HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel on 3rd

Hostel | 542 3rd Avenue, San Diego, California, USA 92101

89.7% Overall Rating

54 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

"This place has a great character about it and is in a fantastic location, close to the waterfront and transport links."

Read all Hostel on 3rd reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Same day cancellations and no-shows will be charged for the first night. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). To check in, we require a valid government-issued ID and proof of future continued travel. We do not accept United States passports. If you are a foreign citizen, you must provide a valid passport to check-in. We do not allow local San Diego County residents to stay at our facility. We do not accept pets, only service animals with papers. Check in: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am Check out: 8:00 am - 11:00 am We collect from each person a USD $20 general deposit and it needs to be in cash at check in Towels are available at a $2 charge, but are to be returned at the end of the stay

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

HI-San Diego (Downtown) The Metropolitan
28.00 USD

Hostel 90.9% 309 reviews
USA Hostels San Diego
31.00 USD

Hostel 95.4% 209 reviews
Lucky D's Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 91.9% 215 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
RK Buckner Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 76.6% 11 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
70.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
27.92 USD

Hostel 96.0% 26 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
57.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

54 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel on 3rd'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 54 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LENORE PAALEN

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 LENORE would recommend this property

Liked: Nice buiding, quiet, good location, staff is most concerned and polite.

Disliked: Pretty cheap, yet in my opinion $ 25 per night in a dorm is still to too much and I ´d have appreciated an even lower price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a great character about it and is in a fantastic location, close to the waterfront and transport links.

Disliked: There was noise in the kitchen after 1030pm, even though there was a sign saying no noise after this time. So perhaps this could be enforced as it is close to the bed rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rhodri hopkins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 rhodri would recommend this property

Liked: James and his staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful during our stay here, we were really made to feel at home. Great pancake breakfast with a selection of cereals too.

Disliked: rhodri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUEN WAN TSUI

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 YUEN WAN would recommend this property

Liked: location, clean, nice breakfast

Disliked: no

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location,clean and quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and large lounge with pool, games, books and tv. Walking distance to lots of nice bars and restaurants. Also they provide a good breakfast!

Disliked: Bunk bed in private double room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and it was extremely clean.

Disliked: Nothing it was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Franklin

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: All three staff members with whom I came in contact, assisted me as well as other fellow travelers with utmost respect, and sincerity. The elements are there for a grand experience.

Disliked: I could not stay more days. I wished I could stay a couple of more days to get to know some of the other travelers in my room, as well as the staff. All staff and travelers were cordial with one another and with the staff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: No heating! Brr

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and location are great. James who was at the front desk was very helpful and a great guide to the city. The free pancake breakfast in the morning was unexpected and absolutely fantastic !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Harvey

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is perfect for anyone that needs to get to the San Diego convention center. Everyone was very chill and helpful.

Disliked: A shower head was missing from one of the bathrooms causing a simple relaxing shower to turn into a exfoliating power wash session.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: eveything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute house in the town center, walking distance to restaurants and shops. Friendly staff, breakfast included.

Disliked: There are no parking places

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great downtown location, immaculate and easy access to amenities

Disliked: Not much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Liehner

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: great location in downtown san diego, helpfull and friendly staff, a really big room to hang out, play pool, table tennis, chess and other bord games, read books, watch tv... everything you want! the rooms are clean, there is a big kitchen and plenty of restrooms. just a great place to stay

Disliked: parking your car will be expensive

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 August 2013

Liked: This hostel creates a great initial impression. The check in lounge has great artistic and edgy decor. Then, you find out that the rooms are in a separate and disconnected area of the building, with lot of people socializing loudly and drinking in the long, narrow kitchen. If noise bothers you, dont stay here, or else ask to be located in a room as far away from the kitchen as possible. The location is great, feels safe and there is a larger grocery store and plenty of cool cafe's and restaurants in the vacinity. It seemed to suit younger people looking for a party atmosphere, although management reported that it had been, till this summer, a quiet hostel, but is apparently gaining popularity. Very helpful staff who are responsive to ones needs and concerns. The bathrooms have huge slate tiled shower stalls but hardly any room to place your belongings. The bedrooms were comfortable and what i would expect but being near or in down town, dont expect to catch up on sleep in the morning (lost due to noisy late night party goers) as it turned out to be a very noisy morning due to traffic and some guy accross the road deciding the blowing leaves from 7-8am would be a great idea.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, great location, and cheap!

Disliked: Maybe it's just the time I was there but there wasn't a very social vibe or anything going on in the communal area. Also I had to go back and ask to get my $20 deposit back, which would have been annoying if I hadn't remembered quickly and still been in the area.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ruben Hartmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Ruben would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: Ruben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toni Martinez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 Toni would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful, upscale hostel, more like a beautiful hotel. The communal area is gorgeous and stylish! The bathrooms have all been updated and are kept really clean! The staff is friendly and helpful, especially Amy and James. The location can't be beat! Walking distance to the Gaslamp area and bus service. There is a market nearby. Love this place and will be back again!

Disliked: Toni left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In general, AWESOME place to stay. Here are some reviews by parts of the experience I had staying here! Front Desk James at the front desk is respectful, helpful, and he points out the main local conveniences nearby. (24hr grocery/household goods store around the corner "Ralph's," VERY convenient.) Amy is friendly and helpful too. She pointed out to me inexpensive food place nearby when I arrived. Cost Their competitive rates are the best in the downtown area for all the hostels. They include tax, and NO additional charges! I personally called all the downtown hostels and only one other place matched their rate: Lucky D's hostel. I liked James' attitude so I went with Hostel On 3rd. Deposit A $10.00 refundable deposit is returned to you when you return the physical metal room key and no-charge optional towel, if you got one at checkin. Don't lose the key. Room & Beds The room was clean and had a nice open window with view looking out to the front of the street. The twin mattress was very comfortable to me; no weird lumps or springs in your back or anything that would cause discomfort. The bunk bed was a bit squeaky, I wanted to oil it lol. I slept well. The 3 Florida guys I shared the dorm with were cool and respectful. In fact, everyone I met during my stay was cool. Bathrooms I used 2 of their bathrooms in the dorms & rooms section upstairs: a little one and a big one. The big one I used is spacious with a classy interior decor. The little bathroom's shower I think needs to be redone to a white/light color instead of dark. Kitchen & Free Breakfast Nice long, clean kitchen. You can make your own pancakes and there's good cereal! I had a big bowl of cocoa puffs mixed with Cheerios and cinnamon pancakes-- they hit the spot! :) Downstairs/ Game room/ Pool Table/ Internet Computer/Big Screen Flat panel TV (55-60") /Seating/Stage/Working Desk/BBQ Area(Outside)/Stereo w/ Aux input. Downstairs is COOL. It has a relaxing feel with lots of things to do and space to relax or sit down. It also has a small library with some board games. Internet Besides the internet computer downstairs, there are 2 secure internet wireless networks through out the property. Overall Awesome place, convenient location, comfortable, and GOOD people! I'd definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was great. From the staff to the people I met. Except like 2 travelers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The services offered on the first floor - tv, games, etc. - were very awesome and got to meet many worldly backpackers and have nights on the town. Many bathrooms and rooms were overall clean. Would stay and recommend again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast pancakes were made from scratch and they were very tasty!

Disliked: Toilet paper had run out a couple of times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SAYEED DAVID

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 SAYEED would recommend this property

Liked: I am only relatively new to staying in hostels but I am very fussy about where I stay. I highly recommend this hostel to all travellers, young or old, party oriented or quiet types. The location is perfect, a few blocks away from all the clubs and bars so you can get some good rest. The large lounge area downstairs means guests can socialise without impacting people sleeping upstairs. The hostel is very clean and has plenty of bathrooms and toilets - I never had to wait once. The kitchen is well equipped and most importantly the staff are extremely warm and friends. Amy and James were super friendly and I hope I find other hostels like this around the world.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alicia phuong dao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 alicia phuong would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel has a new york victorian feel to it. its very clean because its fairly new. private clean and well maintained bathrooms. wifi works perfectly!! its in a perfect location because its close to everything, grocery stores, night life, but still tucked away from the street noise on a safe street. i always stay at a particular hostel in san diego, but their prices have gone up and thought this hostel was good value for money. its really a total gem!

Disliked: alicia phuong left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amandine Vigneulle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013 Amandine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly, willing to help you. Kitchen very convinient. Common room very good

Disliked: plugs in the room would be a great but not a big pb