We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel on 3rd

Hostel | 542 3rd Avenue, San Diego, California, USA 92101

87.3% Overall Rating

67 out of 72 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/01/2015)

"Fantastic location, staff was super friendly and helpful, hostel was clean and comfortable, and it was wonderful having a full kitchen on hand."

Read all Hostel on 3rd reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Same day cancellations and no-shows will be charged for the first night. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). Comic Con Cancellation Policy - Please note that if cancelled or modified, a fixed amount of USD $25.00 will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, 50 percent of the total price of the reservation will be charged. Deposit Policy 50 percent of the total amount will be charged on the day of booking. We add a City Tax of 12.5%. To check in, we require a valid government-issued ID and proof of future continued travel. We do not accept United States passports. If you are a foreign citizen, you must provide a valid passport to check-in. We do not allow local San Diego County residents to stay at our facility. We do not accept pets, only service animals with papers. Check in: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am Check out: 8:00 am - 11:00 am We collect from each person a USD $20 general deposit and it needs to be in cash at check in Towels are available at a $2 charge, but are to be returned at the end of the stay

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 89.8% 319 reviews
USA Hostels San Diego
27.00 USD

Hostel 96.2% 223 reviews
Lucky D's Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 89.1% 239 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 13 reviews
RK Buckner Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 31 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
28.82 USD

Hostel 94.1% 40 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
199.99 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

67 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel on 3rd'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 70 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iker Navarro Anton

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2015 Iker would recommend this property

Liked: Best location, very friendly environment and staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, staff was super friendly and helpful, hostel was clean and comfortable, and it was wonderful having a full kitchen on hand.

Disliked: When I was in San Diego, it was super cold and the hostel was quite drafty. Obviously, the hostel cannot account for the cold weather, but it would've been nice to have a few extra blankets to keep warm in the cold nights, as we were only given a sheet and a thin blanket.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jose Angel Rico Falco

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2014 Jose Angel would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing special

Disliked: Jose Angel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcus Krueppel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2014 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing stay, quite neighbourhood

Disliked: Quite clean in general but saw one cockroach in a bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is definitely one of the best places in San Diego. Rooms are clean and beds are good. The stuff is always helpful and arranged to fulfill your wishes.

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, people... and they've got a tennis table!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: It is clean.

Disliked: Stuff are weird. They make you pay 20dol deposit. They watch you all the time, theres cameras everywhere and I saw that stuff watch monitors really carefully on front desk and report to hostel management thru phoe on everything quests do. Everything. Like wh talks to who and so on. Breakfast is pancace and coffee. I don't consider that really a breakfast but a snack.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maeve Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Maeve would recommend this property

Liked: It was right in the centre of downtown, the staff were knowledgeable and helpful. It was very clean too.

Disliked: They have quite a late check in time and the only place to leave your bags is the lobby which is not the most secure.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I ran into an issue upon arrival and the staff was more than accommodating. I really appreciate their understanding and flexibility. Cleanliness is average, but the location is great if you're planning on spending time at the gas lamp district or convention center. There is a great supermarket nearby and tons of restaurant choices in gas lamp. Noise from outside was a bit bothersome at times, but it's bearable considering the price you are paying in that location.

Disliked: Random yelling and noise from outside, but you can't avoid it in that area. Also, the beds aren't the most comfortable, but good enough for the price you pay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014

Liked: Great breakfast, good variety. Kitchen was very clean and always maintained. They had a nice common area by the front desk with ping pong and pool table.

Disliked: If you are looking for a party then this hostel is for you but if you want a good nights sleep DO NOT STAY HERE. We were kept up until 3/4am on our first night here. We told a member of staff about the noise (there was signs everywhere saying no music after 11pm) and he didn't make them be quiet, instead we were offered ear plugs, for a price! He came up a second time to check the noise again and even though it was loud he just told them to have a good night. Could have been solved with good customer service. A shame because everything else was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the best hostel that I have ever stayed in USA. Highly recommend you live here. First, the location is great. Close to the bay and public transportation. Another reason, the breakfast is awesome. They offer pancakes, coffee, milk and cereal. It is totally beyond my expectation. Last but not least, they renew the hostel so everything is bread-new. They have best facility. I feel really comfortable living here

Disliked: I will miss here definitely.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Dominic Brunning

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Not a lot of atmosphere and no events organised.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LENORE PAALEN

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 LENORE would recommend this property

Liked: Nice buiding, quiet, good location, staff is most concerned and polite.

Disliked: Pretty cheap, yet in my opinion $ 25 per night in a dorm is still to too much and I ´d have appreciated an even lower price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a great character about it and is in a fantastic location, close to the waterfront and transport links.

Disliked: There was noise in the kitchen after 1030pm, even though there was a sign saying no noise after this time. So perhaps this could be enforced as it is close to the bed rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rhodri hopkins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 rhodri would recommend this property

Liked: James and his staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful during our stay here, we were really made to feel at home. Great pancake breakfast with a selection of cereals too.

Disliked: rhodri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUEN WAN TSUI

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 YUEN WAN would recommend this property

Liked: location, clean, nice breakfast

Disliked: no

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location,clean and quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and large lounge with pool, games, books and tv. Walking distance to lots of nice bars and restaurants. Also they provide a good breakfast!

Disliked: Bunk bed in private double room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and it was extremely clean.

Disliked: Nothing it was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Franklin

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: All three staff members with whom I came in contact, assisted me as well as other fellow travelers with utmost respect, and sincerity. The elements are there for a grand experience.

Disliked: I could not stay more days. I wished I could stay a couple of more days to get to know some of the other travelers in my room, as well as the staff. All staff and travelers were cordial with one another and with the staff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: No heating! Brr

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and location are great. James who was at the front desk was very helpful and a great guide to the city. The free pancake breakfast in the morning was unexpected and absolutely fantastic !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Harvey

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is perfect for anyone that needs to get to the San Diego convention center. Everyone was very chill and helpful.

Disliked: A shower head was missing from one of the bathrooms causing a simple relaxing shower to turn into a exfoliating power wash session.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: eveything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute house in the town center, walking distance to restaurants and shops. Friendly staff, breakfast included.

Disliked: There are no parking places