HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lucky D's San Diego Hostel

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.00USD

Important Information

Reservation Conditions
Please understand that while we try our best, and generally succeed, we can not guarantee that we will always be able to get you in the same room for your entire stay. If booking one or more beds we may not be able to get all your beds in the same room. This is particularly true in our busy summer months of July and August. If this is a problem please call the hostel before booking to check what is available.
Guests must be 18+ years to stay in our dorm rooms. There are no upper age
restrictions however, we ask that you are at least young at heart. The
average age of our guests is between 18-35 years old. Our shared rooms are
co-ed and are designed for vacationing travelers.
You must have an international passport or Student ID
or another VALID government issued ID. We DO NOT accept San Diego County residents..
You must also be able to show proof of on-going travel. A valid Visa or Mastercard is
required to make a reservation.
Please note we have a 2 day cancellation policy.

***Please note***
Taxes are not included in listed prices! All bed rates over $25 will have a 10.5% city tax charged, in addition to the amount quoted, to be paid upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 92%

Showing 51-35 of 35 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good cheap hostel with great facilities

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry about the bathrooms. It can admittedly be hectic sometimes. Hope it was otherwise a happy stay.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location, the free breakfasts and dinners were great, a friendly welcome from the staff and the general atmosphere is really cool.

Disliked: Nothing really, maybe an extra toilet/bathroom would be useful but that's really a minor thing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: staff are very helpful, and free breakfast (and dinner) are very good.

Disliked: lack of electric socket inside dorm room.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The beds in the 4 bed dorm were very comfortable. also within walking distance to loads of bars, restaurants and the baseball stadium. every night in the common room there were people drinking and socializing so will always be able to meet someone.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: The staff is amazing, really outgoing and help you in ways that I don't even expect them to. They made me a free dinner the night I was there. It is a bit rare to find a nice hostel in the US where you feel the warm atmosphere that you would find in a hostel in latin america or europe. Hostels in the US usually feel as if you are in a hotel, this place was an exception. Immediately people are helping you and you feel right at home.

Disliked: Nothing really. Really, nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Close to everything

Disliked: Noisy enough trhat they give out free earplugs

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location in the gaslamp district, within walking distance of many bars, restaurants, groceries and even the trolley. We also walked to seaport village! Buses take you everywhere - can even walk to the transit center! Love the hippie decor and vibe - lots of euro backpacker types if you're into that. Daily events like movie night and 80s party night etc; free breakfasts on weekends and booze too at night! Room was super comfy and clean, we got a private double room so it was a little pricier than a shared room, it came with a fridge that was in such good condition it froze all our fruits. Came with a ceiling fan and an additional floor fan(which we didn't need cause we felt it was cool enough). Clean shared toilets, we saw them changing the handtowels and floor rugs! Would recommend it to any young travelers out there - probably not for families with small kids though.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great atmosphere. Staff v friendly and helpful. Guests were generally a bit older than the usual gap year traveller (mid twenties) which made for a relaxed and very social atmosphere. The free dinners 3 times a week were really good (freshly made and plentiful!). Free breakfast every day on top of this made it even better value for money (in comparison to your average US budget hotel/motel). There were optional activities every night (bar crawl, movie night etc), so plenty of opportunities to mingle. Good communal areas (kitchen and common room) where people could be found any time of day. I was a girl travelling alone and soon made friends here. Good facilities (internet, printer access, laundry). Good location (close to airport, greyhound, amtrak), short walk from regular buses to all the beaches, and situated in lively gaslamp quarter which had good restaurants and nightlife.

Disliked: Didn't really dislike anything. The rooms could've been a lot cleaner (I was there four days and my room was only cleaned once and this was a v superficial vacuum job just of centre of the room and not in the corners where it was needed!). Sheets, toilets, and bathrooms were clean, however.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The free dinners were actually some of the nicest, healthiest food I'd eaten in a while travelling!The hostel has a very individual feel and very relaxed atmosphere unlike many of the 'chain' hostels.

Disliked: The evening entertainment barcrawl could perhaps do with some more work. I did not buy the money off wristband and was glad I had not.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very nice kitchen, spacious, and fully equipped. This is very important to me, so I could buy my food, cook it and store it. No junk food at restaurants!The staff is very friendly, they're always there for you with a smile.The location is excellent, right in the hearth of downtown, although there's a flip side to it, which is the noise at night coming from the busy streets.

Disliked: The ration people / toilets could be improved. Only two toilets per floor is not really enough, but you get used to it.Please be advised that this is mainly a hostel for young, party animals. It's all about being in your early 20s and going out at night to party.If you're an older person, this might not be the perfect place for you.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability