We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Hostel | 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102-1704

85.7% Overall Rating

531 out of 587 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

James Scrivener thinks…

"The style and size of the property made us feel very trendy and also that we had picked the correct hostel as it was in more of a purpose built building. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast…"

Read all HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are not-for-profit The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members. 15% taxes not included in the price and should be added to the total amount payable upon arrival. ***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
San Francisco International Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 70.2% 904 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
24.00 USD

Hostel 77.3% 213 reviews
Taylor Hotel
39.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
22.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
AAE Amsterdam
21.34 USD

Hostel 72.2% 220 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 92.7% 700 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

531 out of 587 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 359 of 438 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christoph Göring

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the refurbished rooms

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Scrivener

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: The style and size of the property made us feel very trendy and also that we had picked the correct hostel as it was in more of a purpose built building. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great, busy at times but plenty of room. WiFi access good and generally all the facilities clean and new.

Disliked: Nothing - thoroughly recommend.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good location, clean, good breakfast, heldpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014

Liked: super friendly staff and good breakfast. good location.

Disliked: dirty. one person puked all over the floor one night and it didn't get cleaned up until the next afternoon. shower stalls and restrooms also not clean. the beds were the worst, really old and rusty. also verz noisy from the street...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Freundlichkeit der Mitarbeiter, das frühstück

Disliked: Das Badezimmer. Die Sicherheit der Fenster. Kein locker im Raum um Wertgegenstände einschließen zu können, allerdings würde uns durch die Mitarbeiter angeboten den reisepass einschließen zu lassen. Sehr nett.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Tubaro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Very good position and wonderful room.

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014

Liked: Good locations and price! San Fran is expensive, so the hostel was a great option.

Disliked: We were a group of three friends in a private room, with a shared bathroom. Thankfully the toilet and shower were individual units, so not several showers in an open block like we anticipated-phew! The location is spot on, right around the corner from Powell st BART station and union square, which is the central part of town. The cable cars also Go from Powell st. We were in SF for 4 days and despite wanting to ride the cars and buying the 3 day travel ticket which included the cable cars, everytime we tried, there was a queue of around 90mins which, with so much to see and do, we couldn't justify. There seemed to be a lot of rules when we first booked into the hostel, what we could and couldn't do, like no food or drink in the rooms, which, certainly with a private room, we found very unfair, as that meant we couldn't eat a subway in our room, or have a drink whilst getting ready to go out!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurence Putnam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Laurence would recommend this property

Liked: We are 9 days into our road trip stayed in the penthouse in the standard in LA and can honestly say this place gave us more for our money.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great staff very helpfull and always friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katie Moore

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are mostly helpful and friendly, mostly clean, decent sized private rooms, events are lots of fun

Disliked: Getting bites and being told it was an allergic reaction but it wasn't. We got moved to a different room and they got an exterminator in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Bathrooms were cleaned daily. Front desk were nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, and all the abovementioned!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a great atmosphere and offered lots of activities to keep travellers busy. The breakfast bagels were delicious and the kitchen well run.

Disliked: The hostel, although close to the shopping malls and station was not great with lots of homeless people around and hassling you for money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice hostel located downtown SF. The kitchen and breakfast is really good and the activities offered by the staff are fun! The rooms are nice but simple. I would definately go there again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014

Liked: central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean and central

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phoebe Reid

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Phoebe would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Union Square, always felt safe and comfortable. Breakfast provided was great.

Disliked: It's a bit old and creaky, but I suppose that adds to the charm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Lancaster

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: It's extremely central location and the free basic breakfast

Disliked: We ran out of hot water one night. That was about it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Haydon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great. The location really won me over though

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money, a nice, clean room and lots of activities to get involved with.

Disliked: Not the nicest area and our private room had a radiator that made loud noises around 6am and could not be switched off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Duncan

Alone

City break

26 April 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, very friendly atmosphere. The bike tour was amazing!

Disliked: Extremely noisy. Not even the complimentary earphones blocked out the constant horns and sirons

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, nice breakfast

Disliked: Smallish private room.... No Toiletpaper in toilet first evening/night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: In a ghetto part of San Francisco