HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Francisco - Downtown San Francisco Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

We are not-for-profit
The San Francisco Downtown Hostel is operated by the Golden Gate Council of Hostelling International USA, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting intercultural understanding, environmental stewardship, and world peace through travel. There is an additional daily membership fee of $3 per adult for non-Hostelling International members.

15% taxes not included in the price and should be added to the total amount payable upon arrival.

***GROUPS LARGER THAN 7 MUST BOOK THROUGH THE HOSTELS GROUP SALES DEPARTMENT. ***

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 83%

Showing 11-20 of 93 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was EXTREMELY loud at night. I didn't really sleep well. I did not read anywhere that there were no fans, a/c, and/or heat. That was not a fun surprise.

Disliked: It was EXTREMELY loud at night. I didn't really sleep well. I did not read anywhere that there were no fans, a/c, and/or heat. That was not a fun surprise.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I am sorry to hear that you did not get a good night's sleep due to the noise. While some rooms can be louder than others, being right in the heart of downtown SF does have its drawbacks. We do have free earplugs. We do have heating and for those rooms which do not have fans, we do have some at the front desk which can be borrowed. A/C however, is not common in SF, as it is only "hot" perhaps 3-5 nights per year. This last month was an anomaly though, and the hottest on record!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff - very helpful and made us feel very welcome! Lots of great activitiesFantastic location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Impressed with the individual rooms with private bathroom, clean, tidy and everything working. Cleaners in everyday too! Hostel so close to everything as well, a big plus

Disliked: The only thing i can say negative from my stay is that me and my partner didnt have a double bed, it was a twin room but it didnt annoy me enough that i felt like i needed to complain

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Beds were really comfy!

Disliked: No fresh milk available for free tea/coffee - tea without milk is no good at all!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly, clean, good value for money

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location, awesome friendly and supportive staff.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Clean and spacious. Good facilities.

Disliked: Not much going on in the hostel. Too few activities. It didn't seem to be a hostel where people mingled and chatted. We were put in a room with a professor who was attending a conference which felt weird to us as 3 students. It didn't have the younger vibe we were hoping for.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback and I am glad to hear found the facilities spacious and clean! I am sorry you did not get the social interaction you were looking for, as that is a big part of why most everyone chooses to stay (and work in) a hostel, and that is certainly something we work hard at stimulating. It looks like you arrived Saturday and missed the pub crawl & mission tours, which I think you would have liked! We are open to all ages and feel there is a lot of strength in that!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy Breakfast selection is poor

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great location, wifi is strong, quiet at night and the free breakfast in the morning is decent

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Heya!

Glad to hear you enjoyed the WiFi, Breakfast, had a good night's rest with us, and disliked nothing! We appreciate the positive feedback! However, we are wondering what we could do better next time in order to not get a failing score?! We absolutely read this feedback, give credit due to those staff who made high marks possible, and look for areas we can improve upon when receiving low marks. This one leaves us a bit stumped though!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: The kitchen was chaotic in the morning... very hard to get breakfast no matter what time!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability