HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of RK Buckner Hostel

Hostel | 765 10th Avenue, San Diego, California, USA 92101

78.3% Overall Rating

22 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

"The location and price, 20 bucks (especial offer) was a great deal. The staff is nice too, we didn't have any problems and they were very friendliness."

Read all RK Buckner Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: The tax of 10.5% is only payable on bookings that total $25.01 or more.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

Lucky D's Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 88.2% 232 reviews
USA Hostels San Diego
29.00 USD

Hostel 96.6% 220 reviews
HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 89.6% 317 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 11 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel on 3rd
25.00 USD

Hostel 90.2% 68 reviews
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
27.01 USD

Hostel 93.5% 37 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
52.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.3%

Overall Rating

22 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'RK Buckner Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and price, 20 bucks (especial offer) was a great deal. The staff is nice too, we didn't have any problems and they were very friendliness.

Disliked: There was a fight in the second night between two guys of the hostel. And the smell wan`t that good too.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

luis tellez

Alone

Shopping

02 September 2014 luis would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff

Disliked: cleanlesness.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 August 2014

Liked: ---

Disliked: A bit dirty, the room had a strange smell

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

ana muro

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2014 ana would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi is good. Bed is clean but matress little hard. They keep old tv sets With cable in the rooms. Nice to help enviroment with less junk.

Disliked: No lockers to put your valuable things. Bathrooms are not to good. Only two toilets on second floor and i think only one downstairs. Three showers on second floor but two inside the bathroom with toilets. So very hard. People on line in the mornings waiting while one taking a shower. Most days really noise with people from the same hostel talking to loud in the back of the rooms windows. Kitchen to small. Sometimes no bread. Room windows face areas that are easy to get into the rooms. Do i didnt got anything stoled but in that case they do not make responsability for missing items. Without lockers main point. Rooms to hot in the summer.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome people, had a good time, nice staff, clean and close to bus and metro Good value for your money

Disliked: Activities and a bigger choice of breakfast would be nice, Neighbourhood/ streets are not the nicest to walk alone in the nights

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lazarus Chernik

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

28 July 2014 Lazarus would recommend this property

Liked: It was friendly, clean and better than expected! Did I say clean???

Disliked: Could Iliad better breakfast

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jennifer Church

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are what made this hostel great. I would have checked out after one night if not for them! Mainly Jimmy who started working there the day i arrived and has already gone some way in turning this place into more of a fun backpackers instead of a halfway house. There are a few things the owner needs to address that would take minutes to fix and improve the customers stay 10 fold. I would suggest: Cleaning out the fridge to eliminate the cockroach problem. Secure the bug nets so they aren't 10cm from the windows for the above reasons and other bugs. Buy some tea towels so we can wash up! Arrange activities so backpackers can meet (i think Jimmy has started this so that's awesome :D) Ultimately you get what you pay for. If they listen to the staff that recently arrived they will strive. Other than that the location is excellent :) Cheers

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Don Durban

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2014 Don would recommend this property

Liked: its quirky in a fun way.... lots of colorful foreign people ... very interesting and unique

Disliked: neighbor across the street is a criminal hotel and facility -- dangerous people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

pinar kale

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

18 July 2014 pinar would recommend this property

Liked: stuff are so friendly and quite rooms

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Polanco

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

13 July 2014 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Is great taking into consideration the amount you are paying for your stay.

Disliked: There is no sink in the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value, convenience

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and central location.

Disliked: Noisy at night, thin walls.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Achim Christian

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Achim would recommend this property

Liked: It offers all a traveller needs, so in the first place it's a practical thing: There is breakfast and a little bit of free food,´a kitchen to use laundry room and the wifi is OK. The location of the hostel is quite good, close to the gas lamp quater. The roof deck is a really nice extra, so all in all it's good value for little money, especially as we got the cheaper off season prices.

Disliked: They don't allow eating in the nice living room but there is little place to eat in the kitchen. Actually there is only a small table and two chairs, so if you travel with a group of three you would have problems having a meal together. All in all it seems a rather small place, it just worked for us because there were few guests in the hostel. In summer it might be really horrible to stay there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and the beds well-made. The staff were hard-working and responsive. The location is easy to get to using public transportation.

Disliked: The kitchen area and computer area were not as clean as I like to see. To their credit, the staff listened to me when I voiced my displeasure with it and are working to improve in this area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet and you get a good nights sleep , a few minutes walk from all the action. The rooms have a sink, and all the other facilities are well set up. The staff is friendly and helpful as were the people staying there.

Disliked: The front door key system is difficult, I wish they would just give you a key.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

einosuke matsuoka

Alone

Business / conference

13 November 2013 einosuke would recommend this property

Liked: good staff

Disliked: einosuke left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013

Liked: - all rooms have a fridge - well equipped kitchen

Disliked: - poor rooms - only bed, fridge and sink - no furniture (only one small closet) so all clothes you have to have in your suitcase; - bedbugs - when I read about it I thought it's not a true - but unfortunately it's true - I saw on my own eyes - they show only at night (fortunately) but unfortunately I had a lots of bites on my back, hands and legs - it's awful! - I have to be honest - if they didn't have a bedbugs it would be an even nice hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christian Kjeldskov Jensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Christian Kjeldskov would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly! I walkingdistance of any public transport you need if you want to go somewhere. Common areas is good, and the rooftop is great!

Disliked: The toilets were not always as clean/didn't work as you want them to be

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Terrible staffing No real common area so music was blasted out of the hallway Much better hostels in San Diego

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013

Liked: Very nice staff, reasonable price

Disliked: During the 4 nights nobody cleaned the sink and room, the showers were constantly flooded (wet floors), either no toilet paper or dodgy one (looked rotten after being wet and then dried again).... but this changed when the people from Comic Con started to arrive. Room was big but SUPER NOISY so don't expect to sleep unless you've got good earplugs. The hostel is located next to the offramp of Highway 5 (10th St is an exit), so you hear trucks rolling through all night. The price is good, but for similar money you can stay in better places in San Diego.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marta Escalante

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2013 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the trolley and other places downtown. Good value for the money and the staff was helpful especially Jason and Gali..They try hard to keep it clean and I liked my room even if it was a little dark..but I am used it..I liked the small comfortable single bed. . Good wifi is a definite plus!

Disliked: Some of the young tenants partied too much and kept me awake a couple of nites. Also take cash as the property does not take credit cards..IT was ok for me as I live in the US and can withdraw money but it might be hard for an international student

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location,remodled new floors,bathroom,kitchen..walking distance to gaslamp,rail line,food resterants...verry friendly staff,great reates for private..(some privates have tv in room)

Disliked: if you drive there,expect ot pay for parking..eria is surrounded with parking meter's..most of the rooms have windows facing a verry loud heveley trafficked bl....first floor rooms have windows that someone can crawle through at night (if you open for air).. .so i keeped it shut..making my room hot and stuffy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We LOVED this place! The location is perfect, lots of shops and restaurants around, gaslamp is literally a 2 second walk away and loads of train stations very close. The staff were absolutely incredible, couldn't have been more helpful or nicer to us.Super fast wifi, great roof terrace and good breakfast and kitchen. The building itself is beautiful, it felt more like a hotel especially the toilets and showers! Everything was amazing and we hope to stay again soon. Thank you!

Disliked: Not a single thing!