HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lucky D's San Diego

Hostel

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 83%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.00USD

Important Information

***Please note*** A 10.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the amount quoted to be paid upon arrival, as well as a 0.55% TMD assessment. This totals to 11.05% in local taxes and assessments. Only applicable to room prices over $25 a night.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 83%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 90%

Showing 31-40 of 67 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome place with a great vibe, extremely social and staff are very welcoming. The hostel is in an awsome neighbourhood close to heaps of bars. The staff were great, in particular Alex and Megan who who invited us out for drinks on a Saturdays night and Then took us up the coast to go camping for the night which was an added bonus we did not expect. This place exceeds expectations and especially Alex and Megan's customer service excellence

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and free food nights.

Disliked: Not much, It was great.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks much for the kind review; we always like it when people tell us nice things!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It s perfect place and location. Not expensive at all. Very clean.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the good vibe of the hostel, it felt like a safe houseshare. Liked the free dinner on thursday! Bathrooms very clean, good location, comfy bed.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere, always something going on. I love the decor. The place was clean the staff were helpful and the location couldn't be better. They sell discounted zoo and sea world tickets ( I didnt go but the fact they do is great for a student back packing trying to save money) . They had a great free breakfast, waffles and cereals. tea and coffee all day and a free dinner while I was there too. Highly recommend this place.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The music playing in the hallways, the art along the walls, the friendliness of the staff.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I loved the atmosphere of it! it was fantastic

Disliked: I really disliked one of the workers ( the Moroccan guy) he was extremely rude and chauvinistic!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I loved all the freebies on offer here, the staff were really welcoming and the place was clean. When I arrived they were putting down new carpets which looked very smart. The kitchen is amazing and a place to meet, cook and chat over food. The staff are a mine of information and helped me to book a hostel in LA. I am returning to San Diego at the end of the month and will definitely stay here. I loved it.

Disliked: There was NOTHING I disliked about this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Invite top three of hostles ive stayed in in three months in the UK.Great organised social nightsFree beer nightsFree pasta salad nightFree breakfasts pancakes cereals Free teach n coffee all dayBug kitchenGood social areaNice beds Good bedding ...nice duvets Friendly staffClean hostelVery handy for the airport and greyhoundHandy to get to tijuana Right in the middle of the gaslamp

Disliked: Its very noisy at night coming from the bar below so not a place to stay if u want n early night

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: free brekky everyday and waffles on the weekend.lots of pub crawls and predrinking in the common room to get to know the other guests in the hostel. close to gaslamp so lots of places to eat (some a little over priced though)bright and funky hostel. cheap drinks just down stairsthe older lady who cleans is so lovely and helpful on ides on what to do!

Disliked: a couple of the people at that were on the front desk over my 5days there were lacking a smile so it made me not want to ask questions. the first girl was very short with me, not rude but like she didn't want to talk to me more then she had to.its a little loud due to the bar down stairs but once i was actually asleep i didn't hear it. (im a deep sleeper) but i think they offer ear plugs.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability