HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Hostel | 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102-1704

88.6% Overall Rating

519 out of 573 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

"Good locations and price! San Fran is expensive, so the hostel was a great option."

Read all HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are not-for-profit The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members. ***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
San Francisco International Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 62.3% 890 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
38.00 USD

Hostel 72.3% 204 reviews
Taylor Hotel
54.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
AAE Amsterdam
30.00 USD

Hostel 76.3% 212 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
55.00 USD

Hostel 93.1% 696 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

519 out of 573 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 354 of 424 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Tubaro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Very good position and wonderful room.

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014

Liked: Good locations and price! San Fran is expensive, so the hostel was a great option.

Disliked: We were a group of three friends in a private room, with a shared bathroom. Thankfully the toilet and shower were individual units, so not several showers in an open block like we anticipated-phew! The location is spot on, right around the corner from Powell st BART station and union square, which is the central part of town. The cable cars also Go from Powell st. We were in SF for 4 days and despite wanting to ride the cars and buying the 3 day travel ticket which included the cable cars, everytime we tried, there was a queue of around 90mins which, with so much to see and do, we couldn't justify. There seemed to be a lot of rules when we first booked into the hostel, what we could and couldn't do, like no food or drink in the rooms, which, certainly with a private room, we found very unfair, as that meant we couldn't eat a subway in our room, or have a drink whilst getting ready to go out!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurence Putnam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Laurence would recommend this property

Liked: We are 9 days into our road trip stayed in the penthouse in the standard in LA and can honestly say this place gave us more for our money.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great staff very helpfull and always friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katie Moore

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are mostly helpful and friendly, mostly clean, decent sized private rooms, events are lots of fun

Disliked: Getting bites and being told it was an allergic reaction but it wasn't. We got moved to a different room and they got an exterminator in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Bathrooms were cleaned daily. Front desk were nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, and all the abovementioned!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a great atmosphere and offered lots of activities to keep travellers busy. The breakfast bagels were delicious and the kitchen well run.

Disliked: The hostel, although close to the shopping malls and station was not great with lots of homeless people around and hassling you for money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice hostel located downtown SF. The kitchen and breakfast is really good and the activities offered by the staff are fun! The rooms are nice but simple. I would definately go there again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014

Liked: central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean and central

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phoebe Reid

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Phoebe would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Union Square, always felt safe and comfortable. Breakfast provided was great.

Disliked: It's a bit old and creaky, but I suppose that adds to the charm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Lancaster

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: It's extremely central location and the free basic breakfast

Disliked: We ran out of hot water one night. That was about it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Haydon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great. The location really won me over though

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money, a nice, clean room and lots of activities to get involved with.

Disliked: Not the nicest area and our private room had a radiator that made loud noises around 6am and could not be switched off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Duncan

Alone

City break

26 April 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, very friendly atmosphere. The bike tour was amazing!

Disliked: Extremely noisy. Not even the complimentary earphones blocked out the constant horns and sirons

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, nice breakfast

Disliked: Smallish private room.... No Toiletpaper in toilet first evening/night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: In a ghetto part of San Francisco

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, accommodation, price and staff all great

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location right in the centre of downtown

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Brooks

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

17 March 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: eclectic feel opportunity to meet people from around the world

Disliked: had cold shower in our dorm style room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Briana Currall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Briana would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well located. Our room was very hot though and it was winter. Otherwise it was 100%

Disliked: Briana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and great central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.