HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of R.K. Hostel

Hostel | 642 W. Hawthorn Street, San Diego, California, USA 92101

69.6% Overall Rating

22 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2014)

Niklas Hammarström thinks…

"Lots of facilities, tv with lots of channels, kitchen, common room with computers, xbox, ps3, lots of movies on a computer, and a patio."

Read all R.K. Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
79.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
St. Christopher International Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 69.7% 54 reviews
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
28.82 USD

Hostel 94.2% 30 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.0% 5 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
USA Hostels San Diego
35.00 USD

Hostel 95.9% 213 reviews
Hostel on 3rd
30.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 64 reviews
HI - San Diego - Downtown
38.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 312 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.6%

Overall Rating

22 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'R.K. Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
69.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 July 2014

Liked: this property stinks

Disliked: urine smells in the stairways

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Christina Entingh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: the view was great.

Disliked: it could have been cleaner.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Niklas Hammarström

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2014 Niklas would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of facilities, tv with lots of channels, kitchen, common room with computers, xbox, ps3, lots of movies on a computer, and a patio.

Disliked: The planes for san diego airport flies over the house on low altitude 24/7, highway and streets nearby so bring ear plugs! The free breakfast was only oatmeal, super sugary flakes and some milk.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicolas Fromage

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 June 2014 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The global atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: The breakfast included but a little light for me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Great location. I booked a single room and had a private bathroom! Room No. 31 - great deal!

Disliked: Only took cash payments for the rooms, not credit card.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt very comfortable and relaxed--I felt like I could hang out on my own or easily chat with other guests at the hostel. The staff was very friendly and I loved being walking distance from the water.

Disliked: I don't recall disliking anything in particular.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Benny Salomonsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Benny would recommend this property

Liked: Location the funny manager James..nice people living there. I met some wonderful new friends for life.

Disliked: The property has so much potential but the owner doesn't seam to see that alot of things could been better but with that prize I guess it's okey..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason allen

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2013 jason would recommend this property

Liked: it had alot of space inside to move around. also my dorm had it's own restroom.

Disliked: N/A

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: R.K. hostel is the most creepy, onhygenic, worse hostel I have ever been. In our room we discovered bedbugs! It was a hell lot of work to get rid of these filthy little animals. Besides that the bathroom wasn´t cleaned properly for years. The hostel has everything to be perfect; good location, beautiful building, nice lounge.... but the staff is creepy and makes you feel uncomfortable. At day time there was nobody and in the night there was just one creepy guy. He didn't like us to talk to other guest. The atmosphere is killing, do not ever go here!! Maybe it's not that expencive but believe me you really want to go somewhere else!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013

Liked: The rooms are quite big

Disliked: The guy at the check-in is very condescending and creepy - first he said its not right that I paid 20 dollars and it cannot be it should be $23 etc. He called the manager and some other people, making me wait around for 30 mins, then he "let" me stay for that price since it was only 1 night. I had to return the rental car quite urgently and just made it! Terrible customer service,made me feel very unwelcome and it seemed like he just wanted me to go away.Wireless connection didn't work properly,so had to use one of the 2 computers in the hostel.There are some nice people who stay longer term, apart from that one guy there seems to be no other staff around. He was cleaning in the morning and kicked me out of the common area, rude and annoying! One older lady who stayed in the room with me had bed bug bites, which she showed me. That really freaked me out. She said she went at night and asked them to change her to another bed but they wouldn't! She only stayed because she had already paid for another night.... When I later tried to check out, the guy asked me if I have the receipt and that he wants it back so I get my $10 key deposit back - why? He had a copy in his receipt book right there and I handed him back the key! Also since he had taken so long with the check-in the day earlier, and there are not many people in the hostel, he could not have forgotten. I did not like the place at all because of this guy, and didn't feel safe to be there with the creepy staff. I checked out and went to another hostel nearby. Would not recommend this if you're female and alone unless you like creepy guys on a power trip who like pushing you around and make you feel unwelcome.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Simms

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Close to Gaslamp district, restaurants, and marina attractions.

Disliked: No lockers to store your valuables. No onsite parking. You have to find a spot on the street to park. Good thing I opted for the CDW insurance coverage in case I needed it. Place advertised a "breakfast". Apparently Fruitloops and Honeycomb cereal are all you get. The FIRST desk clerk that checked me IN was friendly and courteous. The SECOND desk clerk who checked me OUT was a TOTAL jerk. I and another couple waited 20 minutes for this guy to find his way back to the front desk so we could check out, ever after we rank the bell and had another employee tell him we were waiting. Apparently, making a bed is more important! As I was checking out, I asked if I could return to the hostel to shower before my 4pm flight because was to be out all day and wanted to clean up for the trip home. Well, this guy told me "no" he could not allow it and then proceeded to lecture me about all the reasons why that was a problem. I was polite and I tried to tell him SEVERAL times I was okay with it. I have stayed at many hostels around the world and this is the first one with such a stupid policy. Finally, after he just wouldn't shut up, he pissed me off, and I told him what I thought of his LACK of customer-centered SERVICE. I will think twice before returning. I talked with the owner/managers when I arrived and since I work for a major airline, they asked if I'd recommend their place to people at my company. Sorry, your front desk clerk screwed that up pretty good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

phillip j alaban

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013 phillip j would recommend this property

Liked: close2 harbor &100plus restaurant.Easy wlk to cbd,clean,plenty hot water ,great outside deck upstairs.Great views.Easy walking .James and Godwin extra helpful and friendly.Good kitchen.Comfortable beds

Disliked: phillip j left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kelisson soares

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 March 2013 kelisson would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: kelisson left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great welcome when i arrived late. no bunks, all single beds in the dorm room. feee internet and basic breakfast. right in little italy and close to trolley and buses and airport and the water front. big place, big rooms and lots of common space.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2012

Liked: I especially, don't like anything

Disliked: Paid solely in cash, no cards accepted but do not advertise this. If you do not understand the English perfectamete and tell him, a man with a white beard and hair says: We are in the U.S.!!, But if you ask, if to enter in the United States is required to know English, tells you not. I found something racist. Very expensive for the service they give. No towels. force you to pick up the sheets before you go. Unfortunately, parasites received many bites on my body (I want think they were mosquitoes .....), four days after I have not improved. I have an appointment with the doctor because i do not, what parasite which bit me. I do not recommend this place.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

13 August 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: It was dirty and the staff was not very nice..

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

24 July 2012

Liked: Misleading write up and coming in too late left me with a bed and a roof over my bed!! The alternative being the street was a close tie of choice. Really,I dare any of your staff come and do a stay!! Double dare.......

Disliked: Bad does not do justice to what this hostel's rating... the list is too numerous ......outrageously seedy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its clean and central for moving around town

Disliked: when i checked in, i asked if they provide towels. the answer was yes, but only when you requested or needed one. i felt like getting a simple towel was made into an issue. why not just hand a towel to the guests and ask if you don't need it, don't take it. it was kind of weird.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The area was central to Little Italy and lots of eating and gallery destinations in the area.

Disliked: The shower in the bathroom was not very clean and the warm water was non-existent.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011

Liked: Seemed clean and the façade is beautiful.

Disliked: We felt very insecure, we booked a room for 8 people and we were given a 10 beds dorm to share with a drunk homeless. Bedbugs. No facilities. The atmosphere was horrible: it was almost empty (not even employees) and most of the people around looked like hobos. It is located in the residencial part of Little Italy, so the area wasn't very interesting either. We changed for a USA hostel and the difference was incredible, much better.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 July 2011

Liked: John was fantastic

Disliked: The other gentlemen I believe the night manager I did not care for played loud music at night when I was trying to sleep and one of the regular guests kept hogging the tv and was rude about it

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Not great facilities

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 July 2011

Liked: Very affordable and is close to attractions.

Disliked: The fact that its in the airline's incoming route (the airplanes are loud!), the cockroaches, the darkness of the first floor, and no table to place items in room

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011

Liked: Close to the airport

Disliked: CREEPY atmosphere it is more like a half way home for drifters then a hostel. BEDBUGS i got savaged by the bastards not happy at all my arms look like they had been ravaged by Jaws. Not a fun place to hang out as there is no one there at all....although it does have potential as it has a lot of space.