HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Francisco - Downtown San Francisco Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 91%

Staff 96%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

We are not-for-profit
The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members.

15% taxes not included in the price and should be added to the total amount payable upon arrival.

***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 91%

Staff 96%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 91 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Friendliness of staff.

Disliked: Expensive for an HI hostel...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very clean. The rooms are well equipped and look new. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: Maybe not enough bathrooms/showers.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Nice location...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good central location. Good complimentary breakfast. Clean.

Disliked: Room a little stuffy but not terrible

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great people. Amazing bagels at bfast

Disliked: Nothing, wish it was cheaper but great value.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Friendly staff, excellent location, good in house activities, comfy rooms, fairly quiet considering it's a hostel. We came with our 4 kids & it was all good. Great breakfast too.

Disliked: Didn't have any dislikes

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I'ts clean, it's friendly, it's awesome.

Disliked: Noise from the streets might annoy you, and it can get a little cold, since the windows don't close properly.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the water efficiency of the sink toilets and all the events they had available.

Disliked: It was on the edge of a sketchy area and when I was on my way in the one night I was pickpocketed right outside the door.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location. Private room nice - well decorated.

Disliked: Private room had no fans and was very hot as if you had the windows open all the street noise came through. BUT beware - the street noise comes through anyway and I had very little sleep every night due to trucks, homeless people screaming, and other people in the hostel being loud/slamming their doors. This is a very noisy place, it is a good base to explore the city but if you want sleep... Don't stay here

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room decor! I apologize that you had problems sleeping with the noise. For some of our rooms, this is certainly a drawback of being located right downtown. We do offer earplugs for free at the front desk (as well as fans to borrow). The hot nights of the past month, I can assure you, are very uncommon in San Francisco! We generally have only a few truly hot nights per year.

Check Availability