We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Travel Lodge San Diego

Hostel | 425 W Main St, San Diego, California, USA 92020

65.6% Overall Rating

13 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2012)

emma yates thinks…

"Dont know why its rated so bad. Its a nice clean room, you get free breaky, you have showers, clean towels, soap, moisturizers, A buffet place accorss the road for 10 bux, heaps of food around.."

Read all AAE Travel Lodge San Diego reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

ITH Zoo Hostel
27.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Habibi
27.76 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Big 7 Motel
29.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 73.3% 3 reviews
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
69.99 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Traveler Inn & Suites
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
San Diego Downtown Lodge
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
RK Buckner Hostel
23.00 USD

Hostel 78.3% 26 reviews
Lucky D's Hostel
24.50 USD

Hostel 88.2% 232 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

13 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Travel Lodge San Diego'

Atmosphere
58.8%
Location
54.1%
Facilities
64.7%
Cleanliness
74.1%
Staff
60.0%
Value
76.5%
Safety
70.6%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

jessica zablocki

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: you have a parking place

Disliked: its next to a street

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: It was cheap. it had brekfast and microwave and fridge in the room.

Disliked: They couldn't find our booking and it took them forever to give us the room. It was very far away from the city so just if you have a car. The area didn't look very safe.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Joy Jackson

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: Both of the ice machines were broken. The bathroom was a disaster with messed up walls and it was very tiny with a small shower to stand in. They did not supply enough towels/washcloths. There were no mirrors in the room (only one in the tiny bathroom).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

emma yates

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 emma would recommend this property

Liked: Dont know why its rated so bad. Its a nice clean room, you get free breaky, you have showers, clean towels, soap, moisturizers, A buffet place accorss the road for 10 bux, heaps of food around..

Disliked: Its so hard to getto on your GPS! I didnt realise there was Clear instructions on the website.. Make sure you read it. Do not stay here if you are a backpacker.. Do not stay here if you have no car!

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Did not like anything about the property.

Disliked: Well when we arrived we were given a room where the shower drain was blocked, the hair dryer, coffee machine and air con didn't work. moved to another room at 11.30pm, had no hairdryer, no microwave, coffee machine didn't work and internet was slow once we got connection!! Pool was dirty and no sun loungers. Not safe - homeless walking around the complex!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we arrived at 1 o'clock a.m. and it was no problem to check in so late

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tiziana Bertuletti

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

18 August 2011 Tiziana would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and spacious. In room coffee

Disliked: During the nights there were some noisy guests. The Manager took ages to tell them off, so I could not rest that well

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jamie lawrence

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Simple and cheap. Nice bathroom. Between 6 people so not bad at all. San Fran is very hilly so being near tram lines is helpful. Not far from all the main locations

Disliked: staff were very emotionless.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a pool, it wasn't clean but it was welcome.

Disliked: The staff were rude and were in no way helpful. The rooms were not as described. The pool was filthy. The continental breakfast was fairly non existant.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011

Liked: pool, cleanliness, cheap

Disliked: the management

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ezy acess to Shops and Highways

Disliked: upon arriving, my details werent available and there was an intial disagrement on price. I soon rectified the situation with the electronic confirmation sent to my email. I dont think this was an error of the establishment, simply the staff member at the time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

01 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice receptionist, nice swimming-pool, great areat

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Okay...we were relying heavily on the gps to get from Las Vegas to this place so we typed in the address they gave us. The GPS couldn't find it exactly AND it took us to a random street 2 miles away from the US-Mexican border. Imagine the surprise...We call the place and they say it's actually in "El CaHon"...Then they called us back saying "oops it's actually El CaJon"...Then we get to that place and instead of saying "Travel Inn" it was called "Travelodge" so I had to go ask if we're actually in the correct place. That felt a bit retarded...Anyways, apart from that, the room is clean and spacious. They have a pool and offer parking and wifi. The breakfast is minimal...but there are plenty of nice places to eat around.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmin Krpan

18 February 2010 Jasmin would recommend this property

Liked: This is a typical american by-the-road motel. It's close to a tram station, so getting to dowtown San Diego is easy. If you're not looking for luxury but a simple place to crash at, this place is a good choice and offers good value for money!

Disliked: Jasmin left no negative feedback.