We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Diego, USA

96.2%
223 reviews Book Now 
1

USA Hostels San Diego

Hostel
726 5th Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

205 out of 223 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels San Diego

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 98% Facilities - 93% Safety - 98%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 93%
Philipp Mentis
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Philipp would recommend this property 30 December 2014

Great staff. Very friendly and helpful. Plus, very comfortable atmosphere. I felt safe and surrounded by nice people. Everything is neat and tidy and the kitchen is big and offers everything you need for cooking.

Marian Hof
Alone
City break
85.7%
Marian would recommend this property 26 December 2014

Comfortable mattresses on the bunk beds, good airflow, showers with separate area to get dressed, location right in the heart of the Gaslight District with lots of restaurants, bars, shopping and food stores close by. The staff were great, friendly and helpful and always arranging things to do.

94.3%
39 reviews Book Now 
2

International Travelers House Adventure Hostel

Hostel
1658 Front St, San Diego, USA 92101

38 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend International Travelers House Adventure Hostel

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 94% Facilities - 96% Safety - 94%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 96%
Adam Green
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Adam would recommend this property 06 September 2014

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. They had both morning and evening activities most of which where completely free. Good breakfast and lunch included in the price. You can spend your time chilling out in the garden or you can party hard 24 7 it's got something for everyone.

Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 05 September 2014

I liked the friendly and relaxed atmosphere in San Diego. They offer free activities at day and at night which are led by a member of staff which give you the opportunity to meet other people very easily. As I was traveling by myself, this was just the perfect hostel for me. It is great value for money and I felt comfortable and content the whole time!

90.9%
71 reviews Book Now 
3

HI - San Diego - Point Loma Hostel

Hostel
3790 Udall Street, (corner of Worden), San Diego, USA CA 92107

70 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Diego - Point Loma Hostel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 93% Facilities - 93% Safety - 96%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 88%
Charlotte Glab
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Charlotte would recommend this property 28 February 2012

Great setup - such a wonderfully relaxed hostel to be staying - in a quiet enough area, with good facilities, good rooms and most of the staff are stellar - very helpful and accommodating, and keen for a chat about all manner of things.

matthew Vogt
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
matthew would recommend this property 01 February 2012

The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful. The free pancakes in the morning really started the day off right. The private room was cozy and comfortable. You cannot beat this hostel, as its only two miles from Ocean Beach (which rocks), as well as close to the airport (2 miles or so). Check out the Pizza place and mexican joint near the supermarket... you won't regret it.

89.8%
319 reviews Book Now 
4

HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel

Hostel
521 Market Street, San Diego, USA CA 92101

299 out of 319 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 93% Facilities - 86% Safety - 94%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 84%
Renan Santos
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Renan would recommend this property 26 January 2015

Very good location!! Great service people, Very helpfull ! Even when your english is not that good. Hahah

Elizabeth Migoni
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
100.0%
Elizabeth would recommend this property 04 January 2014

The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The service was friendly. All around we were very pleased.

88.3%
236 reviews Book Now 
5

Lucky D's Hostel

Hostel
615 8th Ave, San Diego, USA 92101

221 out of 236 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lucky D's Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 87% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 90%
Holly Taylor
Alone
City break, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Holly would recommend this property 16 February 2015

I felt at home at lucky d's , great location five min walk from city centre. Lots of interesting fellow travellers and chats in the common rooms made it a great stay. Staff were helpful, Marta was very welcoming upon arrival and gave me lots of information on the city, I feel like my San Diego has expanded lots now! Going out tour on Saturday night with Lisa was great to see the city at night. Hostel was clean and free beer on saturday and I scream on Sunday! Yum. Overall I'd defunately Return to Sunny D's if I return to the golden coast!

Luciano de Almeida Helu
Alone
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Luciano would recommend this property 04 December 2014

I think Lucky D's is a great hostel! It's clean and safe, and the location is excellent, because it's near Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Convention Center and the San Diego Bay. Also, the price is fair with good services, and the staff is great. Michael, Sasha, Anna and Gregory were very friendly and supportive, showing me many places in San Diego. Jackie is another staff member that you can always count on! Extremely happy, funny and she also prepared an excellent Thanksgiving dinner for everybody! Strongly recommend it!

87.8%
150 reviews Book Now 
6

San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel

Hostel
4961 Newport Ave, San Diego, USA 92107

136 out of 150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 92% Facilities - 87% Safety - 86%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2015

The staff is super friendly. It is located in a very laid-back area. I love the relaxed atmosphere of the community of Ocean Beach. Also, the hostel is just 2 minutes away from the beach.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 06 August 2014

Great place to stay if you want to be by the beach. Met some really nice people here and made some friends for life. Had an awesome time.

87.3%
72 reviews Book Now 
7

Hostel on 3rd

Hostel
542 3rd Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

67 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel on 3rd

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 88% Facilities - 90% Safety - 86%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 10 January 2015

Fantastic location, staff was super friendly and helpful, hostel was clean and comfortable, and it was wonderful having a full kitchen on hand.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 29 August 2014

This Hostel is definitely one of the best places in San Diego. Rooms are clean and beds are good. The stuff is always helpful and arranged to fulfill your wishes.

77.0%
29 reviews Book Now 
8

RK Buckner Hostel

Hostel
765 10th Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

25 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend RK Buckner Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 88% Facilities - 68% Safety - 71%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 67% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 February 2015

We were meant to be in a 4 bed dorm but the guy at the desk put us into a different room than was planned so we had the dormroom to ourselves the whole stay. Location is perfect- walking distance to the main area for restaurants and nightlife. The bathrooms were clean and always available.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
60.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 January 2015

It's located in Downtown, near bars and restaurants in Gaslamp District. It's near the Greyhound bus station and the trolley station. You can also walk to Seaport Village. If you like the beach, this is not the right place to stay, it takes two hours to get there (trolley and bus). The bathroom was always clean.

75.4%
13 reviews Book Now 
9

500 West Hotel

2 star Hotel
500 West Broadway, San Diego, USA CA 92101

10 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 500 West Hotel

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 78% Facilities - 67% Safety - 80%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 69% Value - 69%
Craig Fowler
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Craig would recommend this property 23 January 2015

The location is very good. Wifi is very good but it can drop out sometimes. 6 floors with a elevator. Daily maid service. Hot showers but the water pressure could be a little better. Price for a 4 bed room is very good but can change from week to week.

KAROLINA MUZAKOVA
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
KAROLINA would recommend this property 15 July 2014

Really good location, exactly in the city center, friendly stuff - very helpfull, rooms are safe enough. All in all, very good accomodation for a little money, especially for students.

71.0%
56 reviews Book Now 
10

St. Christopher International Hostel

Hostel
2420 India Street, San Diego, USA 92101

42 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend St. Christopher International Hostel

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 76% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 70% Cleanliness - 64% Value - 71%
Harriet Willson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Harriet would recommend this property 14 August 2013

I only booked this hostel as it was the only one available for my dates. I enjoyed my time so much here I extended by 2 days. The hostel is in a great location, it's noisy most of the day due to planes as its very close to the airport but the convenience of the closeness of the airport outweighs the noise. This is the only hostel you can play the plane drinking game! If you're open minded and laid back this is the place for you. The hostel itself is average but it is good value for money, especially in San Diego! But the best part of St Christopher's is the manager, Juliet. She is a wonderful woman with a fabulous personality. She has epic stories if you take the time to ask. And providing you are polite and respectful, she will treat you like an old friend returning home. She has created the perfect hostel atmosphere, a home from home. I made friends I will never forget here, Juliet being one of them. I would recommend St Christopher's and I hope to return soon for considerably longer! Thank you, Juilet!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 06 August 2011

Loved this hostel so much fun and the manager makes you feel so welcome. Didnt want to leave, even missing the planes.

San Diego

19 Hostels from 15.27 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Diego hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Diego. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.