HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Green Tortoise Backpackers Guesthouse

Hostel | 494 Broadway, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94133

89.8% Overall Rating

417 out of 447 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/03/2014)

Zachary Beaudoin thinks…

"It's large, but not too big. It's a big melting pot to meet new people. You can chill in the common room, cook, or go to the "quiet area." They have more than enough showers/bathrooms for everyone.…"

Read all Green Tortoise Backpackers Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that taxes are not included in the price and are payable on top of your confirmed balance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

North Beach Hotel
54.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 61.4% 4 reviews
Europa Hotel San Francisco
27.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 57.8% 34 reviews
San Francisco Backpacker Hostel - Pacific Tradewinds
29.50 USD

Hostel 86.4% 210 reviews
AAE Amsterdam
23.54 USD

Hostel 73.9% 179 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
36.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
HI-San Francisco Downtown (Union Square)
39.50 USD

Hostel 89.1% 535 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

417 out of 447 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Tortoise Backpackers Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 325 of 354 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Beaudoin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: It's large, but not too big. It's a big melting pot to meet new people. You can chill in the common room, cook, or go to the "quiet area." They have more than enough showers/bathrooms for everyone. It's just good vibes all around.

Disliked: Not a damn thing!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Xavier Burgos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. The hostel holds many events, very kind and helpful staff, offered free dinner certain days along with many accommodations for tours and events. Location very close to tourist area

Disliked: Xavier left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel. Great atmosphere, although it´s a big hostel, it´s easy to meet people because of the breakfast, dinner, pub crawl, etc. Extended my stay for a week cause I liked it so much. Dylan´s tour was really good and very cheap with the hostel discount, best thing to do for your first day in SF. :)

Disliked: Not the safest area at night, but totally fine at daytime.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WENTING BAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 WENTING would recommend this property

Liked: great place

Disliked: WENTING left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, it was easy to meet other people doing tubs like helping to cook on free dinner nights, the free dinners were really nice, proper food. Every bunk in my dorm had its own reading light and 4 power points, and large under-bed locker which means you can keep all your stuff together, securely, out of the way.

Disliked: I had my food stolen on my last day that I was going to take to eat on my long bus ride, but that wasn't the fault of the staff

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had great staff, comfy beds and clean functional kitchen. The common room was big and well seated, the free meals are awesome and it was close to little Italy which was nice.

Disliked: It's on a street with heaps of strip joints so you can get a funny crowd aping however it was fine. Could utilize a better shower/bathroom layout, but they were fine again.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Auriane Nirascou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2013 Auriane would recommend this property

Liked: clean, safe, friendly atmosphere.. the best hostel in SF.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thu Le

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Thu would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly convenient location, staff were helpful, good big communal areas to chill.

Disliked: Bathrooms were absolutely tiny! No space to leave your stuff when showering, if that kind of thing doesn't bother you then the hostel is fine. Noise 24/7 though.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a fantastic old cafe/bar building in the heart of one of the hippest areas of San Francisco right next to city lights bookshop in china town. Huge, sunny, high-ceilinged dining room with open plan shared kitchen and communal area with soundsystem, stage, pool and table football. chillout area with massage chair, very clean and well-thought out hostel.

Disliked: havent found anything i dislike yet.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had free breakfast a free dinner during my stay. The beds are very comfortable. Offered evening activities like beer olympics.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

solene sourisseau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 solene would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, nice place, amazing breakfast, globally everything

Disliked: solene left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katherine Hibbard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, safe and secure, handy location, fantastic free breakfast and apparently free dinners certain days of the week. It looked like they have great outings - shame I didn't have enough time to check any out.

Disliked: All the steps! Not ideal when you gave heaps of luggage. Awesome looking building though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: character and extra effort of the staff. free diner with live band playing to gather people, as well as other organized activities. best hostel so far.

Disliked: nothing really. bring your own lock to lock your locker if feel so.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

SHUYING CAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 SHUYING would recommend this property

Liked: everything is perfect

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best Hostel I have ever stayed at. It's worth the trip to San Francisco alone. Stayed here once before and then again with my friend. I was almost more exited about showing her the hostel than the city. :P You always meet wonderful people here and the atmosphere is super friendly. They have loads of activities and free meals and stuff. Big common room and kitchen. Great breakfast, I could go on forever. Just stay here you'll see what I mean. ;)

Disliked: I honestly have nothing bad to say about it. Some people find it expensive but it is most definately worth the price!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Angela Dickson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Free Internet and computer use.

Disliked: Staff were not very friendly, quite loud, situated between strip clubs and nightclubs so lots of noise from the street on weekends, not as clean as I would have liked.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great and the general amenities were good as well. Staff were generally friendly. I am used to hostels as and this one is OK!

Disliked: For the amount of people that it holds it really should have more showers/toilets. It is no wonder that all bathrooms were filthy as there were too many people using them. The cleaners clean twice a day but they were losing a fighting battle. My room had one bed too many and this was challenging to some. They also need a designated smoking area (roof) outside the front door is disgusting and the butt litter is shameful.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one of the nicest hostels I have ever been, if not #1! really nice and helpful staff, clean, great common area. I wish I never had to leave - except by the great green bus. amazing experience to stay and travel with the tortoise!

Disliked: the pc's didn't really play well with SD cards.. that's the worst I can remember.. :D

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Drew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2013 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: If you've traveller Europe, you might share my opinion in most American Hostels make you feel like your back in primary school with so many rules & have workers who treat you like an infant. Having just completed 3 months through most of the States the Green Tortise Hostel is the stand out as the best chain in the USA, stayed at their one in Seattle too, just as impressed.

Disliked: Weird old dudes..oh no that's in every hostel in the States you just cant escape them lol

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Graham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and knowledgeable about the San Francisco area. They had all the answers to our questions (what bus to get to Golden Gate Park, directions to tourist attractions, what was the easiest and cheapest way to get to the airport etc.) Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were comfy and sturdy. Went on the pub crawl (rock, paper, scissors) event. Had a fantastic night! Met lots of people from this and other hostels.

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fun. The staff were incredibly helpful and a special thanks goes to the kiwi girl (who let me check in early after my long haul flight) & the guy with the long beard. As a couple we stayed in the house a block down which we enjoyed as it had a good view as was quieter than the main hostel, but we still had access to the facilities eg free breakfast. The free dinners are a nice bonus as well as the live music!!! Thanks

Disliked: In the house there was sometimes a lineup for the bathroom in the morning & the location was in the middle of the strip club area (however I did not have any issues)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are really helpful and friendly. The beds are comfortable and lockers under the beds are really big. Lots of free and cheap activities and meals going on to meet other people. Free computers to use and free wifi. Really great hostel, exactly as advertised and excellent value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Duxing Wu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Duxing would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, friendly and great breakfast!

Disliked: no elevators, had to carry luggage to 3rd floor

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the hostel character, good space for whatever you needed. Good organised trips, free dinner nights great for getting to know others and the area. They had share bathrooms, there were 5 just on my floor so you didn't need to wait for long. Good location 15 min walk from pier 33/39 and right next to china town. Good breakfast in the morning, bagels, fruit, creels, even English breakfast tea bags lol Overall enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: The stairs lol after travelling for hours the last thing I wanted to do was carry my case up! The staff offered conflicting information and I was made to feel like I was lieing, just felt like I received a little attitude.