HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco Hostel

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 85%

Location 89%

Safety 85%

Staff 87%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

All reservations are accepted on a first-come, first-serve basis. Rates and availability are subject to change. Groups are considered 8 or more guests that are travelling together for a similar purpose. Group leaders must complete and sign a group reservation request form to request space at our hostels. Payment information must be included on the bottom of the form. The request is then processed and the client is informed if space is not available. We require a 50% deposit at the time of booking. The final balance is due 30 days prior to arrival. Cancellation/ forfeit policies are listed on the contract. Submitting the paperwork does not guarantee space until it’s been confirmed. We have a two-night minimum stay on the weekends (Friday and Saturday included). Check in is after 3 p.m. and check out is at 11 a.m. Linens, pillows, towels, and blankets are provided — sleeping bags may not be used. There is no curfew, but quiet hours are between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m. The group leader is responsible for all reservation details and payments and is the only person permitted to change the contract. Changes are subject to availability and must be confirmed prior to arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 85%

Location 89%

Safety 85%

Staff 87%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Atmosphere and people

Disliked: The lockers.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: View to the Golden Gate Bridge

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: No comment.good stay..too expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All is great. Dorms, kitchen, breakfast.

Disliked: Some of the staff wasn't very nice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Lucas,

Thanks your taking the time to share your experience! I am glad to hear you had a mostly enjoyable stay. I am very concerned to hear that some of our staff were unkind to you, and amso sorry if you felt at all disrespected or ignored. I will be following up with the reception staff to make sure we aren't losing sight of our sense of hospitality in this busy summer high season.

Hope you'd stay with us again on future visits to San Francisco!

Safe Travels!
Mira

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Right on the coast so really nice location.

Disliked: Great for families I suppose but as two young people we'd probably stay elsewhere if we were coming to San Francisco again. Not as vibrant as other hostels we'd stayed at. Also a bit out of the way of the city centre.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is amazing, which is why I came here again.

Disliked: Wish it was possible to stay longer.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is excellent and the breakfast and facilities are good

Disliked: The beds were pretty uncomfortable

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great safe location. Great views from the hostel as it is settled near the coastline overlooking Alcatraz.

Disliked: Although the staff was helpful when needed, not sure if they were all too excited to be there.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very nice location..greatful.super locarion, alles super.

Disliked: Sehr zu empfehlen. War alles super.auch die events und das frühstück und essensmöglichkeiten vor ort.just to recomment. All was good.events and breakfast and the other meals were great.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff, well organized. Great facilities: WIFI (that actually works), good breakfast, cheap restaurant for lunch/dinner, activities etc.

Disliked: You have to go through bit dark street to reach it. There's lots of runners in the evening though, so it's quite safe.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability