We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Green Tortoise Hostel

Hostel | 494 Broadway, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94133

90.4% Overall Rating

438 out of 468 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2015)

"the hostel was located in a good neighborhood. A lot of things to do around. The free food was great."

Read all Green Tortoise Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We do not accept groups of more than 4 people Please note that taxes are not included in the price and are payable on top of your confirmed balance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Europa Hotel San Francisco
40.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 57.9% 42 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel
36.49 USD

Hostel 71.7% 233 reviews
Post Hotel
145.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
72.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel
48.33 USD

Hostel 88.5% 620 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 89.3% 727 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
48.00 USD

Hostel 81.9% 235 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

438 out of 468 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Tortoise Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 341 of 375 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's good value!

Disliked: Nothing really

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was located in a good neighborhood. A lot of things to do around. The free food was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ROBERTO NOVELLO

Alone

City break

11 May 2015 ROBERTO would recommend this property

Liked: Localização

Disliked: Local antigo

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Genevieve Engelhardt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: Green Tortoise was a great choice, good people, nice atmosphere, good spot and helpful staff. They have a good breakfast and 3 free dinners a week (you are encouraged to help cook). Was in quite a good spot, close to Little Italy, Chinatown and the water. It's quite a big hostel, but still friendly and easy to meet people if you're traveling on your own. An old building, but still secure and clean.

Disliked: The only issue I had was that there aren't enough bathrooms for the size of the hostel you have to wait a bit sometimes to have a shower (10-15 minutes maybe). But it's the only problem, so pretty good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevan Rowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Kevan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff and a great location.

Disliked: Kevan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bettina Bredow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Bettina would recommend this property

Liked: It was the Best hostel I've eher been.

Disliked: The bathrooms can be cleaner.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tolle lage! Umfangreiches, leckeres frühstück und 3x Abendessen pro Woche!

Disliked: Manchmal nachts zu laut.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilfie Cross

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Wilfie would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmospheric common room in an ex ballroom, with high ceilings and a piano where everyone eats. Well equipped kitchen, helpful staff, pool table, great location. We got a room in a separate building that was like having a whole house to ourselves and a couple of other people. We had an incredible view of the skyline and harbour from our window and balcony. And free dinner twice a week!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great place to stay! I've been in so many different hostels on different continents, Green Tortoise is definitely my favorite! The free breakfast and 3x free dinner per week is really really good, service is always there, many offerings for tours, daytrips and activitys. In the heart of San Francisco, perfect location. Amazing!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen O'Regan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

09 June 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Wifi was good but didn't spread to all the rooms so good.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Justo Rogel

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2014 Justo would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, has a lot of things going on close by.

Disliked: Justo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice offers, especially in the evenings. I met some nice people.

Disliked: Could be a little bit more clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean room, bed, bathrooms. great kitchen facility for making eggs, good free breakfast: bagel, oatmeal, fruits, coffee, juice. free dinner or cheap dinner outings. very safe & secure. good location in Chinatown.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! This was my first stay in a hostel and I was a little nervous about it, but it was great. Super nice staff, clean, safe, secure lockers, friendly environment. Definitely will be coming back again!

Disliked: My only complaint is it is by like 5 or 6 strip clubs, but other than that it was a pretty good area!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every bed has it's own locker which can fit all belongings in. The facilities were great and the ballroom was amazing. You get 3 free dinners a week and they were fabulous (they were fully vegetarian to cater for all). The breakfast was bagels and fruit and were also great. Very good social activities during both day and night.

Disliked: Area is not great, near the strip clubs but it wasn't a problem

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Macarthur

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 May 2014 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and they made everything easy which was exactly what we needed after a long trip.

Disliked: That it was booked out when we wanted to stay an extra night, they need more rooms!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Beaudoin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: It's large, but not too big. It's a big melting pot to meet new people. You can chill in the common room, cook, or go to the "quiet area." They have more than enough showers/bathrooms for everyone. It's just good vibes all around.

Disliked: Not a damn thing!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Xavier Burgos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. The hostel holds many events, very kind and helpful staff, offered free dinner certain days along with many accommodations for tours and events. Location very close to tourist area

Disliked: Xavier left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel. Great atmosphere, although it´s a big hostel, it´s easy to meet people because of the breakfast, dinner, pub crawl, etc. Extended my stay for a week cause I liked it so much. Dylan´s tour was really good and very cheap with the hostel discount, best thing to do for your first day in SF. :)

Disliked: Not the safest area at night, but totally fine at daytime.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WENTING BAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 WENTING would recommend this property

Liked: great place

Disliked: WENTING left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, it was easy to meet other people doing tubs like helping to cook on free dinner nights, the free dinners were really nice, proper food. Every bunk in my dorm had its own reading light and 4 power points, and large under-bed locker which means you can keep all your stuff together, securely, out of the way.

Disliked: I had my food stolen on my last day that I was going to take to eat on my long bus ride, but that wasn't the fault of the staff

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had great staff, comfy beds and clean functional kitchen. The common room was big and well seated, the free meals are awesome and it was close to little Italy which was nice.

Disliked: It's on a street with heaps of strip joints so you can get a funny crowd aping however it was fine. Could utilize a better shower/bathroom layout, but they were fine again.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Auriane Nirascou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2013 Auriane would recommend this property

Liked: clean, safe, friendly atmosphere.. the best hostel in SF.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thu Le

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Thu would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly convenient location, staff were helpful, good big communal areas to chill.

Disliked: Bathrooms were absolutely tiny! No space to leave your stuff when showering, if that kind of thing doesn't bother you then the hostel is fine. Noise 24/7 though.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a fantastic old cafe/bar building in the heart of one of the hippest areas of San Francisco right next to city lights bookshop in china town. Huge, sunny, high-ceilinged dining room with open plan shared kitchen and communal area with soundsystem, stage, pool and table football. chillout area with massage chair, very clean and well-thought out hostel.

Disliked: havent found anything i dislike yet.

The property's response is...