We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of RK Buckner Hostel

Hostel | 765 10th Avenue, San Diego, California, USA 92101

75.8% Overall Rating

26 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2015)

"There was not much to like. The free breakfast was ok. The bathrooms seem to have been remodeled recently. However, the rooms do not."

Read all RK Buckner Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: The tax of 10.5% is only payable on bookings that total $25.01 or more.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

Lucky D's Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 87.8% 243 reviews
USA Hostels San Diego
25.00 USD

Hostel 96.6% 225 reviews
HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 321 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.6% 16 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel on 3rd
25.00 USD

Hostel 85.9% 76 reviews
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 94.1% 40 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

26 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'RK Buckner Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 30 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alisan BARCA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2015 Alisan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is so good..

Disliked: Restroomsa are dirty..kitchen is dirty..hostel is on the crowdy street..at 5 pm you have to wake about sound

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 March 2015

Liked: There was not much to like. The free breakfast was ok. The bathrooms seem to have been remodeled recently. However, the rooms do not.

Disliked: staff was very unorganized and barely friendly, seeemed overwhelmed all the time, hostel is in very bad shape, it was extremely loud all night (both street noise and guests) and nobody cared, 2 inch gap between window and wall, no AC, dirty room with furniture that looked like it was taken from the street somewhere

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lisa Peters

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2015

Liked: cheap. other travellers were nice

Disliked: - staff wasn't helpful with any concerns or questions, not on time for check out, super slow (it took us 20 minutes to check in) didn't let us in our room until 2pm (check in time on hostelbookers is 9 am) - not enough bathroom facilities (plan time to wait when you re going to use the bathroom), but this was maybe just due to outbooked hostel - on the website it promise breakfast, but there was nothing - many bugs outside and also some inside the property (luckyly we didn't find any in our rooms, but still it's hard to fall asleep, when you have to think about the bugs downstairs, creeping up into your bed (which wasn't comfortable at all, but ok for one night)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were meant to be in a 4 bed dorm but the guy at the desk put us into a different room than was planned so we had the dormroom to ourselves the whole stay. Location is perfect- walking distance to the main area for restaurants and nightlife. The bathrooms were clean and always available.

Disliked: Not much of an atmosphere to meet anyone- rarely saw another guest the whole stay. The guests I did see were older men.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located in Downtown, near bars and restaurants in Gaslamp District. It's near the Greyhound bus station and the trolley station. You can also walk to Seaport Village. If you like the beach, this is not the right place to stay, it takes two hours to get there (trolley and bus). The bathroom was always clean.

Disliked: The bedroom had a carpet, I think that was a bit smelly and my mattress, in particular, was very uncomfortable. There aren't lockers in the bedroom. Breakfast was really poor, but I paid only 20 dollars, I wouldn't pay more than that for this hostel. Most of the hostel guests live there, so there isn't a travellers' atmosphere. Anyway, I didn't have any problem with that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Sonnanstine

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2015 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable room abc bed. Shower/bathroom was good size.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and price, 20 bucks (especial offer) was a great deal. The staff is nice too, we didn't have any problems and they were very friendliness.

Disliked: There was a fight in the second night between two guys of the hostel. And the smell wan`t that good too.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

luis tellez

Alone

Shopping

02 September 2014 luis would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff

Disliked: cleanlesness.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 August 2014

Liked: ---

Disliked: A bit dirty, the room had a strange smell

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

ana muro

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2014 ana would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi is good. Bed is clean but matress little hard. They keep old tv sets With cable in the rooms. Nice to help enviroment with less junk.

Disliked: No lockers to put your valuable things. Bathrooms are not to good. Only two toilets on second floor and i think only one downstairs. Three showers on second floor but two inside the bathroom with toilets. So very hard. People on line in the mornings waiting while one taking a shower. Most days really noise with people from the same hostel talking to loud in the back of the rooms windows. Kitchen to small. Sometimes no bread. Room windows face areas that are easy to get into the rooms. Do i didnt got anything stoled but in that case they do not make responsability for missing items. Without lockers main point. Rooms to hot in the summer.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome people, had a good time, nice staff, clean and close to bus and metro Good value for your money

Disliked: Activities and a bigger choice of breakfast would be nice, Neighbourhood/ streets are not the nicest to walk alone in the nights

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lazarus Chernik

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

28 July 2014 Lazarus would recommend this property

Liked: It was friendly, clean and better than expected! Did I say clean???

Disliked: Could Iliad better breakfast

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jennifer Church

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are what made this hostel great. I would have checked out after one night if not for them! Mainly Jimmy who started working there the day i arrived and has already gone some way in turning this place into more of a fun backpackers instead of a halfway house. There are a few things the owner needs to address that would take minutes to fix and improve the customers stay 10 fold. I would suggest: Cleaning out the fridge to eliminate the cockroach problem. Secure the bug nets so they aren't 10cm from the windows for the above reasons and other bugs. Buy some tea towels so we can wash up! Arrange activities so backpackers can meet (i think Jimmy has started this so that's awesome :D) Ultimately you get what you pay for. If they listen to the staff that recently arrived they will strive. Other than that the location is excellent :) Cheers

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Don Durban

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2014 Don would recommend this property

Liked: its quirky in a fun way.... lots of colorful foreign people ... very interesting and unique

Disliked: neighbor across the street is a criminal hotel and facility -- dangerous people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

pinar kale

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

18 July 2014 pinar would recommend this property

Liked: stuff are so friendly and quite rooms

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Polanco

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

13 July 2014 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Is great taking into consideration the amount you are paying for your stay.

Disliked: There is no sink in the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value, convenience

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and central location.

Disliked: Noisy at night, thin walls.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Achim Christian

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Achim would recommend this property

Liked: It offers all a traveller needs, so in the first place it's a practical thing: There is breakfast and a little bit of free food,´a kitchen to use laundry room and the wifi is OK. The location of the hostel is quite good, close to the gas lamp quater. The roof deck is a really nice extra, so all in all it's good value for little money, especially as we got the cheaper off season prices.

Disliked: They don't allow eating in the nice living room but there is little place to eat in the kitchen. Actually there is only a small table and two chairs, so if you travel with a group of three you would have problems having a meal together. All in all it seems a rather small place, it just worked for us because there were few guests in the hostel. In summer it might be really horrible to stay there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and the beds well-made. The staff were hard-working and responsive. The location is easy to get to using public transportation.

Disliked: The kitchen area and computer area were not as clean as I like to see. To their credit, the staff listened to me when I voiced my displeasure with it and are working to improve in this area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet and you get a good nights sleep , a few minutes walk from all the action. The rooms have a sink, and all the other facilities are well set up. The staff is friendly and helpful as were the people staying there.

Disliked: The front door key system is difficult, I wish they would just give you a key.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

einosuke matsuoka

Alone

Business / conference

13 November 2013 einosuke would recommend this property

Liked: good staff

Disliked: einosuke left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013

Liked: - all rooms have a fridge - well equipped kitchen

Disliked: - poor rooms - only bed, fridge and sink - no furniture (only one small closet) so all clothes you have to have in your suitcase; - bedbugs - when I read about it I thought it's not a true - but unfortunately it's true - I saw on my own eyes - they show only at night (fortunately) but unfortunately I had a lots of bites on my back, hands and legs - it's awful! - I have to be honest - if they didn't have a bedbugs it would be an even nice hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christian Kjeldskov Jensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Christian Kjeldskov would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly! I walkingdistance of any public transport you need if you want to go somewhere. Common areas is good, and the rooftop is great!

Disliked: The toilets were not always as clean/didn't work as you want them to be

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Terrible staffing No real common area so music was blasted out of the hallway Much better hostels in San Diego