HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lucky D's San Diego Hostel

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.00USD

Important Information

Reservation Conditions
Please understand that while we try our best, and generally succeed, we can not guarantee that we will always be able to get you in the same room for your entire stay. If booking one or more beds we may not be able to get all your beds in the same room. This is particularly true in our busy summer months of July and August. If this is a problem please call the hostel before booking to check what is available.
Guests must be 18+ years to stay in our dorm rooms. There are no upper age
restrictions however, we ask that you are at least young at heart. The
average age of our guests is between 18-35 years old. Our shared rooms are
co-ed and are designed for vacationing travelers.
You must have an international passport or Student ID
or another VALID government issued ID. We DO NOT accept San Diego County residents..
You must also be able to show proof of on-going travel. A valid Visa or Mastercard is
required to make a reservation.
Please note we have a 2 day cancellation policy.

***Please note***
Taxes are not included in listed prices! All bed rates over $25 will have a 10.5% city tax charged, in addition to the amount quoted, to be paid upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 92%

Showing 31-35 of 35 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location, the price, the staff, all the atmosphere, even the wall decorations have soul. Overall the best hostel I have stayed in so far, please make branches all around California.

Disliked: Parking, but this is not hostel's fault.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Realy friendly staff and the hostel are very closed to the bars, stores and padres stadium. It was a very good time here, met some good peoples and it was always very funny.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome place with a great vibe, extremely social and staff are very welcoming. The hostel is in an awsome neighbourhood close to heaps of bars. The staff were great, in particular Alex and Megan who who invited us out for drinks on a Saturdays night and Then took us up the coast to go camping for the night which was an added bonus we did not expect. This place exceeds expectations and especially Alex and Megan's customer service excellence

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and free food nights.

Disliked: Not much, It was great.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks much for the kind review; we always like it when people tell us nice things!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It s perfect place and location. Not expensive at all. Very clean.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the good vibe of the hostel, it felt like a safe houseshare. Liked the free dinner on thursday! Bathrooms very clean, good location, comfy bed.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere, always something going on. I love the decor. The place was clean the staff were helpful and the location couldn't be better. They sell discounted zoo and sea world tickets ( I didnt go but the fact they do is great for a student back packing trying to save money) . They had a great free breakfast, waffles and cereals. tea and coffee all day and a free dinner while I was there too. Highly recommend this place.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The music playing in the hallways, the art along the walls, the friendliness of the staff.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I loved the atmosphere of it! it was fantastic

Disliked: I really disliked one of the workers ( the Moroccan guy) he was extremely rude and chauvinistic!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I loved all the freebies on offer here, the staff were really welcoming and the place was clean. When I arrived they were putting down new carpets which looked very smart. The kitchen is amazing and a place to meet, cook and chat over food. The staff are a mine of information and helped me to book a hostel in LA. I am returning to San Diego at the end of the month and will definitely stay here. I loved it.

Disliked: There was NOTHING I disliked about this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability