We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Diego, USA

94.4%
229 reviews Book Now 
1

USA Hostels San Diego

Hostel
726 5th Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

210 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels San Diego

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 97% Facilities - 92% Safety - 94%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 89%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 August 2015

Everthing. It was clean, the staff was always eager to help and very friendly. The hostel is directly located at the gaslamp quarter and you don't need to go far to have a lot of fun. Other locations like the harbour are also in a 10- 15 minute distance. You can't choose a better hostel!

Philipp Mentis
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Philipp would recommend this property 30 December 2014

Great staff. Very friendly and helpful. Plus, very comfortable atmosphere. I felt safe and surrounded by nice people. Everything is neat and tidy and the kitchen is big and offers everything you need for cooking.

94.3%
42 reviews Book Now 
2

International Travelers House Adventure Hostel

Hostel
1658 Front St, San Diego, USA 92101

41 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend International Travelers House Adventure Hostel

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 94% Facilities - 96% Safety - 93%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 96%
Adam Green
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Adam would recommend this property 06 September 2014

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. They had both morning and evening activities most of which where completely free. Good breakfast and lunch included in the price. You can spend your time chilling out in the garden or you can party hard 24 7 it's got something for everyone.

Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 05 September 2014

I liked the friendly and relaxed atmosphere in San Diego. They offer free activities at day and at night which are led by a member of staff which give you the opportunity to meet other people very easily. As I was traveling by myself, this was just the perfect hostel for me. It is great value for money and I felt comfortable and content the whole time!

93.3%
3 reviews Book Now 
3

Hostel Habibi

Hostel
416 University Ave, Suite 201, San Diego, USA 92103

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Habibi

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 93%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 04 June 2015

It being on University Ave is Superrr sweet! And the staff were pretty friendly!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 09 August 2014

Due to overbooking of the beds we had to change hostel for one night but when we returned the next day the staff made more then up to our discomfort from the day before! Byron was by far the most friendliest and helpfull person i have ever met working in a hostel!!! He felt genuinly sorry for the overbooking and went the extra miles to make up for the overbooking.

91.7%
74 reviews Book Now 
4

HI - San Diego - Point Loma Hostel

Hostel
3790 Udall Street, (corner of Worden), San Diego, USA CA 92107

73 out of 74 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Diego - Point Loma Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 95% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 June 2015

I loved that it's free street.. Easy to find parking. It is homey, clean, neat, cheap, comparatively quiet. Lots of amenities, free towels, sheets, tempur pedic matress, free wifi lots of foods, great coffee, teas, entertainment, self adjust air, heat, fan cooling system.

Charlotte Glab
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Charlotte would recommend this property 28 February 2012

Great setup - such a wonderfully relaxed hostel to be staying - in a quiet enough area, with good facilities, good rooms and most of the staff are stellar - very helpful and accommodating, and keen for a chat about all manner of things.

91.4%
324 reviews Book Now 
5

HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel

Hostel
521 Market Street, San Diego, USA CA 92101

304 out of 324 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 88% Safety - 95%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 85%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 14 August 2015

This property is great in all aspect but atmosphere. It seemed to me like a place you want to rest in you attend conferences in SD or work for a week or two. It is not a backpacker hostel as you usually encounter. It has huge kitchen and enough showers for everyone.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Business / conference, Family Holiday
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 August 2015

We booked a private room with bunk beds and had a sink as well as a table in our room. I LOVED this. So nice to wash your face/brush your teeth in your own room. The beds were comfy and we both slept well. The front desk staff were super nice and friendly. When we won some (small) trees on our trip and needed to store them at the hostel, the staff was more than willing to help us out. Breakfast was a good selection of cereal, toast, dairy and non-dairy milk, and tasty fruits.

89.9%
246 reviews Book Now 
6

Lucky D's Hostel

Hostel
615 8th Ave, San Diego, USA 92101

230 out of 246 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lucky D's Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 90% Facilities - 85% Safety - 89%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 89%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Family Holiday, Shopping
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 20 August 2015

Great place and awesome location. The staff are super friendly, the hostel is spotless clean, the mattresses are very comfortable to sleep on, breakfast is free and there's lots to choose from, even pancakes. Every other day the hostel offers free dinner, on other days you have a choice of different activities. There's a very friendly atmosphere.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 14 August 2015

Many activities, good to get in contact with other travelers, good breakfast, free dinner on some evenings, perfect location

89.5%
154 reviews Book Now 
7

USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Hostel
4961 Newport Ave, San Diego, USA 92107

140 out of 154 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 93% Facilities - 87% Safety - 88%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 91%
Huot Iv
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Huot would recommend this property 08 March 2015

The staff was very helpful and they really attempted to get people together. The jungle mix and the beer pong they had that night got people together.

Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2015

The staff is super friendly. It is located in a very laid-back area. I love the relaxed atmosphere of the community of Ocean Beach. Also, the hostel is just 2 minutes away from the beach.

85.4%
77 reviews Book Now 
8

Hostel on 3rd

Hostel
542 3rd Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

72 out of 77 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel on 3rd

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 84% Facilities - 88% Safety - 83%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 81%
Alessandro Tedeschi Gallo
Alone
City break
91.4%
Alessandro would recommend this property 29 May 2015

The place was great! In the middle of Gaslamp, a very cute zone of Downtown San Diego. Big kitchen complete of all supplies you may need, Big common zone at first floor, cozy and comfortable. Great staff, always kind and super available. Hope to come back here :)

Dylan Price
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Dylan would recommend this property 11 May 2015

The location is outstanding. Right on the edge of the Gas Lamp quarter means that there are bars and restaurants galore within minutes but the area itself is very quiet. If your budget does not stretch to eating out every night however their is a good kitchen and a well stocked supermarket only 2 blocks away. Also you are only a short walk to the Zoo or the harbor or again minutes to the trolly or bus stops if you want to go further afield. Staff were all very helpful.

75.8%
32 reviews Book Now 
9

RK Buckner Hostel

Hostel
765 10th Avenue, San Diego, USA 92101

26 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend RK Buckner Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 82% Facilities - 66% Safety - 72%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 66% Value - 80%
Customer review
Alone
City break
37.1%
21 March 2015

There was not much to like. The free breakfast was ok. The bathrooms seem to have been remodeled recently. However, the rooms do not.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 February 2015

We were meant to be in a 4 bed dorm but the guy at the desk put us into a different room than was planned so we had the dormroom to ourselves the whole stay. Location is perfect- walking distance to the main area for restaurants and nightlife. The bathrooms were clean and always available.

75.8%
19 reviews Book Now 
10

500 West Hotel

2 star Hotel
500 West Broadway, San Diego, USA CA 92101

14 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 500 West Hotel

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 76% Facilities - 69% Safety - 78%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 71% Value - 69%
Josh butz
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
54.3%
26 May 2015

Great location. Close to Gaslamp Quarters and train and ferry stations. Free wifi.

Craig Fowler
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Craig would recommend this property 23 January 2015

The location is very good. Wifi is very good but it can drop out sometimes. 6 floors with a elevator. Daily maid service. Hot showers but the water pressure could be a little better. Price for a 4 bed room is very good but can change from week to week.

San Diego

21 Hostels from 22.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Diego hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Diego. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.