HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of RK Buckner Hostel

Hostel | 765 10th Avenue, San Diego, California, USA 92101

76.6% Overall Rating

8 out of 11 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/03/2014)

"The rooms were clean and the beds well-made. The staff were hard-working and responsive. The location is easy to get to using public transportation."

Read all RK Buckner Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: The tax of 10.5% is only payable on bookings that total $25.01 or more.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

Lucky D's Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 92.2% 217 reviews
USA Hostels San Diego
31.00 USD

Hostel 95.4% 209 reviews
HI-San Diego (Downtown) The Metropolitan
28.50 USD

Hostel 90.9% 309 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
San Diego Downtown Lodge
70.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel on 3rd
25.00 USD

Hostel 89.7% 56 reviews
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
27.92 USD

Hostel 96.0% 26 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
61.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

8 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'RK Buckner Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.6%
Location
87.3%
Facilities
70.9%
Cleanliness
65.5%
Staff
90.9%
Value
76.4%
Safety
70.9%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 11 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and the beds well-made. The staff were hard-working and responsive. The location is easy to get to using public transportation.

Disliked: The kitchen area and computer area were not as clean as I like to see. To their credit, the staff listened to me when I voiced my displeasure with it and are working to improve in this area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet and you get a good nights sleep , a few minutes walk from all the action. The rooms have a sink, and all the other facilities are well set up. The staff is friendly and helpful as were the people staying there.

Disliked: The front door key system is difficult, I wish they would just give you a key.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

einosuke matsuoka

Alone

Business / conference

13 November 2013 einosuke would recommend this property

Liked: good staff

Disliked: einosuke left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013

Liked: - all rooms have a fridge - well equipped kitchen

Disliked: - poor rooms - only bed, fridge and sink - no furniture (only one small closet) so all clothes you have to have in your suitcase; - bedbugs - when I read about it I thought it's not a true - but unfortunately it's true - I saw on my own eyes - they show only at night (fortunately) but unfortunately I had a lots of bites on my back, hands and legs - it's awful! - I have to be honest - if they didn't have a bedbugs it would be an even nice hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christian Kjeldskov Jensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Christian Kjeldskov would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly! I walkingdistance of any public transport you need if you want to go somewhere. Common areas is good, and the rooftop is great!

Disliked: The toilets were not always as clean/didn't work as you want them to be

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Terrible staffing No real common area so music was blasted out of the hallway Much better hostels in San Diego

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013

Liked: Very nice staff, reasonable price

Disliked: During the 4 nights nobody cleaned the sink and room, the showers were constantly flooded (wet floors), either no toilet paper or dodgy one (looked rotten after being wet and then dried again).... but this changed when the people from Comic Con started to arrive. Room was big but SUPER NOISY so don't expect to sleep unless you've got good earplugs. The hostel is located next to the offramp of Highway 5 (10th St is an exit), so you hear trucks rolling through all night. The price is good, but for similar money you can stay in better places in San Diego.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marta Escalante

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2013 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the trolley and other places downtown. Good value for the money and the staff was helpful especially Jason and Gali..They try hard to keep it clean and I liked my room even if it was a little dark..but I am used it..I liked the small comfortable single bed. . Good wifi is a definite plus!

Disliked: Some of the young tenants partied too much and kept me awake a couple of nites. Also take cash as the property does not take credit cards..IT was ok for me as I live in the US and can withdraw money but it might be hard for an international student

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location,remodled new floors,bathroom,kitchen..walking distance to gaslamp,rail line,food resterants...verry friendly staff,great reates for private..(some privates have tv in room)

Disliked: if you drive there,expect ot pay for parking..eria is surrounded with parking meter's..most of the rooms have windows facing a verry loud heveley trafficked bl....first floor rooms have windows that someone can crawle through at night (if you open for air).. .so i keeped it shut..making my room hot and stuffy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We LOVED this place! The location is perfect, lots of shops and restaurants around, gaslamp is literally a 2 second walk away and loads of train stations very close. The staff were absolutely incredible, couldn't have been more helpful or nicer to us.Super fast wifi, great roof terrace and good breakfast and kitchen. The building itself is beautiful, it felt more like a hotel especially the toilets and showers! Everything was amazing and we hope to stay again soon. Thank you!

Disliked: Not a single thing!