HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf

Hostel | 240 Fort Mason, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94123-1303

87.2% Overall Rating

195 out of 206 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/06/2014)

"I wasn't expecting luxury, so was very pleased with the state of the property. Very well organised, friendly staff , clean and tidy. The breakfast was good (toast + oatmeal + fruit + coffee) and there was plenty to do…"

Read all HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All reservations are accepted on a first-come, first-serve basis. Rates and availability are subject to change. Groups are considered 8 or more guests that are travelling together for a similar purpose. Group leaders must complete and sign a group reservation request form to request space at our hostels. Payment information must be included on the bottom of the form. The request is then processed and the client is informed if space is not available. We require a 50% deposit at the time of booking. The final balance is due 30 days prior to arrival. Cancellation/ forfeit policies are listed on the contract. Submitting the paperwork does not guarantee space until it’s been confirmed. We have a two-night minimum stay on the weekends (Friday and Saturday included). Check in is after 3 p.m. and check out is at 11 a.m. Linens, pillows, towels, and blankets are provided — sleeping bags may not be used. There is no curfew, but quiet hours are between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m. The group leader is responsible for all reservation details and payments and is the only person permitted to change the contract. Changes are subject to availability and must be confirmed prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Francisco Bay Inn
499.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 83.7% 7 reviews
Inn on Broadway
57.25 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 80.0% 3 reviews
Nob Hill Motor Inn
599.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Surf Motel
37.50 USD

Hostel 65.5% 12 reviews
Cable Car Court Hotel
36.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Encore Express Hotel
29.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.3% 158 reviews
Music City Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Mithila Hotel
31.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 71.4% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

195 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 144 of 156 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't expecting luxury, so was very pleased with the state of the property. Very well organised, friendly staff , clean and tidy. The breakfast was good (toast + oatmeal + fruit + coffee) and there was plenty to do with organised activities, a movie room, lounge, books etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: character, location, cafe,

Disliked: unfortunately a lot of the social events were cancelled

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Susan Amato

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The setting is wonderful, peaceful yet close to many attractions. The staff are very helpful but not fully informed of local events, for example they were unaware of the Carnival procession in Mission yesterday even though this is an annual event. Several guests said they would have gone had they been told of it. The facilities are good, a dollar for laundry is excellent value. The cafe serves good basic food or there is a huge kitchen if you want to cook. The bunk beds are comfortable but the ladder to the top bunk requires you to have long legs and to be sober.

Disliked: Not enough electrical sockets for the modern traveller. Only two toilet/shower blocks means you have to get up early or very late if you don't want to spend a lot of time waiting your turn.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Gajdos

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, location, staff, services

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: Sheets were clean but our private room was filthy. Months of dirt on the window blinds - so bad it was better not to let them down. Disgusted by dirt on mattress cover when sheets were removed. Months of dirt on woodwork of windows. Old cobwebs on inside of windows in lounge. Have stayed in hostels before and know furninshings will be spartan but no excuse for them not being clean. Films were advertised but not shown - staff wanted to watch a "game" instead.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kathryn Daniels

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Location is spectacular, views from the garden over the bay to golden gate bridge and Alcatraz. Spectacular.

Disliked: Freezing bathroom, activities cancelled (presumably due to poor take up?)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Frances Bailey

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: The location is stunning and the view over breakfast is hard to beat. The girl at reception was super friendly and helpful. The kitchen has great facilities and selection. Nice hot shower. Great spacious lounge area.

Disliked: Movie are not as comfortable as the downtown hostel. Wifi not available in my room where it is in downtown. Bedroom was very worn and could have done with a refresh. Not sure about the locker solution.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANGELA O'HAGAN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 ANGELA would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, security, cleanliness, Franco's Cafe, access to port, beach, transport available, historical site and cafes and museums.

Disliked: Can't think of antthing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's pretty classical

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is spectacular!

Disliked: The dorm room smelled really bad, like dirty socks and bubble gum. It wasn't due to anyone in the room, but just the room itself. Luckily, the other guests didn't mind leaving the windows open, so we got some fresh air. Also, the bathrooms are very cramped -- but I know that this is just due to it being a very old building, which makes it wonderful in other ways.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eylül Elif Eracar

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2014 Eylül Elif would recommend this property

Liked: I like simply everything , location is good, very peaceful. Staff is very helpful, friendly and cheerful , we stayed only 3 days but after a long day when we got back here , it was like getting home :)

Disliked: Eylül Elif left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Watkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: Homely and very welcoming, safe environment

Disliked: The showers need to be more private

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Jennings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful and friendly staff, good wifi, great breakfast and heaps of free activities offered- recommend the walking tour!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like going to camp.

Disliked: Bathrooms could be updated and cleaner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly and helpful staffs, free breakfast, big kitchen for self catering, great atmosphere.etc..

Disliked: Mattress was not comfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the proximity to the Presidio and the bike trails. I also appreciate the secure room to store my bicycle. The staff, kitchens, bedrooms, and other guests were all fantastic.

Disliked: Storage lockers under beds had no latch to keep them open.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. Theater area was a helpful distraction after travelling. Beautiful view.

Disliked: Lockers didn't close easily or quietly. Needs to give a better set of directions, ie. from more land marks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Gandini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, cool staff, good breakfast. Cinema room with movies every night.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Angela Dickson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013

Liked: The free breakfast was good and staff were reasonably polite and helpful.

Disliked: The bedding was dirty and covered in hair. The showering facilities offered little privacy. When I entered the dorm the windows were open. It was on the ground floor and had a set of stairs right next to it. I felt like anyone could have entered the dorm from outside.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcus Wenten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, not to busy but close enough to walk to Fisherman's Wharf if you like it a little bit touristic or just go into the other direction for a great view of "The Bridge". I joined the free walking tour which I can also recommend, if you like to see some hidden places of San Francisco.

Disliked: The lockers in the dorms a good, but why are the below the beds?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many rooms, nice cafe also amazing kitchen for preparingfood you bring. Freeparking in SF! Amazing scenic views andgood walking places right on ocean.

Disliked: A large, noisy highschool crowd was there this time.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property had great views of the water, was quiet, and had a great park surrounding it. It was close enough to bike rentals and public transport to make the rest of the city very accessible. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was better than most hostel breakfasts.

Disliked: Parts of my room did seem a bit crowded. It really wasn't too bad, but I found it hard to find a good place to put my large backpack. Also, I prefer upright lockers to the under the bed lockers, but this is a small inconveniance.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Decent cooking facilities. Excellent location

Disliked: Minor things, very clunky door in room and smoking area outside our window but not much you can do about that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel. The dorms were fairly clean, comfortable bed and lockers under the bed (bring your own padlock). The wifi is free but quite patchy in the room. I had to sit by reception, near the router to get a better signal. Staff were very friendly and helpful, 24 hr reception. If you get the shuttle bus from San Fran airport, it takes you straight to the hostel. They also book the shuttle bus back to the airport, and it turned up on time. The kitchen/dinning room is huge! and very clean, used it to prepare meals. Bathrooms were reasonable, but could be better but not that bad. Also hot water! I like that theres a girls only and boys only bathroom. Theres a movie room and each night theres a movie on and free pizza on one night! The hostel organise activities such as a bar crawl, tours and pasta for $3 etc and seem to be popular but I didn't go on any, so cant comment except the free pizza was quite good!. Location is good, a park in front of the hostel and sea view on other side, fisherman's wharf a few blocks away and a big Safe way supermarket just 5 mins walk way from the park. Bus stop just down the road so easy to get around, not far way from central so good location. Overall the hostel is clean, comfortable, quiet, its NOT a party hostel but social enough to meet other travellers. I think its reasonably priced. I recommend.

Disliked: Bathrooms could be better maintained, I found toilets blocked with tissue once or twice, theres no bin to put toilet tissue in but theres a sign that tells you NOT to throw tissue down the toilet! Theres no space in the shower cubical to get dressed, but a changing room, which is a shower curtain separating the 2 showers at the end to the rest of the bathroom. I know its girls only but I like some privacy when getting dressed ! Otherwise its nothing major. At least the water was hot!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012

Liked: It has a nice view of the Golden Gate Bridge. It's in a quiet location, close and easily accessible to Fishermans's Wharf. Dorm beds weren't bunks so that was nice.

Disliked: Some of the staff weren't overly friendly. There was a helpful, pleasant young girl on reception but the lady who first checked us in wasn't the most welcoming. The dorm itself wasn't the nicest. Could do with updating, wasn't many plug sockets and the beds were the most uncomfortable of our trip. There aren't many showers and the few they do have certainly don't give you much privacy so if there is somebody waiting for it they can see round the shower curtain at certain angles.