We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

Hostel | 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102-1704

88.9% Overall Rating

549 out of 607 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2015)

Christobel Innes thinks…

"The location was awesome. I really liked this hostel and the staff were always friendly and willing to help me find my way around San Francisco."

Read all HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are not-for-profit The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members. 15% taxes not included in the price and should be added to the total amount payable upon arrival. ***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Post Hotel
145.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
San Francisco International Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 79.1% 951 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 230 reviews
Taylor Hotel
52.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
39.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel
30.17 USD

Hostel 72.6% 231 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 89.0% 722 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

549 out of 607 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 371 of 458 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a great atmosphere and offered lots of activities to keep travellers busy. The breakfast bagels were delicious and the kitchen well run.

Disliked: The hostel, although close to the shopping malls and station was not great with lots of homeless people around and hassling you for money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice hostel located downtown SF. The kitchen and breakfast is really good and the activities offered by the staff are fun! The rooms are nice but simple. I would definately go there again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014

Liked: central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean and central

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phoebe Reid

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Phoebe would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Union Square, always felt safe and comfortable. Breakfast provided was great.

Disliked: It's a bit old and creaky, but I suppose that adds to the charm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Lancaster

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: It's extremely central location and the free basic breakfast

Disliked: We ran out of hot water one night. That was about it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Haydon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great. The location really won me over though

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money, a nice, clean room and lots of activities to get involved with.

Disliked: Not the nicest area and our private room had a radiator that made loud noises around 6am and could not be switched off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Duncan

Alone

City break

26 April 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, very friendly atmosphere. The bike tour was amazing!

Disliked: Extremely noisy. Not even the complimentary earphones blocked out the constant horns and sirons

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, nice breakfast

Disliked: Smallish private room.... No Toiletpaper in toilet first evening/night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: In a ghetto part of San Francisco

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, accommodation, price and staff all great

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location right in the centre of downtown

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Brooks

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

17 March 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: eclectic feel opportunity to meet people from around the world

Disliked: had cold shower in our dorm style room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Briana Currall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Briana would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well located. Our room was very hot though and it was winter. Otherwise it was 100%

Disliked: Briana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and great central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great downtown location, cool staff, superb kitchen, free breakfast, coffee flatrate, free WiFi

Disliked: Mattresses are pretty worn, no "desk-like" sitting space outside of kitchen hours (7am-10pm), lockers are very noisy and not compatible with 'bigger' padlocks, no smoking room/patio/deck (you have to go outside the hostel), WiFi is not secure (no wpa)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Imlach

Alone

City break

22 November 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Super central, more mature crowd, great breakfast, wifi and activities (the bike tour in particular is well recommended). Free earplugs to block out street noise

Disliked: Mattress sagging slightly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - handy to transport. Nice kitchen & lounge. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Noisy guests during quiet hours. Small room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013

Liked: Very central location.

Disliked: The plumbing, the sink in our room backed up with filthy black water and you can hear dripping in the walls.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ana Carina Espeche

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Ana Carina would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location!

Disliked: Ana Carina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Kooi Bing Ling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013 Alex Kooi Bing would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean, great management.

Disliked: Needed more pub crawls.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of everything, clean rooms, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simone Pirovano

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Wifi was not working in our room. No labels on breakfast bagels means you end up having an onion one with jam...