HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Francisco - Downtown San Francisco Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 89%

Location 91%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

We are not-for-profit
The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members.

15% taxes not included in the price and should be added to the total amount payable upon arrival.

***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 89%

Location 91%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

Showing 21-30 of 162 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Clean and spacious. Good facilities.

Disliked: Not much going on in the hostel. Too few activities. It didn't seem to be a hostel where people mingled and chatted. We were put in a room with a professor who was attending a conference which felt weird to us as 3 students. It didn't have the younger vibe we were hoping for.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback and I am glad to hear found the facilities spacious and clean! I am sorry you did not get the social interaction you were looking for, as that is a big part of why most everyone chooses to stay (and work in) a hostel, and that is certainly something we work hard at stimulating. It looks like you arrived Saturday and missed the pub crawl & mission tours, which I think you would have liked! We are open to all ages and feel there is a lot of strength in that!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy Breakfast selection is poor

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great location, wifi is strong, quiet at night and the free breakfast in the morning is decent

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Heya!

Glad to hear you enjoyed the WiFi, Breakfast, had a good night's rest with us, and disliked nothing! We appreciate the positive feedback! However, we are wondering what we could do better next time in order to not get a failing score?! We absolutely read this feedback, give credit due to those staff who made high marks possible, and look for areas we can improve upon when receiving low marks. This one leaves us a bit stumped though!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: The kitchen was chaotic in the morning... very hard to get breakfast no matter what time!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is clean and close to the city. They offer free breakfast and the staff is friendly

Disliked: I wished that it would be possible to check in earlier than 3pm

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Location and coffee.

Disliked: Noise at night, loudly closing doos of restroom just next door of our room.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The kitchen facilities were good, there were many social areas and the rooms were very clean!

Disliked: After dark the local area is very unsafe which is unsettling. Also, there are not many social activities on in the evenings that I stayed, and there were also few day activities which was disappointing. A guide of how to get around to major attractions may be helpful as the bus system is not clear.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities, and our staff is always there to give directions and advice. We usually do have an activity or event every day of the week and display this information throughout the hostel. Our usual activity slate consists of 5 walking tours, 2-3 evening mixer/meals, a pub crawl, and a bike tour. If we had any cancellations or you were not informed, I do apologize. Our neighborhood is bustling late into the night and I see how this can be unsettling to some.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Breakfast was awesome! Location couldn't be better. Cool activities.

Disliked: Small and only a few bathrooms available. One side of the building was really hot - no airconditioning.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was in an excellent location! So easy to get to from the airport and easy to get around town. The hostel was clean, the beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The staff were OK, but when I checked in they weren't forthcoming with information; I had to ask for information that I think should be supplied automatically (the wifi password, what time I could check in, etc). The hostel was LOUD! It was really stuffy in the rooms with the windows shut, but with them open it was a party in the street directly below. I know the hostel can't help that, but if you're a light sleeper, you may struggle.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was more like a hotel than a hostel! Really nice clean faclities and the room was nice also. Would recommend to anyone travelling to San Fran!

Disliked: The rooms didn't have air con but a fan was an OK substitute.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability