HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lucky D's San Diego Hostel

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 97%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.00USD

Important Information

***Please note*** A 10.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the amount quoted to be paid upon arrival, as well as a 0.55% TMD assessment. This totals to 11.05% in local taxes and assessments. Only applicable to room prices over $25 a night.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 97%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 53 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: All the posters, paintings and art on the walls.

Disliked: One unwelcome cockroach visit in my room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad you enjoyed all the weird and wonderful art work we have displayed. It definitely gives the hostel character, Rinee

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: The first room we checked into had no bulb in the light, the ceiling was falling apart and the curtain had fallen off. The staff were unhelpful. It cost $1 to hire a towel - you would expect this to be covered.


The property's response is

I am very sorry you had this bad experience. We try to give everyone the best service and we go above and beyond to fix any problems guest may have. We do try and keep our prices low and we do this buy charging $1 for towel rentals only cover the cost of washing. Buy doing this we can keep our nightly prices to the very lowest.
Regards Peter
Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Everything was awesome.

Disliked: Noise at night from outside.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the awesome review! Happy to hear everything was great during your stay, that is very important to us. Regarding the noise, as we are in the Gaslamp Quarter it can get a little noisy at nights, so we provide all guests earplugs to help block that out. We hope to see you again! Rinee

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location, private room was a good size. Good breakfast selection with Waffles on the weekend. Showers and toilets were spacious and cleanGreat place to stay to check out San Diego.

Disliked: No air con so was quite warm. There was a ceiling fan, but didn't do much.No elevator-so be prepared with large bags

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

So happy to hear your stay was great. We pride ourselves here with having fun and friendly staff, daily activities for guests and a very clean, comfortable stay. As for the stairs, any of our helpful team would have been more than happy to assist with carrying bags up and down the stairs. Thanks for the great review. Rinee

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is the best hostel in San Diego. They have washers and dryers if you need them, but after 3 pm. There is no elevator so you need to carry your luggage up to the 2nd floor to the front desk. There is a computer room so you can use that anytime. The bar below the hostel offers a 15% discount, just show them your room key. Good size lockers in the rooms, bring your own lock.

Disliked: Sometimes you can hear loud music from the bar below the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! We try to make the hostel a home away from home and a fun stay. The discount at the bar below is just one of the many perks of staying with us, and I hope you were also able to enjoy a pub crawl or free dinner! Come back anytime. Rinee

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Dinner for free

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

And free breakfast! What more could a traveler need! Thank you for the 5*, we appreciate it and look forward to having you stay with us again. Rinee

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place and awesome location. The staff are super friendly, the hostel is spotless clean, the mattresses are very comfortable to sleep on, breakfast is free and there's lots to choose from, even pancakes. Every other day the hostel offers free dinner, on other days you have a choice of different activities. There's a very friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for you amazing review. I'm glad you had a great time with us. We love having all guests involved in our many activities and freebies and it sounds like you made the most of that which is good to hear. Hope you can return soon!! Rinee

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Many activities, good to get in contact with other travelers, good breakfast, free dinner on some evenings, perfect location

Disliked: Only two showers for the whole floor, not very clean

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Awesome activities every night.Friendly staff.Close to public transport.Free breakfasts.

Disliked: No printer.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I met lots of friendly, interesting travelers from many countries. The facilities, location and atmosphere are better than most other hostels, and I will stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability