HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Francisco - Downtown San Francisco Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 89%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

We are not-for-profit
The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members.

15% taxes not included in the price and should be added to the total amount payable upon arrival.

***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 89%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 94 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Nice location...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good central location. Good complimentary breakfast. Clean.

Disliked: Room a little stuffy but not terrible

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great people. Amazing bagels at bfast

Disliked: Nothing, wish it was cheaper but great value.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Friendly staff, excellent location, good in house activities, comfy rooms, fairly quiet considering it's a hostel. We came with our 4 kids & it was all good. Great breakfast too.

Disliked: Didn't have any dislikes

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I'ts clean, it's friendly, it's awesome.

Disliked: Noise from the streets might annoy you, and it can get a little cold, since the windows don't close properly.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the water efficiency of the sink toilets and all the events they had available.

Disliked: It was on the edge of a sketchy area and when I was on my way in the one night I was pickpocketed right outside the door.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location. Private room nice - well decorated.

Disliked: Private room had no fans and was very hot as if you had the windows open all the street noise came through. BUT beware - the street noise comes through anyway and I had very little sleep every night due to trucks, homeless people screaming, and other people in the hostel being loud/slamming their doors. This is a very noisy place, it is a good base to explore the city but if you want sleep... Don't stay here

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room decor! I apologize that you had problems sleeping with the noise. For some of our rooms, this is certainly a drawback of being located right downtown. We do offer earplugs for free at the front desk (as well as fans to borrow). The hot nights of the past month, I can assure you, are very uncommon in San Francisco! We generally have only a few truly hot nights per year.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location in the heart of the city with friendly, welcoming staff.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was EXTREMELY loud at night. I didn't really sleep well. I did not read anywhere that there were no fans, a/c, and/or heat. That was not a fun surprise.

Disliked: It was EXTREMELY loud at night. I didn't really sleep well. I did not read anywhere that there were no fans, a/c, and/or heat. That was not a fun surprise.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I am sorry to hear that you did not get a good night's sleep due to the noise. While some rooms can be louder than others, being right in the heart of downtown SF does have its drawbacks. We do have free earplugs. We do have heating and for those rooms which do not have fans, we do have some at the front desk which can be borrowed. A/C however, is not common in SF, as it is only "hot" perhaps 3-5 nights per year. This last month was an anomaly though, and the hottest on record!

Check Availability