We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of USA Hostels San Francisco

Hostel | 711 Post Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94109

89.0% Overall Rating

704 out of 722 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2015)

Gareth Toovey thinks…

"The rooms were nice and clean and long beds which is great considering I'm rather tall. Also the walking tour by Brian was awesome! Showed me so much about San Fran I had never known or thought about!"

Read all USA Hostels San Francisco reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Listed prices do not include taxes. All bed rates of $40 or more have tourist, hotel and city taxes of 16.25%. Bed rates less than $40 are taxed only 1% tourist tax, per city regulations. All taxes are added at check in. Check in is 2pm. Check out is 10am. We welcome guests from everywhere outside of San Francisco county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented. Parents with young children must contact the hostel prior to booking. Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability there’s a small change guests will be put in separate rooms. Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be considered as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Layne Hotel
39.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Taylor Hotel
52.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Luz Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 76.0% 12 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel
30.17 USD

Hostel 72.6% 231 reviews
Post Hotel
145.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Mithila Hotel
31.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 69.2% 9 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 231 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

704 out of 722 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'USA Hostels San Francisco'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 552 of 619 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ana Cigaran Romero

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2015 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is great and fully equipped.

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anne sofie høj Christensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 Anne sofie høj would recommend this property

Liked: all good

Disliked: Staying in sf is very expensive. Also, a chair in the room would have been nice. I had an upper bunk, so I had to sit on the floor to tie my shoes and so on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Whiticker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2015 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful clean great amenities lots of extras

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Toovey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2015 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice and clean and long beds which is great considering I'm rather tall. Also the walking tour by Brian was awesome! Showed me so much about San Fran I had never known or thought about!

Disliked: Can't really say I disliked anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Basil Long

Alone

City break

08 April 2015 Basil would recommend this property

Liked: In the world of hostels, this is KING. You're staying in a hostel, not a hotel, so you know what to expect. But this is a really good hostel. Ok, the bathrooms are clean and plentiful - I didn't have to wait for a shower once. The toilets, sinks and showers are often separate, so you're not having to wait for someone to finish all their ablutions. There are soap dispensers, so don't worry about that; and you get given a towel on check-in with no extra charge. The rooms are mostly 4 bed dorms; so not too much noise. That said, there are free earplugs at reception. Sheets are also included at no extra charge. The beds all have a socket, 2 charging USB ports and a light. There are lockers in the rooms too (bring a decent lock) and even they have two sockets inside so you can leave stuff on charge whilst you're out. Free WiFi is included. Breakfast downstairs is until 10am and it's included, no extra charge. You get bread (including cinnamon fruit loaf), muffins (sometimes) and bagels with butter, jams and soft cheese. You get fruit, fruit juice, teas and coffees (good selection of teas). They even have pancake mix, griddles and syrup. It's good. The kitchen is VERY good for your own cooking needs as well They have laundry and vending machines as well as shared use computers - I didn't use these so can't comment on them. The hostel is really well organised too - they have some sort of social event every evening to get you introduced to each other which is really good. They have shuttle buses to the airport, and lots free maps and other San Fran info. I stayed in April; so can't comment on either air-con or heating. I also cannot comment on accessibility features, though from my recall there were steps at the front. There may be disabled access or other accessibility features of which I am not aware. It is about a 5 minute walk to/from the F-car stops, to the buses, to the Muni subway and the BART system (direct from the airport) on Market Street. It is about a 10 minute ride on the F-car to either the Ferry building on the Embarcardero, or to the Castro areas.

Disliked: If I had to pick a fault, the only one that I could pick is the area. There are quite a number of homeless people or drug dealers in the area. Girls/ladies would perhaps be advised to get a cab from the F-Car/ Muni underground / BART stops on Market Street, particularly if late at night. That said, at no point did I feel under threat walking back at 3 or 4 am after a night out. Aside from a couple of comments such as "what's a pretty white boy like you doing in these parts" they did not hassle or threaten; some were quite funny, most were caught up in there own little groups to be aware of anyone in the street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super nice, helpful and motivated. Hostel organised free activities etc to meet others e.g. walking tour drinks night, pasta night, karaoke night, pub crawls etc. Other reviews suggest the breakfast is plain, but I thought it was quite good for what it was - not what you would expect for a hotel buffet, but quite good for a hostel. Really liked the cream cheese they served, also provided hazelnut and english toffee syrups to add to your coffees and nice teabags, earplugs, sheets and towels. Took the walking tour with Brian and he provided a good basis for exploring the rest of the city. Brian was great and shared extra local knowledge during the tour.

Disliked: It is on the fringe of the Tenderloin district, but I felt safe walking up Post Street if I was coming back at night. I didn't stay out too late though, latest I came back was around 10-11pm. On a couple nights I heard a woman cackling loudly from the street in the early morning. The sheets do seem a little old. Otherwise a great stay for anyone travelling alone who is interested in meeting people, great service with lots of useful knowledge shared.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael barwick

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2015 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Everything close and staff and facilities top rate

Disliked: One small thing was no glasses or even plastic cups available

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was very clean and well equiped with good lockers, good showers and a great community area (especially the cinema with netflix looks for challengers here)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has good facilities

Disliked: Smelly room, used towels, unclean toilets

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

corinne gertsch

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2015 corinne would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and they also had a lot of things to do, attractions from the hostel. Staff was very friendly. Description card for all the places to go, this was very helpful and easy. They had a good common room

Disliked: They had lockers but you could only use them with a big locker and not a small one. There could have been more showers on each floor..and toilets.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marc Perrot

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2015 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Breakfast is good and they have a bunch of activities for travellers.

Disliked: Wifi wasn't the greatest in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean. Great set up, power socket and light by bed. Hairdryer!! Very helpful reception staff.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

tara chambers

Alone

City break

11 February 2015 tara would recommend this property

Liked: The beds

Disliked: Wasn't that busy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nemanja Skoric

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2015 Nemanja would recommend this property

Liked: I like how they also think about small details, such as having a power plug, light and a small shelf in each bed or having a luggage store room. The kitchen is also very well equipped. Overall, a really good hostel, one of the better ones I visited.

Disliked: Check out at 11(or later) instead of 10 would be more appreciated.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern, much better than some hotels even!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Eva hakansson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2015 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and close to city center

Disliked: IT was very vild in the dorm. No heat. Very bad. You do not want to play to freeze.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have events and plenty of open space.

Disliked: It's general location is a bit further in and close to the shady neighborhood. I also had a roommate that seemed to have a horn blower of a snore, but that's a risk at any hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Sophia Wille

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2014 Anne Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: Such an awesome place to stay in SF! I loved all the activities they offer! Also they provide great advise how to reach all the sights. The rooms are nice, big enough and clean.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of free activities inside (pool tables, fusball table, cinema)

Disliked: shared bathroom and showers for the whole floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karla Donjuan

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2014 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: location and facilities were great

Disliked: Staff was not friendly, neither helpful at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tom Doyle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Great wifi, free breakfast, comfy beds, bedside light and plugs, good lounge area, beer fridge

Disliked: Not super clean, found a few hairs in the bath and beds after they had been "cleaned"

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of activities including wine tours, yoga and walking tours

Disliked: The events were only run on set days so you couldn't go if they didn't fall during your stay

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 분위기도 정말 좋고, 아침도 식빵, 베이글, 팬케익, 과일, 차까지~ 다양하게 먹을수 있어서 너무 좋았습니다, 투어도 다양하구요. 침대도 깨끗합니다 , 그런데 두번째날은 맞은편 음식점이 너무시끄러웠어요.

Disliked: 주변 소음이..있어요

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Wohlrab

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient to union square and central to anywhere else in SF you may want to visit.

Disliked: Property was a dream. Nothing on the dislike side of things.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is among the cleanest and most user friendly hostels I've stayed at.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.