HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Diego, USA

96.0%
26 reviews Book Now 
1

International Travelers House Adventure Hostel

Hostel
1658 Front St, San Diego, USA 92101

26 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend International Travelers House Adventure Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 96% Facilities - 96% Safety - 99%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 98%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 03 February 2014

Great staff, very friendly. Lots of great activities on offer. For any staff reading this that were concerned about me crossing the border to Tijuana airport, I made it just fine!

kylie wates
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
kylie would recommend this property 11 January 2014

Great place to stay, with breakfast and dinner provided (just get in early!) the staff and other travellers were really friendly and it was cool to have daily activities planned that you could do. Location was great with an amazing market just one block away on Saturday.

95.4%
209 reviews Book Now 
2

USA Hostels San Diego

Hostel
726 5th Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

191 out of 209 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels San Diego

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 96% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 93%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 March 2014

Amazing breakfast, great beer specials every evening, very friendly staff and a great location.

Melissa Cell
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Melissa would recommend this property 18 February 2014

I loved my stay at USA Hostels San Diego. The atmosphere is very lively and friendly, from the guests to the staff (some of whom seemed to live there.) Everything is very clean. The bathroom is co-ed, but the toilets and showers are in little rooms with doors, so they are very private. I stayed in a four-person dorm room which was small, but each bed had a private light and outlet, and a little wall up by the pillow for privacy. Bonus: there were outlets inside the lockers so I could charge my stuff while I was out!

91.9%
215 reviews Book Now 
3

Lucky D's Hostel

Hostel
615 8th Ave, San Diego, USA 92101

202 out of 215 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lucky D's Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 90% Safety - 93%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 92%
Samuel Healey
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Samuel would recommend this property 16 April 2014

Awesome place with a great vibe, extremely social and staff are very welcoming. The hostel is in an awsome neighbourhood close to heaps of bars. The staff were great, in particular Alex and Megan who who invited us out for drinks on a Saturdays night and Then took us up the coast to go camping for the night which was an added bonus we did not expect. This place exceeds expectations and especially Alex and Megan's customer service excellence

suzy guay
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
suzy would recommend this property 25 February 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel! The ambiance was really nice! The hostel was clean, it was well organised. I love the fact its only 4 beds per room and it is very affordable! The look of this hostel looks really cool too! Theres a nice design!

90.9%
309 reviews Book Now 
4

HI-San Diego (Downtown) The Metropolitan

Hostel
521 Market Street, San Diego, USA CA 92101

290 out of 309 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI-San Diego (Downtown) The Metropolitan

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 90%
Elizabeth Migoni
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
100.0%
Elizabeth would recommend this property 04 January 2014

The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The service was friendly. All around we were very pleased.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 December 2013

Great location, friendly staff, rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, and the decorations are nice!

89.7%
56 reviews Book Now 
5

Hostel on 3rd

Hostel
542 3rd Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

54 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel on 3rd

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 09 April 2014

This place has a great character about it and is in a fantastic location, close to the waterfront and transport links.

rhodri hopkins
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
rhodri would recommend this property 28 February 2014

James and his staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful during our stay here, we were really made to feel at home. Great pancake breakfast with a selection of cereals too.

87.3%
140 reviews Book Now 
6

San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel

Hostel
4961 Newport Ave, San Diego, USA 92107

126 out of 140 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 88% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 91%
Elizabeth Creek
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
77.1%
Elizabeth would recommend this property 29 August 2013

Walking distance of a beautiful beach and local shops, the bedrooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The farmers' market outside on a Wednesday is awesome.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
42.9%
04 April 2013

It's generally rubbish but if I had to pick something, the free ear plugs were useful.

76.6%
11 reviews Book Now 
7

RK Buckner Hostel

Hostel
765 10th Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

8 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend RK Buckner Hostel

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 90% Facilities - 70% Safety - 70%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 65% Value - 76%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, Relaxation/spa
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 19 March 2014

The rooms were clean and the beds well-made. The staff were hard-working and responsive. The location is easy to get to using public transportation.

Customer review
Alone
Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 21 February 2014

It is quiet and you get a good nights sleep , a few minutes walk from all the action. The rooms have a sink, and all the other facilities are well set up. The staff is friendly and helpful as were the people staying there.

75.6%
13 reviews Book Now 
8

California Dreams Backpacker's Hostel

Hostel
743 Emerald St, San Diego, USA 92109

10 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend California Dreams Backpacker's Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 87% Facilities - 64% Safety - 70%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 75%
Mr Mohammed M Rahman
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Mr Mohammed M would recommend this property 09 October 2013

The staff were really fret! Friendly and fun and always willing to help! Definitely will stay there again

melody durupt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
melody would recommend this property 28 September 2013

Cheap, located on the beach + bus 30 to the city & to sea world really close by.

70.9%
31 reviews Book Now 
9

R.K. Hostel

Hostel
642 W. Hawthorn Street, San Diego, USA 92101

19 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend R.K. Hostel

Atmosphere - 67% Staff - 72% Facilities - 64% Safety - 69%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 68% Value - 71%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 05 April 2014

Nice staff. Great location. I booked a single room and had a private bathroom! Room No. 31 - great deal!

Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 February 2014

It felt very comfortable and relaxed--I felt like I could hang out on my own or easily chat with other guests at the hostel. The staff was very friendly and I loved being walking distance from the water.

69.7%
54 reviews Book Now 
10

St. Christopher International Hostel

Hostel
2420 India Street, San Diego, USA 92101

41 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend St. Christopher International Hostel

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 76% Facilities - 59% Safety - 77%
Location - 69% Cleanliness - 63% Value - 69%
Harriet Willson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Harriet would recommend this property 14 August 2013

I only booked this hostel as it was the only one available for my dates. I enjoyed my time so much here I extended by 2 days. The hostel is in a great location, it's noisy most of the day due to planes as its very close to the airport but the convenience of the closeness of the airport outweighs the noise. This is the only hostel you can play the plane drinking game! If you're open minded and laid back this is the place for you. The hostel itself is average but it is good value for money, especially in San Diego! But the best part of St Christopher's is the manager, Juliet. She is a wonderful woman with a fabulous personality. She has epic stories if you take the time to ask. And providing you are polite and respectful, she will treat you like an old friend returning home. She has created the perfect hostel atmosphere, a home from home. I made friends I will never forget here, Juliet being one of them. I would recommend St Christopher's and I hope to return soon for considerably longer! Thank you, Juilet!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 06 August 2011

Loved this hostel so much fun and the manager makes you feel so welcome. Didnt want to leave, even missing the planes.

San Diego

23 Hostels from 21.84 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Diego hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Diego. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.