HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI-San Francisco Downtown (Union Square)

Hostel | 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102-1704

89.1% Overall Rating

485 out of 535 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

Briana Currall thinks…

"Clean and well located. Our room was very hot though and it was winter. Otherwise it was 100%"

Read all HI-San Francisco Downtown (Union Square) reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are not-for-profit The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members. ***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
San Francisco International Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 74.2% 830 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 82.2% 174 reviews
Taylor Hotel
37.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.7% 429 reviews
AAE Amsterdam
23.54 USD

Hostel 73.9% 179 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
42.00 USD

Hostel 92.3% 670 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

485 out of 535 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI-San Francisco Downtown (Union Square)'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 333 of 386 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location location location, just two blocks away from union square. suprised there's no A/C, but you don't need the A/C at SF. too much noise from street >.<

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARGHERITA AIMOLA

05 June 2010 MARGHERITA would recommend this property

Liked: I HAD A GREAT GREAT GREAT TIMES!

Disliked: MARGHERITA left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the City Centre, helpful staff, decent facilities and good free breakfast. Only niggle is that the lockers are small in the rooms so your pack will be on the floor or if you are in an upper bunk - nuzzled around your feet!Still only a minor criticism - otherwise excellent and highly reccomended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great kitchen to use. Private rooms were very nice with own sink which helped as there were only 2 shower/toilets per level. When my sister and I stayed there there was 60 school kids staying there and they were running up and down stairs all night and early morning which totally changed the feel of the hostel. Our room was underneath the staircase and next to another staircase so it was right in the middle of a main traffic area and very hard to sleep. Didnt meet many other people also I think because of this. Bit of a bummer but the place has potential. Try not to get a room under the stairs if you can!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They gave me the wrong room and a taken bed. My stuff got thrown off the bed by someone else.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great downtown location!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Humberto Palomino Navarro

17 May 2010 Humberto would recommend this property

Liked: so perfect, very good

Disliked: Humberto left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely house, nice and friendly staff with lots of information on town and activitiesbeautiful breakfast, fresh drinking water free fillwarm and homelike atmosphereSpiffy place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the BART and trams. Private room had basin and super comfortable bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ricardo fusco

03 May 2010 ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nice and helpful staff, descent breakfast. I reccomend.

Disliked: ricardo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laverne Waddington

21 April 2010 Laverne would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen and breakfast, free wifi and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Good showers and large bathrooms

Disliked: Laverne left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good area, nice clean, well run hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: security

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities and services - we had a private room. It was exceptionally clean and features of the hostel seemed very well maintained if not new. Close to Market St and easy access to public transport. We would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! The HI-San staff were professional and helpful when there were issues with are stay. The rooms were clean with very comfy beds. The free breakfasts in the mornings were a great way to start the day. The only problem was the noise from outside; the windows don't insulate much of the noise so earplugs are a must. I would defiantly return to this hostel again..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked their free breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Barker

17 February 2010 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk staff was proactively helpful. They asked us if we needed any help, then in response, offered maps in which they drew the specific route to reach our destination of interest. Staff were also outstandingly conscientious about following security procedures whenever we entered the hostal. It was extremely unlikely that a person without a room would be allowed past the reception area. The "frosting on the cake", so to speak, was the free continental breakfast that included excellent coffee.

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and comfy beds, great location and best hostel breakfast I've had.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nargis lalee

01 February 2010 nargis would recommend this property

Liked: The property was nice but i did have a few complaints....having to show a bit of paper every time entering the building was very annoying, you were made to feel very unwelcome becasue of this policy.....and one of the reception staff was unbelievabley rude to me and shouted at me because i forgot to say "Hi" before i wanted to ask a question........I had had avery difficult journey and did not need to be greeted that way, but on other occasion soem of the other receptionists were very polite and helpful.

Disliked: nargis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brianne Gallagher

01 February 2010 Brianne would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, the hostel was clean. I liked the usage of the kitchen, common room, and theater.

Disliked: Brianne left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

robert ball

30 January 2010 robert would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location but the facilities are poor and run down. Found the staff quite unfriendly, they were not prepared to help or answere questions and gave the opinion that helping and answering hostellers questions too bothersome. " go to the information centre downtown" was the usaul response.

Disliked: robert left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a pretty decent place. All three of the HI hostels have joined activities so on the whole there's a lot going on around. Just one thing - only one shower rooms in one floor.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Marine

18 January 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I have never stayed in a hostel before, and it was an amazing experience. I felt really safe, and everything was so clean and tidy. The front desk folks were really helpful, and I would suggest others to stay at this hostel.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got a private room and this was fantastic value, with its own bathroom. The kitchen is one of the best equipped i've seen at a hosel and really really clean. Breakfast is also pretty decent, bagels, toast and if you're early omlette too. I rate this place, onlydownfall is the locatin, it's better to stay near fisherman's wharf, butthis place is near union square at least.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.