HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI-San Francisco Downtown (Union Square)

Hostel | 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102-1704

89.1% Overall Rating

485 out of 535 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

Briana Currall thinks…

"Clean and well located. Our room was very hot though and it was winter. Otherwise it was 100%"

Read all HI-San Francisco Downtown (Union Square) reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are not-for-profit The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members. ***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
San Francisco International Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 74.2% 830 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 82.2% 174 reviews
Taylor Hotel
36.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.7% 429 reviews
AAE Amsterdam
23.54 USD

Hostel 73.9% 179 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
42.00 USD

Hostel 92.3% 670 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

485 out of 535 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI-San Francisco Downtown (Union Square)'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 333 of 386 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very reasonably priced, and great value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location and nice building with very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: No complaints

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the staff were very helpful

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jose Motta

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good

Disliked: I stayed in a private room for 2 persons and the washbasin was inside the room and not inside the bathroom which I dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt really safe and comfortable here. Love the free coffee.

Disliked: Policy on not storing bags overnight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, helpfulness of staff, breakfast, ambience, quite spaces to escape the city and dorm

Disliked: Had to wait for shower in the morning

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brianne Gallagher

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2013 Brianne would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel. This was my 5th time staying there. Its a good atmosphere for meeting new friends and exploring the city. The staff is knowledgable and the hostel is very safe. The facilities are clean and the kitchen and living room are like being at home. Always a good experience at this hostel!

Disliked: Brianne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, the place is clean and friendly. We liked the daily activities - a good way to meet other travelers and check out the city.

Disliked: Cold showers! Every morning, even if you got in early - the showers were cold. This is the only complaint though, this place was great.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

krystal cannon

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 May 2013 krystal would recommend this property

Liked: Good IKEA furniture and bagel Breakfast

Disliked: Old building so we heard everything outside, they provided ear plugs though. Bad shower pressure.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the city centre, breakfast, a lot of activities offered

Disliked: Sometimes cold showers

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, amenities were good.

Disliked: Was a bit noisy at night, although free earplugs were provided....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is perfect and it is clean! The staff were all really friendly and helpful. What more can you ask for? Make sure you do the bike round the bay organised by the hostel if you're there on that day, it was the best way to see the city for sure!

Disliked: I didnt dislike anything about the hostel, although they could benefit from maybe one more options on the breakfast front. The cream bagels are amazing but you soon get sick of bread if youre there for more than 2days. Maybe another cereal other than porridge would be suffice... but then again there are hostels that dont give you breakfast so beggars cant be choosers! Just a suggestion :-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool, quirky place. Great location. Activities throughout the week.

Disliked: Sound carried down the hallways. So depends on the consideration of the people you're staying with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had an excellent stay. Convenient location, helpful staff, clean rooms. Love the bagel breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff that will always do their best to help you out. It was very appreciated.

Disliked: Sometimes the toilets were dirty and hard to find one that was free. More toilets needed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly enough staff. Lots of bathroom facilities, warm showers. Breakfast of bagels & coffee. Nice atmosphere. It was a comfortable stay.

Disliked: Unable to check in until 2pm. So at 2pm there was a big queue of people wanting to get into their rooms. This was a bit frustrating when I'd been waiting a few hours already. Many hostels allow early check in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Drummond

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Probably one of the best, if not the best, hostels we have stayed in.

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Romualda Plewes

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Romualda would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Helpful staff. Excellent facilities. Free wi-fi. Excellent breakfast. Warm.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: The so called 'breakfast' was not good at all. Almost no options.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Game

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Location was great, facilities were clean and there is an elevator!

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was wonderful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I recommend it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Thomas LEFEBVRE

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome kitchen, hostel activites each night, common areas.

Disliked: The room was very dark, the windows were in front of walls. Sometimes the bathroom was dirty. The staff wasn't really nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Old building // heating system, but quite comfortable. The hostel is located in the downtown, very close to the popular shopping area around Union Square and Powell BART station. San Francisco has one of the best public transportation system I have seen in US, and it is very easy to reach beach, popular tourist attractions from the hostel. Pros summed up: Nice clean rooms, warm, free breakfast, great kitchen. Free decent speed internet. Private rooms available for decent price. The location is just perfect.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Avila

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this place, the location was great, we could go anywhere in SF with just one bus, cable car or metro. The kitchen had everything we needed, it was clean and the fridge was big enough to leave our groceries. Staff was friendly.

Disliked: If you mind the traffic noise you may want to think twice, other than that this hostel was wonderful,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tricia Ling

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Tricia would recommend this property

Liked: clean and friendly

Disliked: toilet sharing