HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel on 3rd San Diego Hostel

542 3rd Avenue, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 82%

Location 94%

Safety 80%

Staff 84%

Value 75%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Cancellation Policy:
Same day cancellations and no-shows will be charged for the first night.
Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time).

Comic Con Cancellation Policy -
Non-refundable.
Please note, if canceled or modified, the total price of the reservation will be charged.
Deposit Policy
The total price of the reservation may be charged anytime after booking

We add a City Tax of 12.5%.

To check in, we require a valid government-issued ID and proof of future continued travel.
We do not accept United States passports.
If you are a foreign citizen, you must provide a valid passport to check-in.
We do not allow local San Diego County residents to stay at our facility.
We do not accept pets, only service animals with papers.
Check in: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Check out: 8:00 am - 11:00 am

We collect from each person a USD $30 general deposit and it needs to be in cash at check in.
We do not accept any USD $100.00 bills.

Towels are available at a $2 charge, but are to be returned at the end of the stay.
We charge a USD $3.00 card fee every time when we run guests' credit card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 82%

Location 94%

Safety 80%

Staff 84%

Value 75%

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Chris and Diago at reception were really helpful and accommodating - I needed a bed late at night and had troubles with my bankcard and they patiently waited for me to sort that out. Chris offered me all the help he could and was very understanding of my situation. Pancakes for breakfast is great!

Disliked: Very crowded in the dormitory halls, lots and lots of men, bathroom got very dirty, faucet broken in one of the bathroom sinks, very hot in one of the female dormitories, guy who works in/hangs around(?) the laundry (name starting with a J) made me feel very uncomfortable by asking me which room I was in and staring at me intently.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: great location

Disliked: rooms and hall smells weird

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The price of $25/night but compared to what you get the price was not even good. Also good is that you can check in until midnight. Free breakfast was included although it only consisted of coffee and three different cereals.

Disliked: I was traveling with mg girlfriend and therefore booked a private twin bedroom but instead we received a 4 bed dorm with bunk beds for our selves. So we got a private room but it was not what we wanted when booking the room. Also the night was horrible. There is no heating in the room and only thin blankets available and it was freezing cold during the night in the room. The bathrooms look very old, used up and dirty. Rest of the hostel overall seems to need a renovation. Even $25/night/person was too much.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Nice lobby

Disliked: You could smell the smoking from outside the streets.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Hostel on 3rd is clean and well-managed. The hostel has the best location in San Diego, a great atmosphere, amenities like large kitchen, WIFI and a large common area with pool/Ping-Pong. The hostel offers the best value in San Diego.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great location in gas district

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location in a great city, cheap

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: ylocation is nice, people are nice!

Disliked: Not in dislike point

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The place was great! In the middle of Gaslamp, a very cute zone of Downtown San Diego. Big kitchen complete of all supplies you may need, Big common zone at first floor, cozy and comfortable. Great staff, always kind and super available. Hope to come back here :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability