HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel on 3rd

Hostel | 542 3rd Avenue, San Diego, California, USA 92101

89.9% Overall Rating

62 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

"This Hostel is definitely one of the best places in San Diego. Rooms are clean and beds are good. The stuff is always helpful and arranged to fulfill your wishes."

Read all Hostel on 3rd reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Same day cancellations and no-shows will be charged for the first night. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). Comic Con Cancellation Policy - Please note that if cancelled or modified, a fixed amount of USD $25.00 will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, 50 percent of the total price of the reservation will be charged. Deposit Policy 50 percent of the total amount will be charged on the day of booking. We add a City Tax of 12.5%. To check in, we require a valid government-issued ID and proof of future continued travel. We do not accept United States passports. If you are a foreign citizen, you must provide a valid passport to check-in. We do not allow local San Diego County residents to stay at our facility. We do not accept pets, only service animals with papers. Check in: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am Check out: 8:00 am - 11:00 am We collect from each person a USD $20 general deposit and it needs to be in cash at check in Towels are available at a $2 charge, but are to be returned at the end of the stay

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel
29.50 USD

Hostel 89.6% 317 reviews
USA Hostels San Diego
29.00 USD

Hostel 96.6% 220 reviews
Lucky D's Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 88.2% 231 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 11 reviews
RK Buckner Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 78.3% 26 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
27.01 USD

Hostel 93.5% 37 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

62 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel on 3rd'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 65 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is definitely one of the best places in San Diego. Rooms are clean and beds are good. The stuff is always helpful and arranged to fulfill your wishes.

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, people... and they've got a tennis table!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: It is clean.

Disliked: Stuff are weird. They make you pay 20dol deposit. They watch you all the time, theres cameras everywhere and I saw that stuff watch monitors really carefully on front desk and report to hostel management thru phoe on everything quests do. Everything. Like wh talks to who and so on. Breakfast is pancace and coffee. I don't consider that really a breakfast but a snack.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maeve Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Maeve would recommend this property

Liked: It was right in the centre of downtown, the staff were knowledgeable and helpful. It was very clean too.

Disliked: They have quite a late check in time and the only place to leave your bags is the lobby which is not the most secure.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I ran into an issue upon arrival and the staff was more than accommodating. I really appreciate their understanding and flexibility. Cleanliness is average, but the location is great if you're planning on spending time at the gas lamp district or convention center. There is a great supermarket nearby and tons of restaurant choices in gas lamp. Noise from outside was a bit bothersome at times, but it's bearable considering the price you are paying in that location.

Disliked: Random yelling and noise from outside, but you can't avoid it in that area. Also, the beds aren't the most comfortable, but good enough for the price you pay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014

Liked: Great breakfast, good variety. Kitchen was very clean and always maintained. They had a nice common area by the front desk with ping pong and pool table.

Disliked: If you are looking for a party then this hostel is for you but if you want a good nights sleep DO NOT STAY HERE. We were kept up until 3/4am on our first night here. We told a member of staff about the noise (there was signs everywhere saying no music after 11pm) and he didn't make them be quiet, instead we were offered ear plugs, for a price! He came up a second time to check the noise again and even though it was loud he just told them to have a good night. Could have been solved with good customer service. A shame because everything else was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the best hostel that I have ever stayed in USA. Highly recommend you live here. First, the location is great. Close to the bay and public transportation. Another reason, the breakfast is awesome. They offer pancakes, coffee, milk and cereal. It is totally beyond my expectation. Last but not least, they renew the hostel so everything is bread-new. They have best facility. I feel really comfortable living here

Disliked: I will miss here definitely.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Dominic Brunning

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Not a lot of atmosphere and no events organised.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LENORE PAALEN

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 LENORE would recommend this property

Liked: Nice buiding, quiet, good location, staff is most concerned and polite.

Disliked: Pretty cheap, yet in my opinion $ 25 per night in a dorm is still to too much and I ´d have appreciated an even lower price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a great character about it and is in a fantastic location, close to the waterfront and transport links.

Disliked: There was noise in the kitchen after 1030pm, even though there was a sign saying no noise after this time. So perhaps this could be enforced as it is close to the bed rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rhodri hopkins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 rhodri would recommend this property

Liked: James and his staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful during our stay here, we were really made to feel at home. Great pancake breakfast with a selection of cereals too.

Disliked: rhodri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUEN WAN TSUI

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 YUEN WAN would recommend this property

Liked: location, clean, nice breakfast

Disliked: no

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location,clean and quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and large lounge with pool, games, books and tv. Walking distance to lots of nice bars and restaurants. Also they provide a good breakfast!

Disliked: Bunk bed in private double room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and it was extremely clean.

Disliked: Nothing it was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Franklin

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: All three staff members with whom I came in contact, assisted me as well as other fellow travelers with utmost respect, and sincerity. The elements are there for a grand experience.

Disliked: I could not stay more days. I wished I could stay a couple of more days to get to know some of the other travelers in my room, as well as the staff. All staff and travelers were cordial with one another and with the staff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: No heating! Brr

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and location are great. James who was at the front desk was very helpful and a great guide to the city. The free pancake breakfast in the morning was unexpected and absolutely fantastic !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Harvey

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is perfect for anyone that needs to get to the San Diego convention center. Everyone was very chill and helpful.

Disliked: A shower head was missing from one of the bathrooms causing a simple relaxing shower to turn into a exfoliating power wash session.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: eveything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute house in the town center, walking distance to restaurants and shops. Friendly staff, breakfast included.

Disliked: There are no parking places

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great downtown location, immaculate and easy access to amenities

Disliked: Not much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Liehner

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: great location in downtown san diego, helpfull and friendly staff, a really big room to hang out, play pool, table tennis, chess and other bord games, read books, watch tv... everything you want! the rooms are clean, there is a big kitchen and plenty of restrooms. just a great place to stay

Disliked: parking your car will be expensive

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 August 2013

Liked: This hostel creates a great initial impression. The check in lounge has great artistic and edgy decor. Then, you find out that the rooms are in a separate and disconnected area of the building, with lot of people socializing loudly and drinking in the long, narrow kitchen. If noise bothers you, dont stay here, or else ask to be located in a room as far away from the kitchen as possible. The location is great, feels safe and there is a larger grocery store and plenty of cool cafe's and restaurants in the vacinity. It seemed to suit younger people looking for a party atmosphere, although management reported that it had been, till this summer, a quiet hostel, but is apparently gaining popularity. Very helpful staff who are responsive to ones needs and concerns. The bathrooms have huge slate tiled shower stalls but hardly any room to place your belongings. The bedrooms were comfortable and what i would expect but being near or in down town, dont expect to catch up on sleep in the morning (lost due to noisy late night party goers) as it turned out to be a very noisy morning due to traffic and some guy accross the road deciding the blowing leaves from 7-8am would be a great idea.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, great location, and cheap!

Disliked: Maybe it's just the time I was there but there wasn't a very social vibe or anything going on in the communal area. Also I had to go back and ask to get my $20 deposit back, which would have been annoying if I hadn't remembered quickly and still been in the area.