We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Hostel | 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102-1704

88.6% Overall Rating

581 out of 640 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2015)

"The kitchen facilities were good, there were many social areas and the rooms were very clean!"

Read all HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are not-for-profit The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members. 15% taxes not included in the price and should be added to the total amount payable upon arrival. ***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Post Hotel
145.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
San Francisco International Hostel
34.00 USD

Hostel 66.1% 981 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
46.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 246 reviews
Taylor Hotel
57.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
37.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel
34.50 USD

Hostel 71.5% 236 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 89.8% 735 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

581 out of 640 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 392 of 491 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities were good, there were many social areas and the rooms were very clean!

Disliked: After dark the local area is very unsafe which is unsettling. Also, there are not many social activities on in the evenings that I stayed, and there were also few day activities which was disappointing. A guide of how to get around to major attractions may be helpful as the bus system is not clear.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and close to the city. They offer free breakfast and the staff is friendly

Disliked: I wished that it would be possible to check in earlier than 3pm

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Petr Radl

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

21 August 2015 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Location and coffee.

Disliked: Noise at night, loudly closing doos of restroom just next door of our room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and clean rooms, lots of common areas.

Disliked: Crowded kitchen, and so many common areas that it's actually harder to meet people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Hill

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2015 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff were really friendly and approachable. It was all relaxed and easy to make your way around.

Disliked: The only slight improvement I could suggest is more bathrooms but that is the only thing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Blais

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and very friendly !

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Murat KARAOZ

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Murat would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: Murat left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this place is great. The staff welcomes you with a smile, the bathrooms are clean, there are organized activities everyday, the breakfast is simple but good.

Disliked: The speed of the elevator ! There is 6 floors to the building, I was on 6th floor. There is one elevator and it's pretty hard to get in actually, not because of the size but more from the speed it operates. We used the staircase everyday because of that. ... but this was NOT a show stopper for us.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in an excellent location! So easy to get to from the airport and easy to get around town. The hostel was clean, the beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The staff were OK, but when I checked in they weren't forthcoming with information; I had to ask for information that I think should be supplied automatically (the wifi password, what time I could check in, etc). The hostel was LOUD! It was really stuffy in the rooms with the windows shut, but with them open it was a party in the street directly below. I know the hostel can't help that, but if you're a light sleeper, you may struggle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brett Coombe

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2015 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: This was more like a hotel than a hostel! Really nice clean faclities and the room was nice also. Would recommend to anyone travelling to San Fran!

Disliked: The rooms didn't have air con but a fan was an OK substitute.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's very close to the public transport. you also can walk to a lot of the tourist attractions. old house with charming style.

Disliked: the bed linen weren't that clean than they should be.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jabier Rodriguez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2015 Jabier would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast

Disliked: He has finished segregation in San Francisco in 2015? Just some ideas. In this hostel more than 10 people work in reception, all were white of European origin, young people (boys and girls). In cleaning they are working more than 10 people also (the worst jobs), and all of them with white origin, but Latin Americans (who spoke English and Spanish, 2 languages). There was not a black person, most of them are on the streets, begging , taking drugs , " surviving " (... )

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, extremely comfortable beds, friendly staff and great location.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Madita Traeger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015 Madita would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and cosy for a hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Breakfast was lovely. The only thing missing in the bathroom (we had a 4 bed doorm with an ensuite bathroom) was a hairdryer which you can borrow for a 5 Dollar deposit though. I highly recommed the place!

Disliked: The hostel is great! But if you stay there - in the city centre of San Francisco, around Union Square - be aware that those streets are crowded with very weird people and a lot of homeless individuals. You have fancy jazz bars and high class hotels on the one side and prostitution and the worst kind of poverty on the other, all in one place. I highly recommend you don't walk around the area on your own after sunset and don't walk along playing with your mobile or show your money visibly while walking on the street at any time. I don't want to scare anyone but I am also not exaggerating. My friend got mugged around noon while standing in line for a cable car ride (maybe 200 meters from the hostel). She, very visibly, held money in her hand.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place to get to know a lot of people. The biketour over the Golden Gate Bridge was amazing. Comfortable beds Abs everything was really clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JON UNZUETA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great kitchen and free breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Johanna Kuiken

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2015 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great

Disliked: Breakfast is not much choice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: n/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sylvia Kozlowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2015 Sylvia would recommend this property

Liked: The location and staff are great! Breakfast is average however is a nice touch that it is included in the price.

Disliked: Rooms and bathrooms could be cleanlier

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jorge Esteban Lopez Deiana

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 Jorge Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff and beds (good size!)

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yongil Kim

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 Yongil would recommend this property

Liked: comfy bed, very kind staffs

Disliked: Yongil left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Henry

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

11 May 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean nice staff

Disliked: People screaming in the street behind 24/7 like they were being murdered

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Monika Haider

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday

07 May 2015 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Modern furniture and nice people

Disliked: A lot of people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christobel Innes

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2015 Christobel would recommend this property

Liked: The location was awesome. I really liked this hostel and the staff were always friendly and willing to help me find my way around San Francisco.

Disliked: Honestly I have no complaints. I felt safe and secure while I stayed here.