We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Hostel | 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102-1704

88.5% Overall Rating

582 out of 641 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2015)

"The kitchen facilities were good, there were many social areas and the rooms were very clean!"

Read all HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are not-for-profit The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members. 15% taxes not included in the price and should be added to the total amount payable upon arrival. ***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Post Hotel
145.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
San Francisco International Hostel
34.00 USD

Hostel 63.9% 984 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
44.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 246 reviews
Taylor Hotel
58.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
57.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel
32.58 USD

Hostel 71.5% 237 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 737 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

582 out of 641 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 392 of 492 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has an awesome atmosphere

Disliked: The vending machine ate my money and the Phone did not work properly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were clean and good to use. Comfortable bed and having a hand basin in the bedroom was useful

Disliked: A little noisy at night with window open

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was well designed for sharing. The atmosphere was good with staff very happy to help.

Disliked: Couldn't get warm water in the shower

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Svärdh

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2015 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Renovated, have thought of the important things you need with USB Sockets. Very close to shopping and transport

Disliked: Tina left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location! Rooms, showers and toilets are clean and comfy. Staff is friendly and helpful. They offer really good bagels for breakfast. There is also a strong WiFi in this place.

Disliked: Fitted carpet was the onlu minus of this place. The place is a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location in town!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Full bag of groceries vanished from the fridge one morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Asquith

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 December 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to from the station, friendly staff, free coffee, good facilities and a good atmosphere

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christoph Göring

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the refurbished rooms

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Scrivener

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: The style and size of the property made us feel very trendy and also that we had picked the correct hostel as it was in more of a purpose built building. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great, busy at times but plenty of room. WiFi access good and generally all the facilities clean and new.

Disliked: Nothing - thoroughly recommend.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good location, clean, good breakfast, heldpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014

Liked: super friendly staff and good breakfast. good location.

Disliked: dirty. one person puked all over the floor one night and it didn't get cleaned up until the next afternoon. shower stalls and restrooms also not clean. the beds were the worst, really old and rusty. also verz noisy from the street...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Freundlichkeit der Mitarbeiter, das frühstück

Disliked: Das Badezimmer. Die Sicherheit der Fenster. Kein locker im Raum um Wertgegenstände einschließen zu können, allerdings würde uns durch die Mitarbeiter angeboten den reisepass einschließen zu lassen. Sehr nett.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Tubaro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Very good position and wonderful room.

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014

Liked: Good locations and price! San Fran is expensive, so the hostel was a great option.

Disliked: We were a group of three friends in a private room, with a shared bathroom. Thankfully the toilet and shower were individual units, so not several showers in an open block like we anticipated-phew! The location is spot on, right around the corner from Powell st BART station and union square, which is the central part of town. The cable cars also Go from Powell st. We were in SF for 4 days and despite wanting to ride the cars and buying the 3 day travel ticket which included the cable cars, everytime we tried, there was a queue of around 90mins which, with so much to see and do, we couldn't justify. There seemed to be a lot of rules when we first booked into the hostel, what we could and couldn't do, like no food or drink in the rooms, which, certainly with a private room, we found very unfair, as that meant we couldn't eat a subway in our room, or have a drink whilst getting ready to go out!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurence Putnam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Laurence would recommend this property

Liked: We are 9 days into our road trip stayed in the penthouse in the standard in LA and can honestly say this place gave us more for our money.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great staff very helpfull and always friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katie Moore

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are mostly helpful and friendly, mostly clean, decent sized private rooms, events are lots of fun

Disliked: Getting bites and being told it was an allergic reaction but it wasn't. We got moved to a different room and they got an exterminator in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Bathrooms were cleaned daily. Front desk were nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, and all the abovementioned!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a great atmosphere and offered lots of activities to keep travellers busy. The breakfast bagels were delicious and the kitchen well run.

Disliked: The hostel, although close to the shopping malls and station was not great with lots of homeless people around and hassling you for money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice hostel located downtown SF. The kitchen and breakfast is really good and the activities offered by the staff are fun! The rooms are nice but simple. I would definately go there again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014

Liked: central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.