HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lucky D's Hostel

Hostel | 615 8th Ave, San Diego, California, USA 92101

93.3% Overall Rating

212 out of 225 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2014)

"The staff was friendly and helpful, the location is in the middle of the city and you can easily meet other travelers. The dorm, showers and bathroom were clean."

Read all Lucky D's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

RK Buckner Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 81.1% 19 reviews
HI - San Diego - Downtown
39.00 USD

Hostel 91.1% 312 reviews
USA Hostels San Diego
37.00 USD

Hostel 95.9% 213 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.0% 5 reviews
Hostel on 3rd
30.00 USD

Hostel 88.6% 62 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
25.21 USD

Hostel 94.2% 30 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
84.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

212 out of 225 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lucky D's Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 185 of 203 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker
Kultur / sightseeing

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, the location is in the middle of the city and you can easily meet other travelers. The dorm, showers and bathroom were clean.

Disliked: The place is not the newest, some facilities could have a renovation. I had a hard time to find cheap parking options in the area (what I expected).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Sutton

Ensam resenär

Kultur / sightseeing

18 July 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Plenty of information and great activities. Great location and value for money

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staffs are very helpful, especially Aymara and Jacky, they recommended a lot of places to visit and show me the way to go, it is definitely practical for traveler to visit a new place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

heaju ham

Ensam resenär

Kultur / sightseeing

04 May 2014 heaju would recommend this property

Liked: Its near by market and the market was low price .so i was saving the money.

Disliked: there are many drunk people .because there are near by bar. so when friday i can not go to sleep easy. it was to noisy outside.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucie Robson

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker
Nattliv
Kultur / sightseeing
Träffa vänner eller familj

01 May 2014 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: Great party vibe and right in the wonderful Gaslamp District.

Disliked: Not many showers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Affärsmöte / Konferens

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Close to good restaurants.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Michalka

Med partner

Nattliv
Shopping
Kultur / sightseeing
Sport, äventyr eller utomhus aktivitet

25 April 2014 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the price, the staff, all the atmosphere, even the wall decorations have soul. Overall the best hostel I have stayed in so far, please make branches all around California.

Disliked: Parking, but this is not hostel's fault.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Med vänner

Resa som backpacker

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the proce

Disliked: they offer discounted tickets but its only like 4 bucks...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Sol och bad
Cityresa
Nattliv
Shopping
Sport, äventyr eller utomhus aktivitet

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Realy friendly staff and the hostel are very closed to the bars, stores and padres stadium. It was a very good time here, met some good peoples and it was always very funny.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Healey

Med vänner

Resa som backpacker

16 April 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place with a great vibe, extremely social and staff are very welcoming. The hostel is in an awsome neighbourhood close to heaps of bars. The staff were great, in particular Alex and Megan who who invited us out for drinks on a Saturdays night and Then took us up the coast to go camping for the night which was an added bonus we did not expect. This place exceeds expectations and especially Alex and Megan's customer service excellence

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and free food nights.

Disliked: Not much, It was great.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good cheap hostel with great facilities

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker
Cityresa
Shopping
Kultur / sightseeing
Sport, äventyr eller utomhus aktivitet
Träffa vänner eller familj

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the people were like a family. it is comfortable

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

suzy guay

Med vänner

Resa som backpacker
Sol och bad
Kultur / sightseeing

25 February 2014 suzy would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying at this hostel! The ambiance was really nice! The hostel was clean, it was well organised. I love the fact its only 4 beds per room and it is very affordable! The look of this hostel looks really cool too! Theres a nice design!

Disliked: Not much really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ana muro

Ensam resenär

Träffa vänner eller familj

28 December 2013 ana would recommend this property

Liked: It s perfect place and location. Not expensive at all. Very clean.

Disliked: ana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Med vänner

Shopping
Kultur / sightseeing

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel with character, great atmosphere. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ruth valentine

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

30 November 2013 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Invite top three of hostles ive stayed in in three months in the UK. Great organised social nights Free beer nights Free pasta salad night Free breakfasts pancakes cereals Free teach n coffee all day Bug kitchen Good social area Nice beds Good bedding ...nice duvets Friendly staff Clean hostel Very handy for the airport and greyhound Handy to get to tijuana Right in the middle of the gaslamp

Disliked: Its very noisy at night coming from the bar below so not a place to stay if u want n early night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

angelique rosquaille

Ensam resenär

Kultur / sightseeing

22 November 2013 angelique would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the good vibe of the hostel, it felt like a safe houseshare. Liked the free dinner on thursday! Bathrooms very clean, good location, comfy bed.

Disliked: angelique left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, always something going on. I love the decor. The place was clean the staff were helpful and the location couldn't be better. They sell discounted zoo and sea world tickets ( I didnt go but the fact they do is great for a student back packing trying to save money) . They had a great free breakfast, waffles and cereals. tea and coffee all day and a free dinner while I was there too. Highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Sol och bad

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The music playing in the hallways, the art along the walls, the friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amber curtin

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker
Sol och bad
Nattliv
Shopping

14 November 2013 amber would recommend this property

Liked: free brekky everyday and waffles on the weekend. lots of pub crawls and predrinking in the common room to get to know the other guests in the hostel. close to gaslamp so lots of places to eat (some a little over priced though) bright and funky hostel. cheap drinks just down stairs the older lady who cleans is so lovely and helpful on ides on what to do!

Disliked: a couple of the people at that were on the front desk over my 5days there were lacking a smile so it made me not want to ask questions. the first girl was very short with me, not rude but like she didn't want to talk to me more then she had to. its a little loud due to the bar down stairs but once i was actually asleep i didn't hear it. (im a deep sleeper) but i think they offer ear plugs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mazen El-Baba

Ensam resenär

Affärsmöte / Konferens

14 November 2013 Mazen would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere of it! it was fantastic

Disliked: I really disliked one of the workers ( the Moroccan guy) he was extremely rude and chauvinistic!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Padraig O'Sullivan

Med vänner

Cityresa
Nattliv
Kultur / sightseeing

13 November 2013 Padraig would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming atmosphere, interesting artwork along corridors, lockers in rooms, social events organised by the hostel staff, free evening meals and breakfast, communal environment.

Disliked: Don't fall so easily for paying $10 for wristband to get drinks concessions on the organised pubcrawls, as we did not break even on that night, visiting a mere two pubs on our only night in S.D. Seek assurances.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

13 November 2013

Liked: Location, nothing else.

Disliked: Cleanliness and lack of any atmosphere/friendliness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Pearson

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

07 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: I loved all the freebies on offer here, the staff were really welcoming and the place was clean. When I arrived they were putting down new carpets which looked very smart. The kitchen is amazing and a place to meet, cook and chat over food. The staff are a mine of information and helped me to book a hostel in LA. I am returning to San Diego at the end of the month and will definitely stay here. I loved it.

Disliked: There was NOTHING I disliked about this hostel.