HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Diego, USA

95.9%
213 reviews Book Now 
1

USA Hostels San Diego

Hostel
726 5th Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

195 out of 213 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels San Diego

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 96% Facilities - 93% Safety - 97%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 93%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 March 2014

Amazing breakfast, great beer specials every evening, very friendly staff and a great location.

Melissa Cell
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Melissa would recommend this property 18 February 2014

I loved my stay at USA Hostels San Diego. The atmosphere is very lively and friendly, from the guests to the staff (some of whom seemed to live there.) Everything is very clean. The bathroom is co-ed, but the toilets and showers are in little rooms with doors, so they are very private. I stayed in a four-person dorm room which was small, but each bed had a private light and outlet, and a little wall up by the pillow for privacy. Bonus: there were outlets inside the lockers so I could charge my stuff while I was out!

94.2%
30 reviews Book Now 
2

International Travelers House Adventure Hostel

Hostel
1658 Front St, San Diego, USA 92101

29 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend International Travelers House Adventure Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 93% Safety - 97%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 96%
Johanna Englert
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Johanna would recommend this property 22 June 2014

This is the best youth hostel I've ever stayed at! Besides the fact that breakfast AND dinner are offered, which saves you quite some money, the atmosphere at the hostel was amazing. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. During my visit the other people staying at the hostel were all very sociable and fun to be with. The location is great since it is in a quiet area, but still in walking distance to the bars and clubs of the Gaslamp Quarter (Little Italy is right around the corner) and the trolley stop isjust a 5 min walk from the hostel. The activities offered by the hostel were also really fun and it was great that you got an opportunity to meet the people staying at the ITH Zoo Hostel. The Hostel is always very clean and although people go out together regularly the staff makes sure that the noise is kept down not to disturb the other guests.

Alexander Johnson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Alexander would recommend this property 06 May 2014

This hostel goes above and beyond in accommodating it's guests. I've stayed in several hostels in the past and this one is easily the best bang for your buck. They provide meals and even have a fridge available for storing personal items. Hands down the best part is the free activities that they provide: pub crawls (free cover charges to bars), sail boat trips, hikes, adventures around town...They also make it easy to meet people and all of the staff are extremely laid back and friendly!

93.3%
225 reviews Book Now 
3

Lucky D's Hostel

Hostel
615 8th Ave, San Diego, USA 92101

212 out of 225 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lucky D's Hostel

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 91% Facilities - 92% Safety - 94%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 18 July 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful, the location is in the middle of the city and you can easily meet other travelers. The dorm, showers and bathroom were clean.

Jason Sutton
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Jason would recommend this property 18 July 2014

The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Plenty of information and great activities. Great location and value for money

91.9%
69 reviews Book Now 
4

HI - San Diego - Point Loma

Hostel
3790 Udall Street, (corner of Worden), San Diego, USA CA 92107

68 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Diego - Point Loma

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 94% Safety - 97%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 90%
Charlotte Glab
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Charlotte would recommend this property 28 February 2012

Great setup - such a wonderfully relaxed hostel to be staying - in a quiet enough area, with good facilities, good rooms and most of the staff are stellar - very helpful and accommodating, and keen for a chat about all manner of things.

matthew Vogt
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
matthew would recommend this property 01 February 2012

The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful. The free pancakes in the morning really started the day off right. The private room was cozy and comfortable. You cannot beat this hostel, as its only two miles from Ocean Beach (which rocks), as well as close to the airport (2 miles or so). Check out the Pizza place and mexican joint near the supermarket... you won't regret it.

91.1%
312 reviews Book Now 
5

HI - San Diego - Downtown

Hostel
521 Market Street, San Diego, USA CA 92101

293 out of 312 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Diego - Downtown

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 93% Facilities - 88% Safety - 93%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 88%
Elizabeth Migoni
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
100.0%
Elizabeth would recommend this property 04 January 2014

The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The service was friendly. All around we were very pleased.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 December 2013

Great location, friendly staff, rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, and the decorations are nice!

90.1%
64 reviews Book Now 
6

Hostel on 3rd

Hostel
542 3rd Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

59 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel on 3rd

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 89% Facilities - 91% Safety - 90%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 88%
Maeve Murphy
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Maeve would recommend this property 22 June 2014

It was right in the centre of downtown, the staff were knowledgeable and helpful. It was very clean too.

Customer review
Alone
Business / conference
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 08 June 2014

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I ran into an issue upon arrival and the staff was more than accommodating. I really appreciate their understanding and flexibility. Cleanliness is average, but the location is great if you're planning on spending time at the gas lamp district or convention center. There is a great supermarket nearby and tons of restaurant choices in gas lamp. Noise from outside was a bit bothersome at times, but it's bearable considering the price you are paying in that location.

87.2%
144 reviews Book Now 
7

San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel

Hostel
4961 Newport Ave, San Diego, USA 92107

130 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 86% Facilities - 86% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 90%
Dee-Anna Blain
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Dee-Anna would recommend this property 13 June 2014

Great location, the people were lots of fun and friendly, they had lots of free stuff planned like bonfires on the beach etc and it was super clean! It felt like a big share house with lots of awesome housemates!

Elizabeth Creek
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
77.1%
Elizabeth would recommend this property 29 August 2013

Walking distance of a beautiful beach and local shops, the bedrooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The farmers' market outside on a Wednesday is awesome.

81.1%
19 reviews Book Now 
8

RK Buckner Hostel

Hostel
765 10th Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

16 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend RK Buckner Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 89% Facilities - 76% Safety - 76%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 71% Value - 83%
Don Durban
With friends / other travellers
City break
71.4%
Don would recommend this property 19 July 2014

its quirky in a fun way.... lots of colorful foreign people ... very interesting and unique

Achim Christian
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
Achim would recommend this property 23 May 2014

It offers all a traveller needs, so in the first place it's a practical thing: There is breakfast and a little bit of free food,´a kitchen to use laundry room and the wifi is OK. The location of the hostel is quite good, close to the gas lamp quater. The roof deck is a really nice extra, so all in all it's good value for little money, especially as we got the cheaper off season prices.

80.0%
5 reviews Book Now 
9

500 West Hotel

2 star Hotel
500 West Broadway, San Diego, USA CA 92101

4 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 500 West Hotel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 88% Facilities - 76% Safety - 88%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 60%
KAROLINA MUZAKOVA
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
KAROLINA would recommend this property 15 July 2014

Really good location, exactly in the city center, friendly stuff - very helpfull, rooms are safe enough. All in all, very good accomodation for a little money, especially for students.

Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 July 2013

The entering hall was beautiful! But my bedroon is way uglier than the one in the pictures.

69.7%
54 reviews Book Now 
10

St. Christopher International Hostel

Hostel
2420 India Street, San Diego, USA 92101

41 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend St. Christopher International Hostel

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 76% Facilities - 59% Safety - 77%
Location - 69% Cleanliness - 63% Value - 69%
Harriet Willson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Harriet would recommend this property 14 August 2013

I only booked this hostel as it was the only one available for my dates. I enjoyed my time so much here I extended by 2 days. The hostel is in a great location, it's noisy most of the day due to planes as its very close to the airport but the convenience of the closeness of the airport outweighs the noise. This is the only hostel you can play the plane drinking game! If you're open minded and laid back this is the place for you. The hostel itself is average but it is good value for money, especially in San Diego! But the best part of St Christopher's is the manager, Juliet. She is a wonderful woman with a fabulous personality. She has epic stories if you take the time to ask. And providing you are polite and respectful, she will treat you like an old friend returning home. She has created the perfect hostel atmosphere, a home from home. I made friends I will never forget here, Juliet being one of them. I would recommend St Christopher's and I hope to return soon for considerably longer! Thank you, Juilet!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 06 August 2011

Loved this hostel so much fun and the manager makes you feel so welcome. Didnt want to leave, even missing the planes.

San Diego

24 Hostels from 20.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Diego hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Diego. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.