HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Francisco - Downtown San Francisco Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 93%

Safety 91%

Staff 96%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

We are not-for-profit
The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members.

15% taxes not included in the price and should be added to the total amount payable upon arrival.

***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 93%

Safety 91%

Staff 96%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 86 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location. Private room nice - well decorated.

Disliked: Private room had no fans and was very hot as if you had the windows open all the street noise came through. BUT beware - the street noise comes through anyway and I had very little sleep every night due to trucks, homeless people screaming, and other people in the hostel being loud/slamming their doors. This is a very noisy place, it is a good base to explore the city but if you want sleep... Don't stay here

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room decor! I apologize that you had problems sleeping with the noise. For some of our rooms, this is certainly a drawback of being located right downtown. We do offer earplugs for free at the front desk (as well as fans to borrow). The hot nights of the past month, I can assure you, are very uncommon in San Francisco! We generally have only a few truly hot nights per year.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location in the heart of the city with friendly, welcoming staff.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was EXTREMELY loud at night. I didn't really sleep well. I did not read anywhere that there were no fans, a/c, and/or heat. That was not a fun surprise.

Disliked: It was EXTREMELY loud at night. I didn't really sleep well. I did not read anywhere that there were no fans, a/c, and/or heat. That was not a fun surprise.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I am sorry to hear that you did not get a good night's sleep due to the noise. While some rooms can be louder than others, being right in the heart of downtown SF does have its drawbacks. We do have free earplugs. We do have heating and for those rooms which do not have fans, we do have some at the front desk which can be borrowed. A/C however, is not common in SF, as it is only "hot" perhaps 3-5 nights per year. This last month was an anomaly though, and the hottest on record!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff - very helpful and made us feel very welcome! Lots of great activitiesFantastic location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Impressed with the individual rooms with private bathroom, clean, tidy and everything working. Cleaners in everyday too! Hostel so close to everything as well, a big plus

Disliked: The only thing i can say negative from my stay is that me and my partner didnt have a double bed, it was a twin room but it didnt annoy me enough that i felt like i needed to complain

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Beds were really comfy!

Disliked: No fresh milk available for free tea/coffee - tea without milk is no good at all!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly, clean, good value for money

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location, awesome friendly and supportive staff.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Clean and spacious. Good facilities.

Disliked: Not much going on in the hostel. Too few activities. It didn't seem to be a hostel where people mingled and chatted. We were put in a room with a professor who was attending a conference which felt weird to us as 3 students. It didn't have the younger vibe we were hoping for.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback and I am glad to hear found the facilities spacious and clean! I am sorry you did not get the social interaction you were looking for, as that is a big part of why most everyone chooses to stay (and work in) a hostel, and that is certainly something we work hard at stimulating. It looks like you arrived Saturday and missed the pub crawl & mission tours, which I think you would have liked! We are open to all ages and feel there is a lot of strength in that!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy Breakfast selection is poor

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability