is very cheap- and for the price i was actually quite surprised- it is in a great location, within walking distance of the Haight, The Castro etc, and has some pretty cool bars and restaurants around. I read other characters reviews saying that the manages was incredibly rude- i would agree that he is surprising in his manner- but i think you could see him more as 'no nonsense' than rude- just try and keep out of his way!!

Disliked: It is not very clean- although i found no bedbugs as another traveller had!!- and not a very 'friendly' place, also there were some 'interesting' people staying there, i think they lived there full time- and, while i didn't mind at all, i imagine some people might have not felt very comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability