We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lucky D's Hostel

Hostel | 615 8th Ave, San Diego, California, USA 92101

87.8% Overall Rating

227 out of 243 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2015)

"Awesome activities every night. Friendly staff. Close to public transport. Free breakfasts."

Read all Lucky D's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

RK Buckner Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 75.8% 32 reviews
HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel
37.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 321 reviews
USA Hostels San Diego
25.00 USD

Hostel 95.8% 227 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.6% 16 reviews
Hostel on 3rd
25.00 USD

Hostel 85.9% 76 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 94.1% 40 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

227 out of 243 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lucky D's Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 200 of 221 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome activities every night. Friendly staff. Close to public transport. Free breakfasts.

Disliked: No printer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Bullock

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 June 2015 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: I met lots of friendly, interesting travelers from many countries. The facilities, location and atmosphere are better than most other hostels, and I will stay here again.

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Snow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

11 June 2015 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic hostel with great staff, loads of fun nights, free food and at a brilliant price. Top class.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and familiar atmosphere. Perfect location.

Disliked: No free parking.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoff Walpole

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2015 Geoff would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff (& helpfulness) and guests - all great!

Disliked: The fact that only 1 of the 4 waffle irons were functional. Not myself - as I was early to the kitchen - but others had perhaps 'long waits'. The kitchen cleaning man said new faffle machines were on order - so all should be fine when they arrive. Let me say the staff did cook ahead of time waffles for guests to assist in the immediate problem.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Thistlethwaite

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2015 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, very friendly staff.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Taylor

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

16 February 2015 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: I felt at home at lucky d's , great location five min walk from city centre. Lots of interesting fellow travellers and chats in the common rooms made it a great stay. Staff were helpful, Marta was very welcoming upon arrival and gave me lots of information on the city, I feel like my San Diego has expanded lots now! Going out tour on Saturday night with Lisa was great to see the city at night. Hostel was clean and free beer on saturday and I scream on Sunday! Yum. Overall I'd defunately Return to Sunny D's if I return to the golden coast!

Disliked: Nothng , I wanted to stay longer!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthijs Kruger

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2015 Matthijs would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great atmosphere, cheap, clean

Disliked: Above a bar so at some rooms it can be noisy sometimes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, good location right at the Gaslamp District

Disliked: Unfortunately the hallway was newly painted so that the window had to be open all night. It was very loud.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luciano de Almeida Helu

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 December 2014 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: I think Lucky D's is a great hostel! It's clean and safe, and the location is excellent, because it's near Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Convention Center and the San Diego Bay. Also, the price is fair with good services, and the staff is great. Michael, Sasha, Anna and Gregory were very friendly and supportive, showing me many places in San Diego. Jackie is another staff member that you can always count on! Extremely happy, funny and she also prepared an excellent Thanksgiving dinner for everybody! Strongly recommend it!

Disliked: Luciano left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamza Daoui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

19 October 2014 Hamza would recommend this property

Liked: I love this place. I've been to so many hostels around the world and Lucky D's is up there on my list. The location is perfect. Its downtown and its close to so many bars, venues and parks. The hostel itself is really clean, and it seems the staff works around the clock to maintain the place. The staff are really diverse and helpful. They're also really involved in all the activities of the hostel. Speaking of activities, you'll never get bored. Pub crawls every nights, beer tours, soccer games and game nights. Their common room is great for partying and meeting new people. They have free breakfast everyday and free dinners few times a week. The atmosphere is really cool and they have art everywhere around the hostel. Also the rates are really affordable. Bottom line If you're in San Diego, you have to check it out.

Disliked: Nothing! Everything was simply awesome.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: posizione,ostello molto giovane e curato

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free breakfast, clean rooms, cheaper than other hostels.

Disliked: Can be very hot and noisy in the rooms at night. One night they put on free dinner at 6.30 and all the food was gone at 6.20 (before we arrived for dinner!).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014

Liked: The cool and vibrant decor of the hostel.

Disliked: I shared a room with 3 other girls. There was no AC in the room and it was extremely hot! Also, the socket to charge your electronic devices was fixed in the middle of the wall next to another girls bed which made it difficult to charge your phone if she was sleeping! 2 toilets and 2 showers is not enough for a floor of more than 40 people! The bathrooms are very small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mohamed Abdelbaki

Alone

Business / conference

28 July 2014 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly Staff, has reasonable facilities for a hostel. Has a big kitchen and they put out some breakfast items, cereal, milk, waffles, fruits which is more than I can say for other hostels. If you are staying here for Comic con this hostel is less then 10 mins walk from convention center.

Disliked: Yes the 2 rumors you keep reading are true. Only one shower per floors, usually there is some one using it when you want to. They have split the bathrooms though so they have 2 toilets on each floor as well that are separate from the shower room plus a room with bathroom sinks. Located in busy downtown area and its right on top of a to a bar so it gets pretty noisy at night. bar music, cars, etc. You will need ear plugs to sleep which the staff do give you.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, the location is in the middle of the city and you can easily meet other travelers. The dorm, showers and bathroom were clean.

Disliked: The place is not the newest, some facilities could have a renovation. I had a hard time to find cheap parking options in the area (what I expected).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Sutton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Plenty of information and great activities. Great location and value for money

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staffs are very helpful, especially Aymara and Jacky, they recommended a lot of places to visit and show me the way to go, it is definitely practical for traveler to visit a new place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

heaju ham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 heaju would recommend this property

Liked: Its near by market and the market was low price .so i was saving the money.

Disliked: there are many drunk people .because there are near by bar. so when friday i can not go to sleep easy. it was to noisy outside.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucie Robson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2014 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: Great party vibe and right in the wonderful Gaslamp District.

Disliked: Not many showers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Close to good restaurants.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Michalka

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2014 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the price, the staff, all the atmosphere, even the wall decorations have soul. Overall the best hostel I have stayed in so far, please make branches all around California.

Disliked: Parking, but this is not hostel's fault.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the proce

Disliked: they offer discounted tickets but its only like 4 bucks...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Realy friendly staff and the hostel are very closed to the bars, stores and padres stadium. It was a very good time here, met some good peoples and it was always very funny.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Healey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place with a great vibe, extremely social and staff are very welcoming. The hostel is in an awsome neighbourhood close to heaps of bars. The staff were great, in particular Alex and Megan who who invited us out for drinks on a Saturdays night and Then took us up the coast to go camping for the night which was an added bonus we did not expect. This place exceeds expectations and especially Alex and Megan's customer service excellence

Disliked: Nothing